妇女在气候变化和环境保护中的必要性

硕士Kassandra Burd 肯特大学认知神经心理学

值得庆幸的是,有许多妇女成为气候变化活动家中的佼佼者。 特别是,许多加拿大妇女正在采取立场并努力减轻气候变化的不利影响并改善恶劣的环境条件。 加拿大妇女的例子包括内奥米·克莱因(Naomi Klein),她写了几本有关当前危机的书。 她的目标是通过谴责公司的贪婪和资本主义来减少化石燃料的排放并保护环境(Toole&White,2018)。 琼·克莱顿(Joan Clayton)和伊娜·安德烈(Ina Andre)是两位女性,她们通过防止可行的食物进入垃圾掩埋场而努力减少食物浪费。 他们组建了一个名为Second Harvest的组织,该组织在其中保存新鲜的多余食物,并在整个GTA中为有需要的人提供食物。 从根本上讲,这一行动通过规避了超过70万磅的温室气体当量,对我们的大气产生了积极影响(Toole&White,2018)。 最后,梅丽娜·拉布坎·马西莫(Melina Laboucan-Massimo)是一位气候与能源活动家,她倡导生产可再生能源,造福于土著人民。 她负责向土著社区分发太阳能电池板。 此外,梅丽娜(Melina)帮助创建了皮塔潘太阳能项目(Piitapan Solar Project),这是一个能源装置,由足够的能量组成,可以为她的家乡艾伯塔省小布法罗的一个保健中心供电(Toole&White,2018)。

尽管遇到了障碍,但提到的个人只是为争取更美好世界而奋斗的妇女中的少数。 显然,妇女通过提供自己的观点并就如何更好地解决由气候变化引起的问题进行交流,成为气候变化组织的财富。 鉴于目前澳大利亚发生的野火以及管道和公司流失的土著土地以及其他负面影响,毫无疑问,我们急切需要能够实施肯定,剧烈变化以帮助扭转我们所遭受的破坏的领导人,特别是女性。 只有妇女参与,我们才能采取新颖,创新的方法来减轻气候变化和恢复环境。

随着野火的威胁,海平面上升以及全球温度升高,很难否认气候变化是对人类和生态系统的合法威胁。 除非我们认真执行必要的行动以减轻对环境的不利影响,否则对地球的有害影响将不可避免地导致破坏。 到底谁在倡导这些行动?

多年来,我目睹了许多著名人士倡导环境,并宣传我们错误的习惯和做法,这些习惯和做法助长了日益严重的气候变化问题。 其中一些男性活动家包括Al Gore,David Suzuki和David Attenborough,仅举几例。 直到Greta Thunberg成为人们关注的焦点之前,我才意识到女性环保主义者到现在为止基本上是无法察觉的。 我很想知道原因,以及如果有更多的妇女参与应对气候变化,如何改善环境工作。

如果没有妇女的参与,人们对气候变化的负面影响的认识就会增加,与包括妇女在内的情况相比,要完成的工作要少得多,而且速度要慢得多。 例如,在《联合国气候变化框架公约》决策过程中担任代表的众多个人中,只有22%是女性(Holt,2019年)。 很难不奇怪,如果领导气候变化斗争的更多董事会和组织由更多的妇女组成,情况会有什么不同。 不幸的是,由于努力而受到关注的妇女往往处于报复和虐待的边缘。 实际上,在领导职位上对妇女的敌对态度越来越普遍(Raney&Gregory,2019)。 厌女症与气候否定主义之间的关系是环境政治中针对女性的敌意的部分原因。 显然,男子气概的传统习俗和意识形态与气候否定主义有关。 这样,否认气候变化存在的人往往拥有固定的,过时的观念,即社会应朝着涉及“工业化,机制和资本主义”的方向前进(Anshelm&Hultman,2013)。 实际上,这些人中有许多人的目标是远离环保行为,因此可能拒绝回收或利用可重复使用的物品(Swim,Gillis和Hamaty,2019年)。

尽管有这种惨淡的描述,但毫无疑问,妇女在采取气候行动和鼓励公众采取行动方面正在取得长足进步。 乐观地讲,由于“格蕾塔·滕伯格效应”(Chiu,2019),女孩们正在更年轻的时候采取环境行动。 通过利用社交媒体,许多人正在使用其平台说服具有政治领导作用的个人来改善其环境工作,并要求富裕的商业组织考虑减少其碳足迹(Chiu,2019)。 将女孩和妇女纳入环境行动主义的好处包括:在谈判中增加合作方式,以及更多地关注受气候变化影响更为不利的弱势群体(Blanchard,2003年)。 此外,在解决关键问题和倡导受气候变化影响最大的边缘化群体时,女性参与气候变化事务会增强同理心和包容性(Sinha,2019)。

值得庆幸的是,有许多妇女成为气候变化活动家中的佼佼者。 特别是,许多加拿大妇女正在采取立场并努力减轻气候变化的不利影响并改善恶劣的环境条件。 加拿大妇女的例子包括内奥米·克莱因(Naomi Klein),她写了几本有关当前危机的书。 她的目标是通过谴责公司的贪婪和资本主义来减少化石燃料的排放并保护环境(Toole&White,2018)。 琼·克莱顿(Joan Clayton)和伊娜·安德烈(Ina Andre)是两位女性,她们通过防止可行的食物进入垃圾掩埋场而努力减少食物浪费。 他们组建了一个名为Second Harvest的组织,该组织在其中保存新鲜的多余食物,并在整个GTA中为有需要的人提供食物。 从根本上讲,这一行动通过规避了超过70万磅的温室气体当量,对我们的大气产生了积极影响(Toole&White,2018)。 最后,梅丽娜·拉布坎·马西莫(Melina Laboucan-Massimo)是一位气候与能源活动家,她倡导生产可再生能源,造福于土著人民。 她负责向土著社区分发太阳能电池板。 此外,梅丽娜(Melina)帮助创建了皮塔潘太阳能项目(Piitapan Solar Project),这是一个能源装置,由足够的能量组成,可以为她的家乡艾伯塔省小布法罗的一个保健中心供电(Toole&White,2018)。

尽管遇到了障碍,但提到的个人只是为争取更美好世界而奋斗的妇女中的少数。 显然,妇女通过提供自己的观点并就如何更好地解决由气候变化引起的问题进行交流,成为气候变化组织的财富。 鉴于目前澳大利亚发生的野火以及管道和公司流失的土著土地以及其他负面影响,毫无疑问,我们急切需要能够实施肯定,剧烈变化以帮助扭转我们所遭受的破坏的领导人,特别是女性。 只有妇女参与,我们才能采取新颖,创新的方法来减轻气候变化和恢复环境。

The Necessity of Women in Climate Change & Environmentalism

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Thankfully, there are many women who are making their way to the forefront as climate change activists. Specifically, numerous Canadian women are taking a stand and working hard to alleviate the negative effects of climate change and improve dire environmental conditions. Some examples of Canadian women include Naomi Klein, who has written several books on the current crisis. Her goal is to reduce fossil fuel emissions and protect the environment by denouncing corporate greed and capitalism (Toole & White, 2018). Joan Clayton and Ina Andre are two women who are fighting to reduce food waste by preventing viable food from ending up in landfills. They formed an organization called, Second Harvest, in which they save fresh excess food and deliver it across the GTA for those who need it. Fundamentally, this action positively impacts our atmosphere by circumventing over 70 million pounds of greenhouse gas equivalents (Toole & White, 2018). Finally, Melina Laboucan-Massimo is an activist for climate and energy, where she advocates for the production of renewable energy for the benefit of Indigenous peoples. She is responsible for the distribution of solar panels to Indigenous communities. Moreover, Melina helped create the Piitapan Solar Project, which is an energy installation that is composed of sufficient energy to power a health centre in her hometown of Little Buffalo, Alberta (Toole & White, 2018).

The individuals mentioned are only a few of the women who are fighting for a better world despite the obstacles that stand in their way. It is evident that women serve as an asset to climate change organizations by offering their perspective and communicating their ideas as to how we can better solve the problems that are induced by climate change. With the current wildfires in Australia and the loss of Indigenous land to pipelines and corporations among other negative impacts, it is unmistakable that we are in desperate need of leaders who can implement affirmative, drastic changes that can help reverse the damage we’ve done, specifically women. It is only with the inclusion of women that we can take fresh, innovative approaches to climate change mitigation and environmental recuperation.

With the threatening wildfires, rising sea levels, and increases in global temperature, it is difficult to deny that climate change is a legitimate threat to humanity and the ecosystem. The deleterious effects on our planet will inevitably lead to destruction unless we seriously implement the required action to alleviate the negative impact on our environment. Who exactly is advocating for these actions?

Throughout the years, I’ve witnessed many notable men advocating for the environment and spreading awareness about our faulty habits and practices that contribute to the ever-growing problem of climate change. Some of these male activists include Al Gore, David Suzuki, and David Attenborough, to name a few. It wasn’t until Greta Thunberg came into the spotlight that I was cognizant of the fact that female environmental activists have largely been imperceptible up until this point. I was curious to understand the reasons why, as well as how environmental efforts could improve if more women were involved in the fight against climate change.

Without women’s participation in increasing awareness of climate change’s negative impact, significantly less can be accomplished, and at a slower rate, than if women were included. For instance, out of the many individuals who were delegates in decision-making processes in the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, only 22% were women (Holt, 2019). It’s difficult not to wonder how things might be different if more boards and organizations leading the fight against climate change were composed of more women. Unfortunately, women who are thrust into the spotlight for their efforts are often on the receiving end of retaliation and abuse. In fact, hostility toward women in leadership positions supporting action for climate change is becoming more common (Raney & Gregory, 2019). The relationship between misogyny and climate denialism is part of the reason why there is animosity directed at women in environmental politics. Apparently, traditional practices and ideologies of masculinity are correlated to climate denialism. In this way, men who deny the existence of climate change tend to possess fixed, outdated notions that society should be headed in a direction that involves “industrialization, mechanism, and capitalism” (Anshelm & Hultman, 2013). In fact, many of these men aim to stay clear of pro-environmental behaviours, and so might refuse to recycle or take advantage of reusable items (Swim, Gillis, & Hamaty, 2019).

Despite this bleak depiction, it is no doubt that strides are being taken by women to engage in climate action and encourage the public to do the same. Optimistically, girls are implementing environmental action at a younger age, due to the “Greta Thunberg effect” (Chiu, 2019). Through the utilization of social media, many are using their platforms to persuade individuals in political leadership roles to improve their environmental efforts, as well as asking affluent business organizations to consider reducing their carbon footprint (Chiu, 2019). Benefits of the inclusion of girls and women in environmental activism include increased collaborative approaches in negotiations, as well as increased focus on disadvantaged groups who are more negatively effected by the effects of climate change (Blanchard, 2003). Moreover, female involvement in climate change matters fosters greater empathy and inclusiveness when it comes to solving critical problems and advocating for marginalized groups most affected by climate change (Sinha, 2019).

Thankfully, there are many women who are making their way to the forefront as climate change activists. Specifically, numerous Canadian women are taking a stand and working hard to alleviate the negative effects of climate change and improve dire environmental conditions. Some examples of Canadian women include Naomi Klein, who has written several books on the current crisis. Her goal is to reduce fossil fuel emissions and protect the environment by denouncing corporate greed and capitalism (Toole & White, 2018). Joan Clayton and Ina Andre are two women who are fighting to reduce food waste by preventing viable food from ending up in landfills. They formed an organization called, Second Harvest, in which they save fresh excess food and deliver it across the GTA for those who need it. Fundamentally, this action positively impacts our atmosphere by circumventing over 70 million pounds of greenhouse gas equivalents (Toole & White, 2018). Finally, Melina Laboucan-Massimo is an activist for climate and energy, where she advocates for the production of renewable energy for the benefit of Indigenous peoples. She is responsible for the distribution of solar panels to Indigenous communities. Moreover, Melina helped create the Piitapan Solar Project, which is an energy installation that is composed of sufficient energy to power a health centre in her hometown of Little Buffalo, Alberta (Toole & White, 2018).

The individuals mentioned are only a few of the women who are fighting for a better world despite the obstacles that stand in their way. It is evident that women serve as an asset to climate change organizations by offering their perspective and communicating their ideas as to how we can better solve the problems that are induced by climate change. With the current wildfires in Australia and the loss of Indigenous land to pipelines and corporations among other negative impacts, it is unmistakable that we are in desperate need of leaders who can implement affirmative, drastic changes that can help reverse the damage we’ve done, specifically women. It is only with the inclusion of women that we can take fresh, innovative approaches to climate change mitigation and environmental recuperation.