تعزيز التنوع في مجتمع العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لدينا

في الأول من أكتوبر (تشرين الأول) شبكة التكنولوجيا الحيوية للطلاب استضافتهم السنوية بناء معرض التكنولوجيا الحيوية، حدث رائد للتواصل مع أفضل وأذكى صناعة التكنولوجيا الحيوية وعلوم الحياة في كولومبيا البريطانية.

يجذب هذا الحدث السنوي ويوحد مئات الطلاب كل عام ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع محترفين من علوم الحياة والقطاعات الصيدلانية والسريرية والعديد من المنظمات البارزة كعارضين. والنتيجة هي تجمع من الطلاب والمهنيين ، المتحمسين لمشاركة الأفكار وصياغة مجتمع قوي للتكنولوجيا الحيوية من شأنه أن يساعد في تشكيل مستقبل التكنولوجيا الحيوية في كولومبيا البريطانية.

تمت دعوة عضوة SCWIST ، خوانيتا ديسوزا هوليتي ، بكالوريوس (مع مرتبة الشرف) ، ماجستير ، PMP ، ALEP ، BRM ، PROSCI ، ITIL لتكون المتحدث الرئيسي في الحدث.

خوانيتا امرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، ومهاجرة ، وزعيمة ، ومعلمة ، ومدربة ، ومتحدثة ، ومدافعة عن العدالة الاجتماعية ، وخاصة بالنسبة للمهاجرين ، وأكثر من ذلك. شغلت العديد من المناصب القيادية التنفيذية وهي حاليًا عضو في مجلس محافظي جامعة مانيتوبا. إنها محترفة بارعة في إدارة تكنولوجيا المعلومات ولديها أكثر من 30 عامًا من الخبرة في المجال ، وأكثر من 25 في المناصب القيادية ، وأبرزها كونها أول رئيسة قسم لتكنولوجيا المعلومات في خدمة شرطة وينيبيغ. معلمة في كل من جامعة وينيبيغ وكلية ريد ريفر ، تحب نقل المعرفة ومشاركة خبراتها المهنية / الشخصية.

بدأت خطابها الرئيسي باقتباس من Kim Lane: "كونك امرأة في STEM يعني تحدي الرافضين. إنه يعني أن نكون شيئًا قيل لنا لفترة طويلة لا يمكننا أن نكونه. بصفتي امرأة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي ، فهذا يعني تمهيد الطريق للفتيات ذوات البشرة السمراء والسوداء اللواتي يشبهنني ".

"كما نعلم ، EDI (المساواة والتنوع والشمول) هو موضوع واسع ويمكن أن يكون التركيز على مجموعات مختلفة ممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا. لنفعل هذا بالطريقة اليوم: من خلال إلقاء الضوء معًا على التحديات والعقبات التي تواجهها النساء يوميًا في كل ركن من أركان العالم على الصعيد المهني وفي مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) وما وراءها ". لدينا جميعًا قصصًا نرويها حول هذا الموضوع أو موضوع أمنا أو أخواتنا أو عمتنا أو زوجتنا. ونسمع أيضًا الكثير من القصص كل يوم وأطنان أخرى لا تزال غير مروية. نصف الأصوات مسموعة ، ونصف الأصوات تُرِك دون أن يُسمع ".

وفيما يتعلق بسؤال حول سبب إهمال إشراك المرأة في العديد من الأدوار القيادية ، أكدت أن هناك حاجة للمرأة.

وقالت: "كل خطوة تصعد على سلم النجاح في أماكن العمل تشهد انخفاضًا في مشاركة الإناث حتى ، على أعلى مستويات القيادة وصنع القرار ، يتبقى عدد قليل من النساء ، وفقًا لـ Harvard Business Review في 2018". "ما يصل إلى 50 في المائة من النساء العاملات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات سيتركن في نهاية المطاف بسبب ثقافة الذكور العدائية ، وعدم وجود مسار وظيفي واضح والشعور بالعزلة."

بعد ذلك ، انخرطت خوانيتا في أزمة أحدث: تركت النساء القوى العاملة نتيجة لـ COVID-19.

قالت: "هؤلاء النساء لا يخرجن طواعية". "يتم طردهن بسبب فقدان الوظائف بشكل غير متناسب ، وإغلاق المدارس ، وزيادة المسؤوليات المنزلية بما في ذلك رعاية الأطفال والافتقار إلى السياسات العامة التي تدعم النساء العاملات ، والتفاوت في الأجور ، خاصة أثناء الوباء."

"الآن دعونا نركز على كندا ونتحدث عن الإحصائيات داخل كندا ، فقط 27 في المائة من المقاعد في مجلس العموم تنتمي إلى النساء. في أكبر 500 شركة في كندا ، تشكل النساء 19.5 في المائة من أعضاء مجلس الإدارة. من بين أكبر 500 شركة ومنظمة في كندا ، 109 ليس لديها أي امرأة في مجالس إدارتها. إذا تحدثنا عن الأدوار القيادية ، فإن النساء يشغلن 25 في المائة فقط من مناصب نائب الرئيس ، و 15 في المائة من مناصب الرؤساء التنفيذيين. ويمكن ملاحظة هذا الانخفاض الحاد على مستوى الرواتب أيضًا لأن 8.5 بالمائة فقط من الوظائف الأعلى أجراً في أكبر 100 شركة مدرجة في كندا تشغلها نساء "، وصفت بخيبة أمل.

وتابعت قائلة: "وفقًا للترتيب العالمي للمساواة بين الجنسين لعام 2017 في البرلمانات الوطنية ، احتلت كندا المرتبة 63 ، متخلفة عن رواندا والمكسيك ومناطق الصراع في أفغانستان وجنوب السودان". هذه الأرقام المحزنة ليست خيالية ، بل إنها تظهر الجانب المظلم لمجتمعنا. من الجدير بالذكر أنه عندما تكون المرأة في مواقع السلطة ، فإنها في كثير من الحالات تشغل مقعدًا دون أي تأثير. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأمر ليس كذلك مع الجميع لأن بعضًا منا في مناصب قيادية يفضل أن يكون عامل تعطيل للتغيير الإيجابي من أجل تحدي الوضع الراهن ".

شاركت مثالاً: "عندما كنت رئيس قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات في مكتب حكومي وعضواً في فريق الإدارة التنفيذية ، كان 20 بالمائة من EMT من النساء ، بما في ذلك نائب رئيس الشرطة الأول على الإطلاق ، وهو أول رئيس على الإطلاق لـ HR / Civilian ، وأنا ، أول رئيس لتكنولوجيا المعلومات (أنا ، امرأة ، سوداء ، مهاجرة). ومع ذلك ، في غضون 4-6 سنوات ، لم يكن أمام عدد قليل من هؤلاء النساء القيادات من أجل إصلاحات مثمرة ، بمن فيهم أنا ، لم يكن لديهن خيار سوى ترك "نادي الكبار". "

وأشارت إلى سؤال آخر كثيرًا ما يُطرح: ألا ينبغي أن يحصل الشخص الأكثر تأهيلًا على الوظيفة بالمزايا التي تترافق معها ، بغض النظر عن الجنس؟

"في منصب إداري آخر ، هناك امرأتان (بمن فيهم أنا) و 2 رجال. أنا الشخص الأكثر خبرة ومجموعات المهارات وأكبر محفظة عمل ، والتي تتضمن إدارة أصحاب المصلحة في الأعمال والمقاولين. في المقابل ، هناك منطقة يديرها رجل تمتلك خُمس أعمالي ولكننا نحصل على نفس التعويضات والمزايا ، بغض النظر عن أطنان العمل الإضافي الذي أقوم به. هذه ليست قصتي فقط. أشارك هذه التجربة مع الكثيرين. في الواقع ، النساء في المناصب التنفيذية ينخفضن بمعدل سريع.

وتابعت قائلة: "هناك سؤال آخر يُطرح علينا جميعًا بشكل متكرر وهو" لماذا تعتبر المرأة مهمة في الأدوار القيادية؟ "

وقالت: "الشركات التي معظمها من النساء في مناصب قيادية للأسباب الصحيحة ، وليس دور مربع الاختيار ، تبلي بلاءً حسناً بسبب ما نقدمه نحن النساء".

"دعني أتعمق في بعض الحقائق: في تقرير نُشر في مجلة فوربس في عام 2018 ، قُدر أن التكافؤ بين الجنسين في مكان العمل قد يضيف ما يصل إلى 28 تريليون دولار (أو 26 في المائة) إلى الناتج المحلي الإجمالي العالمي السنوي بحلول عام 2025. وهذا ضخم إذا كنا لا تفعل أي شيء حيال هذا. إنها قضية بالغة الأهمية وأنا سعيد لأن المنصات منظمة للتعلم وتبادل الخبرات. لذا ، فإن إشراك المزيد من النساء في الأدوار القيادية يمكن أن يساعد في تحقيق هذا الهدف. تعد Cisco مثالًا جيدًا على تبني النهج المستهدف لخلق التنوع وتعزيز الشمول ".

ولكن أين أصل المشكلة؟

"ألا نعتقد جميعًا أننا بحاجة إلى تربية فتياتنا بنفس الثقة والقدرة على التفكير النقدي التي نربي بها أولادنا؟ أنا ما أنا عليه اليوم لأن والدي كان مرشدًا وشخصًا لم يفرق بيني وبين إخوتي. لقد نقل لي والدي قوته وجعلني ما أنا عليه اليوم. هذا هو الجذر الذي يكبر به أطفالنا وعندما يلتحقون بالجامعات ، يكونون قد وضعوا عقولهم بالفعل بشأن الجنسين والمسؤوليات في المجتمع ". قالت.

قالت في رسالتها للجميع: "مهما فعلت على أي مستوى ، اجلس على الطاولة ، ولا تقلل أبدًا من تقدير نقاط قوتك وقدراتك الداخلية ، ولا تدع صوتك يكتم. مع ما يقال ، من المهم أيضًا بالنسبة لنا أن نعرف أن لدينا جميعًا تحيزات وكوننا على دراية بالتحيزات الخاصة بنا وكيف تؤثر على كيفية اتخاذ القرارات اليومية بشكل خاص. أولئك منا في القيادة سواء كان ذلك تطوعيًا أو مدفوع الأجر ... كيف تقود وتدير ، كيف تستخدم صوتك على الطاولة ... تعلم كيف تتحدى أفكارك الخاصة حول EDI وما يمكنك القيام به لإحداث فرق بطريقتك الصغيرة. " 

لمشاهدة جزء من خطاب خوانيتا ، يرجى مشاهدة الفيديو أدناه.

Enhancing Diversity in our STEM Community

On October 1st, the Student Biotechnology Network hosted their annual Building Biotech Expo, a leading networking event with the best and the brightest of the BC biotech and life sciences industry.

This annual event attracts and unites hundreds of students every year, along with professionals from the life sciences, pharmaceutical and clinical sectors and several prominent organizations as exhibitors. The result is a gathering of students and professionals, eager to share ideas and forge a strong biotech community that will help shape BC’s biotech future.

SCWIST member Juanita Desouza-Huletey, B.A (Hons), MA, PMP, ALEP, BRM, PROSCI, ITIL, was invited to be the event’s keynote speaker.

Juanita is a woman in STEM, an immigrant, a leader, an educator, a coach, a speaker, an advocate for social justice, especially for immigrants, and more. She has served in many executive leadership positions and is currently a member of the Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba. She is an accomplished Information Technology Management professional with over 30 years of industry experience, over 25 in leadership positions, most notably being the first female divisional head of IT at Winnipeg Police Service. An educator at both the University of Winnipeg and Red River College, she loves to impart knowledge and share her professional/personal experiences.

She began her keynote speech with a quote from Kim Lane: “Being a woman in STEM means to defy the naysayers. It means to be something that we were told for so long that we could not be. As an African American woman, it means to pave the way for brown and black girls that look like me.”

“As we know, EDI (equity, diversity and inclusion) is a broad subject and focus can be on different underrepresented groups. Let’s do this way today: by throwing light together on which challenges and barriers women face every day in every corner of the world on the professional front, in STEM and beyond,” she continued. “We all have stories to tell on this subject or that of our mother, our sisters, our aunt or our wife. And we also hear tons of stories every day and other tons remain untold. Half of the voices are heard, and half are left unheard.”

Regarding a question about why women’s inclusion is muted in many leadership roles, she emphasized that women are needed.

“Each step up the ladder of success in work spaces sees a drop in female participation until, at the highest echelons of leadership and decision making, few women are left, as per Harvard Business Review in 2018,” she said. “As many as 50 percent of women working in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics will eventually leave because of hostile male culture, lack of a clear career path and a sense of isolation.”

Juanita then honed in on a more recent crisis: women leaving the workforce as a result of COVID-19.

“These women are not stepping out voluntarily,” she said. “They are being shoved out by disproportionate job loss, shuttered schools, increased household responsibilities including childcare and lack of public policies supporting working women, and pay disparities, especially during the pandemic.”

“Now let us focus on Canada talk about statistics within Canada, only 27 percent of the seats in the House of Commons belong to women. In Canada’s top 500 companies, women comprise 19.5 percent of the board members. Out of these top 500 companies and organizations in Canada, 109 do not have any women on their board of directors. If we talk about leadership roles, women hold only 25 percent of vice-president positions, and 15 percent of CEO positions. This drastic fall can be seen at salaries level too because only 8.5 percent of the highest-paid positions in Canada’s top 100 listed companies are held by women,” she described with disappointment.

“According to 2017 global ranking of gender equality in National Parliaments, Canada was placed at number 63, falling behind Rwanda, Mexico, and the conflict zones of Afghanistan and South Sudan,” she continued. “These sad numbers are not fiction, instead it shows the dark side of our society. It’s worth noting that where women are in positions of power, in many cases they are just occupying a seat without any influence. However, it’s not the case with all because some of us in leadership roles prefer to be a disrupter for positive change in order to challenge the status quo.”

She shared an example: “When I was the Divisional Head of IT in a government office and a member of the Executive Management Team, 20 percent of EMT were women, including the first-ever deputy chief of police, the first-ever head of HR/Civilian, and me, the first-ever head of IT ( me, woman, black, immigrant). However, within a span of 4-6 years, a few of such women change leaders for productive reforms, including me, had no choice but to leave the ‘big boys club’.”

She pointed toward another often-asked question: shouldn’t the most qualified person get the job with the benefits that go with it, regardless of gender?

“In another management position, there are 2 women (including me) and 5 men. I’m the one with the most experience, skill-sets, biggest work portfolio, which involves management of business stakeholders and contractors. In contrast, one area managed by a male has one-fifth of my portfolio but we get the same compensations and benefits, regardless of the tons of extra work which I put in. This is not only my story. I share this experience with many. Actually, women in executive rank are declining at a fast rate,” she said.

“Another question we all are frequently asked is ‘why are women important in leadership roles?’” she continued.

“The companies that have mostly women in leadership roles for the right reasons, not a check-box role, are doing very well because of what we, women bring,” she said.

“Let me dig into some facts: In a report published in Forbes in 2018, it was estimated that gender parity in the workplace may add up to $28 trillion (or 26 percent) to the annual global GDP by 2025. This is huge if we don’t do anything about this. It is such a crucial issue and I am glad that platforms are organized for learning and sharing experiences. So, the inclusion of more women in leadership roles can help in achieving this goal. Cisco is a good example that has adopted the targeted approach to create diversity and to promote inclusion.”

But, where is the root of the problem?

“Don’t we all think we need to raise our girls with the same confidence and critical thinking ability with which we raise our boys? I am who I am today because I had my dad as a mentor and someone who did not differentiate between me and my brothers. My dad imparted his strength to me and made me what I am today. This is the root with which our children grow up and when they enter universities, they have already set their minds about genders and responsibilities in society.” she said.

In her message to all, she said: “Whatever you do at whatever level, have a seat at the table, never ever under-estimate your inner strengths and capabilities, and don’t let your voice get muted. With that being said, It’s also important for us to know that we all have biases and being aware of our own biases and how they are impacting how day to day decisions esp. those of us in leadership whether volunteering or paid… how you lead and manage, how you use your voice at the table … Learn to challenge your own thoughts about EDI and what you can take on to make a difference in your own small way.” 

To watch part of Juanita’s speech, please check out the video below.