مدونة الرؤساء: May

كان اجتماع مجلس إدارة SCWIST في مايو حول اجتماع الجمعية العمومية القادم الذي سيعقد في 18 يونيو في Brock House في Point Gray. للتحضير للاجتماع السنوي العام ، قمنا بمراجعة التقرير المالي حتى تاريخه ، وراجعنا قائمة مراجعة الجمعية العمومية العادية وناقشنا كل تقرير من تقارير المدير ، وكلها مخصصة لبناء حزمة الجمعية العمومية التي سيتم إرسالها إلى أعضائنا قبل أسبوعين من انعقاد الجمعية العمومية. وفقًا للوائح منظمتنا.

بعد قولي هذا ، شهد الشهر بعض النقاط البارزة الأخرى التي أود مشاركتها معك.

قمة WiRL:  

لقد شاركت في سلسلة من الندوات الحية عبر الإنترنت بواسطة WiRL (نساء في الحياة الواقعية). على الرغم من أن العديد من جلسات القمة كانت تتماشى مع أهدافنا SCWIST ، وخاصة تجاه مشروع وضع المرأة ، إلا أن القليل منها لفت انتباهي أكثر. كان أحدهما يتعلق باستخدام شغفك + قوتك لبناء علامتك التجارية الشخصية ووضع نفسك بشكل فريد والذي سوف أشاركك فيه ما تعلمته في مدونة لاحقة. أوصي باغتنام الفرصة والانضمام إلى أنواع مماثلة من الندوات عندما يكون ذلك ممكنًا. يعلمونك أو يذكرك بالدروس المهمة التي نأخذها كأمر مسلم به أو ننسىها.

اتفاقية CIM فانكوفر: 

عقد المعهد الكندي للتعدين والمعادن والبترول (CIM) ، وهو المجتمع التقني الرائد للمهنيين في صناعات المعادن والمعادن والمواد والطاقة الكندية ، مؤتمرهم السنوي في فانكوفر هذا الشهر. تمكنت من حضور عدد من الأحداث بما في ذلك جلسة Women in Mining في مركز فانكوفر للمؤتمرات.

لقد كان التعدين موضوعًا مثيرًا للجدل بالنسبة لي على مر السنين ، وكشخص فضولي ، أود معرفة المزيد عنه بشكل خاص فيما يتعلق بجانب المسؤولية الاجتماعية. حتى الآن ، تمكنت من مقابلة عدد غير قليل من المهندسات ذكاء ومهتمات في قطاع التعدين وآمل في معرفة المزيد عن هذه الصناعة ودور المرأة في هذه الصناعة.

بالعودة إلى اجتماع الجمعية العمومية العادية ، أتطلع إلى رؤيتك في 18 يونيو بينما ننتقل إلى جلستنا مع القليل من التقارير الرسمية والكثير من المرح والطعام الجيد. SCWIST هنا من أجلنا ، لبناتنا وأخواتنا وأصدقائنا لدعم المرأة الذكية والمذهلة للوصول إلى ما تستحقه وتحب أن تكون.

Presidents Blog: May

Our May SCWIST board meeting was mostly about the upcoming AGM which will take place on June 18th at the Brock House in Point Grey. To prepare for the AGM, we reviewed the YTD financial report, went through the AGM check list and discussed each of the director’s report, all of which are for building the AGM package that will be sent to our members two weeks prior to the AGM as in accordance to our organization’s bylaws.

That said, the month has had a few more highlights for me that I’d like to share with you.

WiRL Summit:  

I was engaged in a series of online and live seminars by WiRL (Women in Real Life). Although many of the summit sessions were in alignment with our SCWIST goals, especially toward the Status of Women project, a few captured my attention the most. One was about using your passion + strength to build your personal branding and positioning yourself uniquely which I will share my learning with you in a later blog. I would recommend taking the chance and joining similar types of seminars when possible. They teach or remind you of important lessons we take for granted or forget about.

CIM Vancouver Convention: 

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) which is the leading technical society of professionals in the Canadian Minerals, Metals, Materials and Energy Industries, held their yearly convention in Vancouver this month.  I was able to attend a couple of events including the Women in Mining session at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

Mining has been a controversial subject for me throughout the years and as a curious person, I’d like to learn more about it especially related to the aspect of social responsibility. So far, I have been able to meet quite a few intelligent and caring female engineers in the mining sector and hope to learn more about this industry and the role of women in this industry.

Back to AGM, I am looking forward to seeing you on June 18 as we go through our session with a little formal reporting and lots of fun and good food. SCWIST is here for us, for our daughters, sisters, and friends to support intelligent and amazing women to get where they deserve and like to be.