خبرتك الأكاديمية ميزة في الصناعة!

إدنا ماتا كاماتشو دكتوراه ، باحث مشارك ، جامعة كارلتون

في الآونة الأخيرة ، أتيحت لي فرصة وخبرة فريدة في الانتقال من الأوساط الأكاديمية إلى الصناعة. لقد كان تغييرا إيجابيا ومثيرا بشكل غير متوقع!

يتمثل أحد الجوانب المهمة لهذا التحول في أن مهمة الشركة ورؤيتها ("التقدم في اكتشاف الأدوية وتطويرها") الانحياز جيد جدا مع لماذا انا عالم وأهدافي المهنية.

بدأت عملية الانتقال قبل عام إنهاء ما بعد الدكتوراه. لقد تعلمت عن منصب في شركة حيث ستكون مهاراتي وخبراتي المهنية من الأصول الجيدة. لقد تقدمت في وقت متأخر جدًا لهذا المنصب ، لكن الشركة احتفظت بسيرتي الذاتية واتصلت بي بعد عام عندما تم فتح منصب جديد. بالطبع ، كنت مهتمًا ، وبالتالي أ مقابلة عبر الهاتف وكان من المقرر. كان هذا أول اتصال لي مع شركة تكنولوجيا حيوية ، وكنت متوترة. ومع ذلك ، استعدت للمقابلة من خلال النظر في الموارد عبر الإنترنت. المقالة "كيفية إجراء مقابلة هاتفية"بقلم ديبورا إل جاكوبس (فوربس 2014) (1) أعطاني أفكارًا مفيدة. أوصي بشدة بقراءة المقال.

لقد سجلت نفسي على مقطع فيديو وأنا أتدرب على مقابلات هاتفية وهمية مع أسئلة محتملة. ساعدتني تلك التسجيلات على ضبط مستوى صوتي وسرعته ، وممارسة الإجابات المحتملة. التدرب يقلل من قلقي. من المهم أن تكون قادرًا على تحديد نقاط قوتك وكيف ستكون مفيدة لمنصب معين في الشركة.

في يوم المكالمة ، شعرت بالتوتر مرة أخرى ، ولكن بمجرد أن بدأت المقابلة عبر الهاتف ، شعرت بالثقة. كنت قادرًا على الارتجال لأن لدي أفكارًا واضحة في ذهني وكانت المحادثة بأكملها طبيعية. أعتقد أن التدفق الطبيعي للمحادثة هو الذي ساهم في نقلي إلى المستوى التالي من عملية الاختيار. في حالتي، كانت أداة جيدة ، ولذلك كان البحث عن ملف هادئ جدا وخال من الانقطاعات مكان لهذه المكالمة.

لاجلي عرض العمل، اخترت الجزء من مشاريعي البحثية التي ركزت عليها المهارات والخبرات لوصف الوظيفة. كانت هناك مهارة معينة كانت الشركة تبحث عنها في مرشح لم أكن أمتلكها ، لكنني عالجت هذا من خلال إظهار أنني أمتلك خبرة في تقنية تتعلق بتلك المهارة المحددة. لقد أعددت العرض التقديمي والأسئلة والأجوبة للالتزام الصارم بالإطار الزمني المطلوب ، و تمارس مقدما. خلال عروضي التقديمية ، أجد أنه من المفيد توجيه المستمعين إلى الأسئلة التي تجعلك تتألق بالإجابات. هناك بالطبع أسئلة قد لا تعرف الإجابة عنها ، ولكن توقف قليلاً وحاول تقديم اقتراح ذي صلة أو إجابة محتملة دون اختلاق الأمور. هناك بعض الموارد عبر الإنترنت مع نصائح مفيدة حول كيفية معالجة هذه المشكلة ؛ على سبيل المثال ، تقدم ليلي زانغ بعض النصائح الرائعة في مقالتها "4 طرق للتعامل مع أسئلة المقابلة التي لا تعرف كيفية الإجابة عليها"(الملهمة) (2).

أفضل مقابلة وجها لوجه تحولت إلى محادثة ودية / غير رسمية مع زملائي المستقبليين. لقد أرادوا معرفة القليل عني ، ولماذا أردت إجراء الانتقال ، وما الذي أعجبني في الشركة ، وكيف اعتقدت أنه يمكنني المساهمة في مهمة الشركة. طُلب مني أسئلة مقابلة مشتركة إضافية مثل تلك التي تهدف إلى اكتشاف كيف تعاملت مع ضغوط الموعد النهائي والمواقف الصعبة مع الزملاء في العمل. من المهم أن يكون لديك أسئلة لهم أيضًا ، على سبيل المثال: عدد أسابيع الإجازة التي لديهم ، والأيام الشخصية / المرضية ، والمزايا ، والنمو المهني داخل الشركة. هذه الأسئلة مهمة بالنسبة لك للحصول على وجهة نظر من البيئة داخل الشركة. تذكر أن مقابلات العمل هي عملية ذات وجهين.

بعد إجراء عملية التوظيف هذه والعمل في هذه الشركة ، أدركت أننا ، حاصلون على درجة الدكتوراه ، لدينا العديد من الخبرات والمهارات التي تعتبر ذات قيمة في إعدادات الصناعة. خلال الدكتوراه ، يتم تدريبنا على استخدام التفكير النقدي ، والعمل في فرق ، وإدارة المشاريع ، وتحليل البيانات ، وأن نكون قادة في مشاريعنا البحثية. نحتاج فقط إلى معرفة كيفية ترجمة هذه المهارات إلى لغة الصناعة. هناك العديد من الموارد المتاحة بالفعل مع نصائح لمساعدتك في كيفية تخصيص سيرتك الذاتية. لقد عثرت مؤخرًا على موجز وظيفي مفيد في طبيعة، "كيفية الانتقال من الأوساط الأكاديمية إلى الصناعة" (3).

لا تخف من طلب المساعدة ، أو زيادة شبكتك ، أو تطوير قيادتك ، لقد مررنا بالكثير خلال درجات الدكتوراه ، فلا تفقد حماسك!

مراجع

1) https://www.forbes.com/sites/deborahljacobs/2014/05/27/how-to-ace-a-phone-interview/#5e388e9a2617

2) https://www.themuse.com/advice/4-ways-to-handle-interview-questions-you-dont-know-how-to-answer

3) https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-01332-1

Your academia experience is an asset in industry!

Edna Matta-Camacho PhD, Research Associate, Carleton University

Recently, I had a unique opportunity and experience of transitioning from academia to industry. It was unexpectedly a positive and enriching change!

An important aspect of this transition was that the mission and vision of the company (“to advance in Drug Discovery and Development”) which aligned very well with why I am a scientist and my professional goals.

The process of transitioning started a year before finishing my postdoc. I learnt about a position in a company where my skills and professional expertise would be a good asset. I applied too late for that position, but the company kept my CV and contacted me a year later when a new position opened. Of course, I was interested, thus a phone-interview was scheduled. This was my first contact with a biotech company, and I was nervous. However, I prepared for the interview by looking at online resources. The article “How to Ace a Phone Interview” by Deborah L. Jacobs (Forbes-2014)(1) gave me useful ideas. I highly recommend reading the article.

I recorded myself on video practicing mock phone-interviews with potential questions. Those recordings helped me to adjust the volume and speed of my voice, practice potential answers. Practising reduced my anxiety. It is important to be able to identify your strengths and how these would be useful for a particular position in the company.

On the day of the call, I was nervous again, but once the phone interview started, I felt confident. I was able to improvise because I had clear ideas in my mind and the whole conversation felt natural. I believe it was the natural flow of the conversation which contributed in taking me to the next level of the selection process. In my case, preparation was a good tool, and so was looking for a very quiet, free of interruptions place for this call.

For my work presentation, I chose the part of my research projects that focused on the skills and expertise for the job description. There was a particular skill that the company was looking for in a candidate that I didn’t have, but I addressed this by showing that I had experience on a technique related to that particular skill. I prepared the presentation and Q&A to strictly adhere to the time frame required, and practiced in advance. During my presentations, I find it useful to lead listeners to questions which you can make yourself shine with the answers. There are of course questions where you might not know the answer, but just take a moment to pause and try to provide a related suggestion or possible answer without making things up. There are some online resources with useful tips on how to address this issue; for example, Lily Zhang provides some great advice in her article “4 ways to handle interview questions you don’t know how to answer” (the muse)(2).

The face-to-face interview turned out to be a friendly/informal conversation with my future colleagues. They wanted to know a little about me, why I wanted to make the transition, what I liked about the company, and how I thought I could contribute to the company’s mission. I was asked additional common interview questions such as those that aimed to discover how I dealt with deadline stress and difficult situations with colleagues at work. It is important that you have questions for them too, for example: how many weeks of vacation they have, personal/sick days, benefits, professional growth within the company. These questions are important for you to have a view from the environment inside the company. Remember, job interviews are a two-sided process.

After going through this recruitment process and working for this company, I realized that we, PhDs, have numerous experiences and skills which are valuable for industry settings. During a PhD we are trained to use critical thinking, work in teams, manage projects, analyze data and be the leaders of our own research projects. We just need to know how to translate these skills into industry language. There are many resources already out there with tips to help you how to customize your CV. I recently came across a useful career brief in Nature, “How to transition from academia to industry”(3).

Don’t be afraid to reach out for help, increase your network, develop your leadership, we have gone through a lot during our PhDs, don’t lose your enthusiasm!

References

1) https://www.forbes.com/sites/deborahljacobs/2014/05/27/how-to-ace-a-phone-interview/#5e388e9a2617

2) https://www.themuse.com/advice/4-ways-to-handle-interview-questions-you-dont-know-how-to-answer

3) https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-01332-1