增强 STEM 社区的多样性

1 月 XNUMX 日, 学生生物技术网 举办他们的年度 建筑生物技术博览会,一个领先的社交活动,与不列颠哥伦比亚省生物技术和生命科学行业的最优秀和最聪明的人一起。

这项一年一度的盛会每年都会吸引并联合数百名学生,以及来自生命科学、制药和临床领域的专业人士以及一些知名组织的参展商。 结果是学生和专业人士聚集在一起,渴望分享想法并打造一个强大的生物技术社区,这将有助于塑造不列颠哥伦比亚省的生物技术未来。

SCWIST 成员 Juanita Desouza-Huletey, BA (Hons), MA, PMP, ALEP, BRM, PROSCI, ITIL, 受邀担任本次活动的主旨发言人。

Juanita 是 STEM 领域的女性、移民、领导者、教育家、教练、演讲者、社会正义的倡导者,尤其是移民,等等。 她曾担任过许多行政领导职务,目前是曼尼托巴大学理事会成员。 她是一位成就卓著的信息技术管理专业人士,拥有 30 多年的行业经验,担任过 25 多个领导职位,最著名的是温尼伯警察局第一位女性 IT 部门负责人。 作为温尼伯大学和红河学院的教育家,她喜欢传授知识并分享她的专业/个人经验。

她以 Kim Lane 的一句话开始了她的主题演讲:“在 STEM 领域成为一名女性意味着挑战反对者。 这意味着成为我们被告知很长时间我们无法成为的东西。 作为一名非裔美国女性,这意味着为看起来像我的棕色和黑色女孩铺平道路。”

“正如我们所知,EDI(公平、多样性和包容性)是一个广泛的主题,可以关注不同的代表性不足的群体。 让我们今天就这样做:通过共同关注女性每天在世界各个角落的专业领域、STEM 及其他领域面临的挑战和障碍,”她继续说道。 “我们都有关于这个主题或我们母亲、我们的姐妹、我们的阿姨或我们妻子的故事要讲。 而且我们每天都会听到大量的故事,而其他大量的故事仍然不为人知。 一半的声音被听到了,一半的声音没有被听到。”

关于为什么女性在许多领导角色中被忽略的问题,她强调需要女性。

她说:“在工作空间成功的阶梯上每走一步都会看到女性参与度下降,直到在最高领导层和决策层,根据 2018 年的《哈佛商业评论》,剩下的女性寥寥无几。” “多达 50% 的从事科学、技术、工程和数学工作的女性最终会因为敌对的男性文化、缺乏明确的职业道路和孤立感而离开。”

胡安妮塔随后对最近的一场危机进行了磨练:女性因 COVID-19 而离开工作岗位。

“这些女性并不是自愿退出的,”她说。 “由于不成比例的失业、学校关闭、家庭责任增加(包括育儿)和缺乏支持职业女性的公共政策,以及薪酬差距,尤其是在大流行期间,她们被赶出去。”

“现在让我们专注于加拿大谈谈加拿大内部的统计数据,下议院只有 27% 的席位属于女性。 在加拿大 500 强公司中,女性占董事会成员的 19.5%。 在加拿大的这些 500 强公司和组织中,109 家的董事会中没有女性。 如果我们谈论领导角色,女性仅占副总裁职位的 25% 和 CEO 职位的 15%。 这种急剧下降也可以在工资水平上看到,因为在加拿大前 8.5 家上市公司中,薪酬最高的职位中只有 100% 由女性担任,”她失望地描述道。

“根据 2017 年全球议会性别平等排名,加拿大排在第 63 位,落后于卢旺达、墨西哥以及阿富汗和南苏丹的冲突地区,”她继续说道。 “这些可悲的数字不是虚构的,而是展示了我们社会的阴暗面。 值得注意的是,在女性掌权的地方,很多时候她们只是占据一席之地,没有任何影响。 然而,并非所有人都如此,因为我们中的一些领导角色更愿意成为积极变革的破坏者,以挑战现状。”

她分享了一个例子:“当我担任政府办公室 IT 部门主管和执行管理团队成员时,EMT 中有 20% 是女性,包括有史以来第一位副局长、第一位人力资源/文职人员,还有我,第一个 IT 负责人(我,女人,黑人,移民)。 然而,在 4 到 6 年的时间里,包括我在内的一些女性为了生产性改革而更换领导者,别无选择,只能离开‘大男孩俱乐部’。”

她指出了另一个经常被问到的问题:最有资格的人不应该得到这份工作,无论性别如何?

“在另一个管理职位上,有 2 名女性(包括我)和 5 名男性。 我是拥有最多经验、技能组合和最大工作组合的人,其中涉及管理业务利益相关者和承包商。 相比之下,一个由男性管理的领域占我投资组合的五分之一,但无论我投入了多少额外的工作,我们都能获得相同的薪酬和福利。这不仅是我的故事。 我与许多人分享了这个经验。 实际上,担任高管职位的女性正在迅速下降,”她说。

“我们经常被问到的另一个问题是'为什么女性在领导角色中很重要?'”她继续说道。

她说:“由于我们女性带来的东西,那些主要由女性担任领导角色的公司因为正确的原因,而不是一个复选框角色,做得很好。”

“让我深入了解一些事实:在 2018 年福布斯发表的一份报告中,据估计,到 28 年,工作场所的性别平等可能会增加全球年度 GDP 的 26 万亿美元(或 2025%)。如果我们不要做任何事情。 这是一个如此关键的问题,我很高兴平台是为学习和分享经验而组织的。 因此,让更多女性担任领导角色有助于实现这一目标。 思科就是一个很好的例子,它采用了有针对性的方法来创造多样性和促进包容性。”

但是,问题的根源在哪里?

“难道我们不都认为我们需要以与抚养男孩一样的自信和批判性思维能力来抚养我们的女孩吗? 我是今天的我,因为我的父亲是我的导师,而且我没有区分我和我的兄弟。 我父亲把他的力量传授给了我,让我成为了今天的我。 这是我们的孩子成长的根源,当他们进入大学时,他们已经对性别和社会责任有了自己的看法。” 她说。

在给所有人的信息中,她说:“无论你在任何级别做什么,都要坐在桌子旁,永远不要低估你内在的力量和能力,不要让你的声音变得沉默。 话虽如此,让我们知道我们都有偏见并意识到我们自己的偏见以及它们如何影响日常决策也很重要,尤其是。 我们这些处于领导地位的人,无论是志愿服务还是付费……你如何领导和管理,你如何在会议上使用你的声音……学习挑战你自己对 EDI 的想法,以及你可以采取什么措施以自己的小方式做出改变。” 

要观看胡安妮塔的部分演讲,请查看下面的视频。

Enhancing Diversity in our STEM Community

On October 1st, the Student Biotechnology Network hosted their annual Building Biotech Expo, a leading networking event with the best and the brightest of the BC biotech and life sciences industry.

This annual event attracts and unites hundreds of students every year, along with professionals from the life sciences, pharmaceutical and clinical sectors and several prominent organizations as exhibitors. The result is a gathering of students and professionals, eager to share ideas and forge a strong biotech community that will help shape BC’s biotech future.

SCWIST member Juanita Desouza-Huletey, B.A (Hons), MA, PMP, ALEP, BRM, PROSCI, ITIL, was invited to be the event’s keynote speaker.

Juanita is a woman in STEM, an immigrant, a leader, an educator, a coach, a speaker, an advocate for social justice, especially for immigrants, and more. She has served in many executive leadership positions and is currently a member of the Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba. She is an accomplished Information Technology Management professional with over 30 years of industry experience, over 25 in leadership positions, most notably being the first female divisional head of IT at Winnipeg Police Service. An educator at both the University of Winnipeg and Red River College, she loves to impart knowledge and share her professional/personal experiences.

She began her keynote speech with a quote from Kim Lane: “Being a woman in STEM means to defy the naysayers. It means to be something that we were told for so long that we could not be. As an African American woman, it means to pave the way for brown and black girls that look like me.”

“As we know, EDI (equity, diversity and inclusion) is a broad subject and focus can be on different underrepresented groups. Let’s do this way today: by throwing light together on which challenges and barriers women face every day in every corner of the world on the professional front, in STEM and beyond,” she continued. “We all have stories to tell on this subject or that of our mother, our sisters, our aunt or our wife. And we also hear tons of stories every day and other tons remain untold. Half of the voices are heard, and half are left unheard.”

Regarding a question about why women’s inclusion is muted in many leadership roles, she emphasized that women are needed.

“Each step up the ladder of success in work spaces sees a drop in female participation until, at the highest echelons of leadership and decision making, few women are left, as per Harvard Business Review in 2018,” she said. “As many as 50 percent of women working in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics will eventually leave because of hostile male culture, lack of a clear career path and a sense of isolation.”

Juanita then honed in on a more recent crisis: women leaving the workforce as a result of COVID-19.

“These women are not stepping out voluntarily,” she said. “They are being shoved out by disproportionate job loss, shuttered schools, increased household responsibilities including childcare and lack of public policies supporting working women, and pay disparities, especially during the pandemic.”

“Now let us focus on Canada talk about statistics within Canada, only 27 percent of the seats in the House of Commons belong to women. In Canada’s top 500 companies, women comprise 19.5 percent of the board members. Out of these top 500 companies and organizations in Canada, 109 do not have any women on their board of directors. If we talk about leadership roles, women hold only 25 percent of vice-president positions, and 15 percent of CEO positions. This drastic fall can be seen at salaries level too because only 8.5 percent of the highest-paid positions in Canada’s top 100 listed companies are held by women,” she described with disappointment.

“According to 2017 global ranking of gender equality in National Parliaments, Canada was placed at number 63, falling behind Rwanda, Mexico, and the conflict zones of Afghanistan and South Sudan,” she continued. “These sad numbers are not fiction, instead it shows the dark side of our society. It’s worth noting that where women are in positions of power, in many cases they are just occupying a seat without any influence. However, it’s not the case with all because some of us in leadership roles prefer to be a disrupter for positive change in order to challenge the status quo.”

She shared an example: “When I was the Divisional Head of IT in a government office and a member of the Executive Management Team, 20 percent of EMT were women, including the first-ever deputy chief of police, the first-ever head of HR/Civilian, and me, the first-ever head of IT ( me, woman, black, immigrant). However, within a span of 4-6 years, a few of such women change leaders for productive reforms, including me, had no choice but to leave the ‘big boys club’.”

She pointed toward another often-asked question: shouldn’t the most qualified person get the job with the benefits that go with it, regardless of gender?

“In another management position, there are 2 women (including me) and 5 men. I’m the one with the most experience, skill-sets, biggest work portfolio, which involves management of business stakeholders and contractors. In contrast, one area managed by a male has one-fifth of my portfolio but we get the same compensations and benefits, regardless of the tons of extra work which I put in. This is not only my story. I share this experience with many. Actually, women in executive rank are declining at a fast rate,” she said.

“Another question we all are frequently asked is ‘why are women important in leadership roles?’” she continued.

“The companies that have mostly women in leadership roles for the right reasons, not a check-box role, are doing very well because of what we, women bring,” she said.

“Let me dig into some facts: In a report published in Forbes in 2018, it was estimated that gender parity in the workplace may add up to $28 trillion (or 26 percent) to the annual global GDP by 2025. This is huge if we don’t do anything about this. It is such a crucial issue and I am glad that platforms are organized for learning and sharing experiences. So, the inclusion of more women in leadership roles can help in achieving this goal. Cisco is a good example that has adopted the targeted approach to create diversity and to promote inclusion.”

But, where is the root of the problem?

“Don’t we all think we need to raise our girls with the same confidence and critical thinking ability with which we raise our boys? I am who I am today because I had my dad as a mentor and someone who did not differentiate between me and my brothers. My dad imparted his strength to me and made me what I am today. This is the root with which our children grow up and when they enter universities, they have already set their minds about genders and responsibilities in society.” she said.

In her message to all, she said: “Whatever you do at whatever level, have a seat at the table, never ever under-estimate your inner strengths and capabilities, and don’t let your voice get muted. With that being said, It’s also important for us to know that we all have biases and being aware of our own biases and how they are impacting how day to day decisions esp. those of us in leadership whether volunteering or paid… how you lead and manage, how you use your voice at the table … Learn to challenge your own thoughts about EDI and what you can take on to make a difference in your own small way.” 

To watch part of Juanita’s speech, please check out the video below.