مدونة الرؤساء: يونيو

هناك أشياء معينة في SCWIST يمكننا التنبؤ بها بقدر كبير من اليقين كما أظهرت في السنوات الـ 33 الماضية - التزام الأشخاص بالمشاركة مع المنظمة على مستوى مجلس الإدارة والمتطوعين ودعم الممولين والرؤساء السابقين.

تُعد الجمعية العمومية السنوية لعام 2014 مثالاً على هذا الدعم والالتزام عندما كانت مجموعاتنا الرائعة من الممولين والرؤساء السابقين بالإضافة إلى الأعضاء الجدد والقدامى والمتطوعين حاضرين لدعم الحدث. لا يمكنني أن أكون أكثر فخراً بكوني رئيس SCWIST. كان الحدث نفسه رائعًا: مكان جميل ممزوج بطعام رائع وأجواء دافئة بينما كان روزين (الرئيس السابق) يدير الحدث باعتباره MC.

بدأنا بتقرير الرئيس وأبرز إنجازات العام الماضي ، ثم قدم كل عضو في مجلس الإدارة مخططًا لمجالاته تتماشى مع خطط الفترة الجديدة.

تم الإعلان عن ماريا عيسى (الرئيس والممول السابق) كعضو مدى الحياة في SCWIST وكلنا (بما في ذلك زوجها بيتر) كانت لدينا لحظة عاطفية عندما قبلت هذه الجائزة الرائعة.

قدم مدير مشروع Status of Women (Cheryl) وخبير تكنولوجيا المعلومات (Flo) تحديثًا لجمهورنا من خلال عرض توضيحي عن حل الإرشاد القادم قبل أن نكمل الحدث وننغمس في المزيد من المحادثات والصحراء اللذيذة في مطعم Brock House.

فكرت في ما حققته خلال العام الماضي بعد أن بدأت كمدير التطوير الاستراتيجي حتى اليوم في منصب رئيس Scwist وإليكم قائمتي:

- تعلمت المزيد حول معنى كلمة "SCWIST" و "تعني"
- أن يكون قد تعرض لمجموعة واسعة من وجهات النظر والفرص
- تكوين صداقات جديدة رائعة ونظام دعم
- لقد وجدت آمالًا جديدة نحو تحسين وضع المرأة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في مجتمعنا

اسمحوا لي أن أغتنم هذه الفرصة لأشكر ثلاثة أعضاء سابقين في مجلس الإدارة الذين لن يستمروا في العمل كمديرين وما زالوا يدعموننا: روزين لتفانيها وشغفها بـ SCWIST كرئيسة سابقة ومدير فني للحدث ، ساندي إيكس مديرة التوعية التي ساعدتنا في إيجاد خلافتها ، أدارت حدث XX وساعدتنا في وقت الأزمة من خلال تولي الدور المزدوج للسكرتيرة أيضًا (بالحديث عن التفاني والالتزام ، أليس كذلك؟) ، وكريستين هودج التي ساعدت في تبسيط بياناتنا المالية في الماضي سنتان. أود أيضًا أن أشكر ماريا عيسى على دعمها المستمر وحكمتها. إنني أتطلع إلى رؤية المزيد الآن حيث ليس لديك مسؤوليات المدير / الرئيس

لأعضاء مجلس الإدارة الجدد ، مرحبا بكم على متن! نتطلع إلى العمل معكم بشكل وثيق وفعال لتحقيق أهداف SCWIST النبيلة. إلى مدرائنا الرائعين الذين رافقوا SCWIST العام الماضي ، شكرًا لك! أنت القوة الدافعة والسبب وراء تنظيم أفضل وأكثر فعالية.

يعد عام 2014-2015 بأن يكون عامًا مثمرًا لـ SCWIST حيث سنواصل المبادرات الجديدة والعديد من البرامج المتميزة التي طورها SCWIST على مر السنين.

أنا أشجعك على المشاركة والتحقق من موقعنا بشكل متكرر لمعرفة الأحداث والأنشطة القادمة. أمامنا عام مليء بالوعود مليئة بالمرح والإثارة!

إنني أتطلع إلى العمل معكم وخدمة SCWIST وأهدافها وبالنيابة عن مجلس SCWIST وموظفينا الرائعين أتمنى لكم صيفًا آمنًا وسعيدًا.

Presidents Blog: June

There are certain things at SCWIST we can predict with great certainty as it has shown in the past 33 years – the commitment of people getting engaged with the organization at the board and volunteer levels and the support of funders and past presidents.

2014 AGM is an example of this support and commitment when our fabulous groups of funders and past presidents as well as new and old members and volunteers were present to support the event. I couldn’t be more proud to serve as the President of SCWIST.  The event itself was wonderful: beautiful venue combined with great food and warm ambiance while Rosine (past president) ran the event as MC.

We started with President’s report and highlights of last year accomplishments, then every board member provided the outline of their areas align with the plans for the new term.

Maria Issa (past president and funder) was announced as the lifetime member of SCWIST and we all (including her husband, Peter) had an emotional moment when she accepted this fabulous award.

Status of Women project manager (Cheryl) and IT guru (Flo) provided update for our audience with a demo of upcoming mentorship solution before we complete the event and indulge in more conversation and delicious desert at Brock House restaurant.

I thought what I have achieved during the past year after I started as the Director of Strategic Development till today serving as Scwist President and here is my list:

– Have learned way more about what SCWIST ‘is’ and ‘stands for’
– Have been exposed to a broad range of perspectives and opportunities
– Have made wonderful new friends and support system
– Have found new hopes toward better positioning women in STEM in our society

Let me take this opportunity to thank three past board members who will not continue as directors and still supporting us: Rosine for her dedication and passion for SCWIST as past President and MC of the event, Sandy Eix our Director of Outreach who helped us to find her succession, ran XX event and helped us in the time of crisis by taking over the dual role of secretary as well (talking about dedication and commitment, aren’t we?), and Kristen Hodge who helped streamlining our financial statements in the past two years. I’d like also to thank  Maria Issa for her on-going support and wisdom. I am looking forward to seeing more now that you don’t have the Director/President responsibilities

To our new board members, welcome aboard! We are looking forward to working with you closely and effectively toward SCWIST noble goals. To our wonderful Directors who have companied SCWIST last year, THANK YOU! You are the driving force and reason for better and more effective organization.

2014-2015 promises to be a productive year for SCWIST as we will continue with the new initiatives and many outstanding programs SCWIST has developed over the years.

I encourage you to get engaged and check our website frequently for the upcoming events and activities. Ahead of us, there is a year full of promises filled with fun and excitement!

I look forward to working with you and  serving SCWIST and its goals and on behalf of the SCWIST board and our wonderful staff I wish you a safe and happy summer.