SCWIST recipient of 2024 SCI Canada Outreach Award for Exceptional Contributions to Science Communication and Engagement

Back to Posts

The Canada Outreach Award

SCWIST is honoured to be the recipient of the 2024 Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) Canada Outreach Award! This award recognizes Canadian organizations that have demonstrated a sustained commitment to excellence in outreach and public communication.

SCI is a global network of innovators using science to tackle some of today’s big societal challenges, across climate and planet and health and wellness. Their Honours programme offers a range of awards covering a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. The awards are aimed at scientists in various stages of their careers, offering a chance to present their work and network with others in the field.

The Canada Outreach Award is awarded to individuals or organizations that have demonstrated the merits of good chemistry in the community with a sustained commitment to excellence in outreach and/or public communication, whose impact on industry or community can be proven and is evidence-based and are focussed on adult or children’s education.

SCWIST’s 2024 SCI Outreach Award.

SCWIST President Dr. Melanie Ratnam and Youth Engagement Lead Pooja Moorti attended the award ceremony. They met with industry leaders who shared stories of how they were involved with SCWIST over the years, including Dr. Laurel Schafer emphasized how SCWIST supported her career advancement as an educator, researcher and entrepreneur during her speech to announce the award.

“On behalf of the entire team at SCWIST, I humbly accept this award,” said Dr. Ratnam during her acceptance speech. “It truly means the world to us to receive this recognition. It takes so many supporters to collectively journey towards achieving equity in STEM and it’s been really special to spend the evening with Dr. Eaves and Dr. Terry as STEMCELL Technologies is representative of the community of industry partners that fuel our work. Finally, with all sincerity of heart, we thank Professor Schafer, the awards committee, and SCI Canada for this incredible honour. We are truly grateful!”

Dr. Josephine Tsang, Executive Director of The Chemical Institute of Canada; Dr. Melanie Ratnam, SCWIST President; Dr. Sara Terry, STEMCELL Technologies, Managing Director, Corporate Affairs; Dr. Laurel Schafer, Professor, UBC; Dr. Deborah Nicoll-Griffith, Board Chair of SCI Canada; Dr. Fiona Hess, FMH Consulting; Pooja Moorti, SCWIST Youth Engagement Lead.

Keep in touch

Stay up to date with all the latest SCWIST news and events by connecting with us on LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram and X (Twitter), or by subscribing to our newsletter.

To top