研究全球温度计:马丁·利佐特(Martine Lizotte)游览北极

团队成员第一次探险的照片。 从9点钟位置开始:托马斯·博塞·德默斯(Thomas Boss-Demers),卡罗琳·吉尔梅特(Caroline Guilmette),马林·贝金(MarineBéguin),马丁·利佐特(Martine Lizotte),洛朗·奥齐尔(Laurent Oziel)和本内特·朱尔斯(Bennet Juhls)。 (照片由Martine Lizotte提供)

气候变化。 这个词已广为人知,但团队仍在研究以了解其如何影响社区的细节。

马丁·利佐特(Martine Lizotte) 拉瓦尔大学(UniversitéLaval)就是其中之一 研究员。 她是她的探险队1的首席科学家。 Nunataryuk沿海水域项目.

该计划重点研究气候变化如何影响几个不同地区的北极土地和水生态系统。 马丁(Martine)的团队是参与该项目的几个团队之一,每个团队计划进行四次前往北方的考察。

每次探险的持续时间都差不多,在此期间,马丁(Martine)和她的团队在该州西部和东部地区对水进行采样 麦肯齐三角洲。 他们的目标是浅湾,Kittigazuit湾和Kugmallit湾的水域。

离开:每个项目团队访问的区域地图。 Martine的团队位于西北地区的Beaufort海域。 (图片由Hugues Lantuit为Nunataryuk Project网站创建: https://nunataryuk.org/science/field-sites). :Martine的团队在20年28月2019日至XNUMX日的第一次探险中拍摄的采样点图。(图由Bennet Juhls创建)

该项目针对的主要因素之一是影响土地和水系统, 冻土融化. 多年冻土 被冻结至少两年且未解冻的任何地面。

多年冻土通常为海岸线提供支撑,但是当融化时,海岸线会侵蚀。 它还可以将污染物和有机物释放到附近社区的饮用水中,并使居民的健康受到威胁。

Martine的团队与社区成员合作,从Shallow,Kittigazuit和Kugmallit Bays收集水样。 然后将样本带回实验室进行过滤和分析。

“如果没有与当地社区成员的伙伴关系,这是不可能的,”马丁说。

“他们知道该地区; 他们的知识是我们可以建立抽样方案的基石。 他们为我们提供了一个安全的工作环境,包括寻找野生动植物,为我们提供天气提示,通过帮助我们在需要时寻找庇护所,提供自己的完整网络来帮助我们实现目标。”

现场团队和社区成员原定出发前往图克托亚克(Tuktoyaktuk)麦肯齐三角洲东部地区。 从左至右:Erwin Elias(Elias Services的所有者),Laurent Oziel,Raymond Ettagiak(现场工作人员),Sammy Gruben Jr.(野生动物监测员),Bennet Juhls和Dawson Elias(Erwin Elias的儿子)(照片由Martine Lizotte提供)

协调游览

Martine的小组分为实验室小组和现场小组成员,现场小组与社区成员一起工作。

该过程始于外勤团队外出并从其目标位置收集水,沉积物和冰样的过程。 他们将在北极地区度过至少12个小时的时间,并忍受用于采集样品的机械操作的压力。

特别是取芯样品给团队成员Bennet Juhls带来了挑战。

“这样做的人(Bennet Juhls)必须将裸手放在冰冻的水中一定时间,以“捕获”沉积物的核心,因此当核心被拉出时,沉积物不会掉入水中沉积物,”马丁说。

现场团队使用Inuvik中的沉积物剥皮机。 从左至右:Bennet Juhls,Laurent Oziel,ThomasBossé-Demers和社区成员Miles Dillon(照片由Martine Lizotte提供)

成员还收集感官样品以及物理样品,例如水温,光线穿透和盐度。 为此,团队只需要将传感器放在水中即可。

然后,该团队通过直升机将所有数据和样本收集到了Aurora研究所的实验室现场。 实验室团队成员将在一天中晚些时候开始进行一切分析,这意味着他们需要通宵工作。

幸运的是,在夏季的夏季,北极没有太阳落下,因此墓地的移位仍然具有“白天”的光线。 不寻常的阳光被称为 午夜太阳.

托马斯·博塞·德默斯(ThomasBossé-Demers)在午夜的阳光下卸下从麦肯齐三角洲收集的野外样本。 (照片由Martine Lizotte提供)

实验室团队处理了样品,以查看其中有多少溶解物和微粒。

“当我说处理材料时:过滤很多。 很多。 原因在于,由于我们对量化颗粒和溶解物质感兴趣,因此我们需要将它们分开:因此,我们进行了过滤。” Martine在谈到实验室小组的工作时写道。

“过滤器上剩下的就是我们可以计数,可以识别,可以表征的颗粒。”

在过滤器上测量的元素之一是 叶绿素a,是一种参与光合作用的色素。 他们还测量了可以通过过滤器的物质,例如水中的营养物质。

收集,测量和过滤结束时的最终目标是创建一个北极地面实际发生情况的模型。 然后,科学家可以将数据与卫星图像联系起来,以找到任何模式并可能预测未来的变化。

卡罗琳·吉尔米特(Caroline Guilmette)和贝金(MarineBéguin)在第一批野外采样到达之前在奥罗拉研究所(Aurora Research Institute)准备了实验室。 (照片由Martine Lizotte提供)

战斗元素

马丁(Martine)作为首席科学家负责整个探险队的顺利进行。 但是,北极地区不可预测的气候使她的工作面临挑战。

探险队事先进行了准备,以组织团队完成目标所需的物资。 但是有时最初的计划可能并不总是奏效,以马丁(Martine)的话来说,适应是关键。

“计划A往往不是可行的计划,因此您必须为计划B,C,D事先做好准备,而最终您最终会整理出与口袋中其他计划完全不同的东西,”马丁说。

“天气是修改北部计划的重要因素。”

天气对直升机的飞行尤其有很大的影响,反过来又可能影响当天的数据收集。

Miles Dillon(站立),Bennet Juhls(跪着)和Laurent Oziel(右)在Mackenzie三角洲西部地区收集了一个样本。 (照片由Martine Lizotte提供)

与大气相比,直升机飞行员必须能够清楚地看到土地。 如果天空因雪或云而白,或地面因雪而白,则很难区分两者。

该团队的飞行由于天气状况而停飞,这是从第一个数据收集日开始算起的。 原计划从三角洲飞往Inuvik,但由于云层密布,继续跋涉并不安全。

唯一的选择就是躲藏起来,直到飞行员康纳·古尔德(Connor Gould)感到再次飞行是安全的。

“幸运的是,Inuvik当地居民兼我们的现场助理Miles Dillon告诉我们,他附近有一个狩猎室。 团队停在那里,等待它。 几个小时后,他们又重新出发了。

“这只是表明我们的团队与Miles合作非常幸运。”

尽管条件恶劣,但马丁(Martine)在第一次探险时仍收获了许多美好的回忆,并品尝了小小的胜利。

团队能够彼此花费时间,不仅与探险有关,而且与生活有更广泛的对话。 马丁(Martine)甚至回想起了 再次上路 在广播中,所有人都被挤在一吨重的皮卡车中”。

马丁(Martine)发现了她在探险期间建立的真诚的伙伴关系和友谊,使似乎不可能完成的任务成为可能。

她的团队开玩笑地称事情似乎在北方似乎是“北极的魔术”。

她写道:“我想相信我们的团队会遵循黄金法则,这是同理心的简单公理。”

“我认为,我们的思维方式和向人学习的渴望以及从我们最终可以收集的材料中学到的知识,都帮助这种魔术得以运作。”

马丁(Martine)和她的团队能够继续发展他们在未来探险中建立的关系。 他们的第二次探险将于4月24日结束,他们将在9月XNUMX日再次进行第三次旅行的采样。第四次也是最后一次旅行将在XNUMX月下旬开始,并于XNUMX月XNUMX日结束。

WP4团队在20年28月2019日至XNUMX日的第一次考察中采取的采样地点图。(图由Bennet Juhls创建)

这次旅行都将涉及采样和实验室分析,但马丁娜剩下的旅行的个人目标是上学并通过她的知识和经验鼓励孩子们。

“这是一个巨大的目标,但我想启发一下。 激发孩子们。 这就是我进入科学领域的方式。 “一位老师让我大开眼界。 只需要一位鼓舞人心的老师……”

Researching the global thermometer: Martine Lizotte’s excursion to the Arctic

Photo of the team members on the first expedition. Starting from the 9 o’clock position: Thomas Bossé-Demers, Caroline Guilmette, Marine Béguin, Martine Lizotte, Laurent Oziel and Bennet Juhls. (Photo courtesy of Martine Lizotte)

CLIMATE CHANGE. It’s a phrase that’s become quite well-known, but teams are still researching to understand the specifics of how it will impact communities.

Martine Lizotte from Université Laval is one such researcher. She works as the chief scientist for her team on Expedition 1 for the Nunataryuk Coastal Waters project.

The program focuses on researching how climate change is impacting the Arctic land and water ecosystems in several different locations. Martine’s group is one of the several teams involved in the project, each scheduled to make four expeditions to The North.

Each expedition is for a similar duration of time where Martine and her team sample water in the Western and Eastern Sectors of the Mackenzie Delta. Their targets are waters in Shallow Bay, Kittigazuit Bay and Kugmallit Bay.

Left: Map of the regions visited by each of the project teams. Martine’s team was located in the Beaufort Sea Area in the Northwest Territories. (Image created by Hugues Lantuit for the Nunataryuk Project website: https://nunataryuk.org/science/field-sites). Right: Figure of the sampling sites taken by Martine’s team on the first expedition between April 20–28, 2019. (Figure created by Bennet Juhls)

One of the main factors the project is targeting, that can impact both the land and water systems, is the permafrost thawing. Permafrost is any ground that’s been frozen for at least two years without thawing.

The permafrost normally provides support to the coastline, but as it thaws, the shoreline erodes. It can also release contaminants and organic matter into the nearby community’s drinking water and put the residents’ health at risk.

Martine’s team worked with community members to gather water samples from Shallow, Kittigazuit, and Kugmallit Bays. The samples were then taken back to the lab to filter and analyze.

“This would not have been possible without partnerships with local members of the community,” wrote Martine.

“They know the area; their knowledge is the corner stone on which we can build our sampling scheme. They are the ones who provide a safe environment for us to work in by scoping out wildlife, by giving us tips on weather, by helping us find shelter if needed, by providing an entire network of their own which can help us in achieving our goals.”

The field team and community members scheduled to depart for the Eastern Sector of the Mackenzie Delta, Tuktoyaktuk. From left to right: Erwin Elias (owner of Elias Services), Laurent Oziel, Raymond Ettagiak (field worker), Sammy Gruben Jr. (wildlife monitor), Bennet Juhls and Dawson Elias (Erwin Elias’ son) (Photo courtesy of Martine Lizotte)

A coordinated excursion

Martine’s group was split into lab and field team members, with the field team working alongside the community members.

The process started with the field teams as they went out and collected water, sediment and ice samples from their target locations. They would spend at least 12 hours outside enduring the Arctic climate and the strain of operating the machinery used to collect the samples.

The coring samples in particular provided a challenge for team member Bennet Juhls.

“The person doing this (Bennet Juhls) must literally leave his naked hands in freezing water for a certain amount of time to “catch” the core of sediment so it doesn’t fall back into the water as the corer is being pulled out of the sediment,” wrote Martine.

The field team using the sediment corer in Inuvik. From left to right: Bennet Juhls, Laurent Oziel, Thomas Bossé-Demers and community-member Miles Dillon (Photo courtesy of Martine Lizotte)

The members also collect sensory samples along with the physical samples, such as water temperature, light penetration and salinity. For this, the team just needed place the sensor in the water.

All of the data and samples the team collected were then taken back to the lab site at the Aurora Research Institute by helicopter. The lab team members would start analyzing everything as it arrived late in the day, meaning they needed to work through the night.

Luckily the sun doesn’t set during summer months in the Arctic, so the graveyard shifts still had “day” light. The unusual sunlight is known as the midnight sun.

Thomas Bossé-Demers unloading field samples collected from the Mackenzie Delta in the light of the midnight sun. (Photo courtesy of Martine Lizotte)

The lab team processed the samples to see how much dissolved matter and particulates were in them.

“When I say process the material: there is a lot of filtration. A LOT. The reason being that since we are interested in quantifying particulate and dissolved matter, we need to separate those: so, we filter,” Martine wrote of the lab team’s work.

“What is left on the filter are particles we can count, can identify, can characterize.”

One of the elements measured on the filter was chlorophyll a, which is a pigment involved in photosynthesis. They also measured what could pass through the filters, such a nutrients in the water.

The ultimate goal at the end of collecting, measuring and filtering is to create a model of what’s really happening in the Arctic at the ground-level. Scientists can then connect the data with satellite images to find any patterns and potentially predict future changes.

Caroline Guilmette and Marine Béguin preparing the laborartory at the Aurora Research Institute before the first field samples arrive. (Photo courtesy of Martine Lizotte)

Battling the elements

Martine was responsible for the smooth running of the entire expedition as the chief scientist. The unpredictable Arctic climate made her job a challenge, though.

The expeditions involved preparations beforehand to organize the supplies the team would need to complete their goal. But sometimes the initial plan doesn’t always work and in Martine’s words, adaptation is key.

“Plan A is not often the possible plan, so you have to be prepared in advance for Plan B, C, D and often you end up organizing something entirely different from any other plans in your pocket,” wrote Martine.

“Weather is a big factor in modifying plans up North.”

The weather had a big impact on the helicopter flights in particular, which in turn, could impact the day’s data collection.

Miles Dillon (standing), Bennet Juhls (kneeling) and Laurent Oziel (right) collecting a sample in the Western Sector of the Mackenzie Delta. (Photo courtesy of Martine Lizotte)

Helicopter pilots need to be able to distinctly see the land compared to the atmosphere. If the sky is white from snow or clouds, or the ground from snow, it makes it difficult to differentiate between the two.

The team’s flight was grounded because of the weather conditions right from the beginning on the first data collection day. The plan was to fly from Delta to Inuvik, but cloud cover made it unsafe to continue the trek.

The only option was to take shelter until the pilot, Connor Gould, felt that it was safe to fly again.

“Luckily, Miles Dillon, local Inuvik resident and our field assistant, told us that he had a hunting cabin nearby. The team stopped there, to wait it out. A few hours later, they were on their way again,” Martine wrote of the experience.

“It just goes to show how lucky our team was to partner up with Miles.”

Despite the harsh conditions, Martine collected many fond memories on the first expedition and savoured the small victories.

The team was able to spend time with each other and have conversations not just about the expedition, but more generally about life. Martine even recalled a moment of “blasting On the Road Again on the radio with everyone squeezed in the one-tonne pick-up truck”.

Martine found the genuine partnerships and friendships she fostered during the expedition made seemingly impossible tasks become possible.

Her team jokingly referred to how things just seemed to work out in the North as the “magic of the Arctic”.

“I would like to believe that our team went out there with the Golden rule in mind, a simple axiom of empathy,” she wrote.

“Our mindset and our desire to learn from people, as much as to learn from the material we could eventually collect, helped this magic to operate, I think.”

Martine and her team are able to continue fostering the relationships they’ve made in their future expeditions. Their second expedition will finish on July 4 and they’ll be back sampling again for their third trip on July 24. The fourth and final trip will start later in August and finish on September 9.

Figure of the sampling sites taken by the WP4 team on the first expedition between April 20–28, 2019. (Figure created by Bennet Juhls)

The trips will all involve sampling and lab analysis, but Martine’s personal goal for the remaining trips is to go into schools and encourage kids through her knowledge and experience.

“It’s a huge goal, but I’d like to inspire. Inspire kids. That’s how I got into science,” wrote Martine. “A teacher opened my eyes to possibilities. It takes only one inspiring teacher…”