科技温哥华的女孩:通过远程工作进行连接

到目前为止,持续发生的COVID-19情况几乎可以肯定已经影响了您日常生活的某些方面。 无论您是在家工作(可能穿着睡衣),在线上课(再次可能是穿着睡衣)还是经历职业变更,我们都在适应这种“新常态”。 

但是,在这个远程工作,虚拟会议和轮流穿着相同的三双运动裤的时代,我们如何保持我们的集体努力来吸引和支持STEM中的女孩和妇女? 我们是否看到了所寻求的资源类型的转变?

在突然转向在线会议,讲习班和会议的过程中,一个重要的问题浮出水面:我们如何让女孩和妇女参与STEM? 

为了帮助回答这些问题,SCWIST和Ghislaine Chan和Jennifer Waldern坐了下来(或更确切地说,打了视频电话……毕竟是2020年)。 科技温哥华的女孩,该组织致力于增强和支持技术领域的年轻女性。 

主要讯息? “尽管扩大数字内容和修改通信策略很重要,但在这段时间里,最重要的是同情心。”

您对围绕COVID-19进行的有关Tech in Girl编程和计划的变化的最初想法和反应是什么?

温哥华科技学院的女孩们最近向其团队发送了一份调查报告,检查了COVID-19带来的工作或生活变化。 

Waldern说:“我们要确保每个人都在照顾自己的特定需求,而又不感到要维持一定水平的生产力。” “我们希望确保人们能够访问所需的资源,例如,是否感到孤立无助。” 

温哥华科技学院的女孩们以同情和同情心与他们的成员和志愿者接触,使人们能够以最适合自己的方式灵活地管理自己的时间和优先事项。  

Chan表示:“另一个首要任务是将资源在线转移。” 这样,成员就可以通过网站和社交媒体平台访问资料,以帮助指导专业发展,例如网络研讨会。 

通过此过程,团队认识到扩大虚拟参与度以响应COVID-19可能使成员受益。 

原因? 增加事件的可访问性。 

虚拟事件允许那些由于经济,看护人或其他限制因素而无法亲自参加的人参加。

现在,他们能够在舒适的起居室中加入而无需安排航班或住宿。 该团队表示,他们正在努力争取更持久的包容性参与机会。 

他们说,希望也能看到数字参与使志愿者受益。 

Waldern解释说:“由于现场会议已被视频会议所取代,甚至是Slack之类的平台,您可以在需要时接触到基地,因此在特定时间在特定地点的压力较小。”

(时间表 太多 但是,一次视频通话会引起“缩放疲劳”,正如我们许多人所证明的那样。

“一切都与平衡有关。”

您如何使自己的参与活动适应在线世界? 到目前为止,哪些数字或在线计划已经成功?

温哥华科技城的女孩们已经发起了一个创新的在线概念:播客俱乐部。 (想想读书俱乐部,但在线和播客)。 该小组主持了在线播客“工作中的女性-听到自己的声音”的在线听众聚会,然后讨论了赋予女性权力的问题。 这是一种创新的方法,可以在我们无法在一起的时候找到与STEM领域中其他女孩和女性有意义的联系。 幸运的是,我们可以期望将来有更多播客俱乐部会议。

400月,全球科技女孩团队主办了一个虚拟黑客马拉松,有19多个全球参与者参加,重点是创建与COVID-19作战的技术解决方案。 鼓励参与者开发解决方案,以应对与COVID-XNUMX相关的一系列社会和科学挑战,包括获得有关社会隔离的教育资源,确保为一线工人分配足够的PPE以及提供远程患者分诊服务。 您可以阅读有关黑客马拉松的更多信息 此处

像许多其他地区一样,过去在地区一级举办的黑客马拉松活动也被安排在一个较大的空间中,以便参与者之间进行协作,交流和反馈。 科技女孩能够在全球范围内保持令人兴奋的参与和连接水平,每个人都在家中和在线上。 参与者能够使用Slack招募团队成员,创建团队渠道并与团队成员进行交流。 

科技女孩还为会员编写了一系列网络研讨会,大师班和“全球课堂”教学视频。 这些资源包括品牌开发,Python编码和网络安全等主题,还包括健康和福祉等主题。 

Chan说:“在这段时间里,帮助会员的整体健康与帮助他们发展技术技能同样重要。” 

Tech in Girls还打算在虚拟在线会议的新时代分享有效工作和交流习惯的技巧。 “即使看似简单的事情,例如在视频通话中打开相机……这对于与他人建立良好的联系也非常重要。” 目的是尽可能地模拟面对面对话的经验,以便我们参与(并负责)。

告诉我们到目前为止您对在线精选新数字节目的反应。

该团队表示,真正了解会员如何回应新的数字和在线资源还为时过早。 Chan说:“有时候,我需要记住和欣赏我们还处于开发过程的早期阶段。” 

最终,该小组试图在可见的在线空间中显示最重要的信息。 “目标是不造成任何在线疲劳。”

到目前为止,哪个页面获得的点击次数最多? 工作委员会。

Chan阐述道:“这说明了人们对现在感兴趣和正在寻找的东西。 有些人可能会觉得求职速度有所放缓,但我们有这些数字表明,至少在我们的网站上正相反。 

您如何看待编程和参与将在“后COVID”时代发生变化,无论情况如何? 您认为您将恢复与以前相同的方法吗? 方法的结合?

尽管团队仍在忙于探索在当前情况下扩大和支持年轻女性技术的方法,但他们对未来确实有一些预测:

  • 人们将珍视远程工作的能力,并会越来越受到学校和雇主的信任。
  • 面对面会议的著名新颖性将使人们看到它们令人兴奋而不是疲惫。
  • 确定何时何地举行活动将是一个更具战略意义的过程。
  • 与大型聚会(例如全球会议)相比,活动将更加私密。

他们说,还要做好组织之间更多协作的准备。 “非营利组织和志愿者组织可能会开始联合起来以提供更广泛的支持。 随着需求的变化,人们可能会开始注册或成为不同组织的一部分。”

您有什么建议可以分享在这些时期如何继续支持对技术感兴趣的女孩吗?

Chan说:“保留女性,尤其是年轻女性在技术领域至关重要。” “保持这些支持系统的开放性和可访问性至关重要,特别是考虑到这段时间可能发生的就业变化,或者考虑到应届毕业生从学校到就业市场的转变。” 团队鼓励那些正在寻找职业发展途径的人进一步发展基本技能,例如公开演讲。

对于目前感觉要在技术领域导航的人很多(甚至是太多)的人,“科技女孩”鼓励您伸出援手。

Waldern说:“我们希望您知道自己并不孤单,并且如果您正在寻找自己的旅程,我们可以帮助您坚持到底。” 

Chan补充说:“我们现在拥有适合您处于任何阶段的资源-从收听播客到获得新的技术技能。 对于那些花时间专注于他们的健康或工作安全的人,我们将通过创建该空间来为您提供支持。 当您准备就绪时,我们将在这里为您提供所需的资源。”

在这段时间里我们大家还能做什么?

技术女孩团队认为以下几项对于立即确定优先级很重要:

  • 自我护理:我们应该确保我们花时间 呼吸。 花点时间找出使自己感觉更真实的因素,尤其是当您因COVID-19而失业或工作满意度下降时。
  • 用你的声音:如果您愿意的话,这可能是学习如何更有效地使用声音的好时机,无论您觉得什么样,这可能会增强您对会议的信心。
  • 讲故事(听故事):这可能是目前寻找灵感的一种方法。 在线查找(或创建!)视频,播客和采访。

所以这对于你来说意味着什么? Chan说:“现在不行也可以。” 尽管您可能会感到在此期间专注于保持生产力的压力,但“我们鼓励每个人都花一些时间准备恢复生产力。” 

如果我现在正在寻找STEM资源,该怎么办?

如果您想发展自己的专业和个人发展,或者想了解更多有关“科技女孩”组织的信息,则可以搜索他们的 全球化 网站和 温哥华分会 这里。 请继续关注即将举行的网络研讨会,播客和虚拟事件。 温哥华科技城的女孩还建议花一些时间来熟悉专门从事STEM中的女孩和妇女的组织,这些组织仍然活跃并提供在线资源。 

有关SCWIST可用的资源,请访问 www.scwist.ca/

温哥华科技学院的女孩了解到,组织仍然非常关心在STEM中支持妇女和女孩。 这些时期的最终目标是为技术领域的年轻女性营造一种归属感。

无论您是STEM的学生,工作专业人士,导师或志愿者,您在COVID时代(尤其是对于女孩和妇女)学习保持参与的能力都将因每个人的需求而异。 

SCWIST要感谢Ghislaine,Jennifer和“温哥华科技女孩”组织在STEM中为女孩和妇女提供的时间和持续的支持,尤其是在这个COVID-19时代。

Girls in Tech Vancouver: Connecting Through Remote Work

By now, the ongoing COVID-19 situation has almost certainly impacted some aspect of your day-to-day life. Whether you are working from home (probably in your pajamas), taking classes online (again, probably in your pajamas), or going through a career change, we’re finding ourselves adjusting to this ‘new normal’. 

But in this age of remote work, virtual meetings, and rotating through the same three pairs of sweat pants, how do we maintain our collective efforts to engage and support girls and women in STEM? Have we seen a shift in the type of resources sought after?

Amid the abrupt shift to online conferences, workshops, and meetings, an important question has surfaced: How do we keep girls and women engaged in STEM? 

To help answer these questions, SCWIST sat down (or rather, had a video call… it is 2020 after all) with Ghislaine Chan and Jennifer Waldern of Girls in Tech Vancouver, an organization dedicated to empowering and supporting young women in the technology sector. 

The main message? “While amplifying digital content and modifying communications strategies is important, an emphasis on compassion is most important during these times.”

What were your initial thoughts and reactions to the changes surrounding COVID-19 with respect to Girls in Tech programming and initiatives?

Girls in Tech Vancouver recently sent out a survey to its team, checking in on any work or life changes brought about by COVID-19. 

“We want to ensure that everyone is taking care of their specific needs and not feeling pressured to feel like they have to maintain a certain level of productivity,” says Waldern. “We want to make sure people have access to the resources that they need, like if they’re feeling isolated, for example.” 

Girls in Tech Vancouver have approached their members and volunteers with compassion and empathy, giving people the flexibility to manage their time and priorities in a way that works best for them.  

“Another initial priority was to move the resources online”, says Chan. This way, members are able to access materials to help guide professional development, such as webinars, through the website and social media platforms. 

Through this process, the team recognised that expanding the use of virtual engagement in response to COVID-19 is likely to benefit members. 

The reason? Increased accessibility to events. 

Virtual events allow for participation from those who would otherwise be unable to attend in-person due to financial, caregiver, or other constraints.

Now, they are able to join from the comfort of their living room without needing to arrange for flights or accommodations. The team says they are working towards more permanent inclusive opportunities for engagement. 

Expect to see digital engagement benefit volunteers as well, say the pair. 

“As in-person meetings are replaced with video conferencing, or even platforms like Slack where you can touch base when necessary, there is less pressure to be in a particular place at a particular time”, explains Waldern.

(Schedule too many video calls at one time, though, and ‘Zoom fatigue’ may start to set in, as many of us can attest to).

“It’s all about balance.”

How have you managed to adapt your engagement activities to the online world? What digital or online initiatives have been successful so far?

Girls in Tech Vancouver have already launched an innovative online concept: a Podcast Club. (Think book club, but online and with podcasts). The group hosted a live online listening party of the podcast “Women at Work – Make Yourself Heard”, followed by a discussion on female empowerment. This is an innovative approach to finding meaningful connections with other girls and women in STEM fields during a time when we cannot physically be together. Fortunately, we can expect more Podcast Club sessions in the future.

In June, the global Girls in Tech team hosted a Virtual Hackathon with over 400 global participants, focused on creating tech solutions to combat COVID-19. Participants were encouraged to develop solutions for a range of social and scientific challenges related to COVID-19, including accessibility to educational resources about social distancing, ensuring adequate distribution of PPE for frontline workers, and offering remote patient triage services. You can read more about the Hackathon here

Past Hackathon events at the regional level had been, like many others, hosted in one large space to allow for collaboration, communication, and feedback among participants. Girls in Tech were able to maintain an exciting level of engagement and connectivity between contributors on a global scale, with everyone at home and online. Participants were able to recruit team members, create team channels, and communicate with their team members – all using Slack. 

Girls in Tech have also compiled a list of webinars, master classes, and “global classroom” instructional videos for members. These resources include topics ranging from brand development, Python coding, and cybersecurity, but also themes such as health and wellbeing. 

“Helping members with their overall health during these times is just as critical as helping them develop technical skills,” says Chan. 

Girls in Tech also intends to share tips for effective work and communication habits during this new era of virtual online meetings. “Even seemingly simple things like turning on your camera while on a video call…this is really important for establishing good connections with others.” The goal is to emulate the experience of a face-to-face conversation as much as possible so that we are engaged (and accountable).

Tell us about the response so far to your new digital programs that you have featured online.

The team says it’s still a bit early to really understand how members have responded to new digital and online resources. “Sometimes I need to remember and appreciate just how early in the process we still are,” says Chan. 

Ultimately, the group tries to display the most important information in the visible online spaces.  “The goal is to not contribute to any online fatigue.”

What page has received the most clicks so far? The Job Board.

Chan elaborates, “This says something about what people are interested in and looking for right now. Some might be under the impression that job searches have slowed down, but we have these numbers to say that the opposite is happening, at least on our website”. 

How do you think programming and engagement will change in the “post-COVID” era, whatever that may look like? Do you think you will return to the same approaches as before? A combination of approaches?

Although the team is still busy exploring ways to amplify and support young women in technology under the current circumstances, they do have some predictions looking into the future:

  • People will value the ability to work remotely, and will be increasingly trusted by their schools and employers to do so.
  • The renowned novelty of in-person meetings and conferences will allow people to see them as exciting instead of exhausting.
  • Deciding when and where to have events will be a more strategic process.
  • Events will be more intimate compared to large gatherings, like global conferences.

Get ready for more collaboration between organisations as well, they say. “Non-profits and volunteer organizations may start to join together to provide broader support. People may begin to sign up or become a part of different organizations as their needs change.”

Do you have any advice to share on how to continue supporting girls interested in tech during these times?

“The retention of women, especially young women, in the technology sector is critical,” says Chan. “Keeping those support systems open and accessible is critical, especially considering the employment changes that may be happening during this time, or the transition from school to the job market for recent graduates.” The team encourages those who are looking for ways to grow professionally at this time to further develop essential skills – like public speaking.

For anyone who feels that navigating the tech field is a lot (or even too much) to handle at this time, Girls in Tech encourages you to reach out.

“We want you to know that you are not alone, and we can help you stay the course if that’s the journey you’re looking for,” says Waldern. 

Chan adds, “We have resources for whatever stage you are at right now – from listening to a podcast to gaining new skills in tech. For those who are taking this time to focus on their health or job security, we will support you by creating that space. When you are ready, we are here to provide you with the resources you need.”

What can we all still do during this time?

Here are a few things that the Girls in Tech team think are important to prioritize right now:

  • Self-care: We should make sure we are taking the time to just breathe. Take the time to find what makes you feel more present, especially if you have experienced job loss or a drop in job satisfaction as a result of COVID-19.
  • Use your voice: If you are feeling up to it, this could be a good time to learn how to use your voice more effectively, whatever that looks like for you – perhaps building your confidence in meetings.
  • Telling (and listening to) stories: This can be one way to find inspiration right now. Look for (or create!) videos, podcasts, and interviews online.

So what does this mean for you? “It’s okay not to be okay right now,” says Chan. Although you may feel pressure to focus on staying productive during these times, “We encourage everyone to take the time they need to feel ready to be productive again.” 

What can I do if I am looking for STEM resources at this time?

If you are looking to develop your professional and personal development, or would just like to learn more about the Girls in Tech organization, you can search their global site and Vancouver chapter here. Stay tuned for upcoming webinars, podcasts, and virtual events. Girls in Tech Vancouver also recommend taking some time to become familiar with organizations dedicated to girls and women in STEM that are still active and providing online resources. 

For resources available through SCWIST, visit www.scwist.ca/

Girls in Tech Vancouver understands that organizations still care deeply about supporting women and girls in STEM. The ultimate goal during these times is to create a sense of belonging for young women in the technology sector.

Regardless of your status as a student, working professional, mentor, or volunteer in STEM, learning to maintain engagement during COVID-era – specifically for girls and women – will vary depending on each individual’s needs. 

SCWIST would like to thank Ghislaine, Jennifer, and the Girls in Tech Vancouver organization for their time and ongoing support for girls and women in STEM, especially in this era of COVID-19.