صحة قلب المرأة: لا مزيد من الطيران تحت الرادار

تم نشره مسبقًا بواسطة CHÉOS في يوم المرأة العالمي.

كتب بواسطة أليسون مولر، مسؤولة الاتصالات ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، مركز التقييم الصحي وعلوم النتائج (CHÉOS).

تخيل أن يتم دفعك لإجراء عملية قلب مفتوح بسبب نشاط القلب غير المنتظم فقط ليتم تفريغها فورًا لعدم وجود أي علامات واضحة على الإصابة بأمراض القلب. حدث هذا لدنيس جونسون المدافعة عن صحة القلب ، والتي تم إرسالها مباشرة إلى الجراحة بعد أن أظهرت قراءات من اختبار الإجهاد نوبة قلبية محتملة ، ليتم إرسالها إلى المنزل دون إجابات.

أثناء الاستمتاع بأمسية مريحة في المنزل ، بدأت دينيس تشعر بضغط لا يصدق على صدرها مما أدى إلى ألم عبر ظهرها وأسفل ذراعها. "قلبي كان يتسابق وعندما أجريت قياسًا لضغط الدم في صباح اليوم التالي في صيدلية محلية ، كان مرتفعًا جدًا ،" تشارك دينيس. "مع تعبير صديقي والصيدلي عن قلقهما بشأن ارتفاع ضغط الدم ، ذهبت إلى الطوارئ حيث تلقيت فحصًا بالأشعة المقطعية لقلبي. لم تظهر أي مخالفات لذلك طُلب مني مقابلة طبيب عائلتي. لقد أدركت كم كان من غير المعتاد بالنسبة لي أن أعاني من ارتفاع ضغط الدم وحجزتني لإجراء اختبار الإجهاد بعد بضعة أسابيع. شعرت بالارتياح أثناء الركض أثناء الاختبار ، ولم يكن هناك أي إزعاج ، ولكن طُلب مني على الفور التوقف لأن أولئك الذين يراقبون الاختبار قالوا إنني كنت أعاني من نوبة قلبية. تم إحضاري إلى الرعاية العاجلة حيث أخبرني طبيب القلب أن اختبار الإجهاد الخاص بي كان غير منتظم للغاية ويجب علي إخطار أقرب أقربائي لأنني قد أحتاج إلى جراحة قلب مفتوح.

بعد وصولها إلى المستشفى عبر سيارة الإسعاف ، نُقلت دينيس إلى غرفة العمليات حيث تم استخدام منظار لرؤية الأوعية الكبيرة داخل قلبها. "كنت مستيقظًا ، أشاهد الشاشة لأنني أردت أن أرى ما هو الخطأ في قلبي. جاء الجراح ، ونظر إلى الشاشة ، وأخبر الموظفين أنني لست بحاجة إلى جراحة في القلب لأنه لم يكن لدي أي تراكم للويحات داخل الشرايين وكانت عضلة قلبي قوية. وأوضح دينيس أنه لم يكن هناك دليل واضح على حدوث نوبة قلبية.

حل اللغز

أعراض النوبة القلبية التقليدية ، مثل ألم الصدر المركزي السحق متبوعًا بخفة الرأس والانهيار ، معترف بها على نطاق واسع من قبل كل من الجمهور ومجتمع الرعاية الصحية. ومع ذلك ، غالبًا ما تم جمع البيانات التي تدعم هذه الأعراض من مجموعات المرضى التي يغلب عليها الذكور ، حيث تظهر النوبات القلبية عادةً على أنها انسداد داخل الشرايين الكبيرة للقلب. كما أوضحت تجربة دينيس ، هذا ليس هو الحال دائمًا.

يسلط د. كارين همفريز، رئيس برنامج صحة القلب والأوعية الدموية في CHÉOS. "العديد من النساء المصابات بنوبات قلبية يصفن ألم الصدر بأنه ضغط أو ضغط وغالبًا ما يكون لديهن أعراض إضافية بما في ذلك الغثيان وعدم الراحة في الظهر والرقبة أو الفك وضيق التنفس ، والتي لم يتم التعرف عليها على نطاق واسع على أنها أعراض الأزمة القلبية. لقد قيل لهم إنه قلق أو اكتئاب أو "كل شيء في رأسك" ، وهو ما لا يحدث في كثير من الأحيان ".

رعاية تركز على المرأة

لا تزال دينيس قلقة بشأن قلبها ونتائج اختبار الإجهاد غير المنتظم ، وعملت عن كثب مع طبيب عائلتها لإدارة صحتها حتى عثروا على خبير يفهم صحة قلب المرأة. تمت إحالتها إلى الدكتورة تارا سيدلاك ، عالمة CHÉOS ومديرة مركز قلب النساء في ليزلي دايموند ، المتخصصة في صحة قلب المرأة.

تركز العيادة في مركز قلب المرأة على الجوانب الفريدة لرعاية المرأة. فبدلاً من الانسداد في شرايين القلب ، غالبًا ما تعاني النساء من مرض الأوعية الدموية الدقيقة أو تمزق الشرايين. يمكن أن يكون لديهم أيضًا تشنج في الشرايين ، وهو أمر مفاجئ أكثر تواترًا مما كان يعتقد سابقًا ، "كما يقول الدكتور سيدلاك ، وهو أيضًا طبيب قلب في مستشفى سانت بول ، ومستشفى فانكوفر العام ، ومستشفى بريتش كولومبيا للنساء. وأضاف الدكتور Sedlak ، "لتكون قادرًا على اكتشاف هذه ، يلزم إجراء اختبار فريد ، لذلك نطلب التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي المتخصص وتصوير الأوعية للتركيز على فحص الأوعية الدموية الصغيرة".

ولوضع هذا في الاعتبار ، فإن التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي للقلب العادي يستغرق حوالي 20-40 دقيقة ؛ ومع ذلك ، كانت دينيس في جهاز التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي تجمع بنشاط صورًا لقلبها لمدة ساعتين ونصف. كانت هذه المدة الزمنية ضرورية للتأكد من ضيق الأوعية الدموية الصغيرة في قلبها ومنع الدم من تغذية قلبها ، وهو ما يفسر أعراضها وقراءات اختبار الإجهاد.

البحث لإعلام وتغيير الممارسة

يرجع جزء من سبب هذا الاختلاف بين الجنسين في الرعاية إلى قلة الدراسات السريرية التي تركز على صحة قلب المرأة على وجه التحديد. يتم الآن اكتشاف أمراض القلب والأمراض التي كان يُعتقد تاريخيًا أنها غير شائعة لدى النساء بشكل متزايد. على سبيل المثال ، كان يُعتقد في البداية أن تسلخ الشريان التاجي التلقائي (موضح أدناه) نادر جدًا ؛ ومع ذلك ، فإن 90 في المائة من مرضى التسلخ التلقائي للشريان التاجي هم من النساء ، لذلك في الدراسات التي أجريت على مجموعة يغلب عليها الذكور ، يبدو أنه نادر جدًا. أدى ذلك إلى نقص شديد في التشخيص لحالة طارئة يمكن أن تسبب نوبات قلبية.

مخطط الأوعية الدموية يوضح أسباب النوبة القلبية عند النساء. كان يُعتقد في البداية أن مرض التسلخ التلقائي للشريان التاجي (SCAD) ومرض الأوعية الدموية الدقيقة نادران ، ولكن يوجد بشكل متزايد عند النساء

تعمل الدكتورة Sedlak وفريقها في مركز قلب المرأة على تحسين رعاية قلب المرأة. "لقد أنشأنا قاعدة بيانات لمركز قلب المرأة. يمكن لكل امرأة تأتي إلى العيادة التسجيل لتكون جزءًا من السجل الذي يخزن البيانات لدعم أبحاث قلب المرأة. لدينا أكثر من 300 مريض مسجل نهدف إلى متابعتهم على مدى خمس سنوات في محاولة لفهم الجوانب الفريدة لصحة القلب لدى النساء بشكل أفضل. قال الدكتور سدلاك: "ستدعم هذه المعلومات أيضًا المشاريع البحثية لتحسين صحة القلب بشكل عام".

ولكن ماذا عن أولئك الذين يفتقرون إلى الوصول إلى العيادات التي تركز على صحة المرأة أو التصوير القلبي المتخصص؟ يجب أيضًا معالجة توحيد الممارسات لتحسين التعرف على النوبات القلبية لدى النساء. هذا هو بالضبط البحث الذي يقوده الدكتور همفريز في تجربة متعددة المراكز على مستوى كندا ، كود MI.

"إحدى الطرق الأكثر شيوعًا لاكتشاف ما إذا كان المريض قد أصيب بنوبة قلبية هي النظر إلى مستويات جزيء يسمى تروبونين عضلة القلب عالي الحساسية. يتم إطلاق هذا الجزيء من القلب نتيجة لتلف القلب ، على سبيل المثال ، أثناء نوبة قلبية ، "يخبر الدكتور همفريز. "في الممارسة السريرية ، ينظر الأطباء إلى مستويات هذا الجزيء في الدم ويستخدمون قيمة حدية للمساعدة في تحديد ما إذا كان المريض قد أصيب بنوبة قلبية أم لا. توصلت الأبحاث السابقة إلى هذه القيمة بناءً على البيانات المجمعة من الرجال والنساء ؛ ومع ذلك ، عندما تصاب المرأة بنوبة قلبية ، يتم إطلاق كمية أقل من جزيء التروبونين هذا. مما لا يثير الدهشة ، أن العتبة المجمعة الحالية أعلى من العتبة الخاصة بالمرأة ، مما يزيد من خطر تعرض النساء للتشخيص الناقص لأن مستويات التروبونين لديهن بعد نوبة قلبية لا تصل إلى العتبة الأعلى المجمعة. وأوضح الدكتور همفريز أن الهدف من تجربة CODE-MI هو تحديد تأثير استخدام قيم العتبة المخصصة للنساء لتحسين احتمالية التشخيص الدقيق للأزمة القلبية ، مما سيؤدي إلى العلاج والرعاية المنقذة للحياة.

الدعوة للتغيير

دينيس ليست بمفردها عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتغلب على العقبات التي تحول دون تلقي الرعاية المناسبة لصحة قلبها. يعد نقص تشخيص أمراض القلب عند النساء مشكلة دولية تحتاج إلى معالجة. يعد تصميم التجارب السريرية التي تأخذ في الاعتبار الاختلافات بين الرجال والنساء أمرًا مهمًا في تحسين العلاج للجميع.

يشجع الدكتور همفريز "كلما كسرنا الحواجز ، كانت لدينا فرصة أفضل لتحسين رعاية النساء".

في كندا ، بدأت عجلات التغيير تدور. لن تفكر وكالات تمويل معينة في دعم البحث ما لم يكن هناك بيان واضح يتناول الجنس والنوع الاجتماعي ، حتى أن بعضها لديه حد أدنى لعدد النساء المسجلات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، أصبحت البيانات التي تدعم الحاجة إلى خطة متسلسلة مختلفة للرعاية للنساء مقابل الرجال المصابين بأمراض القلب متاحة بشكل أكبر ، ولكن هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العمل.

الدكتورة Sedlak وعائلتها أمام Science World ، أحد المعالم الكندية العديدة المضاءة باللون الأحمر لـ #WearRedCanada في 13 فبراير

يلعب التعليم على مستوى النظام دورًا كبيرًا في إحداث التغيير ، والمنظمة المكرسة لنشر الوعي هي تحالف صحة قلب المرأة الكندية. في عام 2019 ، بدأ التحالف السنوي على مستوى الدولة ارتدي ريد كندا في 13 فبراير ، ركزت على زيادة الوعي بصحة قلب المرأة مع توفير مصادر إعلامية ومفيدة. طور التحالف أيضًا مواد تعليمية ليتم تضمينها في مناهج المدارس الثانوية والمدارس الطبية ، ويهدف إلى المساعدة في إبلاغ الممارسات السريرية وتحسينها.

من القلب الى القلب

"عندما تكون في شك، تحقق من ذلك!" يؤكد دينيس. "إذا كان هناك شيء لا يبدو على ما يرام ، فابحث فيه. دافع عن نفسك وانتبه لجسدك لأنك تعمل بالشراكة معها. الآن ، بتوجيه من طبيب الأسرة ، وخبرة الدكتور Sedlak ، ودعم الزملاء من النساء الأخريات المصابات بأمراض القلب ، كنت أدير صحة قلبي بسعادة من خلال الأدوية وتغييرات نمط الحياة لعدة سنوات ، "قال دينيس.

مهتم في تعلم المزيد؟

يوفر المركز الكندي لصحة القلب النسائي لديها العديد من الموارد المتاحة بما في ذلك مجموعات دعم الأقران, نصيحة حول كيفية التحدث إلى مقدم الرعاية الصحية الخاص بكو مواقع العيادات في جميع أنحاء كندا. كما أنهم يوفرون جميع الموارد المشتركة خلال حملات Wear Red Canada ، بما في ذلك نصائح لإيجاد طبيب أسرة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، مؤسسة القلب والسكتة الدماغية يحتوي على معلومات مفيدة لأي شخص لديه فضول حول صحة القلب و جمعية القلب والأوعية الدموية الكندية يوفر إرشادات وموارد محدثة لمقدمي الرعاية الصحية.

Women’s heart health: No more flying under the radar

Previously published by CHÉOS on International Women’s Day.

Written by Alison Müller, Communications & Social Media Officer, Centre for Health Evaluation and Outcome Sciences (CHÉOS).

Imagine being rushed to open-heart surgery because of irregular heart activity only to be immediately discharged because there were not any obvious signs of heart disease. This happened to heart health patient advocate Denise Johnson, who was sent straight to surgery after readings from a stress test showed a possible heart attack, only to be sent home without answers.

While enjoying a relaxing evening at home, Denise started feeling incredible pressure on her chest that radiated pain across her back and down her arm. “My heart was racing and when I took a blood pressure measurement the next morning at a local pharmacy, it was quite high,” shares Denise. “With both my friend and the pharmacist expressing concern about my high blood pressure, I went to emergency where I received a CT scan of my heart. No irregularities showed up so I was asked to see my family doctor. She recognized how unusual it was for me to have high blood pressure and booked me for a stress test a few weeks later. I felt great while running during the test, there was no discomfort, but I was immediately told to stop as those monitoring the test said it looked like I was having a heart attack. I was brought to urgent care where a cardiologist informed me that my stress test was very irregular and I should notify my next-of-kin as I may need open-heart surgery” she said.

After arriving at the hospital via ambulance, Denise was rushed to the operating room where a scope was used to view the large vessels inside her heart. “I was awake, watching the screen because I wanted to see what was wrong with my heart.  The surgeon came in, looked at the screen, and told the staff that I didn’t need heart surgery because I had hardly any plaque build-up inside my arteries and my heart muscle was strong. There was no obvious evidence of a heart attack,” Denise explained.

Solving a mystery

Classic heart attack symptoms, such as crushing central chest pain followed by light-headedness and collapsing, are widely recognized by both the public and the health care community. However, data supporting these symptoms were often collected from predominantly male patient populations, where heart attacks commonly present as blockages within the large arteries of the heart. As illustrated by Denise’s experience, this is not always the case.

“Fifty percent of heart attacks are missed in women who show up to the emergency department with chest pain concerns,” highlights Dr. Karin Humphries, CHÉOS’ Program Head of Cardiovascular Health. “Many women who have heart attacks describe their chest pain as pressure or squeezing and often have additional symptoms including nausea, discomfort in the back, neck, or jaw, and shortness of breath, which are not yet widely recognized as heart attack symptoms. They are told it’s anxiety, depression, or ‘all in your head’, which is often not the case,” she continued.

Women-focused care

Still concerned about her heart and the irregular stress test results, Denise worked closely with her family doctor to manage her health until they found an expert who understood women’s heart health. She was referred to CHÉOS Scientist and Director of the Leslie Diamond Women’s Heart Centre Dr. Tara Sedlak, who specializes in women’s heart health.

“The clinic at the Women’s Heart Centre focuses on the unique aspects of women’s care. Instead of blockages in the arteries of the heart, women often have small vessel disease or tears in their arteries. They can also have arteries that spasm, which is surprisingly more frequent than previously thought,” says Dr. Sedlak, who is also a cardiologist at St. Paul’s Hospital, Vancouver General Hospital, and British Columbia Women’s Hospital. “To be able to detect these, unique testing is required, so we order specialized MRI imaging and angiograms to focus on looking at small blood vessels,” added Dr. Sedlak.

Putting this into perspective, a normal cardiac MRI takes about 20–40 minutes; however, Denise was in an MRI machine actively gathering images of her heart for two and half hours. That length of time was needed to confirm that the small vessels in her heart were constricted and preventing blood from nourishing her heart, which explained her symptoms and stress test readings.

Research to inform and change practice

Part of the reason for this gender difference in care is because there are fewer clinical studies focusing on women’s heart health specifically. Heart conditions and diseases that were historically thought to be uncommon in women are now increasingly being found. For example, spontaneous coronary artery dissection (SCAD) [illustrated below] was initially thought to be quite rare; however, 90 percent of patients with SCAD are women, so in studies with a predominantly male cohort, it would appear quite rare. This resulted in severe underdiagnosis of an emergent condition that can cause heart attacks.

Blood vessel diagram showing causes of a heart attack in women. SCAD and small vessel disease were initially thought to be rare, but are increasingly being found in women

Dr. Sedlak and her team at the Women’s Heart Centre are working to improve women’s cardiac care. “We have set up a Women’s Heart Centre database. Every woman who comes into the clinic can sign up to be part of the registry, which stores data to support women’s heart research. We have over 300 patients registered who we aim to follow over five years in an effort to better understand the unique aspects of heart health in women. This information will also support research projects to improve heart health overall,” said Dr. Sedlak.

But what about those who lack access to women’s health-focused clinics or specialized cardiac imaging? Standardizing practice to improve the recognition of heart attacks in women must be addressed as well. That is precisely the research that Dr. Humphries is leading in the Canada-wide multi-centre trial, CODE-MI.

“One of the most common ways to detect if a patient has had a heart attack is to look at the levels of a molecule called high-sensitivity cardiac muscle troponin. This molecule is released from the heart as a result of cardiac damage, for example, during a heart attack,” informs Dr. Humphries. “In clinical practice, physicians look at the levels of this molecule in the blood and use a threshold value to help determine whether or not a patient has had a heart attack. Previous research came up with this value based on pooled data from men and women; however, when a woman has a heart attack, less of this troponin molecule is released. Unsurprisingly, the current pooled threshold is higher than the female-specific threshold, increasing the risk that women are underdiagnosed because their levels of troponin after a heart attack do not reach the higher pooled threshold. The goal of the CODE-MI trial is to establish the impact of using threshold values specifically for women to improve the likelihood of an accurate heart attack diagnosis, which will lead to life-saving treatment and care,” explained Dr. Humphries.

Advocating for change

Denise is far from alone when it comes to overcoming the hurdles to receiving proper care for her heart health. Underdiagnosis of heart disease in women is an international issue that needs to be addressed. Designing clinical trials that actively consider the differences between men and women is important in improving treatment for everyone.

“The more we break down the barriers, the better chance we have of improving care for women,” encourages Dr. Humphries.

In Canada, the wheels of change are starting to turn. Certain funding agencies will not consider supporting research unless there is a clear statement addressing sex and gender, with some even having a minimum threshold for the number of women enrolled. In addition, data supporting the need for a different cascade-of-care plan for women versus men with heart disease are becoming more available, but more work is needed.

Dr. Sedlak and her family in front Science World, one of several Canadian landmarks illuminated red for #WearRedCanada on February 13

System-wide education plays a large role in sparking change and an organization dedicated to spreading awareness is the Canadian Women’s Heart Health Alliance. In 2019, the Alliance initiated the annual country-wide Wear Red Canada campaign on February 13, focused on raising awareness of women’s heart health while providing informative, helpful resources. The Alliance has also developed educational material to be included in high school and medical school curricula, and aims to help inform and improve clinical practice.

Heart to heart

“When in doubt, check it out!” Denise emphasizes. “If something doesn’t feel right, look into it. Advocate for yourself and pay attention to your body because you work in partnership with it. Now, with guidance from my family doctor, the expertise of Dr. Sedlak, and peer support from other women living with heart disease, I have been happily managing my heart health with medication and lifestyle changes for several years,” said Denise.

Interested in learning more?

The Canadian Women’s Heart Health Centre has several resources available including peer support groups, advice on how to talk to your health care provider, and clinic locations across Canada. They also provide all the resources shared during their Wear Red Canada campaigns, including advice on finding a family doctor.

In addition, the Heart and Stroke Foundation has useful information for anyone curious about heart health and the Canadian Cardiovascular Society provides up-to-date guidelines and resources for health care providers.