实现 50-30:倡导倡导者的五个见解,以帮助推动 STEM 女性的发展

撰文: 伊丽莎白·马特尔 项目负责人, 伊芙琳·帕斯曼 委员会成员, 梅兰妮拉特南 宣传总监和 卡米拉·卡斯塔内达 SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。

尽管最近公平、多元化和包容性 (EDI) 资源和咨询公司有所增加,但加拿大 STEM 中女性的比例仍然很低。 为了了解 STEM 公司如何促进变革,552 名 STEM 员工在被问及他们对 EDI 的看法以及他们认为有什么帮助时回复了 SCWIST 向前移动拨盘.

什么是 50-30 挑战?

创新、科学和工业部长于 10 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日宣布, 50–30 挑战 是加拿大政府、企业、非营利组织、公共部门和多元化组织之间的一项倡议,旨在改善代表性不足的群体在公司董事会和高级管理层中担任职位的机会。

50–30 挑战 为每个参与组织的董事会和高级管理层设定了两个目标:性别平等(50%)和代表性不足群体的显着代表性(30%)。 代表性不足的群体包括:种族、黑人和/或有色人种(“可见的少数群体)”、残疾人(包括隐形和偶发性残疾)、2SLGBTQ+ 和/或性别和性多样化的个人,以及原住民和/或土著民族(包括那些认定为第一民族、梅蒂斯民族和因纽特人的民族)。

多样性对我们的受访者意味着什么?

对于我们的受访者来说,多样性归结为两个词:与众不同。 他们希望有一个空间来自由发展想法和解决问题,因为他们知道自己受到平等对待,并且可以与公司中的每个人一样获得相同的机会。 他们希望因其为组织带来的不同观点而受到重视,并希望看到消除歧视性工作场所政策。

多样性对 STEM 员工同样重要,无论其性别如何,受访者都认同(52% 为男性,44% 为女性,4% 为非二元或不合格)。 相比之下,与不认同某一群体的受访者相比,多样性对于认同一个或多个代表性不足的群体(例如可见的少数群体、残疾人、LGBTQ2 社区成员以及土著人民)的受访者更为重要。代表性不足的群体。 值得注意的是,我们的调查受访者中有 90% 确定了一个或多个代表性不足的群体。

贵公司是否在谈论 EDI?

如果不加以解决,女性在 STEM 经历中的巨大障碍只会因第四次工业革命而恶化,这突显了为什么现在 STEM 公司比以往任何时候都不能再忽视 EDI。 公司范围内的 EDI 意识对于实现推动工作场所变革所需的必要文化转变至关重要。 虽然一小部分受访者表示他们的公司处于领先地位,但 90% 的受访者表示他们公司对 EDI 培训和教育研讨会的兴趣不大。 尽管 89% 的受访者表示他们的公司内有指定的 EDI 角色或部门,但显然还有更多工作要做。 事实上,93% 的受访者表示他们的公司有兴趣获得帮助以实现 50-30。

在检查促进变革的有效策略时,盟友关系也很重要。 我们的调查结果显示,即使是不认同代表性不足群体的个人也表现出对促进 EDI 的兴趣,其中 31% 的人认为 EDI“非常重要”。

工作场所需要解决哪些挑战?

STEM 公司的员工,无论是入门级、中级还是高级职位,都认为阻碍其组织采取更多行动实现公平、多样化和包容性工作场所的主要障碍之一是 不知道存在多样性和包容性问题. 这一结果并不令人惊讶,因为 75% 的男性员工发现,长得像他们的人在整个组织以及高级管理层或董事会层面都有很好的代表性。 相比之下,只有 55% 的女性有同样的感受。 需要这种改变的人不在权力位置,在同事中是少数,最终很难找到支持。

如果您正在阅读这篇文章并感觉自己是少数人,那么好消息是您可能不是唯一一个在工作中寻求改变的人。 SCWIST 发现,30% 的中型 STEM 公司(100-499 名员工)的员工觉得他们在组织中有同盟者,他们分享他们的变革愿景。 对于小型(1-99 名员工)和大型(500 多名员工)公司,该百分比分别为 48% 和 40%。 尽管有这些令人鼓舞的调查结果,我们 60% 的受访者,无论他们在当前工作地点工作了多长时间,都希望他们的组织中有更多的盟友来分享他们的变革愿景。 因此可以肯定地说,您很可能是支持促进 EDI 对话的同事之一。

要了解如何影响和倡导变革,请查看我们的 宣传工具包.

最后,在使工作场所更加公平、多样化和包容性方面,受访者认为主要障碍是:

  • 公司文化
  • 高级管理人员的态度
  • 同事对内部 EDI 计划的抵制

受访者提到“在一个流动性非常低的组织中,改变需要时间”,强调了公司文化很难改变的事实。 但是,如果您想让所有员工都参与进来并克服 EDI 实践中“来自同事的无形阻力”,那么这种变化对于更具包容性的工作场所至关重要。

第四个也是最后一个障碍是,对于 EDI 计划,“获得高级利益相关者的预算批准可能具有挑战性”。 因此,执行团队中的倡导者能够将 EDI 实践的实施作为公司的战略目标之一,与在员工/员工中拥有倡导者一样重要。 在影响工作场所的变化时,这种 EDI 的多层方法可以改变游戏规则。

想了解更多关于成为倡导冠军的信息吗? 看看我们的 STEM多样性冠军工具包 

STEM 员工希望如何处理 EDI?

创建一个多元化、尊重和包容的工作空间需要公司(例如高级管理层)及其员工的时间、精力和工作。

作为一家公司,您的首要任务应该是解决和教育员工关于无意识的偏见……至少超过 58% 的调查受访者是这样认为的,无论是入门级、中级还是高级职位。 此外,入门级员工还认为需要解决保留和晋升以及入职实践和政策。

受访者希望其公司解决的其他主题包括:

  • 提供灵活的假期休假,而不是预先确定的假期休假
  • 使用公司沟通的写作风格指南,阐明什么是适当和无偏见的语言
  • 通过奖励或认可来激励更多的多样性

最后,受访者还强调,所有这些努力都必须考虑 EDI 政策所需的交叉方法,以实现真正的变革性变革。

在新兴的技术革命中,STEM 公司必须防止差距扩大。 作为 STEM 领域女性的终身合作伙伴,SCWIST 邀请您分享我们的 50-30 信息图 与社交媒体上的其他倡导冠军一起移动 STEM 女性的表盘!

Achieving 50-30: Five Insights for Advocacy Champions to Help Move the Dial for Women in STEM

Written by: Élizabeth Martel Project Leader, Eveline Pasman Committee Member, Melanie Ratnam Advocacy Director and Camila Castaneda SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

Representation for women in STEM remains low across Canada in spite of the recent increase in Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) resources and consulting firms. In an effort to understand how STEM companies can catalyze change, 552 STEM employees responded to SCWIST when asked about their perspectives on EDI and what they feel would help move the dial forward.

What is the 50-30 Challenge?

Announced by the Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry on December 10, 2020, The 50–30 Challenge is an initiative between the Government of Canada, business, not-for-profit, the public sector, and diversity organizations to improve access for under-represented groups to positions on corporate boards and in senior management.

The 50–30 Challenge sets two goals for the boards and senior management of each participating organization: gender parity (50 percent) and significant representation of under-represented groups (30 percent). Under-represented groups include: Racialized, Black, and/or People of Colour (“Visible Minorities)”, People with disabilities (including invisible and episodic disabilities), 2SLGBTQ+ and/or gender and sexually diverse individuals, and Aboriginal and/or Indigenous Peoples (including those that identify as First Nation Peoples, Métis Nation and Inuit).

What does diversity mean to our survey respondents?

To our survey respondents, diversity boils down to two words: being different. They desire a space to freely develop ideas and solve problems knowing they are being treated equally and have access to the same opportunities as everyone in their company. They wish to be valued for the diverse perspectives they bring to their organizations and would like to see discriminatory workplace policies eliminated.

Diversity was equally important to STEM employees, regardless of which gender, respondents identified with (52% identified as man, 44% as woman and 4% as non-binary or non-conforming). In contrast, diversity was more important to respondents who identified with one or more underrepresented groups (e.g. visible minority persons, people living with disabilities, members of the LGBTQ2 community, as well as Indigenous Peoples) when compared to those who did not identify with an underrepresented group. Notably, 90% of our survey respondents identified with one or more under-represented groups.

Is your company talking about EDI?

If left unaddressed, the disportionate barriers that women in STEM experience will only be worsened by the fourth industrial revolution and this underscores why now more than ever, STEM companies can no longer afford to ignore EDI. A company-wide awareness of EDI is critical to achieving the necessary shift in culture needed to drive change in the workplace. While a small portion of respondents indicated that their companies are ahead of the curve, 90% reported that there is a moderate interest for EDI training and educational seminars at their company. Though 89% of respondents reported having an EDI designated role or department within their companies, it is clear that there is still more work to be done. Indeed, 93% of the respondents say their company would be interested in getting help to achieve 50-30.

Allyship is also important when examining effective strategies to catalyze change. Our survey results revealed that even individuals who did not identify with an underrepresented group demonstrated an interest in fostering EDI where 31% found EDI ‘very important’.

Which challenges need to be addressed in the workplace?

Employees of STEM companies, whether in entry-level, intermediate-level, or senior-level roles, think that one of the main obstacles preventing their organizations from taking more action towards an equitable, diverse, and inclusive workplace is unawareness that there is a diversity and inclusion issue. This result was somewhat unsurprising as 75% of employees that identified as males found that people who look like them are well-represented at their organization as a whole, as well as at the senior management or board level. In contrast, only 55% of women felt the same way. Those who need this change are not in positions of power and are a minority amongst their colleagues, which ultimately makes it hard to find support.

If you’re reading this post and feel like you’re among the minority, the good news is that you are probably not the only one at work looking for change. SCWIST found that 30% of employees of medium size STEM companies (100-499 employees) feel like they have allies in their organization that share their vision for change. For small (1-99 employees) and large (500+ employees) companies, this percentage was 48% and 40%, respectively. In spite of these encouraging survey results, 60% of our respondents, regardless of how long they have been working at their current place of employment, wish they had more allies in their organization that share their vision for change. It is therefore safe to say that you are likely among colleagues who will support efforts to facilitate conversations about EDI.

To learn HOW to influence and advocate for change, check out our Advocacy Toolkit.

Finally, when it comes to making the workplace more equitable, diverse, and inclusive, survey respondents felt that the main obstacles were:

  • Company culture
  • Attitudes of senior management
  • Resistance from co-workers to internal EDI initiatives

Respondents mention that “at an organization where turnover is very low, change takes time” emphasizing the fact company culture can be hard to change. However, this change is critical for a more inclusive workplace if you want to get all your employees on board and overcome the “invisible resistance from colleagues” when it comes to EDI practices.

The fourth and final obstacle is that “it can be challenging to get budget approval from senior stakeholders” for EDI initiatives. Thus, an Advocacy Champion on the executive team who can emphasize the implementation of EDI practices as one of the company’s strategic goals is just as important as having Advocacy Champions among staff/employees. This multi-tiered approach to EDI can be a game changer when it comes to affecting change in the workplace.

Want to learn more about being an Advocacy Champion? Check out our STEM Diversity Champion Toolkit 

How do STEM employees want to see EDI addressed?

Creating a workspace that is diverse, respectful, and inclusive takes time, effort, and work from both the company (e.g. senior management) and its employees.

As a company, your priority should be to address and educate employees around unconscious biases…At least that’s the opinion of over 58% of our survey respondents, whether in entry-level, intermediate-level, or senior-level roles. In addition, entry-level employees also feel that retention and promotion, as well as onboarding practices and policies, need to be addressed.

Other topics that respondents would like to see addressed by their companies are:

  • To offer flexible holiday time off instead of pre-determining holidays off
  • To use a writing style guide for company communications that clarify what is appropriate and bias-free language
  • To provide incentive for more diversity through awards or recognition

Finally, respondents also emphasized that all of these efforts must take into account the intersectional approach needed in EDI policies for true transformative change to occur.

Amidst the emerging tech revolution, it’s imperative that STEM companies prevent the gap from widening. As life-long partners of women in STEM, SCWIST asks you to share our 50-30 Infographic with other Advocacy Champions on social media so we can move the dial for women in STEM together!