女人是“创造”创造机器人的吗?

硕士Kassandra Burd 肯特大学认知神经心理学

过去几十年来,随着技术和机器人技术的显着进步,毫无疑问,技术就是未来。 无论是最新的iPhone还是执行人类职责的有情机器人,很明显,绝大多数人在这些领域中占据着主导地位,因为它们据说是机器发展背后的策划者。 尽管在许多技术进步中,妇女也确实在努力,但仍然严重缺乏加入这些领域的妇女。 例如,在代表444年达帕机器人挑战赛决赛的24位机器人候选人的2015位机器人建造者中,只有23位建造者是女性,即94.8%是男性(《机器人商业评论》,2015年)。 有些人可能认为,女性并不是“造就”创造机器人的,但是,有很多原因使女性非常适合从事机器人技术事业。 这包括增强的协作能力,比男性低的竞争倾向,多任务策略以及同理心增强,这有助于鼓励与他人的合作(Ciprian等人,2018)。 我们如何使技术对女性更具吸引力? 另外,我们如何举例说明已经拥有的人呢?

吉博公司的首席科学家辛西娅·布雷阿泽勒(Cynthia Breazeal)是为机器人技术做出杰出贡献的女性之一。 她的角色是帮助创建社会人工智能,以协助人们的日常生活(Sarkar,2018)。 具体来说,这些机器人被视为具有内置技术的家族机器人,可帮助识别家庭成员的声音,以帮助他们完成所需的任务。 本质上,它通过协调任务在建立家庭成员之间的联系中发挥作用。 另一个为机器人技术做出贡献的著名女性是Deanna Hood,他是一名电气工程师,专注于可以帮助教育和医疗保健的机器人技术的发展(硅谷机器人技术,2019年)。 她的一些工作包括用来帮助孩子们手写的机器人伴侣,以及可以由瘫痪者的大脑控制的汽车。 我们很少在媒体上了解到这些女性,这使得女性很难树立榜样,从而激发她们自己进入这一领域。 显然,媒体机构必须在表现出与男性相似的水平上突出妇女的贡献方面做得更好。 这些例子表明,这些妇女正在采取积极的人工智能方法,并帮助建立一个将从机器人进化中受益的社会。 最终,它们可以以有利的方式利用,而不是灾难性和拮抗性。

可以假设,随着越来越多的女性进入该领域,我们看到的越少男性特征模型就越少,这使得机器人技术对女性更具吸引力。 看起来性别在我们对机器人的感知中起着重要作用(Robotics Business Review,2015)。 刻板地认为,建造用于战斗,奔跑和进行后空翻的机器人可能会被视为具有侵略性的“雄性”,可能会对未来造成严重后果。 这种侵略可能是机器人技术对女性失去吸引力的原因。 几年前,一段录像带传播了一个机器人病毒,该机器人可以执行快速,令人震惊的动作,包括跳箱子(Gibbs,2017)。 文章指出,我们应该“非常害怕”,这最终使人类对机器人的未来充满了恐惧。

尽管对女性在技术和机器人技术中所占比例的前景持悲观态度,但如果在职业和教育领域都采用这些解决方案,它们可能会引领我们走向更美好的未来。 如果我们更普遍地致力于创建具有更多社交,仁慈功能的机器人,这些机器人可以被用来造福人类,那么我们可能会看到越来越多的女性对进入这一领域产生了兴趣。 同样重要的是,女孩在接受专上教育之前要接触计算机科学和技术专业; 这将有助于女孩在当前以男性为主的领域中感到更加安全,并帮助她们获得成功所需的知识和技能(Lee,2018)。 此外,增加机器人技术中的女性榜样肯定会鼓励更多的女孩和女性对技术产生兴趣,希望能更快地取得更大进步。 从机器人的角度来看,将女性纳入其中可能是有建设性的,因为它将为该领域提供关于未来方向的新观点(Wynsberghe,2019)。 由于男人和女人对世界的体验不同,因此协作将有助于确定人类如何有效利用机器人,以及将重点转移到哪里,从而使那些可以从机器人帮助中受益的人们的生活更加轻松。 如果我们坚定地执行这些做法来鼓励妇女进入技术领域,那么可以很容易地预见未来,机器人作为社会参与者的想法是积极而宝贵的努力,而不是威胁人类生命的努力。

Are Women “Made” To Create Robots?

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

With remarkable advancements in technology and robotics in past decades, there is no doubt that technology is the future. Whether it’s the latest iPhone or sentient robots performing human duties, it is evident that a vast majority of men dominate these fields as they are supposedly the masterminds behind the evolution of machine. While it is true that women also work behind many of these technological advances, there is a severe lack of women who join these fields. As an example, out of 444 robot builders representing 24 robot candidates at the 2015 Darpa Robotics Challenge Finals, only 23 of the builders were women, meaning 94.8% were men (Robotics Business Review, 2015). Some may believe that women simply weren’t “made” to create robots, however, there are multiple reasons why women are well suited for a career in robotics; this includes enhanced ability for collaboration, less competitive tendencies than men, multi-tasking strategies, and increased empathy, which can help encourage cooperation with others (Ciprian et al., 2018). How can we make technology a more appealing field for women? Also, how can we exemplify the ones who already have?

One of the women who have made a remarkable contribution to robotics is Cynthia Breazeal, who is Chief Scientist at the company, Jibo. Her role is to help create social artificial intelligence that assists people in their every day lives (Sarkar, 2018). Specifically, these robots are considered familial robots with built-in technology to help recognize family members’ voices to help them with whatever task is needed. Essentially, it plays a role in building connections between family members by coordinating tasks. Another notable woman contributing to robotics is Deanna Hood, who is an electrical engineer focused on the development of robotics that can assist with education and healthcare (Silicone Valley Robotics, 2019). Some of her work includes a robotic companion that is used to help children with handwriting, and a car that can be controlled by the brain by someone who has paralysis. Rarely do we ever read about these women in the media, making it difficult for women to have role models that may serve as an inspiration for them to enter the field themselves. It is apparent that media outlets must do a better job at presenting a spotlight to women’s contributions on a similar level as men’s. What is evident by these examples are the fact that these women are undertaking positive approaches to AI and helping to build a society that would benefit from robotic evolution. Ultimately, they can be utilized in a way that can be advantageous rather than catastrophic and antagonistic.

It is plausible to assume that with more women entering the field, the less we might see more masculine-featured models, making robotics more appealing to women. It would appear that gender plays a significant role in how we perceive robots (Robotics Business Review, 2015). Building robots to fight, run, and do backflips might stereotypically be viewed as aggressive “maleness” that might have severe future consequences; this aggression might be a reason why robotics loses its appeal with women. A couple years ago, a video went viral of a robot that can perform speedy, alarming movements, including jumping on boxes (Gibbs, 2017). The article states that we should “be very afraid,” which ultimately instills human fear of the future of robots.

Despite this dire outlook on the proportion of women in technology and robotics, there are solutions that could lead us towards a brighter future if implemented in both career and education. If we more commonly worked on creating robots with more social, benevolent features that could be employed for the good of humanity, we might see an increase in women developing an interest in entering the field. It is also crucial that girls are exposed to computer science and technology subjects before the beginning of their post-secondary education; this would help girls feel more secure in the currently male-dominated field, and help them gain the required knowledge and skills to succeed (Lee, 2018). Moreover, an increase in female role models in robotics would certainly encourage more girls and women to develop an interest in technology, hopefully leading to further advancements even sooner. The inclusion of women in robotics can be constructive in the sense that it would supply the field with a fresh perspective on future directions (Wynsberghe, 2019). Since men and women experience the world differently, collaboration would be helpful in determining how humans can make productive use of robots, and where to shift the current focus so as to make life easier for those who could benefit from robotic assistance. If we are firm in implementing these practices to encourage women to enter technological fields, it is easy to envision a future where the idea of robots as participants in society is a positive and valuable endeavour instead of one that is threatening to human life.