学术会议中的性别偏见

by 卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd)

在大多数人主导STEM领域的情况下,听到学术会议上的大多数演讲者和演讲者主要是男性并不奇怪。 尽管在学术界女性面临的许多其他问题中,这似乎并不是一个重大问题,但它确实有所作为。 妇女在会议上缺乏知名度在妇女追求STEM领域的动机中起着负面作用,并且当他们对研究的认识和认可不足时,也会使她们退缩。 从本质上讲,这只会进一步使男人受益,因为这使男人的工作成为人们关注的焦点,并使妇女的宝贵学术工作黯然失色。 同样,在许多会议上,属于少数群体的妇女的人数进一步减少,这就是为什么制定规则以确保会议参加者和演讲者的性别平等和总体公平至关重要。

在所有STEM领域中,地球科学(地球科学,海洋科学和大气科学)是所有这些领域中性别偏见最严重的领域(Cannon et al。,2018)。 在不列颠哥伦比亚省的2017年加拿大地球物理联合会和加拿大农业与森林气象学会会议上,女性是与会者的主要参与者,但她们仅占口头演讲者的28%和受邀演讲者的19%(Cannon等人,2018年) )。 海报会议更有可能由女性组成,但是这些会议不像演讲那样受到高度重视或声誉。 此外,只有5%的演讲是有色女性的(Cannon et al。,2018)。 有人质疑为什么在这些会议上不经常出现妇女担任演讲者或主持人的现象; 难道他们只是对参加的兴趣不如对男性感兴趣? 这可能在一定程度上是正确的,但这仅是因为没有采取任何措施来减轻持续存在的偏见。 例如,有41%的女性表示不参加会议的三大原因包括女性代表不足,母亲缺乏住宿和基于性别的歧视(Baron,2019)。 最终,这些启示是有意义的,因为它们助长了性别偏见和女性学者不上学的永恒循环。 

在15年第2015届国际量子化学大会会议上,在北京的所有29位演讲者和名誉主席均为男性(Arnold,2015年)。 结果,引入了由1,500多名科学家签名的请愿书。 根据美国国家科学基金会的统计,美国有50.6%的科学博士学位是授予女性的,那么为什么在会议上没有按比例代表她们呢? (阿诺德,2015年)。 许多科学家抵制这些会议,以提高对这一问题的认识,以便减少参加会议的人数,也许可以说服采取措施建立更加公平和多样化的环境。 妇女接触的减少本质上意味着她们在各自领域中担任更高职位的可能性较小(Kempston,2018)。 如果女性在工作中没有得到认可,那么她们应该如何在自己选择的领域中享有声望? 学术会议为学者展示他们的工作提供了绝佳的机会; 借助带有性别偏见的会议惯例,女性的研究和应用工作变得无形。

芝加哥郊外一家IT公司的董事Lin Classon指出,可见度是关键,她质疑向未参加会议舞台的科技领域的女孩和女性发送什么信息(Baron,2019年)。 当女孩没有在期望的领域中看到更多女性时,她们如何在追求STEM方面保持动力? 妇女在会议上面临的最大障碍是,她们很少被接受为演讲者,在讨论,着装要求,平衡社会和职业职责以及性骚扰等问题上不太重视(Inomics,2016)。 尤其是,性骚扰是一个普遍存在的问题,在会议上非常普遍,遗憾的是,没有得到足够的重视。 例如,在技术会议上,将近31%的妇女在会议期间目睹了性骚扰,而26%的个人经历了性骚扰(Baron,2019)。 

因此,问题仍然存在:我们如何做才能突出这些问题,并为妇女参加学术会议带来新的现实,使妇女在出席会议上感到既安全又在学术工作中得到认可? 根据Inomics团队的说法,首先我们必须收集数据来说明并确认这些会议中经常出现的现有偏见; 这些数据最终提高了对当前问题的认识。 第二,我们可以将女性纳入会议筹划中,以使会议规则和惯例在各个方面都公平公正。 在选择演讲者时,让一名女性加入团队可以对会议中的性别比例产生积极影响(Inomics,2016)。 第三,重要的是要理解为什么妇女可能拒绝会议邀请。 这与会议提供的儿童保育计划不足有关,从而使与会者难以参加吗? 如果合理的话,如果他们别无选择,只能带孩子一起旅行,也许经济援助可能有助于支付托儿费用。 也有可能某些女性没有感到在这些会议上获得了合理的独特机会。 知道妇女拒绝出席的原因将有助于组织者以更加平等的方式组织会议。 

我们知道,女性对所有学术领域的发展至关重要,而不仅仅是STEM。 但是,STEM领域在过去的会议上几乎没有或几乎没有努力让女性参加主题演讲,这一事实使我们在这些领域取得进展时退后了一步。 积极的变化不仅会引起对妇女研究的更多关注,而且如果年轻女孩能够看到自己的确承认是切实可行的,那么这也将激发年轻女孩继续其学业努力。

Gender Bias in Academic Conferences

by Kassandra Burd

With the majority of men dominating STEM fields, it is not surprising to hear that the majority of presenters and speakers at academic conferences are predominantly male. While this doesn’t seem like a significant problem in the midst of so many other issues that women face in academia, it certainly makes a difference. Lack of visibility of women at conferences plays a negative role in women’s motivation to pursue STEM fields, and also sets them back when it comes to insufficient recognition and acknowledgement of their research. Essentially, this only benefits  men further, as it places their work in the spotlight and eclipses the valuable academic work of women. Also, women belonging to minority groups are even further underrepresented at many conferences, which is why it is crucial that rules be put into place to ensure gender equity and overall fairness when it comes to conference attendees and speakers.

Out of all of the STEM fields, the geosciences (earth, oceanic, and atmospheric sciences) are the most gender-biased sector of them all (Cannon et al., 2018). In British Columbia at the 2017 Canadian Geophysical Union and Canadian Society for Agriculture and Forest Meteorology meeting, women were the majority of attendees, however, they made up only 28% of oral presenters and 19% of invited speakers (Cannon et al., 2018). Poster sessions were more likely to be comprised of women, but these sessions are not as highly-regarded or reputable as presentations; additionally, only 5% of presentations were by women of colour (Cannon et al., 2018). Some question why women are not often visible as speakers or presenters at these conferences; could it be that they are simply less interested in attending than men? This may be partially true, but only because no effort is being taken to ameliorate the prejudice that persists. For instance, 41% of women state that the top three reasons for not attending a conference include underrepresentation of women, lack of accommodations for mothers, and gender-based discrimination (Baron, 2019). Ultimately, these revelations make sense as they contribute to the perpetual cycle of gender bias and non-attendance of female academics. 

In Beijing at the 15th International Congress of Quantum Chemistry conference in 2015, all 29 of the speakers and honorary chairs were male (Arnold, 2015). As a result, a petition was introduced signed by over 1,500 scientists. According to the National Science Foundation, 50.6% of PhDs in the sciences in the U.S. were awarded to women, so why is it that they are not represented proportionately at conferences? (Arnold, 2015). Many scientists boycott these conferences to raise awareness of this issue so that dwindling numbers of attendees might perhaps persuade measures be put into place to establish a more equitable and diverse environment. Less exposure for women essentially means that they are less likely to achieve higher positions in their fields (Kempston, 2018). If women aren’t getting recognition for their work, how are they supposed to secure prestigious positions in their fields of choice? Academic conferences provide an excellent opportunity for academics to showcase their work; with gender-biased conference practices, women’s research and applied work are rendered invisible.

Lin Classon, a director of an IT company outside Chicago, states that visibility is key, and she questions what message is being sent to girls and women in tech fields who are not represented on the conference stage (Baron, 2019). How are girls to stay motivated in the pursuit of STEM when they’re not seeing more women in the foreground of their desired fields? A few of the biggest obstacles that women face with conferences are that they’re least likely to be accepted as presenters, taken less seriously during discussions, dress code issues, balancing social and professional duties, and sexual harassment (Inomics, 2016). In particular, sexual harassment is a widespread issue that is quite prevalent at conferences, and unfortunately is not given sufficient attention. As an example, with tech meetings, nearly 31% of women witnessed sexual harassment during a conference, while 26% personally experienced sexual harassment (Baron, 2019). 

So, the question remains: what can we do to accentuate these issues and bring about a new reality for women at academic conferences that make them feel both secure in their attendance and acknowledged in their scholarly work? According to the Inomics team, first we we must collect data that illustrates and confirms the existing bias that is recurrent in these conferences; this data ultimately raises awareness of the issue at hand. Second, we can include women in conference planning so that conference rules and practices are fair and equitable across the board. When it comes to selection of speakers, having a woman included on the team positively impacts proportion of gender in the sessions (Inomics, 2016). Third, it is important to understand why women might turn down conference invitations; does it have to do with inadequate child care programs provided by the conference, making it difficult to attend? If plausible, perhaps financial assistance might help pay for child care if they have no other choice but to bring their children along in their travels. It could also be that some women don’t feel that they are given reasonable distinctive opportunities at these conferences. Knowing the reasons why women refuse to attend will help organizers to structure conferences and meetings in a more egalitarian manner. 

We know that women are absolutely crucial to the advancement of all academic fields, not just STEM. However, the fact that STEM fields have made virtually little or no effort to include women in keynotes at past conferences takes us a step back when it comes to making progress in these fields. Not only would positive change bring increased attention to women’s research, but it will also serve to inspire young girls to pursue their academic endeavours if they can see for themselves that recognition is indeed possible.