تعرف على المتبرعين القدامى ديانا هيربست وهيلدا لي تشينغ كوان

كتب بواسطة: أشلي فان دير بو كران

يعد التبرع لـ SCWIST طريقة قوية للتعبير عن قيمك ومواصلة دعمك لـ STEM - الآن ، وللأجيال القادمة من قادة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

في ربيع عام 1981 ، اجتمعت ست نساء على شرفة منزل مغطاة بالزهور في فانكوفر للتخطيط لمؤتمر النساء في مجال العلوم. كان هنا أن "الستة الشجعان" - ماري فيكرز ، هيلدا لي تشينغ تشيوان ، آبي شوارتز ، ماري جو دنكان ، ديانا هيربست وماجي بنستون - رسموا الخطط التي ستجعل SCWIST في النهاية تنبض بالحياة.

تتذكر هيلدا باعتزاز: "ملأت رائحة ياسمين ياسمين بيضاء كبيرة الهواء بينما جلسنا ووضعنا خططنا على الشرفة الأمامية".

بحلول يوليو من نفس العام ، تم دمج SCWIST كمجتمع.

قالت ماري فيكرز ، الرئيسة المؤسسة لـ SCWIST: "لقد قدمنا ​​ثمانية برامج عامة وبدأنا أول سجل للنساء في العلوم في كولومبيا البريطانية ويوكون". "تلقت برامجنا ردودًا إيجابية أقنعتنا بالحاجة إلى منظمة مثل SCWIST. على سبيل المثال ، كان لدينا غرفة مزدحمة عندما عقدنا حلقة نقاش حول السؤال ، "هل يمكن لعالمة موهوبة من بلدة صغيرة في الغرب أن تجد السعادة ووظيفة دائمة في مؤسسة علمية؟""

إرث مستمر

الآن ، في عام 2021 ، تواصل مؤخرًا اثنان من الأعضاء المؤسسين "الستة الشجعان" بتبرعات سخية للاحتفال بالذكرى الأربعين لتأسيسنا.

ديانا هيربست ، رئيسة SCWIST من 1987 إلى 1988 ، أعطت أولاً "تكريماً لهيلدا لي تشينغ كوان." بدورها ، تواصلت هيلدا لي تشينغ كوان ، رئيسة SCWIST من 1984 إلى 1986 ، بتبرعها من خلال مؤسسة عائلة Quan التي عقدت في مؤسسة فانكوفر.

"إنه لأمر مدهش للغاية وكريم للغاية. أن يختار المؤسسون رد الجميل إلى SCWIST بعد 40 عامًا - إنه إرث حقيقي! " قالت شيريل كريستيانسن ، مدير مشروع جعل التنوع ممكنًا والتوسع في SCWIST.

تضيف Maria Gyöngyössy-Issa ، مديرة الشؤون المالية في SCWIST: "بدونهم ، لن نكون هنا". "ما زالوا يوجهوننا ويشاركون في أحداث SCWIST ويعتنون بنا. هم أمهاتنا SCWIST! إذا كان لديك حظ سعيد لمقابلتهن شخصيًا ، فستعرف أنهن ما زلن نساء متوحشات يتألقن ويلهمننا جميعًا! "

40 عامًا من تأثير STEM

على مدار 40 عامًا ، عمل مؤسسونا على فتح الطريق ، وتحطيم الأسقف ، ونقل الجبال ، مما خلق مساحة للمرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا لم تكن موجودة في السابق. نحن ممتنون جدًا لتفانيهم ودعمهم مدى الحياة.

يواصل SCWIST الكفاح من أجل النساء والفتيات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) اليوم من خلال توفير الدعم الذي تشتد الحاجة إليه وتمكين البرامج التعليمية. كن متبرعًا الآن وساعدنا في خلق بيئة حيث يمكن للنساء والفتيات في كندا متابعة اهتماماتهن وتعليمهن ووظائفهن في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) دون عوائق.

Meet legacy donors Diana Herbst and Hilda Lei Ching Quan

Donating to SCWIST is a powerful way to express your values and continue your support for STEM — now, and for future generations of STEM leaders.

In the spring of 1981, six women gathered on the flower-covered porch of a Vancouver house to plan a conference for women in science. It was here that the “undaunted six” — Mary Vickers, Hilda Lei Ching Quan, Abby Schwarz, Mary Jo Duncan, Diana Herbst and Maggie Benston — mapped out the plans that would eventually bring SCWIST to life.

“The scent of large white clematis filled the air as we sat and made our plans on the front porch,” recalled Hilda fondly.

By July of that same year, SCWIST was incorporated as a society.

“We presented eight public programs and started the first Registry of Women in Science in BC and Yukon,” said Mary Vickers, SCWIST’s founding president. “Our programs received positive responses that convinced us of the need for an organization like SCWIST. For example, we had a packed room when we held a panel discussion on the question, ‘Can a talented female scientist from a small town in the West find happiness and a permanent job in a scientific establishment?’

An ongoing legacy

Now, in 2021, two of the “undaunted six” founding members recently reached out with generous donations in celebration of our 40th anniversary.

Diana Herbst, SCWIST president from 1987 to 1988, gave first, “in honour of Hilda Lei Ching Quan.” In turn, Hilda Lei Ching Quan, SCWIST president from 1984 to 1986, reached out with her own donation through the Quan Family Foundation held at the Vancouver Foundation.

“It is absolutely amazing and so generous. That the founders would choose to give back to SCWIST after 40 years – it is a true legacy!” said Cheryl Kristiansen, SCWIST’s Make DIVERSITY Possible & SCALE Project Manager.

“Without them, we wouldn’t be here,” adds Maria Gyöngyössy-Issa, SCWIST’s Director of Finance. “They still guide us, participate in SCWIST events and look after us. They are our SCWIST-Moms! If you ever have the good fortune to meet them in person, you’ll know that they are still wild women who shine and inspire us all!”

40 Years of STEM Impact

For 40 years, our founders have broken ground, shattered ceilings and moved mountains, creating a space for women in science and technology where previously there was none. We are so thankful for their lifelong dedication and support.

SCWIST continues to fight for women and girls in STEM today by providing much-needed support and empowering educational programs. Become a donor now and help us create an environment where women and girls in Canada can pursue their interest, education, and careers in STEM without barriers.