بنات لقوة الرياضيات

بواسطة اليكسا بيلي

(تشرح هذه المقالة قليلاً عن بحثي وكيف جاء برنامج إرشاد الرياضيات الخاص بي من فتاة إلى أخرى ، Girls to the Power of Math).

أليكسا بيلي ، فتيات قوة الرياضيات

من أنا؟

اسمي اليكسا. سأدخل الصف 9. وهناك الكثير من الأشياء التي أحب القيام بها. لدي شغف بالتصوير ، ألعب الكرة اللينة ، وأنا جزء من نادٍ للكمان. لطالما أحببت الرياضيات. ومع ذلك ، فقد وجدت الصفوف بطيئة ومتكررة دائمًا. كنت في الصف الثاني تقريبًا عندما بدأت أشعر بالملل. كانت الوتيرة بطيئة للغاية ، ولم تتحسن أبدًا. اشتكيت لوالدي وحاولوا مقابلة المعلمين. لم يتغير شيء حقًا في الفصل.

للمساعدة في تحديني ، قدمت أمي مسابقة كاريبو لمدرستي. لقد حضرت لإجراء المسابقة لمن يريد المشاركة. كانت المسابقات ، التي كانت تجري ست مرات في السنة ، ممتعة ، لكن الدروس كانت لا تزال بطيئة. في الصف الخامس ، ذهب والداي مرة أخرى إلى معلمي الذي بدا مرتبكًا من أنني أستطيع أن أجيد الرياضيات. قام المعلم بوضع أسئلة التحدي التي تم طرحها على أسرع الطلاب (الأولاد). من ناحية أخرى ، لم أتمكن من الوصول إلى أسئلة التحدي لأن زملائي في الفصل أبطأوا مني وطلبوا مني مساعدتهم على الفهم. في الصف السادس ، طلب المعلم من الفصل تخمين من حصل على أعلى درجة في اختبار الرياضيات. تم تسمية كل صبي في الفصل ولكن ليس فتاة واحدة. تفاجأ زملائي في الفصل عندما اتضح أنني صاحب أعلى علامة. حتى هذا العام في المدرسة الثانوية ، واجهت معارك. اخترت مدرسة تقدم برنامجًا صغيرًا مع الرياضيات السريعة. على الرغم من ذلك ، وجدت أن التقدم في الرياضيات بطيء جدًا بالنسبة لي. طلبت تحدي الصف الثامن الذي نجحت فيه ثم اجتزت الصف التاسع عبر الإنترنت. بعد ذلك انتقلت إلى الصف العاشر ، وبحلول ذلك الوقت لم يكن لدي سوى ستة أسابيع لاستكمال الدورة ، لكنني فعلت ذلك. على الرغم من كل هذه العقبات ، ما زلت أحب الرياضيات. ماذا عن الفتيات اللاتي لا يتمتعن بنفس مستوى الثقة أو القدرة الذي أملكه؟ هل كانوا سيستمرون؟

الدروس الخصوصية

كل ذلك يساعد الآخرين أثناء وصول الأولاد إلى أسئلة التحدي ، اتضح أنه شيء رائع. تعلمت أنني كنت جيدًا في شرح الرياضيات. في الصف السادس ، بدأت في تدريس الرياضيات لجارتي. في البداية لم تكن مهتمة للغاية. كانت فكرة والديها وشعرت أنها مهمة روتينية. ولكن ، أثناء عملنا معًا ، بدأت في استخدام الألعاب المبنية على الرياضيات الممتعة وبدأت تعجبها أكثر بل إنها تتطلع إلى جلساتنا. بدأت تستمتع بالرياضيات وزادت ثقتها بنفسها. كل هذه التجارب دفعتني إلى المشاركة في معرض العلوم في الرياضيات والثقة.

العثور على موجه

كنت أعرف أن هناك فجوة بين الجنسين حيث يختار الذكور الدراسات المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أكثر من الإناث. قرأت أيضًا أنه كان هناك هذا الاختلاف على الرغم من حقيقة أنه لا يوجد فرق بين الجنسين في القدرة.

قررت التحقيق فيما إذا كان الجنس يؤثر على الثقة في الرياضيات. نظرًا لأن هذا كان مشروعًا معقدًا جدًا ، فقد شرعت في العثور على مرشد. لقد بحثت في Google عن الأشخاص الذين يعملون في مجال النوع الاجتماعي والرياضيات / العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وأرسلت بريدًا إلكترونيًا لأكبر عدد ممكن أجده. لقد راسلت الباحثين في كندا على نطاق واسع.

كنت متحمس جدا عندما د. توني شمادير استجابت ووافقت على أن أكون مرشدي. الدكتور شمادير هو كرسي أبحاث كندي في علم النفس الاجتماعي بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. لقد قرأت استبياناتي وأجرت بعض التعديلات الطفيفة. لقد ساعدتني أيضًا في تحليلاتي الإحصائية. أردت أن أجعل من السهل عليها توجيهي قدر الإمكان. كنت منظمًا للغاية مع أسئلتي وكنت حريصًا على مراعاة مقدار الوقت الذي أحتاجه. أخبرتني أنها لم تحصل على تجربة توجيه مثلها من قبل. أعتقد أن هذا كان مجاملة! أشعر أنني كنت محظوظًا جدًا لأن لدي دكتور شمادير كمعلم. لقد دعتني إلى محاضرة في المختبر وأعطتني بداية فهم للإحصاءات. شعرت بالراحة لطرح أسئلتها عليها وأخبرتني أن العديد من محادثاتنا كانت مشابهة جدًا لتلك التي أجرتها مع طلاب جامعتها.

كما قدمني الدكتور شمادير إلى دكتور آندي بارون أحد زملائها. سيساعدني الدكتور بارون في تقييم برنامج التدخل الخاص بي (المزيد عن ذلك لاحقًا).

دراستي

كنت أعرف ما أريد أن أسأله وعرفت من أرغب في مسحه. أردت إجراء مسح لجميع الصفوف الابتدائية بما في ذلك رياض الأطفال. هذا يعني أنه حتى غير القراء يجب أن يكونوا قادرين على فهم أسئلتي والإجابة عليها. أبقيت الأسئلة بسيطة واستخدمت المرئيات لمساعدتهم في اختيار إجاباتهم. هنا نموذج سؤال:

انا جيد في الرياضيات

لا أوافق بشدة ، لا أوافق ، أوافق ، أوافق بشدة

تمت قراءة جميع الأسئلة بصوت عالٍ من قبل المعلم. سألت أسئلة حول الثقة في المهام المحددة بوقت ، في القراءة ، في الرياضيات ، في حل الألغاز ، والثقة الأكاديمية العامة. نظرت في ما إذا كان جنس المعلمين يؤثر على ثقة الطالب. سألت أيضًا عما إذا كان الطلاب يعتقدون أن معلمهم جيد في الرياضيات. لقد كانت مهمة تنظيمية ضخمة جعل الناس يكملون الاستبيان.

أولاً ، كان علي أن أجد مدرسة. لقد تواصلت مع مدير مدرسة David Livingstone Elementary. كان المدير حريصًا على ذلك ، لكنه أخبرني أنه يجب أن أقدم دراستي إلى المعلمين. سألني إذا كنت سأعود لتناول الغداء في نفس اليوم وأقدم للموظفين. كنت متوترة للغاية لكنني تمكنت من إقناع المعلمين بالمشاركة. قدمت ليفينجستون ما يقرب من 200 إجابة ، من روضة الأطفال إلى الصف السابع. وأنا أقدر دعم طاقم وطلاب ليفينجستون.

عندما عدت إلى الدكتور شمادير وقمنا بالتحليل الإحصائي ، وجدنا نتيجة ذات دلالة إحصائية أن الفتيات أصبحن أقل ثقة في الرياضيات أثناء تقدمهن في المدرسة الابتدائية. سألت الدكتور شمادر عن نوع حجم العينة الذي سأحتاجه للحصول على إجابات أكثر تحديدًا حول وقت حدوث ذلك. أخبرتني أن حوالي 100 طالب إضافي سيعطونني قوة إحصائية كافية. اقتربت من بعض المدارس. كان Simon Fraser Elementary أيضًا داعمًا للغاية. كما شارك فصلان من Wolfe Elementary مما أعطاني إجمالاً حوالي 300 إجابة.

النتائج الرئيسية

أظهرت نتائج دراستي أن هناك خسارة ذات دلالة إحصائية في الثقة في الرياضيات بين فتيات المدارس الابتدائية مع تقدمهن في السن. تظهر الفتيات فقدانًا واضحًا في الثقة بحلول الصف السادس تقريبًا. لم تظهر الفتيات أي فقدان للثقة في أي من المجالات الأخرى التي اختبرتها. أظهر الأولاد تحسنًا في ثقتهم بالقراءة بمرور الوقت ، وثقة ثابتة في الرياضيات. تتوافق النتائج التي توصلت إليها مع الأبحاث السابقة التي أظهرت أن الفتيات يصبحن أقل ثقة في الرياضيات ، خاصة في الصفوف اللاحقة (Daigle and Guiomard ، 6). قد يساهم انعدام الثقة هذا في تقليل عدد الفتيات اللائي يتابعن المجالات المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في مرحلة ما بعد المرحلة الثانوية. هذا هو أول بحث يتم إجراؤه حول هذا الموضوع في فانكوفر.

خيبة أمل في VSB Science Fair

سوف تتذكر أنني كنت أقوم ببحثي كجزء من معرض العلوم الخاص بي. لقد فزت على مستوى المدرسة وذهبت إلى نهائيات VSB. هناك ، خسرت أجمل الملصقات. لم أصنع قش من هريس التوت أو أنظر إلى رد فعل قنديل البحر على الضوء. كانت دراستي القديمة مملة. تضمنت تعليقات الحكام ، "هذا البحث ليس جديدًا". "يجب أن تظهر فهمًا أكبر للإحصاءات". من الجيد أنني لا أصدق كلمة كان عليهم قولها. أريد أن أصرخ للعالم ، "لا يجب أن يكون العلم جميلًا. في الواقع ، غالبًا ما يكون مملاً وفوضويًا ".

نقل الأدلة إلى العمل

الآن ، لدي دليل على أن ثقة الفتيات في الرياضيات تتراجع خلال المرحلة الابتدائية. لقد وجدت هذا مقلقًا وأردت أن أفعل شيئًا حيال ذلك. للبدء ، كنت بحاجة إلى بعض المساعدة. شرعت في العثور على منحة من شأنها أن تساعدني في الحصول على الإمدادات والقمصان للبرنامج. لقد منحني SCWIST بسخاء دعمهم واستمر في القيام بذلك. الخطة هي أن يكون لديك برنامج لمدة عشرة أسابيع. في البداية ، أريد التركيز على الضرب ، بما في ذلك تخطي العد والتجميع والمهارات المماثلة. سيكون التركيز على المتعة. أريد أن تستمتع الفتيات بأنفسهن بينما يتعلمن الرياضيات أيضًا. بعض الأنشطة التي سنفعلها هي: تخطي العد باستخدام حبال التخطي ، وبنجو الضرب ، والحجلة والمزيد. في هذه الأيام ، يحب الناس استخدام مصطلح STEAM بدلاً من STEM ، حيث تشير كلمة A الإضافية إلى Arts. لا توجد فجوة بين الجنسين محددة في الفنون ، ولكن على أي حال أود أن أؤكد للجميع أننا سنستخدم الكثير من العصائر الإبداعية الفنية التي تصنع الأغاني والألعاب لتعلم الرياضيات. أريد أيضًا أن أشير إلى أنه كان هناك الكثير من "أ" التي استخدمت لإنشاء شعار Girls to the Power of Math.

الخطوات المقبلة

سأبدأ الآن البرنامج في Livingstone Elementary في فانكوفر. بمساعدة الدكتور آندي بارون سأقيم فعالية البرنامج. لقد تم ترشيحي من قبل Science World لجائزة تسمى "Girls Living Stem". لقد صنعت مجموعة من القمصان وأتمنى أن أبيعها ، وأعيد الأموال إلى البرنامج ، لتوفير الإمدادات والقمصان للموجهين.

بنات لقوة الرياضيات

آمال وأحلام

آمل حقًا أن ينمو هذا البرنامج (بشكل كبير). آمل أن يعزز هذا البرنامج ثقة الفتيات وأن يبدأن في حب الرياضيات. آمل حقًا أن أرى المزيد من الإيجابية حول الفتيات والرياضيات. أقوم بإنشاء موقع على شبكة الإنترنت حتى أتمكن من مشاركة الموارد مع أي شخص يرغب في بدء برنامج Girls to the Power of Math. ربما ، في يوم من الأيام ، سيكون لدينا برنامج توجيه من Girls to the Power of Math مرتبط بكل مدرسة ابتدائية في كندا.

Girls to the Power of Math

By Alexa Bailey

(This article explains a bit about my research and how my girl-to-girl math mentoring program, Girls to the Power of Math, came about.)

Alexa Bailey, Girls to the Power of Math

Who am I?

My name is Alexa. I’m going to be entering Grade 9. There are lots of things that I love to do. I have a passion for photography, I play softball, and I am part of a fiddle club. I have also always loved math. However, I’ve always found the classes slow and repetitious. I was in about Grade 2 when I started feeling bored. The pace was very, very slow, and it never really got better. I complained to my parents and they tried meeting with teachers. Nothing really changed in class.

To help challenge me, my mom introduced the Caribou Contest to my school. She came in to do the contest for whomever wanted to participate. The contests, which happened six times a year, were fun, but classes were still slow. In Grade 5, my parents went again to my teacher who seemed confused that I could be good at math. The teacher set challenge questions which were provided to the fastest students (the boys). I, on the other hand, did not get to access the challenge questions because I was slowed down by my classmates who asked me to help them understand. In Grade 6, the teacher asked the class to guess who got the highest grade on the math test. Every boy in the class was named but not one girl. My classmates were all surprised when it turned out that I was the one with the highest mark. Even this year in High School, I met up with battles. I chose a school that offered a Mini program with accelerated math. Despite this I found the progress in math too slow for me. I asked to challenge Grade 8 which I passed and then I passed Grade 9 online. After that I went on to grade ten, by that time I only had six weeks to get through the course, but I did it. In spite of all of these hurdles, I still like math. What about the girls who do not have the same level of confidence or ability as I do? Would they have persisted?

Tutoring

All of that helping others while the boys were accessing the challenge questions, turned out to be a great thing. I learned that I was pretty good at explaining math. In sixth grade, I started tutoring my neighbour in math. At first she wasn’t very interested. It was her parents’ idea and it felt like a chore to her. But, as we worked together I started to use fun math based games and she started to like it more and even looked forward to our sessions. She started to enjoy math and her confidence increased. All these experiences led me to do my Science Fair on math and confidence.

Finding a Mentor

I knew that there was a gender gap with more males choosing STEM related studies than females. I also read that there was this difference in spite of the fact that there is no gender difference in ability.

I decided to investigate whether gender influences confidence in math. As this was a pretty complicated project, I set out to find a mentor. I Googled people who do work in Gender and Mathematics/STEM and emailed as many as I could find. I emailed researchers Canada wide.

I was super excited when Dr. Toni Schmader responded and agreed to be my mentor. Dr. Schmader is a Canada Research Chair in Social Psychology at the University of British Columbia. She read over my questionnaires and made some minor tweaks. She also helped me with my statistical analyses. I wanted to make it as easy for her as possible to mentor me. I was very organized with my questions and I was careful to be considerate of how much of her time I needed. She told me that she had never had a mentoring experience quite like it. I think that was a compliment! I feel I was super lucky to have had Dr. Schmader as a mentor. She invited me to a lecture at the lab and gave me a beginning understanding of statistics. I felt comfortable asking her questions and she told me that many of our conversations were very similar to those that she had with her university students.

Dr. Schmader also introduced me to Dr. Andy Baron, one of her colleagues. Dr. Baron will be helping me to evaluate my intervention program (more about that later).

My Study

I knew what I wanted to ask and I knew who I wanted to survey. I wanted to survey all of the elementary grades including Kindergarten. This meant that the even the non-readers had to be able to understand my questions and answer them. I kept the questions simple and used visuals to help them pick their answers. Here is a sample question:

I am good at math

Strongly disagree, disagree, agree, strongly agree

All questions were read aloud by a teacher. I asked questions about confidence in timed tasks, in reading, in math, in doing puzzles, and general academic confidence. I looked at whether gender of teachers influenced the student’s confidence. I also asked if the students thought their teacher was good at math. It was a huge organizational task to get people to complete the survey.

First, I had to find a school. I approached the principal at David Livingstone Elementary. The principal was keen but told me that I’d have to present my study to the teachers. He asked if I would come back at lunch that same day and present to the staff. I was super nervous but I managed to convince the teachers to participate. Livingstone provided nearly 200 responses, from Kindergarten to Grade 7. I am very appreciative of the support of Livingstone’s staff and students.

When I went back to Dr. Schmader and we did the statistical analysis, we found a statistically significant result that girls became less confident in math as they progressed through elementary school. I asked Dr. Schmader what kind of sample size I would need to get some more definite answers about when this occurs. She told me about 100 more students would give me enough statistical power. I approached some more schools. Simon Fraser Elementary was also super supportive. A couple of classes from Wolfe Elementary also participated which gave me about 300 responses in total.

Major Findings

The results of my study showed that there was a statistically significant loss of confidence in math amongst elementary school girls as they grow older. Girls show a distinct loss in confidence by about Grade 6. Girls did not show any loss of confidence in any of the other domains I tested. Boys showed improvement in their confidence in reading over time, and a stable confidence in math. My findings are consistent with previous research that has shown that girls become less confident in math, particularly in later grades (Daigle and Guiomard, 2011). This lack of confidence may contribute to fewer girls pursuing STEM-related fields in post-secondary. This is the first research that has been done on the subject in Vancouver.

Disappointment at the VSB Science Fair

You will remember that I was doing my research as part of my Science Fair. I won at the school level and went on to the VSB finals. There, I lost out to the prettier posters. I didn’t make straws out of raspberry puree or look at the reaction of jellyfish to light. Mine was a boring old study. The comments of the judges included, “This research is not novel.” “She should show more understanding of statistics.” Good thing I don’t believe a word they had to say. I want to shout out to the world, “Science doesn’t have to be pretty. Actually, it is very often tedious and messy.”

Moving Evidence into Action

So, now, I had evidence that girls’ confidence in math declines through elementary school. I found this worrying and I wanted to do something about it. To get started I needed some help. I set out to find a grant that would help me to get supplies and t-shirts for the program. SCWIST generously gave me their support and continue to do so. The plan is to have a ten week program. To start with I want to focus on multiplication, including skip counting, grouping and similar skills. The focus will be on fun. I want the girls to enjoy themselves while also learning math. Some activities that we will do are: skip counting with skip ropes, multiplication bingo, hopscotch and more. These days people like to use the term STEAM rather than STEM, where the extra A stands for Arts. There is no gender gap identified in Arts, but in any case I want to assure everyone that we will be using lots of Artistic creative juices making up songs and games to learn math. I also want to point out that there was a lot of “A” that went into creating the Girls to the Power of Math logo.

Next Steps

I am now going to start the program at Livingstone Elementary in Vancouver. With the help of Dr. Andy Baron I will evaluate the effectiveness of the program. I have been nominated by Science World for an award called, “Girls Living Stem”. I had a bunch of t-shirts made and I hope to sell them, putting the money back into the program, to provide supplies and t-shirts to mentors.

Girls to the Power of Math

Hopes and Dreams

I really hope that this program can grow (exponentially). I hope that this program will boost girls’ confidence and that they will start to love math. I really hope to see more positivity around girls and math. I am starting a website so that I can share resources with anyone who would like to start their own Girls to the Power of Math Program. Maybe, one day, we’ll have a Girls to the Power of Math mentoring program linked to every elementary school in Canada.