您的学术经验是行业的财富!

埃德娜·马塔·卡马乔 卡尔顿大学研究助理博士

最近,我有一个独特的机会和经验,从学术界过渡到工业界。 出乎意料的是,这是一次积极而丰富的变化!

过渡的一个重要方面是公司的使命和愿景(“在药物发现和开发方面取得进步”) 对齐的 很好 为什么我是科学家 和我的职业目标。

过渡过程开始了 前一年 完成我的博士后。 我了解到在一家公司的职位,我的技能和专业知识将是一项很好的资产。 我申请该职位为时已晚,但公司保留了我的简历,并在一年后开设新职位时与我联系。 当然,我很感兴趣,因此 电话面试 预定的。 这是我第一次接触一家生物技术公司,我很紧张。 但是,我通过查看在线资源为面试做准备。 文章“如何进行电话面试”,作者Deborah L. Jacobs(《福布斯》 2014年)1)给了我一些有用的想法。 我强烈建议您阅读本文。

我将自己录制在视频中,练习模拟电话采访时可能遇到的问题。 这些录音帮助我调整了声音的音量和速度,练习了可能的答案。 练习减轻了我的焦虑。 能够确定您的优势以及这些优势对公司中特定职位的帮助非常重要。

通话当天,我再次感到紧张,但是一旦开始电话采访,我就会感到自信。 我之所以能够即兴创作,是因为我头脑中有清晰的主意,整个对话过程很自然。 我相信正是对话的自然顺畅性促使我进入了选择过程的下一个阶段。 就我而言 准备 是一个很好的工具,所以一直在寻找 非常安静,无干扰 这个电话的地方。

为了我的 工作介绍,我选择了研究项目中的重点 职位描述的技能和专长。 公司正在寻找我没有的候选人中的一项特殊技能,但是我通过展示自己在与该特定技能相关的技术方面的经验来解决了这一问题。 我准备了演示文稿和问答,以严格遵守所需的时间范围,并且 预先练习。 在我的演讲中,我发现将聆听者的问题引导到聆听者的答案很有用。 当然,有些问题您可能不知道答案,但是请花一点时间暂停一下,并尝试提供相关的建议或可能的答案而不做任何补充。 有一些在线资源,其中包含有关如何解决此问题的有用提示; 例如,张莉莉(Lily Zhang)在她的文章“处理不知道如何回答面试问题的4种方法“ (缪斯)(2).

新的 面对面访谈 原来是与我未来的同事进行的友好/非正式的对话。 他们想知道一些关于我的知识,为什么要进行过渡,我对公司的满意之处,以及我如何为公司的使命做出贡献。 有人问我其他常见的面试问题,例如那些旨在发掘我如何与工作中的同事一起处理截止日期压力和困难情况的问题。 同样重要的是,您也要向他们提出问题:例如,他们有多少周的假期,个人/病假,福利,公司内部的专业发展。 这些问题对于您从公司内部的环境中进行查看很重要。 请记住,工作面试是一个双向过程。

在经历了招聘流程并在这家公司工作之后,我意识到我们博士拥有丰富的经验和技能,这些经验和技能对行业设置非常有价值。 在攻读博士学位期间,我们接受过使用批判性思维,团队合作,管理项目,分析数据并成为我们自己的研究项目的领导者的培训。 我们只需要知道如何将这些技能翻译成行业语言即可。 已经有许多资源提供了提示,可帮助您如何自定义简历。 最近,我在 自然, “如何从学术界向工业界过渡”(3).

不要害怕寻求帮助,扩大您的网络,发展您的领导力,我们在博士学位期间经历了很多事情,不要失去您的热情!

參考資料

1) https://www.forbes.com/sites/deborahljacobs/2014/05/27/how-to-ace-a-phone-interview/#5e388e9a2617

2) https://www.themuse.com/advice/4-ways-to-handle-interview-questions-you-dont-know-how-to-answer

3) https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-01332-1

Your academia experience is an asset in industry!

Edna Matta-Camacho PhD, Research Associate, Carleton University

Recently, I had a unique opportunity and experience of transitioning from academia to industry. It was unexpectedly a positive and enriching change!

An important aspect of this transition was that the mission and vision of the company (“to advance in Drug Discovery and Development”) which aligned very well with why I am a scientist and my professional goals.

The process of transitioning started a year before finishing my postdoc. I learnt about a position in a company where my skills and professional expertise would be a good asset. I applied too late for that position, but the company kept my CV and contacted me a year later when a new position opened. Of course, I was interested, thus a phone-interview was scheduled. This was my first contact with a biotech company, and I was nervous. However, I prepared for the interview by looking at online resources. The article “How to Ace a Phone Interview” by Deborah L. Jacobs (Forbes-2014)(1) gave me useful ideas. I highly recommend reading the article.

I recorded myself on video practicing mock phone-interviews with potential questions. Those recordings helped me to adjust the volume and speed of my voice, practice potential answers. Practising reduced my anxiety. It is important to be able to identify your strengths and how these would be useful for a particular position in the company.

On the day of the call, I was nervous again, but once the phone interview started, I felt confident. I was able to improvise because I had clear ideas in my mind and the whole conversation felt natural. I believe it was the natural flow of the conversation which contributed in taking me to the next level of the selection process. In my case, preparation was a good tool, and so was looking for a very quiet, free of interruptions place for this call.

For my work presentation, I chose the part of my research projects that focused on the skills and expertise for the job description. There was a particular skill that the company was looking for in a candidate that I didn’t have, but I addressed this by showing that I had experience on a technique related to that particular skill. I prepared the presentation and Q&A to strictly adhere to the time frame required, and practiced in advance. During my presentations, I find it useful to lead listeners to questions which you can make yourself shine with the answers. There are of course questions where you might not know the answer, but just take a moment to pause and try to provide a related suggestion or possible answer without making things up. There are some online resources with useful tips on how to address this issue; for example, Lily Zhang provides some great advice in her article “4 ways to handle interview questions you don’t know how to answer” (the muse)(2).

The face-to-face interview turned out to be a friendly/informal conversation with my future colleagues. They wanted to know a little about me, why I wanted to make the transition, what I liked about the company, and how I thought I could contribute to the company’s mission. I was asked additional common interview questions such as those that aimed to discover how I dealt with deadline stress and difficult situations with colleagues at work. It is important that you have questions for them too, for example: how many weeks of vacation they have, personal/sick days, benefits, professional growth within the company. These questions are important for you to have a view from the environment inside the company. Remember, job interviews are a two-sided process.

After going through this recruitment process and working for this company, I realized that we, PhDs, have numerous experiences and skills which are valuable for industry settings. During a PhD we are trained to use critical thinking, work in teams, manage projects, analyze data and be the leaders of our own research projects. We just need to know how to translate these skills into industry language. There are many resources already out there with tips to help you how to customize your CV. I recently came across a useful career brief in Nature, “How to transition from academia to industry”(3).

Don’t be afraid to reach out for help, increase your network, develop your leadership, we have gone through a lot during our PhDs, don’t lose your enthusiasm!

References

1) https://www.forbes.com/sites/deborahljacobs/2014/05/27/how-to-ace-a-phone-interview/#5e388e9a2617

2) https://www.themuse.com/advice/4-ways-to-handle-interview-questions-you-dont-know-how-to-answer

3) https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-01332-1