数学力量的女孩

亚历山大·贝利(Alexa Bailey)

(本文对我的研究以及我的女孩对女孩的数学辅导计划“ Girls to the Math of Math”的产生方式进行了一些解释。)

Alexa Bailey,《数学的力量的女孩》

我是谁?

我叫Alexa。 我即将进入9年级。我喜欢做很多事情。 我对摄影充满热情,打垒球,并且是小提琴俱乐部的成员。 我也一直喜欢数学。 但是,我总是发现课程缓慢而重复。 当我开始感到无聊时,我大约在二年级。 步伐非常非常缓慢,而且从未真正变得更好。 我向父母抱怨,他们试图与老师会面。 课堂上什么都没有改变。

为了挑战我,我妈妈向我的学校介绍了驯鹿比赛。 她进来参加想参加的比赛。 比赛一年举行六次,虽然很有趣,但是上课仍然很慢。 五年级时,我的父母再次去找我的老师,他似乎很困惑我可能会数学。 老师设定了挑战性问题,这些问题已提供给速度最快的学生(男孩)。 另一方面,我却无法回答挑战性问题,因为我的同学让我放慢了速度,他们要求我帮助他们理解。 在5年级,老师要求全班同学猜测谁在数学测试中获得了最高的成绩。 班上的每个男孩都被任命,但没有一个女孩。 原来我是成绩最高的那个同学,我都感到惊讶。 即使在今年的高中,我也遇到了战斗。 我选择了一所提供带有加速数学迷你课程的学校。 尽管如此,我发现数学进展对我来说太慢了。 我要求挑战我通过的6年级,然后在线上通过8年级。 之后,我升到了十年级,那时我只有六周的时间来完成这门课程,但是我做到了。 尽管有所有这些障碍,我仍然喜欢数学。 没有像我这样的自信心或能力的女孩呢? 他们会坚持吗?

助教

在男孩们访问挑战性问题时,所有这些对他人的帮助,真是一件了不起的事情。 我了解到我擅长解释数学。 六年级时,我开始教邻居数学。 起初她不是很感兴趣。 这是她父母的主意,这对她来说真是一件烦事。 但是,当我们一起工作时,我开始使用基于数学的有趣游戏,她开始更喜欢它,甚至期待我们的会议。 她开始喜欢数学,信心增强了。 所有这些经历使我参加了关于数学和自信心的科学竞赛。

寻找导师

我知道在性别方面存在差距,选择STEM相关研究的男性多于女性。 我还读到,尽管能力上没有性别差异,但还是存在差异。

我决定调查性别是否会影响对数学的信心。 由于这是一个非常复杂的项目,因此我着手寻找一名导师。 我用Google搜索了从事性别和数学/ STEM工作的人员,并通过电子邮件发送了尽可能多的信息。 我给加拿大研究人员发了电子邮件。

我当时非常兴奋 Toni Schmader博士 回应并同意担任我的导师。 Schmader博士是不列颠哥伦比亚大学加拿大社会心理学研究主席。 她读了我的问卷,做了一些小调整。 她还帮助我进行了统计分析。 我想让她尽可能容易地指导我。 我的问题非常有条理,我非常谨慎地考虑我需要多少时间。 她告诉我,她从未有过像这样的导师经历。 我认为这是一种赞美! 我感到非常荣幸能有Schmader博士作为导师。 她邀请我在实验室里上课,让我对统计学有了初步的了解。 我问她问题很自在,她告诉我,我们的许多对话与她与大学生的对话非常相似。

Schmader博士还向我介绍了 Andy Baron博士, 她的一位同事。 Baron博士将帮助我评估我的干预计划(稍后会详细介绍)。

我的学习

我知道我想问的问题,也知道我想调查的人。 我想调查包括幼儿园在内的所有小学年级。 这意味着即使是非阅读者也必须能够理解我的问题并回答它们。 我保持问题简单,并使用视觉效果帮助他们选择答案。 这是一个示例问题:

我擅长数学

强烈不同意,不同意,同意,强烈同意

老师大声朗读了所有问题。 我问了一些有关定时任务的信心,阅读,数学,做谜题以及一般的学术信心的问题。 我研究了老师的性别是否影响了学生的自信心。 我还问学生是否认为他们的老师擅长数学。 要使人们完成调查是一项艰巨的组织任务。

首先,我必须找到一所学校。 我在戴维·利文斯通小学就读了校长。 校长很热心,但告诉我,我必须把学习报告交给老师。 他问我是否要在当天的午餐时间回来并介绍给工作人员。 我当时非常紧张,但是我设法说服了老师们参加。 从幼儿园到200年级,利文斯通提供了近7份回复。我非常感谢利文斯通的教职员工和学生们的支持。

当我回到Schmader博士并进行统计分析时,我们发现一个具有统计意义的结果,即女孩在小学毕业后对数学的信心下降。 我问Schmader博士,我需要什么样的样本量才能确定何时发生这种情况。 她告诉我还有100多名学生会给我足够的统计能力。 我上了更多的学校。 Simon Fraser Elementary也非常支持。 来自Wolfe Elementary的几节课也参加了,总共给了我300份回复。

主要调查结果

我的研究结果表明,随着年龄的增长,小学女生对数学的信心有统计学上的显着下降。 女孩在大约6年级时表现出明显的信心丧失。女孩在我测试的其他任何领域都没有表现出信心丧失。 随着时间的流逝,男孩们的阅读信心有所提高,而数学方面的信心则保持稳定。 我的发现与以前的研究一致,后者表明女孩对数学的信心下降,特别是在高年级时(Daigle和Guiomard,2011年)。 这种缺乏自信可能会导致更少的女孩在大专后从事与STEM相关的领域。 这是温哥华就该主题进行的第一项研究。

对VSB科学博览会的失望

您会记得,我在做我的科学竞赛的一部分时进行了研究。 我在学校级别上获胜,然后进入VSB决赛。 在那里,我输给了漂亮的海报。 我没有用覆盆子泥制成吸管,也没有看水母对光的反应。 我的研究很无聊。 评委们的评论包括:“这项研究不是新颖的。” “她应该表现出对统计的更多理解。” 好消息,我不相信他们必须说的话。 我想向全世界大喊:“科学不一定要漂亮。 实际上,这通常很乏味和凌乱。”

将证据付诸行动

所以,现在,我有证据表明,女孩对数学的信心在小学阶段就下降了。 我觉得这令人担忧,我想为此做点事情。 首先,我需要一些帮助。 我开始寻找一笔赠款,这将有助于我获得该计划的用品和T恤。 SCWIST慷慨地给了我他们的支持,并将继续这样做。 该计划将有一个十周的计划。 首先,我想专注于乘法,包括跳过计数,分组和类似技能。 重点将放在乐趣上。 我希望女孩们在玩耍的同时还能学习数学。 我们将做的一些活动是:用跳绳进行计数,乘法宾果游戏,跳房子等等。 如今,人们喜欢使用术语STEAM而不是STEM(STEM),多余的A代表艺术。 在艺术领域,没有性别差距,但是无论如何,我想向所有人保证,我们将使用大量的艺术创作汁来制作歌曲和游戏来学习数学。 我还想指出,创建“女孩对数学的力量”徽标有很多“ A”。

下一步

我现在要在温哥华的利文斯通小学启动该计划。 在Andy Baron博士的帮助下,我将评估该计划的有效性。 我已被《科学世界》提名为“女孩活茎”奖。 我生产了一堆T恤,我希望卖掉它们,然后把钱还给计划,以便为导师提供用品和T恤。

数学力量的女孩

希望和梦想

我真的希望这个程序能够(成倍增长)。 我希望这个程序可以增强女生的信心,并希望他们开始喜欢数学。 我真的希望看到更多关于女孩和数学的积极性。 我正在建立一个网站,以便与希望建立自己的“数学力量计划”的任何人共享资源。 也许有一天,我们将与加拿大的每所小学建立一个“女孩的数学力量”指导计划。

Girls to the Power of Math

By Alexa Bailey

(This article explains a bit about my research and how my girl-to-girl math mentoring program, Girls to the Power of Math, came about.)

Alexa Bailey, Girls to the Power of Math

Who am I?

My name is Alexa. I’m going to be entering Grade 9. There are lots of things that I love to do. I have a passion for photography, I play softball, and I am part of a fiddle club. I have also always loved math. However, I’ve always found the classes slow and repetitious. I was in about Grade 2 when I started feeling bored. The pace was very, very slow, and it never really got better. I complained to my parents and they tried meeting with teachers. Nothing really changed in class.

To help challenge me, my mom introduced the Caribou Contest to my school. She came in to do the contest for whomever wanted to participate. The contests, which happened six times a year, were fun, but classes were still slow. In Grade 5, my parents went again to my teacher who seemed confused that I could be good at math. The teacher set challenge questions which were provided to the fastest students (the boys). I, on the other hand, did not get to access the challenge questions because I was slowed down by my classmates who asked me to help them understand. In Grade 6, the teacher asked the class to guess who got the highest grade on the math test. Every boy in the class was named but not one girl. My classmates were all surprised when it turned out that I was the one with the highest mark. Even this year in High School, I met up with battles. I chose a school that offered a Mini program with accelerated math. Despite this I found the progress in math too slow for me. I asked to challenge Grade 8 which I passed and then I passed Grade 9 online. After that I went on to grade ten, by that time I only had six weeks to get through the course, but I did it. In spite of all of these hurdles, I still like math. What about the girls who do not have the same level of confidence or ability as I do? Would they have persisted?

Tutoring

All of that helping others while the boys were accessing the challenge questions, turned out to be a great thing. I learned that I was pretty good at explaining math. In sixth grade, I started tutoring my neighbour in math. At first she wasn’t very interested. It was her parents’ idea and it felt like a chore to her. But, as we worked together I started to use fun math based games and she started to like it more and even looked forward to our sessions. She started to enjoy math and her confidence increased. All these experiences led me to do my Science Fair on math and confidence.

Finding a Mentor

I knew that there was a gender gap with more males choosing STEM related studies than females. I also read that there was this difference in spite of the fact that there is no gender difference in ability.

I decided to investigate whether gender influences confidence in math. As this was a pretty complicated project, I set out to find a mentor. I Googled people who do work in Gender and Mathematics/STEM and emailed as many as I could find. I emailed researchers Canada wide.

I was super excited when Dr. Toni Schmader responded and agreed to be my mentor. Dr. Schmader is a Canada Research Chair in Social Psychology at the University of British Columbia. She read over my questionnaires and made some minor tweaks. She also helped me with my statistical analyses. I wanted to make it as easy for her as possible to mentor me. I was very organized with my questions and I was careful to be considerate of how much of her time I needed. She told me that she had never had a mentoring experience quite like it. I think that was a compliment! I feel I was super lucky to have had Dr. Schmader as a mentor. She invited me to a lecture at the lab and gave me a beginning understanding of statistics. I felt comfortable asking her questions and she told me that many of our conversations were very similar to those that she had with her university students.

Dr. Schmader also introduced me to Dr. Andy Baron, one of her colleagues. Dr. Baron will be helping me to evaluate my intervention program (more about that later).

My Study

I knew what I wanted to ask and I knew who I wanted to survey. I wanted to survey all of the elementary grades including Kindergarten. This meant that the even the non-readers had to be able to understand my questions and answer them. I kept the questions simple and used visuals to help them pick their answers. Here is a sample question:

I am good at math

Strongly disagree, disagree, agree, strongly agree

All questions were read aloud by a teacher. I asked questions about confidence in timed tasks, in reading, in math, in doing puzzles, and general academic confidence. I looked at whether gender of teachers influenced the student’s confidence. I also asked if the students thought their teacher was good at math. It was a huge organizational task to get people to complete the survey.

First, I had to find a school. I approached the principal at David Livingstone Elementary. The principal was keen but told me that I’d have to present my study to the teachers. He asked if I would come back at lunch that same day and present to the staff. I was super nervous but I managed to convince the teachers to participate. Livingstone provided nearly 200 responses, from Kindergarten to Grade 7. I am very appreciative of the support of Livingstone’s staff and students.

When I went back to Dr. Schmader and we did the statistical analysis, we found a statistically significant result that girls became less confident in math as they progressed through elementary school. I asked Dr. Schmader what kind of sample size I would need to get some more definite answers about when this occurs. She told me about 100 more students would give me enough statistical power. I approached some more schools. Simon Fraser Elementary was also super supportive. A couple of classes from Wolfe Elementary also participated which gave me about 300 responses in total.

Major Findings

The results of my study showed that there was a statistically significant loss of confidence in math amongst elementary school girls as they grow older. Girls show a distinct loss in confidence by about Grade 6. Girls did not show any loss of confidence in any of the other domains I tested. Boys showed improvement in their confidence in reading over time, and a stable confidence in math. My findings are consistent with previous research that has shown that girls become less confident in math, particularly in later grades (Daigle and Guiomard, 2011). This lack of confidence may contribute to fewer girls pursuing STEM-related fields in post-secondary. This is the first research that has been done on the subject in Vancouver.

Disappointment at the VSB Science Fair

You will remember that I was doing my research as part of my Science Fair. I won at the school level and went on to the VSB finals. There, I lost out to the prettier posters. I didn’t make straws out of raspberry puree or look at the reaction of jellyfish to light. Mine was a boring old study. The comments of the judges included, “This research is not novel.” “She should show more understanding of statistics.” Good thing I don’t believe a word they had to say. I want to shout out to the world, “Science doesn’t have to be pretty. Actually, it is very often tedious and messy.”

Moving Evidence into Action

So, now, I had evidence that girls’ confidence in math declines through elementary school. I found this worrying and I wanted to do something about it. To get started I needed some help. I set out to find a grant that would help me to get supplies and t-shirts for the program. SCWIST generously gave me their support and continue to do so. The plan is to have a ten week program. To start with I want to focus on multiplication, including skip counting, grouping and similar skills. The focus will be on fun. I want the girls to enjoy themselves while also learning math. Some activities that we will do are: skip counting with skip ropes, multiplication bingo, hopscotch and more. These days people like to use the term STEAM rather than STEM, where the extra A stands for Arts. There is no gender gap identified in Arts, but in any case I want to assure everyone that we will be using lots of Artistic creative juices making up songs and games to learn math. I also want to point out that there was a lot of “A” that went into creating the Girls to the Power of Math logo.

Next Steps

I am now going to start the program at Livingstone Elementary in Vancouver. With the help of Dr. Andy Baron I will evaluate the effectiveness of the program. I have been nominated by Science World for an award called, “Girls Living Stem”. I had a bunch of t-shirts made and I hope to sell them, putting the money back into the program, to provide supplies and t-shirts to mentors.

Girls to the Power of Math

Hopes and Dreams

I really hope that this program can grow (exponentially). I hope that this program will boost girls’ confidence and that they will start to love math. I really hope to see more positivity around girls and math. I am starting a website so that I can share resources with anyone who would like to start their own Girls to the Power of Math Program. Maybe, one day, we’ll have a Girls to the Power of Math mentoring program linked to every elementary school in Canada.