من المقعد إلى المتحف: Yukiko Stranger-Galey

بواسطة مارين دا سيلفا، دكتوراه، مساعد تطوير الأعمال، Mitacs

يوكيكو سترينجر-جالي (تصوير أليسون راسموسن)

هل تبحث عن أفكار للانتقال الوظيفي من مقاعد البدلاء؟ هذا واحد من Yukiko Stranger-Galey ، الذي لديه خلفية في الكيمياء الحيوية وعلم الأحياء الدقيقة ، ويقوم الآن برعاية المعارض للمتاحف!

العمل في متحف بيتي للتنوع البيولوجي

بصفتها مديرًا للمعارض والتصميم ، تقوم يوكيكو بتطوير المعارض التي تحتفل بعجائب وتنوع العالم الطبيعي. يركز جزء من عملها على المعارض المؤقتة ، وتعزيز الروابط بين العلم والفن والمجتمعات. يشبه يوم العمل المعتاد في Yukiko إجراء الأبحاث ... للجمهور! تتعاون مع علماء الأبحاث لتصميم المعارض وكتابتها وعرضها بطرق تتواصل مع الجمهور وتشركهم في العلوم التي تحيط بهم في كل مكان.

افتتح متحف بيتي للتنوع البيولوجي في عام 2010. ويمكن التعرف عليه بسهولة في حرم فانكوفر بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ، بسبب الهيكل العظمي للحوت الأزرق الضخم الذي يمكنك رؤيته من خلال النوافذ الكبيرة. (حقيقة ممتعة: المتحف هو موطن لأكبر هيكل عظمي للحوت الأزرق في كندا.) متحف بيتي ليس مجرد متحف عرض عام منتظم ، ولكنه أيضًا موقع للبحث العلمي النشط ، والذي تم تعزيزه من خلال ارتباطه بمركز أبحاث التنوع البيولوجي المرفق.

نظمت يوكيكو المعارض مؤخرًا ، "أقرب بقلم جوليا هاجنوكزكي وكاترينا فيرا وونغ ، " و"Skin & Bones من كاثرين إم ستيوارت مع إكسسوارات من مجموعات الملابس من Claus Jahnke & Ivan Sayers ".

وفقًا لـ Yukiko ، يجب أن يكون العلم متاحًا للجميع ، فنحن نحتاج فقط إلى الأشخاص أو المنظمات المناسبة ، مثل المتاحف ، للمساعدة في بناء جسر للجمهور.

قالت "إن فرصة مشاركة قصص الناس والكائنات الحية والأشياء في عالمنا تلهمني كل يوم".

Yukiko تتفاعل مع زوار معرض Life in Color بواسطة Angela Gooliaff (تصوير ديريك تان)

رحلة مهنية غير نمطية

نشأت يوكيكو في لندن بالمملكة المتحدة. كفتاة صغيرة ، كانت شغوفة بالعلوم والأدب الإنجليزي أيضًا. مثل العديد من الشابات ، استلهمت ماري كوري ، التي كانت عالمة رائدة وأول امرأة تفوز بجائزة نوبل. عندما بدأت يوكيكو الدراسة في الجامعة ، ركزت على العلوم بدلاً من الأدب ، مدركة أنها ستحتاج إلى شهادة جامعية لتدخل في مهنتها كعالمة ؛ ومن ناحية أخرى ، ستكون دائمًا قادرة على تغذية حبها للأدب حتى بدون تدريب رسمي.

درست الكيمياء الحيوية في جامعة إدنبرة في اسكتلندا بالمملكة المتحدة وأكملت درجة الماجستير في علم الأحياء الدقيقة من جامعة شيكاغو بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. خلال دراساتها العليا ، طورت اهتمامًا شديدًا باللقاحات ومساعدة الناس. بعد الانتهاء من أطروحة الماجستير ، واصلت دراستها للحصول على الدكتوراه من جامعة شيكاغو. ركزت أبحاثها على تطوير لقاح ضد MRSA (مقاومة للميثيسيلين المكورات العنقودية الذهبية) ، وهي مجموعة من البكتيريا المقاومة لبعض المضادات الحيوية ، مما يجعل من الصعب علاج الالتهابات المرتبطة بها.

بينما وجدت يوكيكو درجة الدكتوراه. العمل مثير للاهتمام ومجزٍ مع المنشورات في مجلة مراجعة الأقران ، شعرت أن شيئًا ما لم يكن صحيحًا تمامًا.

قالت: "لقد أحببت عملي كعالمة في المختبر ، لكنني وجدت مجال دراستي ينمو بشكل أضيق وأضيق ، وقد فاتني هذا الاتصال اليومي مع الناس والمجتمع".

بعد عامين من الدكتوراه. قررت ترك العمل ، حتى لو لم يكن لديها خطة أخرى!

نظرًا لأن تأشيرتها لم تسمح لها بالعمل في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، فقد تقدمت بطلب للحصول على وظيفة تطوعية في Adler Planetarium في شيكاغو. على الرغم من أنها ليست لديها خلفية في علم الفلك ، إلا أنها استمتعت بالتعرف على مواضيع جديدة وشرحها للزوار. الأهم من ذلك ، أنها كشفت عن شغف لتوصيل العلوم للجمهور. كانت تجربتها الأولى في العمل في متحف.

بعد انتقالها إلى فانكوفر ، انضمت إلى Science World كميسرة للعلوم في عام 2007 ، وبدأت في النهاية العمل في الفريق المسؤول عن تطوير المعارض العلمية. تضمن هذا الموقف الكثير من الكتابة والقراءة ، لذلك تم أخيرًا توحيد عواطف يوكيكو والعلوم والأدب!

انضمت يوكيكو إلى متحف بيتي للتنوع البيولوجي كمتطوع في عام 2011 وتم تعيينها لقيادة فريق المعارض والتصميم بعد بضعة أشهر.

امرأة في العلم وأم عاملة

بالإشارة إلى مسارها المهني ، صرحت يوكيكو أنها تشعر بأنها محظوظة ، لأنها كانت في المكان المناسب في الوقت المناسب.

لقد واجهت بالتأكيد بعض التحديات في السعي وراء مهنة من مقاعد البدلاء إلى المتحف. عندما بدأت العمل في المتاحف ، كانت دراسات المتاحف لا تزال تخصصًا ناشئًا ، لذا فإن خلفيتها العلمية جنبًا إلى جنب مع مهارات الاتصال لديها وقدرتها على التعمق في البحث جعلت الانتقال أسهل.

تعرف يوكيكو وابنتها على البط في متحف بيتي للتنوع البيولوجي (تصوير ديريك تان)

يوكيكو ليست مجرد امرأة في مجال العلوم ، ولكنها أيضًا أم لطفلين صغيرين. وهي تدرك أنه ليس من السهل إيجاد التوازن الصحيح بين العمل والحياة ، حيث توفر أماكن العمل الملائمة للأسرة المرونة للآباء والأمهات كمفتاح للنجاح. لقد كان المزج بين الأسرة والوظيفة عملية ، لكن يوكيكو تقول إنها تعلمت ترك العمل في المكتب وكنز هذا الوقت العائلي المتواصل.

كعضو في SCWIST ، تود Yukiko أن تكون بمثابة نموذج يحتذى به ودعم النساء العاملات أو المهتمات بالعمل في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. إنها تشجع الفتيات الصغيرات اللائي يفكرن في العمل في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات على ألا يشعرن بالخوف. "تطوع في المعامل والمتاحف أو في أي مكان ترغب في العمل فيه وتعرف على المنظمة والأشخاص. لقاء مع النساء العاملات هناك ، وسوف يسعد الكثيرون لمشاركة خبراتهم وتقديم المشورة ".

كان من دواعي سروري مقابلة يوكيكو. مسار حياتها المهنية ملهم ويوضح أنه من المهم أن تثق بحدسك وتبحث عن مهنة تجمع بين كل شغفك.

From the bench to the museum: Yukiko Stranger-Galey

by Marine Da Silva, Ph.D., Business Development Associate, Mitacs

Yukiko Stranger-Galey (Photo by Allison Rasmussen)

Looking for ideas for career transitions from the bench? Here’s one from Yukiko Stranger-Galey, who has a background in Biochemistry and Microbiology, and now curates exhibits for museums!

Working at the Beaty Biodiversity Museum

As an Exhibits & Design Manager, Yukiko develops exhibits that celebrate the wonder and diversity of the natural world. Part of her work focuses on temporary exhibitions, fostering connections between science, art, and communities. Yukiko’s typical workday is like doing research… for the public! She collaborates with research scientists to design, write and showcase exhibits in ways that will connect with the public and engage them in the science that is all around them.

The Beaty Biodiversity Museum opened in 2010. It is easily recognizable at the Vancouver campus of the University of British Columbia, due to the massive blue whale skeleton that you can see through the large windows. (Fun fact: the museum is home to Canada’s largest blue whale skeleton.) The Beaty Museum is not just a regular public display museum, but also a site for active scientific research, enhanced through its connection with the attached Biodiversity Research Centre.

Yukiko recently curated the exhibitions, “Closer by Julya Hajnoczky and Katrina Vera Wong, “ and “Skin & Bones by Catherine M. Stewart with accessories from the clothing collections of Claus Jahnke & Ivan Sayers”.

According to Yukiko, science should be accessible to everyone, we just need the right people or organizations, like museums, to help build a bridge to the public.

“The opportunity to share the stories of the people, organisms, and objects in our world inspires me every day,” she said.

Yukiko engages with visitors to the exhibition Life in Colour by Angela Gooliaff (Photo by Derek Tan)

An atypical career journey

Yukiko grew up in London, UK. As a young girl, she was passionate about science, and also English literature. Like many young women, she was inspired by Marie Curie, who was a pioneering female scientist and the first woman to win the Nobel Prize. When Yukiko started to study at university, she concentrated on science rather than literature, aware that she would need a university degree to enter a career as a scientist; and on the other hand she would always be able to feed her love of literature even without formal training.

She studied Biochemistry at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland, UK and completed her Master’s degree in Microbiology at the University of Chicago in the USA. During her graduate studies, she developed a keen interest in vaccines and helping people. After completing her Master’s thesis, she continued on with a doctorate at the University of Chicago. Her research focused on the development of a vaccine against MRSA (methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus), a group of bacteria that are resistant to certain antibiotics, which makes their related infections difficult to treat.

While Yukiko found her Ph.D. work interesting and rewarding with publications in a peer-review journal, she felt that something was not quite right.

“I loved my work as a scientist in the lab, but I found my field of study growing narrower and narrower, and I missed that daily connection with people and community,” she said.

After a couple of years of Ph.D. work, she decided to quit, even if she had no other plan!

As her visa didn’t allow her to work in the USA, she applied for a volunteer position at the Adler Planetarium in Chicago. Although she had no background in Astronomy, she enjoyed learning about new topics and explaining them to visitors. Most importantly, she uncovered a passion for communicating science to the public. It was her first experience working in a museum.

After moving to Vancouver, she joined Science World as a Science Facilitator in 2007, and eventually started working on the team responsible for developing science exhibits. This position involved a lot of writing and reading, so both Yukiko’s passions, science and literature were finally reunited!

Yukiko joined the Beaty Biodiversity Museum as a volunteer in 2011 and was hired to lead the Exhibits & Design team a few months later.

A woman in science and a working mother

Referring to her career path, Yukiko states that she feels fortunate, because she was at the right place at the right time.

She certainly has faced a few challenges in pursuit of a career from the bench to the museum. When she started working for museums, museum studies were still an emerging discipline, so her background in science combined with her communication skills and her ability to dive into research made the transition easier.

Yukiko and her daughter learn about ducks at the Beaty Biodiversity Museum (Photo by Derek Tan)

Yukiko is not only a woman in science, but also a mother of 2 young children. She recognizes that it is not easy to find the right work/life balance, with family-friendly workplaces offering flexibility to parents a key to success. Blending family and career has been a process, but Yukiko says she has learned to leave work at the office and treasure that uninterrupted family time.

As a SCWIST member, Yukiko would like to serve as a role model and support women working or interested in working in the STEM field. She encourages young girls who are considering a career in STEM to not feel intimidated. “Volunteer in labs, in museums, or any place you would like to work and get to know the organization and the people. Meet with women working there, many will be glad to share their experiences and provide advice,” she said.

It was a pleasure to meet Yukiko. Her career path is inspiring and demonstrates that it is important to trust your gut and search out a career that will combine all your passions.