التحيز الجنساني في المؤتمرات الأكاديمية

by كاساندرا بورد

مع سيطرة غالبية الرجال على مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، فليس من المستغرب أن نسمع أن غالبية المقدمين والمتحدثين في المؤتمرات الأكاديمية هم في الغالب من الذكور. في حين أن هذا لا يبدو مشكلة كبيرة في خضم العديد من القضايا الأخرى التي تواجهها النساء في الأوساط الأكاديمية ، فمن المؤكد أنها تحدث فرقًا. يلعب عدم ظهور المرأة في المؤتمرات دورًا سلبيًا في تحفيز المرأة على متابعة مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، كما أنها تعيقها عندما يتعلق الأمر بعدم كفاية الاعتراف والاعتراف بأبحاثهن. في الأساس ، هذا يفيد الرجال فقط ، لأنه يضع عملهم في دائرة الضوء ويتفوق على العمل الأكاديمي القيم للمرأة. كما أن تمثيل النساء المنتميات إلى مجموعات الأقليات ناقص في العديد من المؤتمرات ، وهذا هو السبب في أنه من الأهمية بمكان وضع قواعد لضمان المساواة بين الجنسين والإنصاف العام عندما يتعلق الأمر بحاضري المؤتمر والمتحدثين.

من بين جميع مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ، تعد علوم الأرض (علوم الأرض والمحيطات والغلاف الجوي) هي أكثر القطاعات تحيزًا بين الجنسين (Cannon et al. ، 2018). في كولومبيا البريطانية في اجتماع الاتحاد الجيوفيزيائي الكندي لعام 2017 والجمعية الكندية للزراعة والأرصاد الجوية للغابات ، كانت النساء غالبية الحاضرين ، ومع ذلك ، فقد شكلن 28٪ فقط من المقدمين الشفويين و 19٪ من المتحدثين المدعوين (كانون وآخرون ، 2018 ). كان من المرجح أن تكون جلسات الملصقات مؤلفة من النساء ، لكن هذه الجلسات لم تكن تحظى بتقدير كبير أو سمعة طيبة مثل العروض التقديمية ؛ بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، 5٪ فقط من العروض كانت من قبل نساء ملونات (كانون وآخرون ، 2018). يتساءل البعض عن سبب عدم ظهور النساء في كثير من الأحيان كمتحدثات أو مقدمات في هذه المؤتمرات ؛ هل يمكن أن يكونوا ببساطة أقل اهتمامًا بالحضور من الرجال؟ قد يكون هذا صحيحًا جزئيًا ، ولكن فقط لأنه لم يتم بذل أي جهد لتخفيف التحيز المستمر. على سبيل المثال ، ذكرت 41٪ من النساء أن الأسباب الثلاثة الأولى لعدم حضور المؤتمر تشمل نقص تمثيل النساء ، ونقص أماكن الإقامة للأمهات ، والتمييز على أساس الجنس (Baron، 2019). في نهاية المطاف ، هذه الاكتشافات منطقية لأنها تساهم في الدورة الدائمة للتحيز الجنساني وعدم حضور الأكاديميات. 

في بكين في المؤتمر الدولي الخامس عشر للكيمياء الكمية في عام 15 ، كان جميع المتحدثين الـ 2015 والكراسي الفخرية من الذكور (Arnold ، 29). نتيجة لذلك ، تم تقديم عريضة موقعة من قبل أكثر من 2015 عالم. وفقًا لمؤسسة العلوم الوطنية ، تم منح 1,500٪ من شهادات الدكتوراه في العلوم في الولايات المتحدة للنساء ، فلماذا لا يتم تمثيلهن بشكل متناسب في المؤتمرات؟ (أرنولد ، 50.6). يقاطع العديد من العلماء هذه المؤتمرات لزيادة الوعي بهذه القضية بحيث قد يؤدي تناقص عدد الحضور إلى إقناع اتخاذ تدابير لتهيئة بيئة أكثر إنصافًا وتنوعًا. يعني قلة تعرض النساء بشكل أساسي أنهن أقل احتمالية لبلوغ مناصب أعلى في مجالاتهن (Kempston ، 2015). إذا لم تحصل النساء على تقدير لعملهن ، فكيف يفترض بهن أن يحصلن على مناصب مرموقة في المجالات التي يختارنها؟ توفر المؤتمرات الأكاديمية فرصة ممتازة للأكاديميين لعرض أعمالهم ؛ مع ممارسات المؤتمرات المتحيزة جنسانياً ، تصبح أبحاث المرأة والعمل التطبيقي غير مرئي.

صرحت لين كلاسون ، مديرة شركة تكنولوجيا المعلومات خارج شيكاغو ، أن الرؤية هي المفتاح ، وهي تتساءل عن الرسالة التي يتم إرسالها إلى الفتيات والنساء في مجالات التكنولوجيا اللواتي لم يتم تمثيلهن في مرحلة المؤتمر (Baron ، 2019). كيف تحافظ الفتيات على الحافز في السعي وراء العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات عندما لا يشاهدن المزيد من النساء في مقدمة المجالات التي يرغبن فيها؟ هناك عدد قليل من أكبر العقبات التي تواجهها النساء في المؤتمرات هي أنه من غير المرجح أن يتم قبولهن كمقدمات ، وأن يتم أخذهن بجدية أقل أثناء المناقشات ، وقضايا قواعد اللباس ، والموازنة بين الواجبات الاجتماعية والمهنية ، والتحرش الجنسي (Inomics ، 2016). على وجه الخصوص ، يعتبر التحرش الجنسي مشكلة منتشرة بشكل كبير في المؤتمرات ، وللأسف لا تحظى بالاهتمام الكافي. على سبيل المثال ، من خلال الاجتماعات التقنية ، شهد ما يقرب من 31٪ من النساء تحرشًا جنسيًا خلال مؤتمر ، بينما تعرضت 26٪ شخصياً للتحرش الجنسي (Baron، 2019). 

لذا ، يبقى السؤال: ما الذي يمكننا فعله لإبراز هذه القضايا وإحداث واقع جديد للمرأة في المؤتمرات الأكاديمية تجعلها تشعر بالأمان في حضورها والاعتراف بها في عملها العلمي؟ وفقًا لفريق Inomics ، يجب علينا أولاً جمع البيانات التي توضح وتؤكد التحيز الحالي المتكرر في هذه المؤتمرات ؛ تؤدي هذه البيانات في النهاية إلى زيادة الوعي بالقضية المطروحة. ثانيًا ، يمكننا تضمين النساء في التخطيط للمؤتمرات بحيث تكون قواعد وممارسات المؤتمر عادلة ومنصفة في جميع المجالات. عندما يتعلق الأمر باختيار المتحدثين ، فإن إشراك امرأة في الفريق يؤثر بشكل إيجابي على نسبة الجنس في الجلسات (Inomics ، 2016). ثالثًا ، من المهم فهم سبب رفض النساء لدعوات المؤتمر ؛ هل يتعلق الأمر ببرامج رعاية الأطفال غير الملائمة التي يوفرها المؤتمر ، مما يجعل من الصعب الحضور؟ إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا ، فقد تساعد المساعدة المالية في دفع تكاليف رعاية الأطفال إذا لم يكن لديهم خيار آخر سوى اصطحاب أطفالهم معهم في رحلاتهم. قد يكون أيضًا أن بعض النساء لا يشعرن أنه يتم منحهن فرصًا مميزة معقولة في هذه المؤتمرات. إن معرفة أسباب رفض النساء للحضور سيساعد المنظمين على تنظيم المؤتمرات والاجتماعات بطريقة أكثر مساواة. 

نحن نعلم أن النساء مهمات للغاية للتقدم في جميع المجالات الأكاديمية ، وليس فقط العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. ومع ذلك ، فإن حقيقة أن مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات قد بذلت جهدًا ضئيلًا تقريبًا أو لم تبذل أي جهد لتضمين النساء في الكلمات الرئيسية في المؤتمرات السابقة يعيدنا خطوة إلى الوراء عندما يتعلق الأمر بإحراز تقدم في هذه المجالات. لن يؤدي التغيير الإيجابي فقط إلى جذب مزيد من الاهتمام لأبحاث المرأة ، ولكنه سيعمل أيضًا على إلهام الفتيات الصغيرات لمتابعة مساعيهن الأكاديمية إذا استطعن ​​أن يروا بأنفسهن أن الاعتراف ممكن بالفعل.

Gender Bias in Academic Conferences

by Kassandra Burd

With the majority of men dominating STEM fields, it is not surprising to hear that the majority of presenters and speakers at academic conferences are predominantly male. While this doesn’t seem like a significant problem in the midst of so many other issues that women face in academia, it certainly makes a difference. Lack of visibility of women at conferences plays a negative role in women’s motivation to pursue STEM fields, and also sets them back when it comes to insufficient recognition and acknowledgement of their research. Essentially, this only benefits  men further, as it places their work in the spotlight and eclipses the valuable academic work of women. Also, women belonging to minority groups are even further underrepresented at many conferences, which is why it is crucial that rules be put into place to ensure gender equity and overall fairness when it comes to conference attendees and speakers.

Out of all of the STEM fields, the geosciences (earth, oceanic, and atmospheric sciences) are the most gender-biased sector of them all (Cannon et al., 2018). In British Columbia at the 2017 Canadian Geophysical Union and Canadian Society for Agriculture and Forest Meteorology meeting, women were the majority of attendees, however, they made up only 28% of oral presenters and 19% of invited speakers (Cannon et al., 2018). Poster sessions were more likely to be comprised of women, but these sessions are not as highly-regarded or reputable as presentations; additionally, only 5% of presentations were by women of colour (Cannon et al., 2018). Some question why women are not often visible as speakers or presenters at these conferences; could it be that they are simply less interested in attending than men? This may be partially true, but only because no effort is being taken to ameliorate the prejudice that persists. For instance, 41% of women state that the top three reasons for not attending a conference include underrepresentation of women, lack of accommodations for mothers, and gender-based discrimination (Baron, 2019). Ultimately, these revelations make sense as they contribute to the perpetual cycle of gender bias and non-attendance of female academics. 

In Beijing at the 15th International Congress of Quantum Chemistry conference in 2015, all 29 of the speakers and honorary chairs were male (Arnold, 2015). As a result, a petition was introduced signed by over 1,500 scientists. According to the National Science Foundation, 50.6% of PhDs in the sciences in the U.S. were awarded to women, so why is it that they are not represented proportionately at conferences? (Arnold, 2015). Many scientists boycott these conferences to raise awareness of this issue so that dwindling numbers of attendees might perhaps persuade measures be put into place to establish a more equitable and diverse environment. Less exposure for women essentially means that they are less likely to achieve higher positions in their fields (Kempston, 2018). If women aren’t getting recognition for their work, how are they supposed to secure prestigious positions in their fields of choice? Academic conferences provide an excellent opportunity for academics to showcase their work; with gender-biased conference practices, women’s research and applied work are rendered invisible.

Lin Classon, a director of an IT company outside Chicago, states that visibility is key, and she questions what message is being sent to girls and women in tech fields who are not represented on the conference stage (Baron, 2019). How are girls to stay motivated in the pursuit of STEM when they’re not seeing more women in the foreground of their desired fields? A few of the biggest obstacles that women face with conferences are that they’re least likely to be accepted as presenters, taken less seriously during discussions, dress code issues, balancing social and professional duties, and sexual harassment (Inomics, 2016). In particular, sexual harassment is a widespread issue that is quite prevalent at conferences, and unfortunately is not given sufficient attention. As an example, with tech meetings, nearly 31% of women witnessed sexual harassment during a conference, while 26% personally experienced sexual harassment (Baron, 2019). 

So, the question remains: what can we do to accentuate these issues and bring about a new reality for women at academic conferences that make them feel both secure in their attendance and acknowledged in their scholarly work? According to the Inomics team, first we we must collect data that illustrates and confirms the existing bias that is recurrent in these conferences; this data ultimately raises awareness of the issue at hand. Second, we can include women in conference planning so that conference rules and practices are fair and equitable across the board. When it comes to selection of speakers, having a woman included on the team positively impacts proportion of gender in the sessions (Inomics, 2016). Third, it is important to understand why women might turn down conference invitations; does it have to do with inadequate child care programs provided by the conference, making it difficult to attend? If plausible, perhaps financial assistance might help pay for child care if they have no other choice but to bring their children along in their travels. It could also be that some women don’t feel that they are given reasonable distinctive opportunities at these conferences. Knowing the reasons why women refuse to attend will help organizers to structure conferences and meetings in a more egalitarian manner. 

We know that women are absolutely crucial to the advancement of all academic fields, not just STEM. However, the fact that STEM fields have made virtually little or no effort to include women in keynotes at past conferences takes us a step back when it comes to making progress in these fields. Not only would positive change bring increased attention to women’s research, but it will also serve to inspire young girls to pursue their academic endeavours if they can see for themselves that recognition is indeed possible.