成长为一个充满活力的女孩

by 埃德娜·马塔·卡马乔, 卡尔顿大学研究助理

图片:“女人的强大踢腿” Edna Matta-Camacho

我小时候的所有回忆都没有性别鸿沟。

我成长于一个小时候给我和兄弟姐妹,两个姐妹和一个兄弟相同的家务的家庭。 我曾经和朋友,女孩和男孩(包括我的兄弟)在街上踢足球,他们并没有歧视我们女孩,而且他们和我们一起踢球的态度和其他男孩一样。

当然,我们也进行过男女对战的比赛,但是即使那样,比赛也总是非常公平和尊重的。 我记得我和父亲一起去屋顶修理,清洁,更换破损的瓷砖或固定电缆并做一些电杂事。 我记得和哥哥一起放风筝,然后去山顶放风筝。 我无所畏惧,强大无比,我无所不能!

然后,您将继续成长,成为一名少年,社会的观念和压力不仅影响您,而且影响您的家庭。

我记得我们的一些邻居告诉我妈妈,如果我继续踢足球,我会成为“男子气的女孩”。 关于什么适合男孩或女孩的陈规定型观念可能会限制他们的学习和发展。 罗汉·特尔福德(Rohan M. Telford)在其2016年的出版物中指出:“由于学校和家庭的影响力较弱,女孩的活跃度比男孩低19%”(1)。 尽管有邻居的评论,我妈妈却从未阻止过我。 到我10岁时,我就知道如何踢足球,垒球,排球,游泳,旱冰鞋,骑自行车,艺术体操,民俗舞蹈和戏剧。 这么多的精力,那么多的活动,我爱他们。

我上的是女子学校,这对我来说很难适应。我的大多数同学都只是去结交和留住男朋友,只喜欢聊天,而不喜欢运动或活动。

对于学校管理者而言,所有充斥着我的精力并不容易,这会给我带来麻烦,而且每年我的母亲和父亲都不得不为我寻找新的学校。 在学校里,不存在在课间稍作休息以帮助孩子释放能量并更好地专注于课堂的想法。 文章“为什么孩子不应该坐在教室里”对这个话题有很好的看法 (2)。 我不得不在学校不断听到负面评论,说我是一个有问题的女孩,叛逆者,败类。 我妈妈在某个时候感到非常沮丧,但是我父亲从未停止相信疯狂的能量中确实存在着某种东西。

令人难以置信的是,所有这些东西,刻板印象和负面评论,如何在以后更脆弱的时期对生活产生有害影响。 在远离家庭和家庭的大学里,面对挑战,所有这些事情又回到了我的脑海,我开始失去信心,开始相信自己还不够好。 幸运的是,我的家人一直在支持我,并推动我前进,告诉我“您可以做到”,使我重回正轨。 但是,这就像每次遇到新挑战,犹豫不决,回放……的循环,然后我记得自己很坚强,很聪明,而且我能做到。

我看到我的孩子很多,我不会让他们被称为有问题的孩子。 不要让任何人进入您的脑袋,也不要让任何人进入您的孩子的脑袋,因为它们很珍贵,它们只是完美的样子。 重视他们的力量,他们的能量很美,因为那有很多潜力。

參考資料

1. RM,Telford,RD,Telford,LS,Olive,T。&Davey,R。为什么女孩子的运动能力不如男孩子好? PLoS One 11,(2016年)。

2.唐娜·德拉克鲁兹(Donna De La Cruz),“为什么孩子不应该坐在教室里”,纽约时报,21年2017月XNUMX日。

Growing as an Energetic Girl

by Edna Matta-Camacho, Research Associate, Carleton University

Image: “The powerful kick of a Women”​ Edna Matta-Camacho

All my memories back when I was a child don’t have a gender gap.

I grew up in a family that as a kid gave me the same chores as my siblings, two sisters and one brother. I used to play soccer on the street with my friends, girls and boys (including my brother), and they didn’t discriminate us girls, and they were playing as rough with us as with the other boys.

Of course, we also had the girls vs. boys matches but even then, it was always very even and respectful. I remember that with my dad I used to go onto the roof to fix it, to clean it, change a broken tile or fixing cables and doing electrical chores. I remember making kites with my brother and going to the top of the mountain to fly them. I was fearless, powerful, I could do anything!

Then you continue growing, becoming a teenager and society’s ideas and pressure lays not only on you, but also on your family.

I recall some of our neighbours telling my mom that if I were to continue playing soccer, I would become a “macho-girl”. Stereotyped ideas regarding what is appropriate for boys or girls can limit their learning and development. Rohan M. Telford in its publication of 2016 reported that “Girls were 19% less active than boys due to weaker influences at the school and family”(1). Despite our neighbours’ comments, my mom never stopped me. By the time I was 10 years old, I knew how to play soccer, softball, volleyball, swimming, rollerblade, cycling, rhythmic gymnastics, folkloric dancing and theatre. So much energy, so many activities, and I loved them.

I went to girls-only schools and it was quite difficult for me to fit in. Most of my schoolmates were only into getting and keeping a boyfriend, only liked to chat and not so much into sports or activities.

All that energy encapsulated in me was not easy for school administrators, it would get me in trouble and every year my mom and my dad had to look for new schools for me. At school there wasn’t the idea of having small breaks in between classes to help children to release their energy and concentrate better in class. The article “Why Kids Shouldn’t Sit Still in Class” have very nice views on this topic (2). I had to hear at school constantly negative comments that I was a problematic girl, the rebel, the black sheep. My mom got quite frustrated at some point, but my dad never stopped believing that inside that crazy energy there was something really good.

It’s unbelievable how all these things together, stereotypes and negative comments, have a harmful impact in life later on at more vulnerable times. At university, far from home and family, facing challenges, all those things came back to my mind and I was losing confidence and started believing I wasn’t good enough. By fortune, my family always supporting me and pushing me forward, telling me “you can do it” got me back to speed. Nonetheless, it’s like a cycle every time when new challenges are on my path, that short moment of hesitation, the playback… and next I remember that I am strong, I am smart, and I can do it.

I see a lot of me on my kids and I won’t let them be called problematic kids. Don’t let anybody get into your head, don’t let anybody get into your kid’s heads, because they are precious, they are just perfect the way they are. Value their strength, their energy is beautiful because that, that’s a lot of potential.

References

1. Telford, R. M., Telford, R. D., Olive, L. S., Cochrane, T. & Davey, R. Why Are Girls Less Physically Active than Boys?. PLoS One 11, (2016).

2. Donna De La Cruz “Why Kids Shouldn’t Sit Still in Class” March 21, 2017. NY Times.