安全 STEM 工作场所文献综述

由阿曼达麦克撰写.

尽管最近的#MeToo 运动提高了人们对基于性别的骚扰和性骚扰的认识,但它今天仍然是加拿大工作场所的一个重要问题。

研究表明,四分之一的加拿大人在工作中或工作场所遭受过性骚扰(安格斯·里德研究所)。 在男性占主导地位的工作场所(例如 STEM 领域)中发现的比率甚至更高。 例如,2020 年在加拿大,47% 的从事贸易、运输、设备操作和相关职业的女性报告称在工作中经历了不适当的性行为,而男性的这一比例为 19%(加拿大统计局,2021 年)。 同样,在自然科学和应用科学领域,32% 的女性和 12% 的男性在工作中经历过不当的性行为(加拿大统计局,2021 年)。 加拿大的其他研究发现,土著女性、2SLGBTQ+ 个体、残疾女性和年轻女性的性别和性骚扰发生率较高(Jaffray,2020;Perreault,2020;Hango & Moyser,2018;Angus Reid Institute,2018)。

这些基于性别或性骚扰的高比率对经历它的人和发生它的公司都造成有害影响。 骚扰的受害者更有可能报告抑郁、一般压力、焦虑和自责,并且更有可能减少对工作的参与或辞职(Lindquist & McKay,2018)。 除了这些个人影响之外,遭受基于性别或性骚扰的工作场所还​​面临着员工生产力低下、压力大和员工流失率增加的问题(Mayer 等人,2020 年)。 通过减少基于性别的骚扰和性骚扰,工作场所可以享受更加多样化、高效和以人为本的工作场所。

基于性别的骚扰和性骚扰的高发生率可能与组织文化中的原因有关。 研究表明,公司继续规范和接受有害行为,例如“戏谑”、关于某人性别认同或表达的不恰当笑话,以及因性取向而忽视或虐待某人——所有这些都没有任何影响(Mayer 等人,2020 年)。 因此,工作场所需要重新思考如何解决性别和性骚扰问题,从最大限度地减少法律责任转变为创建组织文化和规范,从一开始就防止性别和性骚扰的发生(Mayer 等人,2020 年)。 如果工作场所致力于营造安全的工作环境,那么实施更全面的预防、应对和问责制方法至关重要。 工作场所有这样做的法定责任。

在 WomanACT 和 SCWIST 中研究了一些行之有效的方法来帮助减少基于性别的骚扰和性骚扰 文献评论. 其中之一是通过定期进行气候评估并发布评估结果来创造一个不容忍骚扰或暴力的环境,从而提高问责制和透明度。 另一种方法是确保与骚扰有关的政策和程序清晰、全面且没有行话,并定期进行宣传,以确保员工熟悉这些政策和程序。 此外,应向员工和管理层提供政策和程序培训以及旁观者培训等课程。 最后,组织应建立响应系统,通过提供广泛可访问的支持服务以及基于证据的实践来赋予员工权力:正式和非正式的报告选项、多种报告渠道、调查标准和一致的执法。 围绕所有这些措施,需要有创伤知情的原则,以确保员工在经历不安全和潜在的创伤经历时的健康和康复。

Supporting Safe STEM Workplaces 项目为希望改进其基于性别和性骚扰的政策、程序和培训的公司提供免费支持。 如果您为一家公司工作或认识将从该项目中受益的公司,请联系 [电子邮件保护] 获取更多信息.

阅读完整的文献综述 or 了解有关支持安全 STEM 工作场所项目的更多信息.

Safe STEM Workplaces Literature Review

Written by Amanda Mack.

Although the recent #MeToo movement has led to an increase in awareness of gender-based and sexual harassment, it continues to remain a significant issue today in Canada’s workplaces.

Research has shown that one in four Canadians has experienced sexual harassment at work or at a work function (Angus Reid Institute). The rates found within male-dominated workplaces, such as within the STEM field, are even higher. For example, in Canada in 2020, 47% of women working in trades, transportation, equipment operation and related occupations reported experiencing inappropriate sexualized behaviour at work, compared to 19% of men (Statistics Canada, 2021). Similarly, in the natural and applied sciences, 32% of women compared to 12% of men experienced inappropriate sexualized behaviours at work (Statistics Canada, 2021). Other Canadian studies have found higher rates of gender and sexual harassment among Indigenous women, 2SLGBTQ+ individuals, women with disabilities, and young women (Jaffray, 2020; Perreault, 2020; Hango & Moyser, 2018; Angus Reid Institute, 2018).

These high rates of gender-based or sexual harassment cause harmful effects for both those who experience it as well as the companies where it occurs. Victims of harassment are more likely to report depression, general stress, anxiety, and self-blame, and are more likely to become less involved in their work or quit (Lindquist & McKay, 2018). In addition to these personal effects, workplaces which experience gender-based or sexual harassment face low employee productivity, high rates of stress and increased employee turnover (Mayer et al., 2020). By reducing gender-based and sexual harassment, workplaces can enjoy a more diverse, productive, and people-focused workplace.

The high rates of gender-based and sexual harassment can be linked to causes found within organizational culture. Studies have shown that companies continue to normalize and accept harmful behaviours such as “banter”, inappropriate jokes about someone’s gender identity or expression, and ignoring or mistreating someone due to their sexual orientation – all without repercussions (Mayer et al., 2020). As a result, workplaces need to rethink how gender and sexual harassment are addressed by shifting away from minimizing legal liability to creating organizational cultures and norms that prevent gender and sexual harassment from occurring in the first place (Mayer, et al., 2020). If workplaces are intent on achieving a safe work climate, it is critical that more holistic approaches that focus on prevention, response, and accountability are implemented. And workplaces have legislated responsibilities to do this.

There are proven methods which help to reduce gender-based and sexual harassment which have been studied in WomanACT and SCWIST’s literature review. One of these is increasing accountability and transparency through conducting climate assessments on a regular basis and releasing the results of the assessments to create an environment that does not tolerate harassment or violence. Another method is to ensure that policies and procedures relating to harassment are clear, comprehensive, and jargon-free and regularly promoted to ensure employees’ familiarity with them. In addition, training on policies and procedures as well as courses such as Bystander Training should be offered to employees and management. Lastly, organizations should build systems of response that empower employees by providing widely accessible support services alongside evidence-based practices: formal and informal reporting options, multiple reporting channels, investigation standards, and consistent enforcement. Surrounding all of these measures is the need for trauma-informed principles to ensure employee wellness and recovery as they move through an unsafe and potentially traumatic experience.

The Supporting Safe STEM Workplaces project provides free support to companies that would like to improve their policies, procedures, and training regarding gender-based and sexual harassment. If you work for a company or know one that would benefit from this project, please contact [email protected] for more information.

Read the full literature review or learn more about the Supporting Safe STEM Workplaces project.