40 年的奉献:SCWIST 董事会

您知道吗?

随着 SCWIST 在加拿大各地的发展、扩展和联系,该协会依赖于其志愿者董事会的战略愿景。 是的,志愿者! 董事们每个月都会花很多时间——通常超过 50 或 60 小时,有些甚至更多。 他们这样做是“为了对 STEM 的热爱”,并支持加拿大各地 STEM 领域的所有女性。 

董事会成员这样做是免费的,因为根据法律,他们不得接受任何付款。 卑诗省的社团法规定, “除非章程允许,否则社团不得因担任董事而向社团董事支付报酬。”

SCWIST 自己的章程规定 “董事会...... [s] 不会获得任何报酬。” 这也意味着,加入 SCWIST 董事会,董事会成员不会从任何人那里抢走潜在的工作。 

虽然董事会没有报酬,但加入 SCWIST 董事会有很多好处:正如他们所说,运营非营利慈善机构的经验是无价的,希望服务的志同道合的人的友谊和友情也是无价的. 有机会与优秀的团队合作、开发伟大的想法、创建创新计划,并能够说“我们一起做到了! 我们是伟大事物的一部分!” 可能是一个人所能得到的最好的报酬:非常令人满意。

因此,毫不奇怪,董事会成员不仅免费工作,而且还签署了一份董事会合同,其中规定: “每年我都会以对我有意义的水平为 [SCWIST] 做出个人财务贡献。” 有些人把现金放在桌面上,其他人则温和地不要求报销代表 SCWIST 发生的费用。 许多人拒绝酬金,或“支付”给下一位发言者或小组成员。 每个人都是自己的,安静地,没有大张旗鼓......因为,正如他们所说,董事会成员“把钱放在嘴边!”

由于这种承诺,SCWIST 已经生存和发展了 40 年。 那里也没有惊喜。

如果您对我们的董事会感到鼓舞,请考虑r 捐赠给 SCWIST 以进行周二的捐赠。 今年我们的目标是筹集 2,500 美元,筹集的资金将用于我们为来年计划的许多活动和计划——所有这些都支持 STEM 中的妇女和女孩。

40 Years of Giving: The SCWIST Board of Directors

Did you know?

As SCWIST grows, expands, and connects across Canada, the Society relies on the strategic vision of its volunteer Board of Directors. Yes, volunteer! The Directors give many hours of their time – usually upwards of 50 or 60 hours, some lots more – every month. This they do ‘for the love of STEM’ and to support all women in STEM across Canada. 

The Board members do this for free as they are, by law, not allowed to accept any payment. The Societies Act of BC states that “Unless permitted by the bylaws, a society must not pay to a director of the society remuneration for being a director.”

SCWIST’s own bylaws state “The Board of Directors … [s]hall not receive any remuneration.” This also means that by being on the SCWIST Board, a board member is not taking a potential job away from anyone. 

While the Board is not remunerated, there are many benefits to being on the SCWIST Board: the experience of running a non-profit charity is – as they say – priceless, as is the friendship and camaraderie of like-minded people who wish to serve. The opportunity to work with great teams, develop great ideas, create innovative programs and to be able to say “WE did this, together! WE are part of something great!” is probably the best payment one can have: it is hugely satisfying.

So, it is not surprising that not only do Board members work for free, they also sign a Board Contract that among many things, states that “Each year I will make a personal financial contribution [to SCWIST] at a level that is meaningful to me.” Some people put hard cash on the table, others gently do not request reimbursements for expenses incurred on behalf of SCWIST. Many refuse honoraria, or ‘pay it forward’ to the next speaker or panellist. Each to her own, quietly, without fanfare… because, again, as they say, Board members “Put their money where their mouth is!”

Because of this kind of commitment SCWIST has lived and grown for 40 years. No surprises there either.

If you’re feeling inspired by our Board of Directors, please consider donating to SCWIST for Giving Tuesday. This year our goal is to raise $2,500, with proceeds raised going towards the many events and programs we have planned for the coming year – all of which support women and girls in STEM.