医学诺贝尔奖-庆祝获得诺贝尔医学与生理学奖的杰出女性

艾莉森·穆勒(AlisonMüller)

为了庆祝国际妇女节和妇女历史月,我们正在庆祝医学界一些杰出的妇女,这些妇女被授予诺贝尔医学与生理学奖。

尽管自110年以来,该奖项已授予219人1910次,但只有12名获奖者是获得共同奖的女性。 今天强调的女性来自捷克,澳大利亚,美国和中国,这些女性的确具有国际性。 他们的工作范围从更好地了解遗传元素,揭示新陈代谢的重要步骤到抗击疟疾。

博士杰蒂·特雷萨·科里

诺贝尔医学奖的首位女性获得者是格蒂·特里萨·科里(Gerty Theresa Cori)博士,她于3年与1947名男子(包括她的丈夫)分享了这一奖项。她的工作重点是将糖原​​转化为葡萄糖,这是新陈代谢的重要组成部分(身体如何将食物转化为能量)。 实际上,根据她和丈夫的工作,这个过程被命名为Cori Cycle。

Gerty Cori博士于1896年出生于布拉格,并就读于布拉格德国大学医学院,并于1920年获得医学博士学位。在这里,她与丈夫结识并开展了合作,她一生都与丈夫密切合作。 即使是学生,他们也一起发表了医学研究报告,他们的第一篇联合论文是对人体血清的研究。

在她的整个职业生涯中,尽管她与丈夫具有相同的学历和经验,但仍被任命为较低级别的职位,并且必须不断提高自己的水平。 直到1947年她获得诺贝尔奖的那一年,华盛顿大学才将她提升为正式教授。

她是有史以来第三位获得诺贝尔科学奖的女性。 2004年,她和丈夫卡尔·科里(Carl Cori)博士被授予国家历史化学地标,以表彰她的工作。 她还有两个以她的名字命名的陨石坑,一个在月球上,另一个在金星上。

博士芭芭拉·麦卡琳托克

只有一个没有分享诺贝尔医学奖的女性-芭芭拉·麦克林托克(Barbara McClintock)博士。 她因发现移动遗传元件而于1983年获得奖项。

她的实验模型是玉米,她研究了玉米的子代色等性状如何在后代的玉米中传播。 她的稳定导致观察到,DNA上的遗传元素(称为基因)实际上可以改变它们在染色体中的位置。 这些基因的跳跃可以激活或失活其他基因。 尽管这些研究始于玉米,但它们为发现这些跳跃的遗传元素(即“转座子”)占了我们基因组的65%铺平了道路,从而使人们对我们的基因组如何工作有了更好的了解。

使Barbara McClintock博士的旅程有趣的原因是,她的教授Claude Hutchison博士开始接触她,这是因为她对遗传学的真正兴趣和天生的才华。 他对McClintock博士的兴趣的认可促使他邀请她在读本科时就读研究生课程,其余的就是历史。

她出色的工作为她赢得了许多奖项,并在包括哈佛大学,耶鲁大学和剑桥大学在内的12所不同的大学中获得了名誉科学博士学位。 

博士ELIZABETH BLACKBURN和DR。 卡罗尔·格里德

直到2009年,当一位妇女获得诺贝尔奖时,总是和同一领域的一个或多个男人在一起。 但是,博士。 Elizabeth Blackburn和Carol Greider与男同事Jack W. Szostak博士分享了他们在基因组学领域的发现,从而获得了诺贝尔奖。

他们发现染色体是由端粒保护的,这些染色体是存储在细胞核中的浓缩DNA。 他们还鉴定了一种负责维持端粒的酶,称为端粒酶。 端粒是染色体末端的“废话” DNA串,在DNA复制过程中充当缓冲液。 在每个细胞分裂发生的每个DNA复制阶段之后,染色体的末端都会短一些。 为了防止丢失重要的遗传数据,端粒对于在多次复制中保持DNA信息的完整性至关重要。 端粒酶是延长端粒以增加该缓冲带的蛋白质。 然而,它通常在大多数成年细胞中是无活性的。 它在众多癌细胞中被激活,这使癌细胞可以进行许多复制而不会失去其染色体完整性的风险。

布莱克本(Blackburn)博士与索佐塔克(Szostak)博士一起发现,端粒具有防止染色体断裂的DNA。 当他们在1984年发现端粒酶时,她是Grieder博士的主管。他们实验中非常有趣的一部分是发现 四膜虫单细胞动物,也可以在酵母中转移时发挥作用-两种生物完全处于不同的系统发育王国!

博士涂有有

最近获得诺贝尔医学奖的女性是涂有有博士。 她屡获殊荣的研究重点在于抗击疟疾的新疗法。

十几岁的尤尤医生染上了肺结核,这使她休学了两年。 这次经历启发了她继续医学研究。 她参加了北京医学院,并在林其寿教授的植物化学课程中了解了药用植物的起源。 在这里,尤尤博士学习了如何提取活性成分并进行化学研究,以了解草药如何比传统中药更科学地严格地起作用。

在国家领导层希望通过结合西医和中医提高医疗水平的时候,尤尤医生接受了培训,因此鼓励医生在实践中结合这两种方法。 在中国医学文献中,早在公元前1046年就记录了疟疾病例,使用多种中草药治疗疟疾的食谱有1972多种。 Youyou博士的一生涉及缩小这些食谱的范围,以查看所用的任何草药是否具有科学价值。 21年,她完成了她的首次临床试验,使用了青蒿草的提取物,其中XNUMX名患者被一种或两种不同的疟疾株感染,不仅所有患者均从发烧中恢复过来,而且治疗后未发现疟疾寄生虫。 

这些不可思议的女人做了非凡的工作,得到了科学界的认可。 他们中的一些人解决了不平等问题,而另一些人则克服了重大的科学障碍。 他们对工作充满热情,并有宝贵的同事支持他们。

在“妇女月”活动中,SCWIST鼓励您支持您的同事(无论是男性,女性还是他们所认同的同事),并共同努力建立一个有吸引力的,科学启发的社区。 妇女节快乐!

AlisonMüller是不列颠哥伦比亚大学的博士后研究员,她的研究重点是使用基于SMS的虚拟工具WelTel进行数字健康通信。 有问题要问艾莉森吗? 在LinkedIn上伸出援手!

是否想加入一群坚强,坚定的女性? 立即成为SCWIST会员。

Nobelles of Medicine – Celebrating Exceptional Women Who Won the Nobel Prize in Medicine & Physiology

By Alison Müller

In celebration of International Women’s Day and Women’s History Month, we are celebrating some phenomenal women in the medical science field that have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine & Physiology.

Even though this prize has been awarded 110 times to 219 people since 1910, only 12 winners have been women winning shared prizes. The women highlighted today are truly international as they hail from the Czech Republic, Australia, the US, and China. Their work ranges from better understanding genetic elements, uncovering important steps in metabolism, to fighting malaria.

DR. GERTY THERESA CORI

The very first female Nobel Prize winner in Medicine was Dr. Gerty Theresa Cori, who shared the prize with 3 men, including her husband, in 1947. Her work focused on the conversion of glycogen to glucose, which is an important part of metabolism (how the body transforms food into energy). In fact, this process was named the Cori Cycle, after her and her husband’s work.

Dr. Gerty Cori was born in Prague in 1896 and attended the Medical School of the German University of Prague, earning her Doctorate in Medicine degree in 1920. This was where she met and collaborated with her husband, whom she worked closely with throughout her life. Even as students, they published medical research together, with their first joint paper being a study on human serum.

Throughout her career, even though she had the same education and experience as her husband, she was appointed to lower-level positions and had to work her way up. It wasn’t until the year that she was awarded the Nobel Prize, in 1947, that Washington University promoted her to full professor.

She was the third woman ever to receive the Nobel Prize in science. Recognition for her work was celebrated in 2004 where she and her husband, Dr. Carl Cori, were designated a National Historic Chemical Landmark. She also has two craters named after her, one on the Moon and one on Venus.

DR. BARBARA MCCLINTOCK

There has only been one woman who has not shared the Nobel Prize in Medicine – Dr. Barbara McClintock. She was awarded in 1983 for her discovery of mobile genetic elements.

Her experimental model was corn, where she looked at how their traits, such as kernel colour, are passed down in future generations of corn. Her steady led to the observations that genetic elements on DNA, called genes, can actually change their position in a chromosome. The jumping around of these genes can activate or deactivate other genes. Although these studies started in corn, they paved the way to discover that these jumping genetic elements, called “transposons”, make up 65% of our genome and have led to a better understanding of how our genome works.

What makes Dr. Barbara McClintock’s journey interesting is that she was approached by her professor, Dr. Claude Hutchison, as a result of her genuine interest and aptitude in genetics early on. His recognition of Dr. McClintock’s interest encouraged him to invite her to take his graduate-level course while she was still an undergraduate student, and the rest is history.

Her exceptional work has earned her many awards as well as Honorary Doctor of Science degrees at 12 different universities including Harvard, Yale, and the University of Cambridge. 

DR. ELIZABETH BLACKBURN and DR. CAROL GREIDER

Up until 2009, when a woman shared a Nobel prize, it was always with one or more men in the same field. However, Drs. Elizabeth Blackburn and Carol Greider shared their Nobel Prize with their male colleague, Dr. Jack W. Szostak, for their discovery in the field of genomics.

They figured out that chromosomes, which are condensed DNA stored in the nucleus of a cell, are protected by telomeres. They also identified an enzyme responsible for maintaining telomeres, called telomerase. Telomeres are strings of “nonsense” DNA at the end of chromosomes that act as buffers during DNA replication. After each DNA replication stage, which happens whenever a cell divides, chromosomes end up a little shorter. To prevent losing important genetic data, the telomere is crucial to maintain the integrity of DNA information over multiple replications. Telomerase is a protein that lengthens telomeres to increase this buffer zone; however, it is normally inactive in most adult cells. It becomes activated in numerous cancer cells, which allows the cancer cells to undergo many replications without the risk of losing the integrity of their chromosomes.

Dr. Blackburn, with Dr. Szostak, discovered that telomeres have DNA that prevents chromosomes from being broken down. She was Dr. Grieder’s supervisor when they discovered telomerase in 1984. A very interesting part of their experiments was discovering that telomeres in Tetrahymena, a unicellular animal, also worked when transferred in yeast – two organisms that are in completely different phylogenetic kingdoms!

DR. TU YOUYOU

The most recent woman to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine is Dr. Tu Youyou. Her award-winning research focused on new therapies to fight malaria.

When she was a teenager, Dr. Youyou contracted tuberculosis, which caused her to take a two-year break from her education. This experience inspired her to pursue medical research. She attended Beijing Medical College and learned about the origins of medicinal plants in a phytochemistry course taught by Professor Lin Qishou. Here, Dr. Youyou learned how to extract active ingredients and carry out chemistry studies to figure out how herbal medicines could work in a more scientifically rigorous way than traditional Chinese medicine.

Dr. Youyou trained during a time when national leadership wanted to enhance healthcare by combining Western and traditional Chinese medicine, so doctors were encouraged to combine both in their practices. In Chinese medical literature, cases of malaria have been recorded as early as 1046 B.C.E., with two thousand recipes using various Chinese herbs to treat malaria. Dr. Youyou’s life’s work involved narrowing down these recipes to see if any of the herbs used had scientific merit. In 1972, she completed her first clinical trial using an extract from the herb Qinghao where 21 patients were infected by one/two different malarial strains, and, not only did all the patients recover from their fever, no malaria parasites were detected after the treatment. 

These incredible women did extraordinary work that was recognized by their science community. Some of them tackled inequality, while others overcame substantial scientific barriers. They were passionate about their work and had valuable colleagues supporting them.

For Women’s Month, SCWIST would like to encourage you to support your colleagues – male, female, or however they identify – and work together towards building an engaging, scientifically enlightened community. Happy Women’s Month!

Alison Müller is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of British Columbia, where her focus is on digital health communications using the SMS-based virtual tool, WelTel. Have a question for Alison? Reach out on LinkedIn!

Want to join a group of strong, determined women? Become a SCWIST member today.