妇女在STEM中的积极趋势

卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd)

关于STEM领域中的女性,许多负面趋势非常突出,但是突出我们正在目睹的积极趋势也很重要。 诚然,由于系统上的不平等,许多妇女在各自的领域挣扎,而且许多妇女一开始就不愿追求STEM,但我们可以抱有积极的期望,这可以进一步帮助激励和鼓励女孩和妇女。女人要坚持不懈。

在由Microsoft资助的2019年一项民意调查中,有52%的12至17岁女孩表示他们会考虑在技术或科学相关领域工作(克拉克,2019)。 此外,2010年,在加拿大,年龄在44岁及以下的STEM一年级学生中,有19%在读本科学位课程(墙,2019)。 这说明有必要将这些女孩推向STEM的方向,并作出更大的努力以消除可能阻碍其进步的任何障碍。 它还指出了这样一个事实,即妇女在STEM中的缺乏实际上可能不是由于缺乏兴趣,而是由于社会和体制障碍。 这些女孩中的许多人尽管有兴趣,但仍可能不继续从事STEM领域的原因,可能是由于缺乏女性导师,性别工资不平等,自我保证低等原因造成的。

在过去的十年中,获得STEM学位的女性人数增加了50,000多,而2009年,超过140,000名具有STEM学位的女性毕业,而在200,000年,有超过2016名获得了STEM学位的女性(席尔瓦,2019)。 加拿大统计局的数据显示,计算机和信息科学领域的女性中,有27%的女性和16%的男性在四年内完成了STEM学位,表明无论学科如何,女性的毕业速度都比男性快(Silva,2019) 。 具体来说,发现工程领域的女性比男性更具毅力,这很有趣,因为工程领域是STEM领域中女性代表最少的领域(Wall,2019)。

尽管在STEM领域男性占主导地位,但女性仍然可以坚持下去。 因此,目标是鼓励所有STEM领域的女性坚持到底。 总体而言,这些发现表明,女性在STEM计划中胜任能力强,而问题实际上并不是由于错误的观念,即男人更善于STEM相关技能。

由于人们意识到在STEM中缺少妇女,因此许多组织感到压力,要制定旨在激励妇女从事STEM领域的计划,以使他们的工作场所更加细腻和公平(兰斯塔德,2019)。 这些组织开始意识到获取多种观点和妇女可以推广的创新方法的重要性,这有助于刺激和发展这些领域。 例如,许多中小学正在开发针对女孩的夏季编码程序,希望它能吸引他们获得数学和理科学位。 Girls Who Code是一个程序,可教女孩如何构建网站,虚拟游戏,编程等。(霍顿,2019)。 它还促进与分析推理,批判性思维,问题解决和团队协作相关的技能。

此外,STEM中的女性榜样更常受到关注。 学术机构和职业组织都在呼吁更多女性领导人,以促进进步(波茨,2017)。 结果,可以积极影响更多的女孩和妇女从事STEM的职业。 马萨诸塞州大学的Nilanjana Dasgupta进行的一项研究表明,没有女性学生在接受女性指导时辍学(Potts,2017)。 然而,对于那些没有导师或仅由男性导师的人来说,辍学率分别为11%和18%(Potts,2017)。 女导师的主要优势包括更多的自信和动力,更少的学术焦虑,职业支持以及有用的建议和想法(Potts,2017年)。

最终,这些发现表明,尽管仍有许多工作要做,但STEM领域正在朝着积极的方向发展,因为趋势倾向于表明女性正在缓慢但肯定会开始获得更多的认可和认可。 我们看到越来越多的女孩和妇女对追求STEM感兴趣,大量的以妇女为中心的STEM计划,以及越来越多的女导师提倡和鼓励妇女坚持并发展成功所需的技能。 消除许多系统性障碍,将进一步帮助提高妇女的学业和职业水平,这将不可避免地在STEM的每个领域创造一个更具创新性和公平性的未来。

Positive Trends for Women in STEM

By Kassandra Burd

Many negative trends have been prominent concerning women in STEM fields, but it is also important to highlight the positive trends that we are witnessing. While it is true that many women are struggling in their respective fields due to systemic inequities, and that many women are deterred from pursuing STEM in the first place, there are positives that we can aspire to, which can further help motivate and encourage girls and women to persevere.

In a 2019 poll funded by Microsoft, 52% of girls aged 12 to 17 reported that they would consider a job in a technology or science-related field (Clarke, 2019). Moreover, in 2010, 44% of first-year women STEM students aged 19 and under were in undergraduate degree programs in Canada (Wall, 2019). This illustrates the need to push these girls in the direction of STEM and make more of an effort to eliminate any obstacles that might hinder their progress. It also points to the fact that the deficiency of women in STEM might not actually be due to lack of interest, but rather societal and institutional barriers. The reason many of these girls might not go on to pursue STEM fields, despite their interest, is likely due to lack of women mentors, gender pay inequities, low self-assurance, etc.

In the past ten years, the number of women who are awarded STEM degrees has increased by over 50,000 – while in 2009, over 140,000 women graduated with STEM degrees, over 200,000 graduated with STEM degrees in 2016 (Silva, 2019). According to Stats Canada, 27% of women and 16% of men who started out in computer and information sciences completed a STEM degree within four years, demonstrating that women graduated faster than men from STEM programs, regardless of the discipline (Silva, 2019). Specifically, women in engineering were found to persevere more than men, which is interesting because engineering is the STEM field that is least representative of women (Wall, 2019).

Despite male domination in STEM fields, women can still persist; the goal, then, is to encourage women in all STEM fields to stay the course. Overall, these findings indicate that women are more than capable of succeeding in STEM programs, and that the problem is not actually due to the erroneous notion that men are more adept at STEM-related skills.

Due to awareness concerning the lack of women in STEM, many organizations are now feeling the pressure to devise programs that are aimed towards motivating women to pursue STEM fields in order to make their workplaces more nuanced and equitable (Ranstad, 2019). These organizations are beginning to realize the importance of gaining multiple perspectives and the innovative approaches that women can promote, which helps to stimulate and advance these fields. For example, many primary and secondary schools are developing summer coding programs that are aimed towards girls in the hopes that it will attract them to math and science-based degrees. Girls Who Code is a program that teaches girls how to build websites, virtual games, programming, etc. (Houghton, 2019). It also promotes skills related to analytical reasoning, critical thinking, problem-solving, and team collaboration.

Furthermore, women role models in STEM are more often being propelled into the spotlight. Both academic institutions and job organizations are calling for more women leaders in order to promote advancement (Potts, 2017). As a result, more girls and women can be positively influenced to pursue careers in STEM. A study conducted by Nilanjana Dasgupta at the University of Massachusetts showed that there were no women students who dropped out of their studies when they were being mentored by a woman (Potts, 2017). However, for those who didn’t have a mentor or had solely male mentors, dropout rates were 11% and 18%, respectively (Potts, 2017). The main advantages of having a woman mentor include more self-confidence and motivation, less academic anxiety, career support, and helpful advice and ideas (Potts, 2017).

Ultimately, these findings show that while there is still much work to be done, STEM fields are moving in a positive direction, as trends tend to show that women are slowly but surely starting to gain more recognition and acknowledgement. We are seeing an increase of girls and women interested in pursuing STEM, an abundance of women-centred STEM programs, and a greater number of women mentors who promote and encourage women to persist and develop the skills required to succeed. Eradicating the numerous systemic barriers put into place will further help advance women in their studies and careers, which will inevitably create a more innovative and equitable future in every area of STEM.