从长凳到博物馆:Yukiko Stranger-Galey

通过Marine Da Silva神达公司业务发展副教授,博士

Yukiko Stranger-Galey(摄影:Allison Rasmussen)

寻找替补席上的职业过渡想法吗? 这里有生物化学和微生物学背景的Yukiko Stranger-Galey的照片,现在他正在为博物馆策划展览!

在Beaty生物多样性博物馆工作

作为展览和设计经理,由纪子(Yukiko)致力于开发展览,以庆祝自然世界的奇观和多样性。 她的工作重点是临时展览,促进科学,艺术与社区之间的联系。 雪子的典型工作日就像是为公众做研究……! 她与研究科学家合作,设计,撰写和展示展览品,从而与公众建立联系,并使他们参与周围的科学。

Beaty生物多样性博物馆于2010年开放。由于您可以透过大窗户看到巨大的蓝鲸骨架,因此在不列颠哥伦比亚大学的温哥华校区很容易辨认。 (有趣的事实:该博物馆是加拿大最大的蓝鲸骨骼的所在地。)贝蒂博物馆不仅是一个定期的公共展示博物馆,还是一个活跃的科学研究场所,通过与附属的生物多样性研究中心的联系而得以增强。

由幸子最近策划了展览,“Jula Hajnoczky和Katrina Vera Wong的特写,“ 和“凯瑟琳·斯图尔特(Catherine M. Stewart)的《皮肤与骨骼》,以及克劳斯·詹克(Claus Jahnke)和伊凡·赛耶斯(Ivan Sayers)服装系列的配饰”.

Yukiko认为,科学应该对所有人开放,我们只需要合适的人或组织(如博物馆)来帮助架起通向公众的桥梁。

她说:“分享我们世界中人类,生物和物体的故事的机会每天激励着我。”

Yukiko与Angela Gooliaff的展览《彩色生活》(Life in Color)(摄影:Derek Tan)

非典型的职业旅程

由纪子在英国伦敦长大。 小时候,她对科学以及英国文学充满热情。 像许多年轻女性一样,她受到了居里夫人的启发。居里夫人是一位先驱女性科学家,也是首位获得诺贝尔奖的女性。 由纪子开始在大学学习时,她专注于科学而不是文学,因为她意识到自己需要获得大学学位才能从事科学家职业。 另一方面,即使没有经过正式培训,她也将始终能够满足自己对文学的热爱。

她在英国苏格兰爱丁堡大学学习生物化学,并在美国芝加哥大学获得了微生物学硕士学位。 在研究生学习期间,她对疫苗和帮助人们产生了浓厚的兴趣。 完成硕士学位论文后,她继续在芝加哥大学获得博士学位。 她的研究重点是针对MRSA(耐甲氧西林 金黄色葡萄球菌),对某些抗生素具有抗性的一组细菌,这使得其相关感染难以治疗。

当幸子发现她的博士学位时 她的工作很有趣,并且在同行评审期刊上发表论文颇有收获,她感到有些不对劲。

她说:“我喜欢我在实验室里做科学家的工作,但是我发现我的研究领域越来越狭窄,我错过了与人和社区之间的日常联系。”

经过几年的博士学位。 工作,她决定辞职,即使她没有其他计划!

由于她的签证不允许她在美国工作,因此她在芝加哥的阿德勒天文馆申请了志愿者职位。 尽管她没有天文学的背景,但她喜欢学习新主题并向访问者解释新主题。 最重要的是,她发现了向公众传播科学的热情。 这是她第一次在博物馆工作。

移居温哥华后,她于2007年加入科学世界,担任科学协调员,并最终开始负责开发科学展览的团队。 这个职位涉及大量的写作和阅读,因此由纪子的热情,科学和文学终于得以重聚!

Yukiko于2011年以志愿者身份加入Beaty生物多样性博物馆,并于几个月后受聘领导展览与设计团队。

科学界的女人和工作的母亲

在谈到自己的职业道路时,幸子表示自己感到很幸运,因为她在正确的时间在正确的地方。

从长凳到博物馆的职业生涯,她当然面临着一些挑战。 当她开始为博物馆工作时,博物馆研究仍然是一门新兴学科,因此她的科学背景,沟通技巧和研究能力使过渡变得更加容易。

由纪子和她的女儿在Beaty生物多样性博物馆(Beaty Biodiversity Museum)了解鸭子的知识(摄影:Derek Tan)

雪子不仅是科学界的女性,还是两个孩子的母亲。 她认识到,要找到合适的工作/生活平衡并不容易,家庭友好的工作场所为父母提供灵活性是成功的关键。 融合家庭和事业是一个过程,但雪子幸子说她已经学会了离开办公室工作,并珍惜这段不间断的家庭时间。

作为SCWIST成员,Yukiko希望成为榜样,并支持在STEM领域工作或对工作感兴趣的女性。 她鼓励正在考虑从事STEM事业的年轻女孩不要感到被胁迫。 “在实验室,博物馆或您想工作的任何地方当志愿者并结识组织和人民。 与在那工作的妇女见面,许多人将很高兴分享她们的经验并提供建议。”

见到幸子真高兴。 她的职业道路鼓舞人心,并表明,相信自己的直觉并寻找能够融合您所有激情的职业非常重要。

From the bench to the museum: Yukiko Stranger-Galey

by Marine Da Silva, Ph.D., Business Development Associate, Mitacs

Yukiko Stranger-Galey (Photo by Allison Rasmussen)

Looking for ideas for career transitions from the bench? Here’s one from Yukiko Stranger-Galey, who has a background in Biochemistry and Microbiology, and now curates exhibits for museums!

Working at the Beaty Biodiversity Museum

As an Exhibits & Design Manager, Yukiko develops exhibits that celebrate the wonder and diversity of the natural world. Part of her work focuses on temporary exhibitions, fostering connections between science, art, and communities. Yukiko’s typical workday is like doing research… for the public! She collaborates with research scientists to design, write and showcase exhibits in ways that will connect with the public and engage them in the science that is all around them.

The Beaty Biodiversity Museum opened in 2010. It is easily recognizable at the Vancouver campus of the University of British Columbia, due to the massive blue whale skeleton that you can see through the large windows. (Fun fact: the museum is home to Canada’s largest blue whale skeleton.) The Beaty Museum is not just a regular public display museum, but also a site for active scientific research, enhanced through its connection with the attached Biodiversity Research Centre.

Yukiko recently curated the exhibitions, “Closer by Julya Hajnoczky and Katrina Vera Wong, “ and “Skin & Bones by Catherine M. Stewart with accessories from the clothing collections of Claus Jahnke & Ivan Sayers”.

According to Yukiko, science should be accessible to everyone, we just need the right people or organizations, like museums, to help build a bridge to the public.

“The opportunity to share the stories of the people, organisms, and objects in our world inspires me every day,” she said.

Yukiko engages with visitors to the exhibition Life in Colour by Angela Gooliaff (Photo by Derek Tan)

An atypical career journey

Yukiko grew up in London, UK. As a young girl, she was passionate about science, and also English literature. Like many young women, she was inspired by Marie Curie, who was a pioneering female scientist and the first woman to win the Nobel Prize. When Yukiko started to study at university, she concentrated on science rather than literature, aware that she would need a university degree to enter a career as a scientist; and on the other hand she would always be able to feed her love of literature even without formal training.

She studied Biochemistry at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland, UK and completed her Master’s degree in Microbiology at the University of Chicago in the USA. During her graduate studies, she developed a keen interest in vaccines and helping people. After completing her Master’s thesis, she continued on with a doctorate at the University of Chicago. Her research focused on the development of a vaccine against MRSA (methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus), a group of bacteria that are resistant to certain antibiotics, which makes their related infections difficult to treat.

While Yukiko found her Ph.D. work interesting and rewarding with publications in a peer-review journal, she felt that something was not quite right.

“I loved my work as a scientist in the lab, but I found my field of study growing narrower and narrower, and I missed that daily connection with people and community,” she said.

After a couple of years of Ph.D. work, she decided to quit, even if she had no other plan!

As her visa didn’t allow her to work in the USA, she applied for a volunteer position at the Adler Planetarium in Chicago. Although she had no background in Astronomy, she enjoyed learning about new topics and explaining them to visitors. Most importantly, she uncovered a passion for communicating science to the public. It was her first experience working in a museum.

After moving to Vancouver, she joined Science World as a Science Facilitator in 2007, and eventually started working on the team responsible for developing science exhibits. This position involved a lot of writing and reading, so both Yukiko’s passions, science and literature were finally reunited!

Yukiko joined the Beaty Biodiversity Museum as a volunteer in 2011 and was hired to lead the Exhibits & Design team a few months later.

A woman in science and a working mother

Referring to her career path, Yukiko states that she feels fortunate, because she was at the right place at the right time.

She certainly has faced a few challenges in pursuit of a career from the bench to the museum. When she started working for museums, museum studies were still an emerging discipline, so her background in science combined with her communication skills and her ability to dive into research made the transition easier.

Yukiko and her daughter learn about ducks at the Beaty Biodiversity Museum (Photo by Derek Tan)

Yukiko is not only a woman in science, but also a mother of 2 young children. She recognizes that it is not easy to find the right work/life balance, with family-friendly workplaces offering flexibility to parents a key to success. Blending family and career has been a process, but Yukiko says she has learned to leave work at the office and treasure that uninterrupted family time.

As a SCWIST member, Yukiko would like to serve as a role model and support women working or interested in working in the STEM field. She encourages young girls who are considering a career in STEM to not feel intimidated. “Volunteer in labs, in museums, or any place you would like to work and get to know the organization and the people. Meet with women working there, many will be glad to share their experiences and provide advice,” she said.

It was a pleasure to meet Yukiko. Her career path is inspiring and demonstrates that it is important to trust your gut and search out a career that will combine all your passions.