40 عاما من العطاء: مجلس إدارة SCWIST

هل تعلم؟

بينما تنمو SCWIST وتتوسع وتتواصل عبر كندا ، تعتمد الجمعية على الرؤية الإستراتيجية لمجلس إدارتها المتطوعين. نعم تطوع! يمنح المديرون ساعات عديدة من وقتهم - عادة ما يزيد عن 50 أو 60 ساعة ، وبعضها أكثر بكثير - كل شهر. يفعلون هذا "من أجل حب العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات" ولدعم جميع النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في جميع أنحاء كندا. 

يقوم أعضاء مجلس الإدارة بذلك مجانًا لأنهم ، بموجب القانون ، لا يسمح لهم بقبول أي مدفوعات. ينص قانون المجتمعات في كولومبيا البريطانية على ذلك "ما لم تسمح اللوائح ، يجب على المجتمع ألا يدفع لمدير الجمعية أجرًا لكونه مديرًا".

حالة اللوائح الخاصة بـ SCWIST "مجلس الإدارة ... قاعة [ق] لا تتقاضى أي أجر." هذا يعني أيضًا أنه من خلال التواجد في مجلس SCWIST ، لا يأخذ عضو مجلس الإدارة وظيفة محتملة بعيدًا عن أي شخص. 

على الرغم من عدم حصول مجلس الإدارة على أجر ، إلا أن هناك العديد من الفوائد لكونك عضوًا في مجلس SCWIST: تجربة إدارة مؤسسة خيرية غير ربحية - كما يقولون - لا تقدر بثمن ، وكذلك الصداقة والصداقة الحميمة للأشخاص ذوي التفكير المماثل الذين يرغبون في الخدمة . فرصة العمل مع فرق رائعة ، وتطوير أفكار رائعة ، وإنشاء برامج مبتكرة ، والقدرة على القول "لقد فعلنا هذا معًا! نحن جزء من شيء عظيم! " ربما يكون أفضل دفعة يمكن للمرء الحصول عليها: إنه مرضي للغاية.

لذلك ، ليس من المستغرب ألا يعمل أعضاء مجلس الإدارة مجانًا فحسب ، بل يوقعون أيضًا عقد مجلس الإدارة الذي ينص من بين أشياء كثيرة على ما يلي: "في كل عام سأقدم مساهمة مالية شخصية [إلى SCWIST] بمستوى مفيد بالنسبة لي." يضع بعض الأشخاص نقودًا صعبة على الطاولة ، بينما لا يطلب آخرون بلطف تسديد النفقات المتكبدة نيابة عن SCWIST. يرفض الكثيرون الأتعاب ، أو "يدفعونها" للمتحدث التالي أو المتحدث التالي. كل واحد بمفرده ، بهدوء ، بدون ضجة ... لأن أعضاء مجلس الإدارة ، كما يقولون ، "ضعوا أموالهم في مكانها الصحيح!"

بسبب هذا النوع من الالتزام ، عاش SCWIST ونما لمدة 40 عامًا. لا مفاجآت هناك أيضا.

إذا كنت تشعر بالإلهام من مجلس إدارتنا ، فيرجى أخذ ذلك في الاعتبارr التبرع لـ SCWIST for Giving Tuesday. هدفنا هذا العام هو جمع 2,500 دولار ، مع زيادة العائدات نحو العديد من الأحداث والبرامج التي خططنا لها للعام المقبل - وكلها تدعم النساء والفتيات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

40 Years of Giving: The SCWIST Board of Directors

Did you know?

As SCWIST grows, expands, and connects across Canada, the Society relies on the strategic vision of its volunteer Board of Directors. Yes, volunteer! The Directors give many hours of their time – usually upwards of 50 or 60 hours, some lots more – every month. This they do ‘for the love of STEM’ and to support all women in STEM across Canada. 

The Board members do this for free as they are, by law, not allowed to accept any payment. The Societies Act of BC states that “Unless permitted by the bylaws, a society must not pay to a director of the society remuneration for being a director.”

SCWIST’s own bylaws state “The Board of Directors … [s]hall not receive any remuneration.” This also means that by being on the SCWIST Board, a board member is not taking a potential job away from anyone. 

While the Board is not remunerated, there are many benefits to being on the SCWIST Board: the experience of running a non-profit charity is – as they say – priceless, as is the friendship and camaraderie of like-minded people who wish to serve. The opportunity to work with great teams, develop great ideas, create innovative programs and to be able to say “WE did this, together! WE are part of something great!” is probably the best payment one can have: it is hugely satisfying.

So, it is not surprising that not only do Board members work for free, they also sign a Board Contract that among many things, states that “Each year I will make a personal financial contribution [to SCWIST] at a level that is meaningful to me.” Some people put hard cash on the table, others gently do not request reimbursements for expenses incurred on behalf of SCWIST. Many refuse honoraria, or ‘pay it forward’ to the next speaker or panellist. Each to her own, quietly, without fanfare… because, again, as they say, Board members “Put their money where their mouth is!”

Because of this kind of commitment SCWIST has lived and grown for 40 years. No surprises there either.

If you’re feeling inspired by our Board of Directors, please consider donating to SCWIST for Giving Tuesday. This year our goal is to raise $2,500, with proceeds raised going towards the many events and programs we have planned for the coming year – all of which support women and girls in STEM.