女性的心脏健康:不再在雷达下飞行

之前发布者 CHÉOS 国际妇女节.

作者 艾莉森·穆勒, 健康评估和结果科学中心 (CHÉOS) 传播和社交媒体官。

想象一下,由于心脏活动不规则而被紧急进行心脏直视手术,却因为没有任何明显的心脏病迹象而立即出院。 这发生在心脏健康患者倡导者丹尼斯约翰逊身上,在压力测试读数显示可能心脏病发作后,她被直接送往手术室,但没有得到答案就被送回家。

在家里享受一个轻松的夜晚时,丹妮丝开始感到胸口承受着难以置信的压力,这种压力在她的背部和手臂上蔓延开来。 “我心跳加速,第二天早上在当地药房量血压时,血压非常高,”丹尼斯分享道。 “由于我的朋友和药剂师都对我的高血压表示担忧,我去急诊室接受了心脏 CT 扫描。 没有出现任何异常情况,所以我被要求去看我的家庭医生。 她意识到我有高血压是多么不寻常,并在几周后为我安排了压力测试。 我在测试期间跑步时感觉很好,没有任何不适,但我立即被告知停止,因为那些监测测试的人说我看起来像心脏病发作。 我被送往紧急护理中心,心脏病专家告诉我,我的压力测试非常不规律,我应该通知我的近亲,因为我可能需要进行心脏直视手术。”她说。

乘坐救护车到达医院后,丹妮丝被紧急送往手术室,用内窥镜观察她心脏内的大血管。 “我醒着,看着屏幕,因为我想看看我的心脏出了什么问题。 外科医生进来,看着屏幕,告诉工作人员我不需要心脏手术,因为我的动脉内几乎没有任何斑块积聚,而且我的心肌很强壮。 没有明显的心脏病发作证据,”丹尼斯解释说。

解开谜团

典型的心脏病发作症状,例如剧烈的中枢性胸痛,然后是头晕目眩和虚脱,得到了公众和医疗保健界的广泛认可。 然而,支持这些症状的数据通常是从主要是男性患者群体中收集的,其中心脏病发作通常表现为心脏大动脉内的阻塞。 正如丹尼斯的经历所表明的那样,情况并非总是如此。

“因胸痛而到急诊室就诊的女性,有 XNUMX% 的心脏病发作被遗漏了,”博士强调说。 卡琳·汉弗莱斯(Karin Humphries), CHÉOS 心血管健康项目负责人。 “许多心脏病发作的女性将她们的胸痛描述为压力或挤压,并且通常还有其他症状,包括恶心、背部、颈部或下巴的不适以及呼吸急促,这些症状尚未被广泛认为是心脏病发作的症状。 他们被告知这是焦虑、抑郁或‘全在你的脑海中’,但通常情况并非如此,”她继续说道。

以女性为中心的护理

仍然担心她的心脏和不规则的压力测试结果,丹妮丝与她的家庭医生密切合作来管理她的健康,直到他们找到一位了解女性心脏健康的专家。 她被转介给 CHÉOS 科学家兼 Leslie Diamond 女性心脏中心主任 Tara Sedlak 博士,她专门研究女性心脏健康。

“女性心脏中心的诊所专注于女性护理的独特方面。 女性通常不会出现心脏动脉阻塞,而是动脉出现小血管疾病或撕裂。 他们也可能有动脉痉挛,这比以前想象的要频繁得多,”Sedlak 博士说,他也是圣保罗医院、温哥华综合医院和不列颠哥伦比亚妇女医院的心脏病专家。 “为了能够检测到这些,需要进行独特的测试,因此我们订购了专门的 MRI 成像和血管造影来专注于观察小血管,”Sedlak 博士补充道。

从这个角度来看,正常的心脏 MRI 大约需要 20-40 分钟; 然而,丹妮丝在 MRI 机器上用了两个半小时积极收集她的心脏图像。 需要这段时间来确认她心脏中的小血管收缩并阻止血液滋养她的心脏,这解释了她的症状和压力测试读数。

研究以告知和改变实践

护理方面存在这种性别差异的部分原因是因为专门针对女性心脏健康的临床研究较少。 历史上被认为在女性中不常见的心脏病和疾病现在越来越多地被发现。 例如,自发性冠状动脉夹层 (SCAD) [如下图所示] 最初被认为非常罕见。 然而,90% 的 SCAD 患者是女性,因此在以男性为主的研究中,这种情况显得相当罕见。 这导致对可能导致心脏病发作的紧急情况的严重漏诊。

血管图显示了女性心脏病发作的原因。 SCAD 和小血管疾病最初被认为是罕见的,但越来越多地在女性中发现

Sedlak 博士和她在女性心脏中心的团队正在努力改善女性的心脏护理。 “我们已经建立了一个女性心脏中心数据库。 每个进入诊所的女性都可以注册成为登记处的一部分,该登记处存储数据以支持女性心脏研究。 我们已经注册了 300 多名患者,我们的目标是在五年内跟踪他们,以更好地了解女性心脏健康的独特方面。 这些信息还将支持改善整体心脏健康的研究项目,”Sedlak 博士说。

但是那些无法进入以女性健康为重点的诊所或专业心脏成像的人呢? 标准化实践以提高对女性心脏病发作的认识也必须得到解决。 这正是 Humphries 博士在加拿大范围内的多中心试验中领导的研究, 码米.

“检测患者是否患有心脏病的最常见方法之一是查看一种称为高灵敏度心肌肌钙蛋白的分子的水平。 这种分子由于心脏损伤而从心脏中释放出来,例如,在心脏病发作期间,”Humphries 博士说。 “在临床实践中,医生会观察血液中这种分子的水平,并使用阈值来帮助确定患者是否患有心脏病。 以前的研究是根据男性和女性的汇总数据得出这个值的; 然而,当女性心脏病发作时,这种肌钙蛋白分子的释放量就会减少。 不出所料,当前的汇总阈值高于女性特定阈值,增加了女性因心脏病发作后肌钙蛋白水平未达到更高的汇总阈值而被漏诊的风险。 CODE-MI 试验的目标是确定使用专门针对女性的阈值来提高准确诊断心脏病发作的可能性的影响,这将导致挽救生命的治疗和护理,”Humphries 博士解释说。

倡导变革

在克服障碍以接受适当的心脏健康护理时,丹妮丝绝非孤军奋战。 女性心脏病诊断不足是一个需要解决的国际问题。 设计积极考虑男性和女性差异的临床试验对于改善每个人的治疗非常重要。

“我们越是打破障碍,我们就越有机会改善对女性的护理,”汉弗莱斯博士鼓励道。

在加拿大,变革的车轮开始转动。 除非有明确的性别和性别声明,否则某些资助机构不会考虑支持研究,有些甚至对女性入学人数设定了最低门槛。 此外,支持需要针对患有心脏病的女性和男性的不同级联护理计划的数据越来越多,但还需要做更多的工作。

Sedlak 博士和她的家人在科学世界前面,这是加拿大的几个地标之一,13 月 XNUMX 日为#WearRedCanada 点亮红色

全系统教育在激发变革方面发挥着重要作用,致力于传播意识的组织是加拿大妇女心脏健康联盟。 2019年,联盟发起年度全国 穿红色加拿大 13 月 XNUMX 日的活动,重点是提高对女性心脏健康的认识,同时提供信息丰富、有用的资源。 该联盟还开发了包含在高中和医学院课程中的教育材料,旨在帮助告知和改进临床实践。

心对心

“如有疑问,请查看!” 丹妮丝强调。 “如果有什么地方感觉不对,那就去调查一下。 为自己辩护并注意自己的身体,因为您与它合作。 现在,在我的家庭医生的指导、Sedlak 博士的专业知识以及其他患有心脏病的女性的同伴支持下,多年来我一直很高兴地通过药物和生活方式的改变来管理我的心脏健康,”丹尼斯说。

有兴趣学习更多?

新的 加拿大妇女心脏健康中心 有多种可用资源,包括 同伴支持小组, 关于如何与您的医疗保健提供者交谈的建议 加拿大各地的诊所地点. 他们还提供在 Wear Red Canada 活动期间共享的所有资源,包括 寻找家庭医生的建议.

此外,该 心脏和中风基金会 为任何对心脏健康和心脏健康感兴趣的人提供有用的信息 加拿大心血管学会 为医疗保健提供者提供最新的指南和资源。

Women’s heart health: No more flying under the radar

Previously published by CHÉOS on International Women’s Day.

Written by Alison Müller, Communications & Social Media Officer, Centre for Health Evaluation and Outcome Sciences (CHÉOS).

Imagine being rushed to open-heart surgery because of irregular heart activity only to be immediately discharged because there were not any obvious signs of heart disease. This happened to heart health patient advocate Denise Johnson, who was sent straight to surgery after readings from a stress test showed a possible heart attack, only to be sent home without answers.

While enjoying a relaxing evening at home, Denise started feeling incredible pressure on her chest that radiated pain across her back and down her arm. “My heart was racing and when I took a blood pressure measurement the next morning at a local pharmacy, it was quite high,” shares Denise. “With both my friend and the pharmacist expressing concern about my high blood pressure, I went to emergency where I received a CT scan of my heart. No irregularities showed up so I was asked to see my family doctor. She recognized how unusual it was for me to have high blood pressure and booked me for a stress test a few weeks later. I felt great while running during the test, there was no discomfort, but I was immediately told to stop as those monitoring the test said it looked like I was having a heart attack. I was brought to urgent care where a cardiologist informed me that my stress test was very irregular and I should notify my next-of-kin as I may need open-heart surgery” she said.

After arriving at the hospital via ambulance, Denise was rushed to the operating room where a scope was used to view the large vessels inside her heart. “I was awake, watching the screen because I wanted to see what was wrong with my heart.  The surgeon came in, looked at the screen, and told the staff that I didn’t need heart surgery because I had hardly any plaque build-up inside my arteries and my heart muscle was strong. There was no obvious evidence of a heart attack,” Denise explained.

Solving a mystery

Classic heart attack symptoms, such as crushing central chest pain followed by light-headedness and collapsing, are widely recognized by both the public and the health care community. However, data supporting these symptoms were often collected from predominantly male patient populations, where heart attacks commonly present as blockages within the large arteries of the heart. As illustrated by Denise’s experience, this is not always the case.

“Fifty percent of heart attacks are missed in women who show up to the emergency department with chest pain concerns,” highlights Dr. Karin Humphries, CHÉOS’ Program Head of Cardiovascular Health. “Many women who have heart attacks describe their chest pain as pressure or squeezing and often have additional symptoms including nausea, discomfort in the back, neck, or jaw, and shortness of breath, which are not yet widely recognized as heart attack symptoms. They are told it’s anxiety, depression, or ‘all in your head’, which is often not the case,” she continued.

Women-focused care

Still concerned about her heart and the irregular stress test results, Denise worked closely with her family doctor to manage her health until they found an expert who understood women’s heart health. She was referred to CHÉOS Scientist and Director of the Leslie Diamond Women’s Heart Centre Dr. Tara Sedlak, who specializes in women’s heart health.

“The clinic at the Women’s Heart Centre focuses on the unique aspects of women’s care. Instead of blockages in the arteries of the heart, women often have small vessel disease or tears in their arteries. They can also have arteries that spasm, which is surprisingly more frequent than previously thought,” says Dr. Sedlak, who is also a cardiologist at St. Paul’s Hospital, Vancouver General Hospital, and British Columbia Women’s Hospital. “To be able to detect these, unique testing is required, so we order specialized MRI imaging and angiograms to focus on looking at small blood vessels,” added Dr. Sedlak.

Putting this into perspective, a normal cardiac MRI takes about 20–40 minutes; however, Denise was in an MRI machine actively gathering images of her heart for two and half hours. That length of time was needed to confirm that the small vessels in her heart were constricted and preventing blood from nourishing her heart, which explained her symptoms and stress test readings.

Research to inform and change practice

Part of the reason for this gender difference in care is because there are fewer clinical studies focusing on women’s heart health specifically. Heart conditions and diseases that were historically thought to be uncommon in women are now increasingly being found. For example, spontaneous coronary artery dissection (SCAD) [illustrated below] was initially thought to be quite rare; however, 90 percent of patients with SCAD are women, so in studies with a predominantly male cohort, it would appear quite rare. This resulted in severe underdiagnosis of an emergent condition that can cause heart attacks.

Blood vessel diagram showing causes of a heart attack in women. SCAD and small vessel disease were initially thought to be rare, but are increasingly being found in women

Dr. Sedlak and her team at the Women’s Heart Centre are working to improve women’s cardiac care. “We have set up a Women’s Heart Centre database. Every woman who comes into the clinic can sign up to be part of the registry, which stores data to support women’s heart research. We have over 300 patients registered who we aim to follow over five years in an effort to better understand the unique aspects of heart health in women. This information will also support research projects to improve heart health overall,” said Dr. Sedlak.

But what about those who lack access to women’s health-focused clinics or specialized cardiac imaging? Standardizing practice to improve the recognition of heart attacks in women must be addressed as well. That is precisely the research that Dr. Humphries is leading in the Canada-wide multi-centre trial, CODE-MI.

“One of the most common ways to detect if a patient has had a heart attack is to look at the levels of a molecule called high-sensitivity cardiac muscle troponin. This molecule is released from the heart as a result of cardiac damage, for example, during a heart attack,” informs Dr. Humphries. “In clinical practice, physicians look at the levels of this molecule in the blood and use a threshold value to help determine whether or not a patient has had a heart attack. Previous research came up with this value based on pooled data from men and women; however, when a woman has a heart attack, less of this troponin molecule is released. Unsurprisingly, the current pooled threshold is higher than the female-specific threshold, increasing the risk that women are underdiagnosed because their levels of troponin after a heart attack do not reach the higher pooled threshold. The goal of the CODE-MI trial is to establish the impact of using threshold values specifically for women to improve the likelihood of an accurate heart attack diagnosis, which will lead to life-saving treatment and care,” explained Dr. Humphries.

Advocating for change

Denise is far from alone when it comes to overcoming the hurdles to receiving proper care for her heart health. Underdiagnosis of heart disease in women is an international issue that needs to be addressed. Designing clinical trials that actively consider the differences between men and women is important in improving treatment for everyone.

“The more we break down the barriers, the better chance we have of improving care for women,” encourages Dr. Humphries.

In Canada, the wheels of change are starting to turn. Certain funding agencies will not consider supporting research unless there is a clear statement addressing sex and gender, with some even having a minimum threshold for the number of women enrolled. In addition, data supporting the need for a different cascade-of-care plan for women versus men with heart disease are becoming more available, but more work is needed.

Dr. Sedlak and her family in front Science World, one of several Canadian landmarks illuminated red for #WearRedCanada on February 13

System-wide education plays a large role in sparking change and an organization dedicated to spreading awareness is the Canadian Women’s Heart Health Alliance. In 2019, the Alliance initiated the annual country-wide Wear Red Canada campaign on February 13, focused on raising awareness of women’s heart health while providing informative, helpful resources. The Alliance has also developed educational material to be included in high school and medical school curricula, and aims to help inform and improve clinical practice.

Heart to heart

“When in doubt, check it out!” Denise emphasizes. “If something doesn’t feel right, look into it. Advocate for yourself and pay attention to your body because you work in partnership with it. Now, with guidance from my family doctor, the expertise of Dr. Sedlak, and peer support from other women living with heart disease, I have been happily managing my heart health with medication and lifestyle changes for several years,” said Denise.

Interested in learning more?

The Canadian Women’s Heart Health Centre has several resources available including peer support groups, advice on how to talk to your health care provider, and clinic locations across Canada. They also provide all the resources shared during their Wear Red Canada campaigns, including advice on finding a family doctor.

In addition, the Heart and Stroke Foundation has useful information for anyone curious about heart health and the Canadian Cardiovascular Society provides up-to-date guidelines and resources for health care providers.