جائزة معرض فانكوفر الإقليمي للعلوم الكبرى

قدم رئيسنا جائزة SCWIST في معرض فانكوفر الإقليمي للعلوم الكبرى للفائزة ، كلوي تشين بمشروعها "توربينات رياح أفضل - الطائرة سي". مبروك يا شول! نحن نتطلع إلى توربينات رياح أكثر كفاءة.

15-SCWIST Award-J 033 N-DSC_0084

كلوي تشين ، الفائزة بالجائزة وفاريبا باتشيلي ، رئيسة SCWIST

 

أفضل توربينات الرياح - الطائرة C
كلو تشن
أكاديمية ويست بوينت جراي

هل توربينات الرياح ذات المحور الأفقي (HAWTs) شائعة الاستخدام اليوم بأكبر قدر ممكن من الفعالية؟ تقليديا ، تم تصميم شفرات HAWT على أساس نفس نظريات أجنحة الطائرة. بدأت مشروعي بالتحقيق في بعض الاختلافات بين الطائرات وتوربينات الرياح ؛ على وجه الخصوص ، علاقتهم باتجاه الريح. لقد قمت بتعديل الشفرة التقليدية وفقًا لذلك إلى شفرة منحنية أطلق عليها اسم "جنيح الهواء". بعد ذلك ، بعد إجراء العديد من العمليات الحسابية والتجارب ، وجدت زاوية الالتواء / القطع المثلى لكل من الجنيح C والجناح التقليدي. أخيرًا ، قارنت مستويات طاقتهم القصوى بالشفرة الأصلية دون أي لف.

من خلال التجربة ، وجد أن الجناح الجنيح C الكامل مع القطع الأمثل __٪ أكثر فعالية من HAWTs التقليدية ، مع الالتواء الأمثل. كانت هذه النتائج أكثر تطرفًا وفعالية مما توقعت.

يتكون الجنيح C في الواقع من العديد من العوامل المختلفة ، والتي قمت أيضًا باختبارها بشكل فردي. أثبت شكله المنحني فعاليته ، حيث أن أداء الشفرة على شكل حرف C مع عدم وجود جناح هوائي أفضل من الشفرة العادية التي لا تحتوي على جناح. ساعد الجنيح أيضًا ، حيث كان أداء كل من الشفرات العادية والشفرات ذات الشكل C مع الجنيح أفضل بكثير من تلك التي لا تحتوي على. أخيرًا ، ثبت أيضًا أن القص / الالتواء المُحسَّن مفيد أيضًا ، حيث كان أداء الشفرة المحسَّنة أفضل من الجنيح العادي.

اخترت القيام بهذا المشروع لأنني اعتقدت دائمًا بشكل حدسي أن توربينات الرياح والطائرات مختلفة اختلافًا جوهريًا ، ولا ينبغي أن تستند تمامًا إلى نفس المفهوم. كنت أعتقد أنه من خلال تعديل الشفرات لتناسب توربينات الرياح بشكل أفضل ، يمكنني تحسين كفاءتها.

Greater Vancouver Regional Science Fair Award

Our President presented the SCWIST Award at the Greater Vancouver Regional Science Fair to winner, Chloe Chen with her project “A Better Wind Turbine – The C Airfoil”.  Congratulations, Chole!  We look forward to a more efficient wind turbine.

15-SCWIST Award-J 033 N-DSC_0084

Chloe Chen, Award Winner and Fariba Pacheleh, President SCWIST

 

A Better Wind Turbine – The C Airfoil
Chloe Chen
West Point Grey Academy

Are the horizontal axis wind turbines (HAWTs) commonly used today as effective as possible? Traditionally, HAWT blades are designed based on the same theories as airplane wings. I began my project by investigating some differences between airplanes and wind turbines; in particular, their relationship to the direction of the wind. I modified the traditional blade accordingly into a curved blade that I named the ?C-airfoil?. Then, after doing multiple calculations and experiments, I found the optimum twist/cut angle for both the C-airfoil and the traditional airfoil. Finally, I compared their maximum power levels to the original blade with no twist.

Through experimentation, the complete C-airfoil with optimum cut was found to be __% more effective than traditional HAWTs, with optimum twist. These results were far more extreme and effective than I had expected.

The C-airfoil is actually composed of many different factors, all of which I also individually tested. Its curved shape was proven effective, as a C-shaped blade with no airfoil performed better than a regular blade with no airfoil. The airfoil also helped, as both the regular and C-shaped blades with airfoil performed much better than ones without. Finally, the optimized cut/twist was also proven helpful, as the optimized blade performed better than the regular airfoil.

I chose to do this project because I have always intuitively thought that wind turbines and airplanes are fundamentally different, and should not be based completely on the same concept. I believed that by altering the blades to better suit the wind turbine, I could improve its efficiency.