妇女在争取COVID-19疫苗的竞赛中的作用

由M.Sc. Kassandra Burd撰写 肯特大学认知神经心理学

在健康大流行中,很难抱有希望。 负面新闻涌入我们的社交媒体,对我们的心理健康产生了负面影响,因为在当前的健康危机中,越来越难以看到终结。 在这段时间里,绝望感可能会导致感觉到对局势的严重缺乏控制,导致人们相信无能为力。 但是,对我们来说重要的是要知道,我们很少听到的是许多医学和健康研究人员在开发COVID-19疫苗以消灭该病毒方面所迈出的步伐。 我们现在比以往任何时候都更需要一些积极的消息,这些消息将帮助我们度过这个充满挑战的时光。 我们可以做的一件事是向正在努力使潜在治疗成为现实的一些医疗保健专业人员和研究人员阐明。 与女性在STEM领域中的亮点保持一致,令人鼓舞的是,要看许多处于寻找治疗方法最前沿的女性,这不仅是为了增强她们的努力,而且还向年轻女性展示了女性科学家所扮演的关键角色在幕后,这可能会启发他们追求STEM。 

最新消息是,多伦多的科学家发现了“导致持续爆发COVID-19的病原体”(O'Neil,2020年)。 其中一位科学家是微生物学家和传染病医生Samira Mubareka博士,他目前在森尼布鲁克医院工作。 她的研究涉及使用哺乳动物模型研究流感病毒的传播,特别是在研究中与豚鼠合作以分析传播方式(Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre,2020年)。 华盛顿大学医学院的疫苗学家兼微生物学教授黛博拉·富勒博士(Deborah Fuller)是另一位孜孜不倦地研究疫苗的科学家(温伯格,2020年)。 她专门研究DNA / RNA疫苗,以刺激抗病毒的抗体,她认为这可能对创建COVID-19疫苗有效。 不幸的是,过去,DNA / RNA疫苗在人体试验中未能成功获得批准以供公众使用,但据引述她的话说:“我们知道需要什么免疫反应,我们知道需要编码什么抗原使用我们的疫苗,而且我们拥有疫苗技术可以做到,所以让我们一起运行它,看看我们能做什么!” (温伯格,2020年。穆巴拉雷卡博士和富勒博士的坚持不懈是社会在这个令人不快的时刻迫切需要的保证。 

此外,由诺瓦瓦克斯疫苗研发和抗体发现总监尼塔·帕特尔(Nita Patel)博士领导的美国马里兰州全女性科学家团队,也在努力寻找解决这一流行病的方法(桑切斯,2020年)。 尽管需要进行进一步的测试,但他们开发了三种可能的疫苗,这些疫苗有可能在人体试验中证明是成功的(Sanchez,2020年)。 这不仅可以作为对抗COVID-19的解决方案,而且很有前景,它说明了科学界女性精心组织的辛勤工作,以及她们的努力如何可能使世界变得更好。 帕特尔(Patel)博士说:“…知道这是从女性手里来的,您认为这对正在研究科学的年轻女孩会有什么影响?” (桑切斯,2020年)。 

根据世界卫生组织对104个国家的分析,女性在应对这场全球性健康危机中处于最前沿,因为全球卫生保健中约70%由女性组成(Connley,2020年)。 在较小的地理范围内,中国湖北省90%以上的卫生保健工作者是女性(Connley,2020年)。 研究表明,由于COVID-19,男性死亡的可能性更高,但是,专家们提出了一个问题,即考虑到她们在卫生保健中的地位,女性是否有更高的机会获得该病毒(Connley,2020年)。 最终,这表明妇女在医院或研究机构中为帮助受此病困扰的其他人所做的顽强工作。 我们必须认识到他们的努力,并作为一个社会竭尽全力保护他们,并对他们在世界范围内所取得的成就表示感谢,这一点至关重要。 

在历史的过程中,许多妇女在疫苗开发中发挥了关键作用。 例如,Anna Williams博士(白喉疫苗),Pearl Kendrick博士和Grace Eldering博士(呼啸咳嗽疫苗)和Isabel Morgan博士(制造脊髓灰质炎疫苗的重要组成部分)只是成功引入康复和治疗的少数女性向公众,特别是那些患有这些使人衰弱的疾病的人(Rhodes,2019)。 这些例子为有志于追求科学的女性提供了灵感,并树立了这样的信念,即女性能够而且确实经常在STEM领域产生积极的变化。 承认这些妇女在科学和卫生保健中的作用应阐明其采取平权行动的能力和能力,并为我们不断发展的社会带来希望和乐观。 没有他们的努力,积极的社会变革要么被推迟,要么就不存在,这就是为什么我们不应该将他们的努力视为理所当然。 妇女在当今时代在科学和卫生保健方面的成就有望培养出新一代的妇女,她们相信自己的个人才能和能力足以应对可能阻碍其才能和努力的系统性挑战。 随着时间的推移,STEM领域中越来越需要女性,因为她们继续在世界上留下自己的印记。

Women’s Role in The Race to a COVID-19 Vaccine

Written by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

In the midst of a health pandemic, it is difficult to hold on to hope. The influx of negative news bombarding our social media feeds negatively impacts our mental health, as it becomes increasingly difficult to see an end in sight with the current health crisis. During these times, a sense of hopelessness can contribute to feeling a severe lack of control of the situation, contributing to the belief that nothing can be done. However, it is important for us to know that what we don’t often hear about are the strides that many medical and health researchers are taking to create a COVID-19 vaccine to help eradicate the virus. What we need now more than ever is some positive news that will help us get through this challenging time. One of the things we can do is shed light on some of the health care professionals and researchers who are fighting to make a potential cure a reality. Keeping with the highlight of women in STEM fields, it’s encouraging to look at the many women who are at the forefront of finding a cure, not only to accentuate their efforts, but also to show young girls and women the critical role that female scientists play behind the scenes, which might then inspire them to pursue STEM. 

In latest news, scientists in Toronto have discovered “the agent responsible for the ongoing outbreak of COVID-19” (O’Neil, 2020). One of these scientists is Dr. Samira Mubareka, a microbiologist and infectious diseases physician who currently works at Sunnybrook Hospital. Her research involves working with a mammalian model to study transmission of influenza viruses, specifically working with guinea pigs in her research in order to analyze modes of transmission  (Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, 2020). Another scientist tirelessly working on a vaccine is Dr. Deborah Fuller, a vaccinologist and professor of microbiology at the University of Washington School of Medicine (Weinberger, 2020). She specializes in DNA/RNA vaccines to stimulate antibodies that fight viruses, which she believes could be effective for creating a vaccine for COVID-19. Unfortunately, in the past, a DNA/RNA vaccine has not succeeded sufficiently in human trials to be approved for public use, but she is quoted as saying that “We know what immune response is needed, we know what the antigen we need to encode with our vaccines is, and we have the vaccine technologies to do it, so let’s run with it and see what we can do!” (Weinberger, 2020. Both Dr. Mubareka’s and Dr. Fuller’s persistence is the reassurance that society desperately needs at this distressing time. 

Moreover, an all-female scientist team in Maryland, U.S. led by Dr. Nita Patel, the director for vaccine development and antibody discovery at Novavax, are also working on finding a solution to this epidemic (Sanchez, 2020). While further tests need to be conducted, they have developed three possible vaccines that could potentially prove successful in human trials (Sanchez, 2020). Not only is this promising as a solution to combatting COVID-19, but it illustrates the hard work being orchestrated by women in science, and how their efforts can potentially change the world for the better. Dr. Patel says, “…knowing that it came from the hands of women, what do you think that will do for young girls who are looking into science?” (Sanchez, 2020). 

According to the World Health Organization in an analysis of 104 countries, women are at the forefront of fighting this global health crisis, as approximately 70% of global health care is comprised of women (Connley, 2020). On a smaller geographical scale, more than 90% of health care workers in Hubei, China are women (Connley, 2020). Studies have shown that men have a higher probability of death as a result of COVID-19, however, experts raise the question as to whether women have a higher chance of procuring the virus, considering their positions in health care (Connley, 2020). Ultimately, this goes to show the tenacious work that women are putting in to help others affected by this illness, whether in hospital settings or research settings. It is crucial that we recognize their efforts and do what we can as a society to protect them and be grateful for the difference they are making all over the world. 

Many women over the course of history have played a critical role in the development of vaccines. For example, Dr. Anna Williams (diphtheria vaccine), Drs Pearl Kendrick and Grace Eldering (whooping cough vaccine), and Dr. Isabel Morgan (essential part in creating a polio vaccine), are just a few women who successfully introduced healing and treatment to the public, specifically those who suffered from these debilitating illnesses (Rhodes, 2019). These examples serve as an inspiration for women who are interested in pursuing science, and fosters the belief that women can, and do, often produce positive change in STEM fields. Acknowledging these women’s roles in science and health care should shed light on their competence and ability to take affirmative action and bring about hope and optimism to our ever-evolving society. Without their efforts, positive societal transformation is either delayed or non-existent, which is why we should not take their endeavours for granted. Women’s achievements in the sciences and health care in today’s age will hopefully cultivate a new generation of women who believe that their personal strengths and capabilities are enough to fight systemic challenges that threaten to hinder their talents and efforts. With time, it is becoming increasingly obvious that women are needed in STEM fields as they continue to make their mark on the world.