缩小性别工资差距

SCWIST最近参加了大温哥华贸易委员会(GVBOT)– 缩小性别工资差距 妇女领导理事会主持的活动。

谢丽尔·克里斯蒂安森(Cheryl Kristiansen), 使多样性成为可能 SCWIST的项目经理主持了专家小组的讨论,并得到了SCWIST成员的支持,包括Anja Lanz,Khristine Carino和Christin Wiedemann。  

“性别工资差距是一个现实问题,是一个相关问题,这是一个紧迫的问题,但这不是妇女的问题。”

克里斯汀·维德曼

克里斯汀分享了有关以下方面的进一步见解 LinkedIn

世界经济论坛在《 2020年全球性别差距报告》中预测,要在北美实现性别均等需要151年以上。 缩小性别工资差距是实现性别均等的一大因素,但进展停滞不前。 加拿大已跌至31个经合组织国家中的36个。  

性别薪酬差距很早就开始了,并且在我们的整个职业生涯中一直持续。

一项对加拿大1200名12至18岁的男孩和女孩的研究调查显示,夏季全职工作的性别工资差距为每小时3加元。

加拿大劳动力市场信息委员会的一份报告显示,从中学毕业后,女性的薪水立即低于男性,而且在接下来的5年中,这一差距在所有研究领域都将扩大: 

  • 对于STEM角色,性别薪酬差距从17%开始,并扩大到21%  
  • 对于商业,健康,艺术,社会科学与教育(BPHASE),薪酬差距从9%开始,并扩大到24%。 

由加拿大妇女与性别平等基金会资助的最新报告显示,平均而言,妇女的收入超过 少13% 对于25-54岁的人而言,这一比例要高于男性。这项研究确定了教育,工作属性,行业和人口统计学的影响,发现 63%的工资差距无法解释 并由于其他因素。 

我们知道无意识的偏见和性别定型观念是造成薪酬差距的主要因素。

我们知道,妇女受到产假惩罚的影响,研究表明,当更多的男性休育儿假时,妇女的工资就会增加。 我们也知道,目前无偿工作的分工是一个因素。  

除了性别,我们知道薪资差距会因种族,种族,性取向,残疾,移民身份和其他因素而扩大 交叉因素。 根据Stats Can的统计,移民妇女的薪酬差距为29%,土著妇女的薪酬差距为35%,而残疾妇女的薪酬差距为46%。  

七十多年前,联合国认为 同工同酬是一项基本人权。 但是,我们距离缩小全球性别差距还有100年的距离。 许多国家正在执行新政策以加快我们的进步。 

缩小性别工资差距的解决方案是什么?  

  • 我们要 解决系统性障碍 包括性别偏见,社会定型观念,产假惩罚,权力结构和组织承诺。  
  • 我们必须消除所有过程中的性别偏见, 确保妇女获得同等报酬 他们给我们的经济和社会带来了难以置信的价值。  
  • 程序 支持所有类型的多样性 需要消除雇用和晋升方面的偏见-并提供指导者和赞助商以促进职业发展。 
  • 组织必须致力于 透明的薪酬结构 并承担责任。 
  • 我们需要倡导 更严格的立法 加快我们的进步。  
  • 多样性推动创新和增长–我们的未来取决于它!  

参考资料和资源:

Closing the Gender Pay Gap

SCWIST recently participated in the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade (GVBOT) – Closing the Gender Pay Gap Event hosted by the Women’s Leadership Council (https://www.boardoftrade.com/events/individual-events/1718-6511).  Cheryl Kristiansen, Make DIVERSITY Possible Project Manager at SCWIST, moderated the panel of experts and was supported by SCWIST members in the audience, including Anja Lanz, Khristine Carino and Christin Wiedemann.  

Christin emphasized that “the gender pay gap is a real issue, it is a relevant issue, it is an urgent issue – but it is NOT a women’s issue”. She shared her insights on LinkedIn

(https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/closing-gender-pay-gap-christin-wiedemann-ph-d-/)

In the Global Gender Gap Report 2020, the World Economic Forum predicts that it will take over 151 years to achieve gender parity in North America. Closing the gender pay gap is a large factor in achieving gender parity, and yet progress has stalled. Canada has dropped to a position of 31 out of 36 OECD countries.  

The gender pay gap starts very early & continues throughout our careers.  A research survey of 1200 girls and boys aged 12 – 18 across Canada shows a $3 per hour gender wage gap in full-time summer jobs.

A report by the Canadian Labour Market Information Council shows the women are paid less than men immediately upon graduation from post secondary and that gap widens over the next 5 years – across all fields of study: 

  • For STEM roles, the gender pay gap starts at 17% and widens to 21%  
  • For business, health, arts, social sciences & education (BPHASE), the pay gap starts at 9% and widens to 24%. 

A recent report funded by Women & Gender Equality Canada – shows that on average – women earned over 13% LESS than men for people aged 25 – 54. The research identified the effects of education, job attributes, industry and demographics – and found that over 63% of the wage gap was unexplained and due to other factors. 

We know that unconscious bias and gender stereotypes are major factors in the pay gap. We know that women are impacted by a maternity penalty and research demonstrates that when more men take parental leave, women’s pay increases.  We also know that the current division of labour for unpaid work is a factor.  

Beyond gender, we know that the pay gap widens based on race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, disability, immigration status and other intersectional factors. According to Stats Can, the pay gap for Immigrant women is 29%, for Indigenous women 35% and for women with disabilities, the pay gap is 46%.  

Over 70 years ago, the United Nations deemed that equal pay for equal work is a basic human right.  Yet, we are still 100 years away from closing the gender gap globally. Many countries are implementing new policies to accelerate our progress. 

What are the solutions to close the gender pay gap?  

  • We need to tackle systemic barriers including gender bias, societal stereotypes, the maternity penalty, power structures and organizational commitment.  
  • We have to eliminate gender bias in all processes to ensure women are paid equally for the incredible value that they bring to our economy and our society.  
  • Programs that support all types of diversity need to eliminate bias in hiring and promotion – and provide mentors and sponsors to advance careers. 
  • Organizations have to commit to transparent pay structures and be held accountable. 
  • We need to advocate for stricter legislation to accelerate our progress.  
  • Diversity drives innovation and growth – our future depends on it!  

References and Resources: