دور المرأة في السباق للحصول على لقاح COVID-19

كتبه كاساندرا بورد ، ماجستير. علم النفس العصبي المعرفي ، جامعة كنت

في خضم جائحة صحي ، من الصعب التمسك بالأمل. يؤثر تدفق الأخبار السلبية على قنوات التواصل الاجتماعي الخاصة بنا بشكل سلبي على صحتنا العقلية ، حيث يصبح من الصعب بشكل متزايد رؤية نهاية تلوح في الأفق للأزمة الصحية الحالية. خلال هذه الأوقات ، يمكن أن يساهم الشعور باليأس في الشعور بنقص حاد في السيطرة على الموقف ، مما يساهم في الاعتقاد بأنه لا يمكن فعل أي شيء. ومع ذلك ، من المهم بالنسبة لنا أن نعرف أن ما لا نسمع عنه كثيرًا هو الخطوات التي يتخذها العديد من الباحثين الطبيين والصحيين لإنشاء لقاح COVID-19 للمساعدة في القضاء على الفيروس. ما نحتاجه الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى هو بعض الأخبار الإيجابية التي ستساعدنا على تجاوز هذا الوقت الصعب. أحد الأشياء التي يمكننا القيام بها هو إلقاء الضوء على بعض المتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية والباحثين الذين يقاتلون لجعل علاج محتمل حقيقة واقعة. مع الحفاظ على أهم ما يميز النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، من المشجع أن ننظر إلى العديد من النساء اللائي يحتلن الصدارة في إيجاد علاج ، ليس فقط لإبراز جهودهن ، ولكن أيضًا لإظهار الفتيات والنساء الشابات الدور الحاسم الذي تلعبه العالمات. وراء الكواليس ، والتي قد تلهمهم بعد ذلك لمتابعة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. 

في آخر الأخبار ، اكتشف العلماء في تورنتو "الوكيل المسؤول عن التفشي المستمر لـ COVID-19" (O'Neil ، 2020). إحدى هؤلاء العلماء هي الدكتورة سميرة مبارك ، عالمة الأحياء الدقيقة وطبيبة الأمراض المعدية التي تعمل حاليًا في مستشفى صنيبروك. تتضمن أبحاثها العمل مع نموذج للثدييات لدراسة انتقال فيروسات الإنفلونزا ، وبالتحديد العمل مع خنازير غينيا في بحثها من أجل تحليل طرق الانتقال (مركز العلوم الصحية Sunnybrook ، 2020). عالمة أخرى تعمل بلا كلل على لقاح هي الدكتورة ديبورا فولر ، أخصائية اللقاحات وأستاذ علم الأحياء الدقيقة في كلية الطب بجامعة واشنطن (Weinberger ، 2020). إنها متخصصة في لقاحات DNA / RNA لتحفيز الأجسام المضادة التي تقاوم الفيروسات ، والتي تعتقد أنها يمكن أن تكون فعالة في صنع لقاح لـ COVID-19. لسوء الحظ ، في الماضي ، لم ينجح لقاح DNA / RNA بشكل كافٍ في التجارب البشرية ليتم اعتماده للاستخدام العام ، ولكن نُقل عنها قولها: "نحن نعرف الاستجابة المناعية المطلوبة ، ونعرف ما هو المستضد الذي نحتاجه لتشفير مع لقاحاتنا ، ولدينا تقنيات اللقاح للقيام بذلك ، لذلك دعونا نتعامل معها ونرى ما يمكننا القيام به! " (Weinberger، 2020. إن إصرار كل من الدكتور مبارك والدكتور فولر هو الطمأنينة التي يحتاجها المجتمع بشدة في هذا الوقت العصيب. 

علاوة على ذلك ، يعمل فريق عالمات بالكامل في ماريلاند بالولايات المتحدة بقيادة الدكتورة نيتا باتيل ، مديرة تطوير اللقاحات واكتشاف الأجسام المضادة في نوفافاكس ، على إيجاد حل لهذا الوباء (سانشيز ، 2020). بينما يلزم إجراء مزيد من الاختبارات ، فقد طوروا ثلاثة لقاحات محتملة يمكن أن تثبت نجاحها في التجارب البشرية (Sanchez ، 2020). لا يعد هذا حلاً واعدًا لمكافحة COVID-19 فحسب ، بل إنه يوضح العمل الجاد الذي تقوم به النساء في مجال العلوم ، وكيف يمكن لجهودهن أن تغير العالم إلى الأفضل. يقول الدكتور باتيل ، "... مع العلم أنه جاء من أيدي النساء ، ما رأيك في أن يفعل ذلك للفتيات الصغيرات اللائي يبحثن عن العلم؟" (سانشيز ، 2020). 

وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية في تحليل لـ 104 دولة ، فإن النساء في طليعة مكافحة هذه الأزمة الصحية العالمية ، حيث أن حوالي 70 ٪ من الرعاية الصحية العالمية تتكون من النساء (كونلي ، 2020). على نطاق جغرافي أصغر ، أكثر من 90٪ من العاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية في هوبي ، الصين هم من النساء (كونلي ، 2020). أظهرت الدراسات أن الرجال لديهم احتمالية أعلى للوفاة نتيجة COVID-19 ، ومع ذلك ، يطرح الخبراء السؤال حول ما إذا كانت النساء لديهن فرصة أكبر للإصابة بالفيروس ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار مناصبهن في الرعاية الصحية (كونلي ، 2020). في النهاية ، يظهر هذا العمل الدؤوب الذي تقوم به النساء لمساعدة الآخرين المتضررين من هذا المرض ، سواء في إعدادات المستشفى أو أماكن البحث. من الأهمية بمكان أن ندرك جهودهم ونفعل ما في وسعنا كمجتمع لحمايتهم ونكون ممتنين للفرق الذي يصنعونه في جميع أنحاء العالم. 

لعبت العديد من النساء على مدار التاريخ دورًا مهمًا في تطوير اللقاحات. على سبيل المثال ، الدكتورة آنا ويليامز (لقاح الدفتيريا) والدكتورة بيرل كندريك وجريس إلدرينج (لقاح السعال الديكي) والدكتورة إيزابيل مورغان (جزء أساسي في صنع لقاح شلل الأطفال) ، هم مجرد عدد قليل من النساء اللائي نجحن في تقديم العلاج والعلاج للجمهور ، وخاصة أولئك الذين عانوا من هذه الأمراض المنهكة (رودس ، 2019). تعمل هذه الأمثلة كمصدر إلهام للنساء المهتمات بمتابعة العلم ، وتعزز الاعتقاد بأن النساء يمكنهن ، ويفعلن ، في كثير من الأحيان إحداث تغيير إيجابي في مجالات STEM. إن الاعتراف بأدوار هؤلاء النساء في العلوم والرعاية الصحية يجب أن يسلط الضوء على كفاءتهن وقدرتهن على اتخاذ إجراءات إيجابية وإيجاد الأمل والتفاؤل لمجتمعنا دائم التطور. بدون جهودهم ، يكون التحول المجتمعي الإيجابي إما متأخرًا أو غير موجود ، ولهذا السبب لا ينبغي أن نأخذ مساعيهم كأمر مسلم به. نأمل أن تنمي إنجازات المرأة في العلوم والرعاية الصحية في عصر اليوم جيلًا جديدًا من النساء اللواتي يعتقدن أن قوتهن وقدراتهن الشخصية كافية لمواجهة التحديات المنهجية التي تهدد بإعاقة مواهبهن وجهودهن. مع مرور الوقت ، أصبح من الواضح بشكل متزايد أن هناك حاجة إلى النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات مع استمرارهن في ترك بصماتهن على العالم.

Women’s Role in The Race to a COVID-19 Vaccine

Written by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

In the midst of a health pandemic, it is difficult to hold on to hope. The influx of negative news bombarding our social media feeds negatively impacts our mental health, as it becomes increasingly difficult to see an end in sight with the current health crisis. During these times, a sense of hopelessness can contribute to feeling a severe lack of control of the situation, contributing to the belief that nothing can be done. However, it is important for us to know that what we don’t often hear about are the strides that many medical and health researchers are taking to create a COVID-19 vaccine to help eradicate the virus. What we need now more than ever is some positive news that will help us get through this challenging time. One of the things we can do is shed light on some of the health care professionals and researchers who are fighting to make a potential cure a reality. Keeping with the highlight of women in STEM fields, it’s encouraging to look at the many women who are at the forefront of finding a cure, not only to accentuate their efforts, but also to show young girls and women the critical role that female scientists play behind the scenes, which might then inspire them to pursue STEM. 

In latest news, scientists in Toronto have discovered “the agent responsible for the ongoing outbreak of COVID-19” (O’Neil, 2020). One of these scientists is Dr. Samira Mubareka, a microbiologist and infectious diseases physician who currently works at Sunnybrook Hospital. Her research involves working with a mammalian model to study transmission of influenza viruses, specifically working with guinea pigs in her research in order to analyze modes of transmission  (Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, 2020). Another scientist tirelessly working on a vaccine is Dr. Deborah Fuller, a vaccinologist and professor of microbiology at the University of Washington School of Medicine (Weinberger, 2020). She specializes in DNA/RNA vaccines to stimulate antibodies that fight viruses, which she believes could be effective for creating a vaccine for COVID-19. Unfortunately, in the past, a DNA/RNA vaccine has not succeeded sufficiently in human trials to be approved for public use, but she is quoted as saying that “We know what immune response is needed, we know what the antigen we need to encode with our vaccines is, and we have the vaccine technologies to do it, so let’s run with it and see what we can do!” (Weinberger, 2020. Both Dr. Mubareka’s and Dr. Fuller’s persistence is the reassurance that society desperately needs at this distressing time. 

Moreover, an all-female scientist team in Maryland, U.S. led by Dr. Nita Patel, the director for vaccine development and antibody discovery at Novavax, are also working on finding a solution to this epidemic (Sanchez, 2020). While further tests need to be conducted, they have developed three possible vaccines that could potentially prove successful in human trials (Sanchez, 2020). Not only is this promising as a solution to combatting COVID-19, but it illustrates the hard work being orchestrated by women in science, and how their efforts can potentially change the world for the better. Dr. Patel says, “…knowing that it came from the hands of women, what do you think that will do for young girls who are looking into science?” (Sanchez, 2020). 

According to the World Health Organization in an analysis of 104 countries, women are at the forefront of fighting this global health crisis, as approximately 70% of global health care is comprised of women (Connley, 2020). On a smaller geographical scale, more than 90% of health care workers in Hubei, China are women (Connley, 2020). Studies have shown that men have a higher probability of death as a result of COVID-19, however, experts raise the question as to whether women have a higher chance of procuring the virus, considering their positions in health care (Connley, 2020). Ultimately, this goes to show the tenacious work that women are putting in to help others affected by this illness, whether in hospital settings or research settings. It is crucial that we recognize their efforts and do what we can as a society to protect them and be grateful for the difference they are making all over the world. 

Many women over the course of history have played a critical role in the development of vaccines. For example, Dr. Anna Williams (diphtheria vaccine), Drs Pearl Kendrick and Grace Eldering (whooping cough vaccine), and Dr. Isabel Morgan (essential part in creating a polio vaccine), are just a few women who successfully introduced healing and treatment to the public, specifically those who suffered from these debilitating illnesses (Rhodes, 2019). These examples serve as an inspiration for women who are interested in pursuing science, and fosters the belief that women can, and do, often produce positive change in STEM fields. Acknowledging these women’s roles in science and health care should shed light on their competence and ability to take affirmative action and bring about hope and optimism to our ever-evolving society. Without their efforts, positive societal transformation is either delayed or non-existent, which is why we should not take their endeavours for granted. Women’s achievements in the sciences and health care in today’s age will hopefully cultivate a new generation of women who believe that their personal strengths and capabilities are enough to fight systemic challenges that threaten to hinder their talents and efforts. With time, it is becoming increasingly obvious that women are needed in STEM fields as they continue to make their mark on the world.