大流行恢复必须优先考虑公平和包容性

作者: 克里斯汀·维德曼,加拿大女性科学技术协会(SCWIST)前主席

本文最初发表在《创新加拿大》上,可以查看 此处.

在COVID-19大流行的影响中,性别差距越来越大,要求在设计工作的未来时制定新的公平和包容性战略。

COVID-19大流行通过扩大现有的性别不平等并使过去取得的进步处于逆转的危险中,对妇女产生了并将继续造成不成比例的影响。 大流行对当地妇女,种族妇女,LGBTQ2S +妇女和各种能力妇女的负面影响甚至更大。 此外,这种影响可能会长期存在,从而影响我们的大流行后社会。

加拿大统计局的数据显示 妇女从事无偿工作的比例过高。 学校的停课,儿童保育的关闭以及家庭的孤立都以家务劳动的形式增加了对无偿劳动的需求。 这种劳动力可能会更多地落在妇女身上,这部分是由于劳动力的现有结构,还有社会规范。 80%的单亲家庭是 妇女领导.

妇女领导学术界和生活

妇女从事大部分家庭工作的现实适用于包括STEM和学术界在内的所有部门,这对妇女的职业产生了深远的影响。

《自然》杂志上最近发表的一篇文章表明,随着女性学者承担着大部分无偿劳动,她们正落后于男性同行,张贴的预印本更少,启动的研究项目也更少。* 女性教员平均会做更多的教学,而向在线教学的过渡增加了他们的工作量,这进一步加剧了这一事实。 另一方面,男性学者则更多地参加非研究委员会的工作,现在这些工作占用的时间越来越少,从而腾出了时间。

此外,虽然女性学者可能有配偶,但她也是男性,但男性学者则更有可能配偶不在屋外工作。 可能会有类似的影响影响学术界以外的女性STEM事业,尤其是在担任高层领导职务的女性时。

危机导致机会

除非雇主立即采取果断行动,否则COVID-19大流行将加剧加拿大的性别不平等,从而阻碍妇女的STEM职业发展,并对STEM的多样性造成长期的负面影响。

在瞬息万变的变革时期,雇主有责任和无与伦比的机会来设计更公平,更具包容性的未来工作。 为了更好地支持所有员工,尤其是女性,雇主应提供灵活的工作选择,清晰一致的沟通方式,并体现包容和善解人意的领导才能。 在2020年XNUMX月的报告中, 催化剂建议五种策略 他们相信将支持一个更好的工作场所:

  1. 包容性地度过危机
  2. 解决不平等
  3. 充满同情心
  4. 相信你的团队
  5. 远程灵活地工作

现在是关注这些优先事项并开始进行改革以确保妇女不受大流行影响的时候了。 照原样 联合国建议,“复苏必须建立一个更加平等的世界,对未来的危机具有更大的弹性。”

来源

  • 自然 581,365-366(2020)

Pandemic Recovery Must Prioritize Equity and Inclusion

Author: Christin Wiedemann, Past President, Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology (SCWIST)

This article was originally published in Innovating Canada and can be viewed here.

A growing gender disparity in the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic calls for new equitable and inclusive strategies when designing the future of work.

The COVID-19 pandemic has had, and continues to have, a disproportionate impact on women by amplifying existing gender inequalities and putting advances made in the past at risk of being reversed. The negative impact of the pandemic is even stronger on Indigenous women, racialized women, LGBTQ2S+ women, and women of various abilities. Furthermore, it’s likely that this effect will be long-term, shaping our post-pandemic society.

Data from Statistics Canada shows that women perform an inordinate share of unpaid work. School closures, the shutdown of childcare, and household isolation are increasing the demand for unpaid labour in the form of domestic work. This labour is likely to fall more heavily on women, due in part to the existing structure of the workforce, but also to social norms. This issue is exacerbated by the fact that 80% of single-parent households are led by women.

Women leading academia and leading lives

The reality of women carrying out the majority of domestic work applies across all sectors, including STEM and academia, and it’s having profound consequences on women’s careers.

A recent article in Nature suggests that, as female academics are shouldering the majority of the unpaid labour, they’re falling behind their male peers, posting fewer preprints and starting fewer research projects.* This is further compounded by the fact that female faculty on average do more teaching, and the transition to online teaching has increased their workload. Male academics, on the other hand, are more often on non-research committees, work which is now taking up less time, freeing up their schedules.

Furthermore, while female academics are likely to have a spouse who’s also an academic, male academics are more likely to have a spouse who doesn’t work outside the home. It’s likely that there are similar effects impacting women’s STEM careers outside of academia, in particular when looking at women in senior leadership roles.

Crisis leads to opportunity

Unless employers take decisive action now, the COVID-19 pandemic will increase gender inequality in Canada, hampering women’s STEM careers and causing long-term, negative impacts on diversity in STEM.

During this volatile time of change, employers have a responsibility, and an unparalleled opportunity, to design a more equitable and inclusive future of work. To better support all employees, and in particular women, employers should provide flexible work options, clear and consistent communication, and exemplify inclusive and empathetic leadership. In their May 2020 report, Catalyst suggests five strategies that they believe will espouse a better workplace:

  1. Lead inclusively through crisis
  2. Tackle inequalities
  3. Connect with empathy
  4. Trust your team
  5. Work remotely and flexibly

Now is the time to focus on these priorities and start implementing changes to ensure women are not disproportionately affected by the pandemic. As was suggested by the UN, “Recovery must lead to a more equal world that is more resilient to future crises.”

Sources

  • Nature 581, 365-366 (2020)