认识传统的捐助者戴安娜·赫伯斯特(Diana Herbst)和希尔达·雷清泉(Hilda Lei Ching Quan)

撰文: 阿什莉·范德普·克兰(Ashley van der Pouw Kraan)

向SCWIST捐款是表达您的价值观并继续支持STEM(现在以及未来STEM领导者)的有力方法。

1981年春天,六名妇女聚集在温哥华一所房子的花草覆盖的门廊上,计划召开一次科学界妇女会议。 正是在这里,“不屈不挠的六个人”-玛丽·维克斯,希尔达·李清泉,艾比·施瓦茨,玛丽·乔·邓肯,戴安娜·赫伯斯特和玛姬·本斯顿–制定了最终使SCWIST栩栩如生的计划。

希尔达亲切地回忆说:“坐在我们的前门廊并制定计划时,大片白色铁线莲的气味弥漫在空气中。”

到同年XNUMX月,SCWIST合并为一个社团。

“我们提出了八项公共计划,并在不列颠哥伦比亚省和育空地区启动了第一个女性科学注册处,” SCWIST的创始主席Mary Vickers说。 “我们的计划收到了积极的回应,使我们确信需要像SCWIST这样的组织。 例如,当我们就该问题进行小组讨论时,我们有一个拥挤的房间, “来自西部小镇的一位才华横溢的女科学家能在科学机构中找到快乐并找到一份长期工作吗?”

持续的遗产

现在,到2021年,“不屈不挠的六个”创始成员中有两个最近慷慨解囊,以庆祝我们成立40周年。

1987年至1988年,SCWIST总裁Diana Herbst首先发表了演讲,“以纪念Hilda Lei Ching Quan。” 反过来,1984年至1986年,SCWIST主席Hilda Lei Ching Quan通过在温哥华基金会举行的Quan家庭基金会伸出了自己的捐助之手。

“这绝对是惊人的,而且如此慷慨。 创始人将选择在40年后回馈SCWIST –这是真正的遗产!” SCWIST的“使多样性成为可能”和SCALE项目经理Cheryl Kristiansen说。

SCWIST财务总监MariaGyöngyössy-Issa补充说:“没有他们,我们就不会在这里。” “他们仍然指导我们,参加SCWIST活动并照顾我们。 他们是我们的SCWIST妈妈! 如果您有幸与亲人见面,那么您将知道他们仍然是野性女人,她们闪耀着并启发着我们所有人!”

STEM影响力40年

40年来,我们的创始人破土动工,砸碎了天花板,搬了山,为科技界的女性创造了一个空前的空间。 我们非常感谢他们一生的奉献和支持。

通过提供急需的支持和增强教育计划的能力,SCWIST今天在STEM中继续为妇女和女童而战。 立即成为捐助者,帮助我们创造一个环境,使加拿大的妇女和女孩可以不受阻碍地追求自己在STEM中的兴趣,教育和职业.

Meet legacy donors Diana Herbst and Hilda Lei Ching Quan

Donating to SCWIST is a powerful way to express your values and continue your support for STEM — now, and for future generations of STEM leaders.

In the spring of 1981, six women gathered on the flower-covered porch of a Vancouver house to plan a conference for women in science. It was here that the “undaunted six” — Mary Vickers, Hilda Lei Ching Quan, Abby Schwarz, Mary Jo Duncan, Diana Herbst and Maggie Benston — mapped out the plans that would eventually bring SCWIST to life.

“The scent of large white clematis filled the air as we sat and made our plans on the front porch,” recalled Hilda fondly.

By July of that same year, SCWIST was incorporated as a society.

“We presented eight public programs and started the first Registry of Women in Science in BC and Yukon,” said Mary Vickers, SCWIST’s founding president. “Our programs received positive responses that convinced us of the need for an organization like SCWIST. For example, we had a packed room when we held a panel discussion on the question, ‘Can a talented female scientist from a small town in the West find happiness and a permanent job in a scientific establishment?’

An ongoing legacy

Now, in 2021, two of the “undaunted six” founding members recently reached out with generous donations in celebration of our 40th anniversary.

Diana Herbst, SCWIST president from 1987 to 1988, gave first, “in honour of Hilda Lei Ching Quan.” In turn, Hilda Lei Ching Quan, SCWIST president from 1984 to 1986, reached out with her own donation through the Quan Family Foundation held at the Vancouver Foundation.

“It is absolutely amazing and so generous. That the founders would choose to give back to SCWIST after 40 years – it is a true legacy!” said Cheryl Kristiansen, SCWIST’s Make DIVERSITY Possible & SCALE Project Manager.

“Without them, we wouldn’t be here,” adds Maria Gyöngyössy-Issa, SCWIST’s Director of Finance. “They still guide us, participate in SCWIST events and look after us. They are our SCWIST-Moms! If you ever have the good fortune to meet them in person, you’ll know that they are still wild women who shine and inspire us all!”

40 Years of STEM Impact

For 40 years, our founders have broken ground, shattered ceilings and moved mountains, creating a space for women in science and technology where previously there was none. We are so thankful for their lifelong dedication and support.

SCWIST continues to fight for women and girls in STEM today by providing much-needed support and empowering educational programs. Become a donor now and help us create an environment where women and girls in Canada can pursue their interest, education, and careers in STEM without barriers.