量子飞跃:STEM和女性主义如何成为未来的催化剂

玛雅·潘 2020年Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM会议女主席

您好,SCWIST! 我的名字叫Maia Poon。 我是2020年Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM女孩大会的主席,之前曾担任市场总监。 我在Quantum Leaps和SCWIST的经历在很大程度上决定了我是谁,就我的多元化价值观和赋予他人权力而言,以及我希望成为的人,他将继续回馈我的社区,同时通过科学和语言创造变化。

十二岁的时候才十六岁,直言不讳,令人恐惧。 如今,我的许多谈话甚至思想都针对我的未来—毕业,大学,有可能搬出去并独自生活—和其他人一样,未来是不确定的。 因此,对于我自己和我的同学们,重要的是要知道我们生活中的确定性和我们独有的东西,因为这将使我们能够开拓自己的道路。

例如,我是一位女权主义者,她为对STEM感兴趣并参与而感到自豪。 自五年级以来,当我发现了为争取加拿大妇女投票权而著名的五名选举权主义者之一内里·麦格伦的故事,以及遭受恐怖主义袭击的巴基斯坦女孩教育倡导者马拉拉·尤萨夫扎伊时,我想也要争取性别平等和多样性。 这使我发表演讲,说明了对男孩和女孩进行教育对打破发展中国家贫穷循环的重要性,并为我的学校报纸写了关于世界各地增强妇女权能的女权主义文章。

最重要的是,我参加了2016年 我们为她会议 在“性别多样性”上,我参加了SCWIST的有关指导的小组讨论。 在了解了SCWIST及其创建“加拿大的妇女和女孩可以无障碍地追求其兴趣,教育和职业的环境”的使命后,我知道我想参与这个社区。

我参加了2018年的第一次SCWIST活动:西蒙·弗雷泽大学(Simon Fraser University)的Quantum Leaps Burnaby Conference。 “量子飞跃”是由SCWIST创建和赞助的一项活动,该活动自1990年以来由全国的高中学生主持。在量子飞跃中,我遇到了志趣相投,志趣相投的女孩,包括大学生和教授,我发现了新的STEM领域和职业。 遗传学讲习班尤其令人大开眼界。 我被医学遗传学及其在肿瘤学中的应用所吸引,我希望在我的专科学习中进一步探索这一领域。

由于Quantum Leaps对我产生了重大影响,因此我申请了Quantum Leaps Burnaby执行团队。 我想让STEM的机会更广为人知,让更多的人能接触到,因为我亲眼目睹我的女同学不鼓励参加STEM班,因为他们认为自己同其他技能一样根本不足以从事这些领域,STEM需要实践和毅力来学习。 我很高兴被选为新的市场总监,因为我可以将年轻女性与榜样和新机会联系起来。

LR:2019年执行团队的工作是担任营销总监,由Michelle Mai担任平面设计师,由Vaishnavi Ravikularam担任主席,由Sharon Ho担任社交媒体总监,由Hannah Garampil担任秘书,由Emily Leong担任财务主管。

我们的团队于2018年2019月首次会面,准备为XNUMX年XNUMX月的第五届年会做准备。我们六个人努力争取各种组织的赞助,以保持参与的便利性,与STEM中许多鼓舞人心的女性进行交流,招募导师来领导研讨会和发表主旨演讲,并与我们的主持人SFU组织物流。 在艰辛的日子开始前几个月,我们遇到了很多挑战,包括一次演讲取消,但两次演讲取消,但我们相互激励,继续努力实现我们在STEM中获得更多女性代表的目标。

我的角色告诉我,将STEM中的性别多样性这一大目标分解为可行的步骤(可以通过紧密合作来完成)的重要性。 我的第一个行动项目是更新我们的会议任务:“我们努力增强女高中生在STEM领域追求梦想的能力。” 利用写作和交流的优势,我开始了各种方式来增进和提高对我们事业的认识。 社交媒体总监Shannon和我与其他青年组织建立了联系,以相互促进彼此的活动。 平面设计师Shannon创作了精美的海报,我们在大温哥华地区的高中和社区中心张贴了这些海报。

通过此次推广和在我们网站上的帖子撰写,我们实现了将参加人数增加到50名会议参会者的目标。 我们举办了XNUMX个讲习班,由SFU和UBC教授和研究生以及在STEM公司和组织中工作的女性主持。 另一个亮点是我们两位鼓舞人心的主旨演讲者:我曾参加过SCWIST的前推广总监,《科学世界》的未来科学领袖计划的经理和主要讲师Jenny McQueen博士,以及计算机科学家Sint Moe和产品经理,他愿意指导任何对她的领域感兴趣的学生。 我本人和团队成员是主持人,我们对支持女孩的身后巨大社区表示感谢,其中包括SCWIST的支持和慷慨赞助。

我现在很自豪地担任2020 Quantum Leaps Burnaby Conference的主席。 我发起了“变革”主题,并成立了新的执行团队(每年,随着女孩进入大学并走上新道路,我们招募了新的领导者),并且我正在组织一次会议,探讨这个问题的答案: 如何将STEM用作变革的催化剂? 通过举办有关环境保护,多样性,STEM如何塑造全球政策的讲习班和演讲,本次会议将激发下一代的领导人和变革者。 我非常高兴能成为10X Genomics的SCWIST成员和科学技术顾问,Adriana Suarez和SFU机电系统工程专业学生,Sumreen Rattan以及创始人Moment(一家帮助焦虑症患者的新技术初创公司)的创始人为主题演讲者。 我们仍在寻求赞助(实物和货币),招聘研讨会负责人,并很乐意在午餐时间为各组织设立展位,因此,如果您或您认识的人有兴趣支持我们的会议,请通过电子邮件与我联系 [电子邮件保护] 当然,如果您认识一个愿意参加会议的高中女生,请告诉她继续关注我们 FacebookInstagram,或检查我们的 官网 有关如何注册的详细信息! 在每次连续的会议上,将有更多像我这样的女孩被授权在STEM中开拓自己的道路,并致力于在这些领域扩大少数民族的包容性。

由UBC生殖与发展科学博士学生Natasha Orr主持的研讨会上,女孩们在网上探索细胞幻灯片。

2019年XNUMX月,我在前总统玛丽亚·伊萨(Maria Issa)主持的首届秋季SCWIST Social大会上介绍了我与Quantum Leaps的合作以及迄今为止在STEM中的旅程,其中现任和创始成员,总裁Kelly Marciniw,董事会董事和高中女生聚集在一起庆祝STEM性别平等方面的成就。 我的朋友Alexa Bailey通过她的组织Girls to the Math of Power激发女孩探索和坚持数学的方式让我感到惊讶,而Angela Zhou可以分类回收的机械臂是在行动中见证的惊人创新。 我也很荣幸通过Quantum Leaps与我与SCWIST的联系中不可或缺的部分,与林光荣董事,Khristine Carino和Heidi Hui会面,并有机会参加社交活动并撰写本文。

自从SCWIST成立于1981年以来,听创始人Hilda Ching讲述了女性在STEM中的包容性和机会方面所取得的进步。 在加拿大生活的这段时间,我感到非常幸运,我可以根据自己的性别,以很少的判断力和偏见进入任何领域。 同样,听到玛丽亚(部分地通过SCWIST)建立的广泛网络(并从中受益)也非常感人,玛丽亚称希尔达为她的“ SCWIST母亲”。 STEM中的几代女性互助成长和学习,正是我希望继续成为我整个职业生涯的一部分的社区。 当会议室中的妇女同意年轻一代的工作同样具有启发性时,我感到非常惊讶和荣幸,这是对STEM多元化不断进步的一种见识。

下一个是什么? 未来,再次。 但是,我更激动地投入到SCWIST及其使命中去,作为一名健康科学或生命科学的大学生,可能是医学专业,然后最终成为一个职业女性(我故意让它含糊不清,因为谁知道在哪里我会结束吗?)。 我想继续担任志愿者,担任西海岸儿童癌症基金会针对儿科肿瘤患者及其家人的计划,以及面向有慢性健康挑战的老年人的ASK友谊中心,该中心通过阅读,表演音乐和领导力将医疗保健和创意艺术结合在一起艺术和手工艺品。 我喜欢创造性地和学术性地写作,并且我相信交流对于一个人想要实现的任何变革领域都是必不可少的。 我的目标之一是至少写一部小说!

在亲朋好友的支持下,我目前正在继续我在卑诗省癌症迈克尔·史密斯基因组科学中心的工作实习,结合了生物信息学和实验室工作的个人研究项目,研究基因在肝细胞癌(一种肝癌)中的作用)。 就像我上面提到的那样,Maria有很多联系,她恰好是我其他工作场所(UBC血液研究中心)的研究员。 通过这两个职位,我知道,STEM的职业对任何一个热衷于努力创造变化的人来说都是机遇,许多人同时拥有成功和回报丰厚的职业和家庭生活。 而且我已经开始使用血液和息肉了!

Quantum Leaps: How STEM and Feminism are Catalysts for the Future

Maia Poon, Chair, 2020 Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM Conference for Girls

Hello, SCWIST! My name is Maia Poon. I am the Chair of the 2020 Quantum Leaps Burnaby STEM Conference for Girls, and I previously served as the Marketing Director. My experience with Quantum Leaps and SCWIST has largely shaped who I am, in terms of my values of diversity and empowering others, as well as who I hope to be, someone who continues to give back to my community while creating change through science and words.

Being sixteen-going-on-seventeen, a Grade 12 student, is, to be blunt, scary. These days, many of my conversations and even thoughts are geared towards my future — graduation, university, potentially moving out and living on my own — and the future, as for everyone else, is uncertain. So for myself and my fellow students, it is important to know what is certain in our lives and what is unique to us, because this will allow us to carve our own paths.

For instance, I am a feminist who is proud to be interested and involved in STEM. Ever since Grade 5, when I discovered the stories of Nellie McClung, one of the Famous Five suffragists who fought for Canadian women’s right to vote, and Malala Yousafzai, the Pakistani advocate for girls’ education who was a victim of terrorism, I wanted to speak up for gender equity and diversity as well. This led me to give speeches on the importance of education for boys and girls alike to break the cycle of poverty in developing countries, and to write feminist articles for my school newspaper about female empowerment around the world.

Most significantly, I participated in the 2016 We For She Conference on Gender Diversity, where I attended a SCWIST panel about mentoring. Upon learning about SCWIST and its mission to create “an environment where women and girls in Canada can pursue their interest, education, and careers in STEM without barriers,” I knew that I wanted to become involved in this community.

I participated in my first SCWIST event in 2018: the Quantum Leaps Burnaby Conference at Simon Fraser University. Quantum Leaps is an event created and sponsored by SCWIST, which has been run by high-school students across the country since 1990. At Quantum Leaps, I met like-minded girls with similar aspirations and interests, role models including university students and professors, and I discovered new STEM fields and careers. The genetics workshop was particularly eye-opening; I was drawn to medical genetics and its application to oncology, an area I hope to explore further in my post-secondary studies.

Because of the significant impact Quantum Leaps had on me, I applied to the Quantum Leaps Burnaby Executive Team. I wanted to make the opportunities in STEM more known and accessible to a wider audience, because I have witnessed my fellow female classmates become discouraged in STEM classes, believing that they are simply not good enough to pursue these areas, when just like any other skill, STEM requires practice and perseverance to learn. I was delighted to be selected as the new Marketing Director because I could connect young women to role models and new opportunities.

L-R: The 2019 Executive Team had myself as Marketing Director, Michelle Mai as Graphic Designer, Vaishnavi Ravikularam as Chair, Sharon Ho as Social Media Director, Hannah Garampil as Secretary, and Emily Leong as Treasurer.

Our team first met in October 2018 to start preparing for the fifth annual conference in April 2019. The six of us worked hard to obtain sponsorships from various organizations to keep participation accessible, communicate with many inspiring women in STEM to recruit mentors to lead workshops and give keynote speeches, and organize logistics with our host, SFU. We had our challenges, including not one, but two speaker cancellations just a few months before the big day, but we motivated each other to continue working toward our goal of more female representation in STEM.

My role taught me the importance of breaking a large goal like gender diversity in STEM up into feasible steps that can be accomplished with close collaboration. My first action item was to update our conference mission: “We strive to empower female high school students to pursue their dreams in the STEM fields.” Using my strengths of writing and communication, I initiated ways to promote and raise awareness of our cause. The Social Media Director, Shannon, and I connected with other youth organizations to cross-promote each other’s events. The Graphic Designer, Shannon, created beautiful posters that we posted at high schools and community centres across Metro Vancouver.

Through this outreach and writing posts on our website, we reached our goal of increasing participation to 50 conference attendees. We had nine workshops led by SFU and UBC professors and graduate students, as well as women working in STEM companies and organizations. Another highlight was our two inspiring keynote speakers: Dr. Jenny McQueen, a previous SCWIST Director of Outreach and the manager and main instructor of the Future Science Leaders program at Science World, which I was part of, and Sint Moe, a Computer Scientist and Product Manager who offered to mentor any students interested in her field. Myself and a team member were emcees, and we expressed our gratitude to the huge community behind us supporting the girls, including SCWIST for their support and generous sponsorship.

I am now proud to be serving as Chair for the 2020 Quantum Leaps Burnaby Conference. I initiated the theme “Change Making,” and the new executive team (each year, with girls moving on to university and new paths, we recruit new leaders) and I are developing a conference that will explore answers to the question: How can STEM be used as a catalyst for change? With workshops and speeches on environmentalism, diversity, how STEM shapes global policy and more, this conference will inspire the future generation of leaders and change-makers. I am very excited to have SCWIST member and Science and Technology Advisor at 10X Genomics, Adriana Suarez, and Sumreen Rattan, an SFU Mechatronic Systems Engineering Student, and founder of Moment, a new tech startup to help people with anxiety as our keynote speakers. We are still seeking sponsorship (in-kind and monetary), recruiting workshop leaders and happy to have booths for organizations during lunchtime, so if you or someone you know are interested in supporting our conference, please contact me by email at [email protected] And of course, if you know a high-school girl who would like to participate in the conference, tell her to follow us on Facebook and Instagram, or check our website for details on how to register! With each successive conference, more girls like me will be empowered to forge their own paths in STEM and commit to more inclusivity of minority groups in these fields.

Girls exploring cell slides online in the workshop facilitated by Natasha Orr, UBC Reproductive and Developmental Sciences PhD student.

In October 2019, I presented my work with Quantum Leaps and my journey in STEM thus far at the inaugural Fall SCWIST Social, hosted by past President Maria Issa, where present and founding members, President Kelly Marciniw, Board Directors, and high-school girls gathered to celebrate achievements in STEM gender equity. I was astounded by how my friend Alexa Bailey has been inspiring girls to explore and persevere in math through her organization Girls to the Power of Math, and Angela Zhou’s robotic arm that could sort recycling was an amazing innovation to witness in action. It was also privileged to meet Directors Vienna Lam, Khristine Carino, and Heidi Hui, who were integral parts of my connection to SCWIST, through Quantum Leaps and the opportunities to attend the social and write this article.

Listening to Founder Hilda Ching speak about the progress made in inclusivity and opportunity for women in STEM since SCWIST was founded in 1981 resonated strongly with me. I feel so fortunate to live in a time in Canada where I can enter any field with very little judgement and prejudice based on my gender. As well, hearing about (and benefitting from) the extensive network that Maria has developed, in part through SCWIST, was very touching, with Maria calling Hilda her “SCWIST mother.” Generations of women in STEM helping one another grow and learn is exactly the community I hope to continue to be a part of throughout my career. It surprised and honoured me when the women in the room concurred that the younger generation’s work was equally inspiring, as an insight to the continuing progress towards diversity in STEM.

So what’s next? The future, once again. But I am more excited than nervous to become more involved in SCWIST and its mission, as a university student in Health Sciences or Life Sciences, potentially Medicine, and then eventually, as a working woman (I keep it vague on purpose because who knows where I will end up?). I would like to continue my volunteer roles with the West Coast Kids Cancer Foundation programs for pediatric oncology patients and their families, and the A.S.K. Friendship centre for seniors with chronic health challenges, which combine healthcare and creative arts through reading, performing music, and leading arts and crafts. I love writing, both creatively and academically, and I believe that communication is essential for any field of change one wants to enact. One of my goals is to write at least one novel!

With the support of kind mentors, I am currently continuing on from my Work Placement at the BC Cancer Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre with a personal research project combining bioinformatics and laboratory work, on the roles of genes in hepatocellular carcinoma (a type of liver cancer). Like I mentioned above, Maria has so many connections, and she happens to have been a researcher at the site of my other Work Placement, the UBC Centre for Blood Research. Through these two placements, I know that careers in STEM are opportunities for anyone who has the passion to work hard to create change, with many people having successful and rewarding careers and family lives simultaneously. And I have gotten to work with blood and polyps!