棕色包讨论:科学传播[活动回顾]

返回帖子

这个Hallowe'en Brown Bag提出了传播科学的主题,供6个小组成员和26位与会人员进行讨论。 莎拉·周担任心血管生理学的科学传播者和博士学位候选人,并担任我们的主持人,并向会议室介绍了专家组。 每个小组成员花了几分钟时间描述自己以及他们进入科学传播的途径的性质,这些都非常多样化(以及他们目前的角色)。

徐慧敏博士 是UBC共享仪器设施的主管,并且是德国Wiley-VCH Publishing组的前副编辑。 在获得博士学位后,她搬到那里编辑诸如“可持续化学”之类的期刊。 她对这个职位的主要爱好是获得国际经验,阅读有关前沿研究的知识,并且是对新科学思想的第一篇综述。 她喜欢采访科学家并听听他们的故事。 为了融入万圣节前夜的幽灵般的精神,莎拉请小组成员思考一些令他们在职业生涯中感到恐惧的事情。 艾米丽(Emily)提到,一些科学家在论文被拒绝后就感到愤怒,但这并没有阻止她继续从事这项工作。

前夕里克特 是“策划者” 与我对话在意识到自己更愿意成为自己的老板之后,于今年成立了该公司。 TSTM为各种类型的科学家提供诸如数据可视化,演示支持和交流指导等服务。 该公司还可以提供摄影记者进行实地考察。 夏娃以自由职业者的身份雇用员工,核心人员为XNUMX名。 她热爱这项工作所提供的自由和灵活性,并且对科学家及其所做的工作充满了情意。 但是,财务不稳定可能是一个艰难的代价,而且有点吓人!

莱斯利·埃文斯·奥格登博士 夏娃(Eve)现在是一名专职记者/作家,因此她与夏娃(Eve)同意自由职业的不确定性。 她从科学学位开始进入科学交流,但后来在SFU的生物学博士学位课程中获得学位。 她继续在UBC的应用保护学院做博士后研究金,然后重新引起了对高中交流的兴趣,并进一步探索了这一点,她在 媒体小酒馆 (总部位于纽约)。 该课程对新闻业以及如何讲故事具有指导意义,是莱斯利的有用起点。 她开始从事自由职业,研究故事,并采访电视新闻故事的科学家。 这是与 加拿大科学媒体中心,但她发现进行所有研究后再将故事交给电视记者感到很沮丧。 目前,她可以自由在家工作,享有灵活性,但可以确保定期与其他作家保持联系,以避免孤独的作家综合症。

杰拉尔丁·沃尔什博士 一直对写作充满热情,尽管成为研究生和血小板生物学的博士后,她还是通过传统的学术途径成为加拿大血液服务的科学作家。 她撰写手稿并弄清楚呈现同事们生成的数据的最佳方法。 血液研究中心 在UBC。 这个职位最好的方面之一是有机会与加拿大各地的许多人一起工作,以及她从事的各种项目。 但是她说,由于她参与了研究的最后阶段,因此有时会出现研究的替代方法,但此时改变设计为时已晚。

埃里克·詹丘(Eric Jandciu) 是...的协调员 SCIE 300通讯科学 在UBC课程。 他获得了化学博士学位,但并未获得通过,因为他的兴趣不在于成为一名化学学者,而是在于通俗科学以及如何向公众传播科学研究的想法。 在决定为德国出版商史普林格(Springer)担任复制编辑职位之前,他决定成为一名新闻工作者并有一段时间是自由职业者,这种经历类似于艾米丽(Emily)的经历。 当时,该公司聘请了七名以英语为母语的人来编辑手稿,并将其重新加工成史普林格风格。 埃里克(Eric)受到他的赞赏,作者的写作得到了改善,从而发表了他们的作品,他对此表示赞赏。 他警告说,这些内部的以母语为母语的编辑职位不再可用,而是外包了。 现在,埃里克(Eric)为UBC理科学生开设的课程使他们有机会学习如何与其他科学同行以及非专家观众进行交流。 他们采访了UBC研究人员,并使用了诸如播客之类的新媒体工具,这听起来像是探索#SciComm的一种有趣且相关的方式(这是Twitter的事情!)

Candis Callison博士,UBC新闻学院的助理教授,从晚间新闻的VanTV记者开始了她的职业生涯,报道了有关技术的故事,并参与了第一民族电视节目“ First Story”的工作。 她移居旧金山,担任Ziff Davis TV的记者/制片人,采访了诸如Apple Mac布道者等大型科技名人。 盖伊·川崎。 接下来,坎迪斯(Candis)向东部转移,到波士顿工作,从事搜索引擎的工作,并满足了她对技术的热情,然后在麻省理工学院(MIT)攻读了历史学和人类学科学博士学位。 这使她有资格在杜克大学致力于公众参与应对气候变化问题。 Candis可能在所有小组成员中拥有最多样化的职业道路,但是唯一一个从事媒体职业并努力进入终身任职学术职位的人!

在我们的演讲者向听众讲了故事之后,就开始进行提问和讨论了。 人们想知道他们可以从事哪种类型的课程来从事科学传播事业:专家小组成员提出了很多建议,包括 班夫中心计划是, 圣达菲科学写作工作坊和前面提到的 媒体小酒馆 (在线课程)。 加拿大的自然科学和工程研究委员会(NSERC)提供的资金证明了对公众消费科学的兴趣和需求迅速增长。 陆地网,该研究生课程涵盖全球变化科学和传播,并规定 知识翻译 计划纳入资助机构(如加拿大健康研究所(CIHR))的赠款申请中。 CIHR还“为记者提供资金,以从事印刷,广播和在线媒体项目。 新闻奖计划 每年最多奖励20,000美元。 这些奖项的先前获得者已经利用这笔资金准备了有关各种健康问题的深入报告。

小组成员的观众寻求建议-给出的有用提示包括:熟悉WordPress等现代软件和技术(您可以创建自己的UBC博客 请点击此处尝试搜索。); 亲自和在线活跃于科学/技术界; 与其他人进行对话并找到擅长您想要做的事情的人; 为特定受众量身定制演示文稿,并探索新颖的演示方式; 对传统的传统路线以外的事物敞开大门,并谈论不确定性。

夏娃指出,成为一名科学家,可以有效地与他人交流他们的研究和想法,这与成为一名全职交流者是不同的。 后者本身就是一项专业,要想取得成功,可能需要很长的路要走。 小组建议以自由编辑的身份申请学生期刊,作为进入编辑界的一种方式。 西蒙弗雷泽大学获得认证 编辑中的程序,或者 加拿大编辑协会 提供各种课程。 莱斯利(Lesley)建议向提供写作或编辑书籍/章节的出版商发送电子邮件,并认可该书籍“作家市场”作为有用的资源。

祝大家在#SciComm工作中一切顺利!

作者 简·奥哈拉


页首

Event Recap – BrownBag Discussion “Science Communication”

This Hallowe’en Brown Bag presented the topic of Communicating Science for discussion among the 6 panel members and 26 attendees. Sarah S. Chow, Science Communicator and PhD Candidate in Cardiovascular Physiology, acted as our moderator and introduced the panel to the room. Each panelist spent a few minutes describing themselves and the nature of their path into science communication, which are all very diverse (as are their current roles).

Dr. Emily Seo is the Director of the UBC Shared Instrument Facility and a former Associate Editor at Wiley-VCH Publishing group in Germany. After her PhD she moved there to edit journals such as “Sustainable Chemistry”. Her main likes about this position were gaining international experience, reading about cutting edge research and being the first point of review for new scientific ideas. She enjoyed interviewing scientists and hearing their stories. To get into the spooky spirit of Hallowe’en, Sarah asked the panel to think of something that scared them during their career paths; Emily mentioned that some scientists became irate when their articles got rejected, but it didn’t deter her from pursuing this work.

Eve Rickert is the “mastermind” at Talk Science to Me, which she founded this year after realising that she preferred to be her own boss. TSTM provides services such as data visualisation, presentation support and coaching in communication for all types of scientists. The company can also supply photojournalists for field trips. Eve employs people on a freelance basis, with a core of seven staff. She loves the freedom and flexibility afforded by this work, and has a fondness for scientists and what they do. However the financial instability can be a tough price to pay and a little scary!

Dr. Lesley Evans Ogden was in agreement with Eve about the uncertainty of freelance work, as she is now a full-time journalist/writer. She took a roundabout route into science communication, having begun with a degree in Music but ending up in a Biology PhD program at SFU. She went on to do a postdoctoral fellowship in Applied Conservation at UBC, then an earlier interest in communication from high school re-surfaced and to explore this further she took an online course at Media Bistro (based in New York). This course was instructive in journalistic style and how to pitch stories, and served as a useful starting point for Lesley. She began working freelance, researching stories and interviewing scientists for TV news stories. This was in conjunction with the Science Media Centre of Canada, but she found it frustrating to conduct all of the research then hand the story to a TV reporter. Currently freelancing from home, she enjoys the flexibility but ensures that she connects with other writers regularly, to avoid lonely writer syndrome.

Dr. Geraldine Walsh has always had a passion for writing, which has led her to become a scientific writer for Canadian Blood Services, albeit through a traditional academic path as a graduate student and postdoc in platelet biology. She writes manuscripts and figures out the best way to present data generated by colleagues at the Centre for Blood Research at UBC. One of the best aspects of this role is the opportunity to work with many different people across Canada, as well as the varied projects she works on. However she says that due to her involvement at the final stage of a study, alternative approaches to the research sometimes present themselves but it’s too late at that point to change the design.

Eric Jandciu is the coordinator of the SCIE 300 Communicating Science course at UBC. He began a PhD in chemistry but didn’t see it through, as his interests lay not in becoming an academic chemist, but in popular science and the idea of how scientific research is communicated to the public. He decided to become a journalist and freelanced for a while before landing a copy-editor position for the publishers Springer in Germany, an experience similar to Emily’s. At that time the company employed seven native English speakers to edit manuscripts and re-work them into the Springer style. Eric enjoyed the appreciation he received from authors whose writing was improved, resulting in publication of their work. He cautioned that those in-house native speaker editor positions are no longer available, but are outsourced. The course that Eric now runs for UBC Science students gives them the chance to learn how to communicate with other scientific peers, as well as to non-expert audiences; they interview UBC researchers, and use new media tools like podcasts, which sounds like a fun and relevant way to explore #SciComm (that’s a Twitter thing!)

Dr. Candis Callison, Assistant Prof at UBC’s School of Journalism, began her career as a journalist for VanTV on the nightly news, covering stories about technology, as well as working on “First Story”, a First Nations TV show. She moved to San Francisco to work as a reporter/producer for Ziff Davis TV, interviewing big tech personalities like Apple Mac evangelist Guy Kawasaki. Candis next moved east, to Boston to work for a search engine and satisfy her passion for technology, then embarked upon a PhD at MIT in history and anthropology of Science & Technology studies. This qualified her to work towards public engagement with climate change issues at Duke University. Candis may have had the most varied career pathway out of all the panelists, yet is the only one who began in a media career and worked her way into a tenure track academic position!

After our speakers had imparted their stories to the audience, the floor was opened up to questions and discussion. People wanted to know what type of courses they could take to pursue a career in science communication: numerous of these were suggested by the panelists, including the Banff Centre program, the Santa Fe Science Writing Workshop, and the aforementioned MediaBistro (online courses). There is a rapidly growing interest in and demand for science for public consumption, as demonstrated by the provision of Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) funding for TerreWeb, a graduate program encompassing global change science and communications, and the stipulation for knowledge translation plans to be incorporated into grant applications for funding agencies such as the Canadian Institute for Health Research (CIHR). CIHR also “makes funding available for journalists to undertake projects in print, broadcast and on-line media. The Journalism Awards Program funds awards up to $20,000” annually. Previous recipients of these awards have utilised this funding to prepare in-depth reports on diverse health issues.

Advice was sought by audience members from the panelists – useful tips given included: getting familiar with modern software and technologies such as WordPress (you can start your own UBC blog here); being active in the scientific/technical communities, both in person and online; engaging others in conversation and finding people who are good at what you want to do; tailoring presentations to a specific audience and exploring new innovative ways to present; being open to possibilities other than the traditional old-school paths, and talking leaps of uncertainty.

Eve pointed out that being a scientist who communicates their research and ideas effectively to others is a different ballgame to being a full-time communicator; the latter is a profession in its own right, and can be a long path that requires a lot of experience in order to become successful. Applying to student journals as a freelance editor was suggested by the panel as a way into the editorial profession; Simon Fraser University runs certified programs in Editing, alternatively the Editors’ Association of Canada provides various courses. Lesley recommended sending emails to publishers offering to write or edit books / chapters, and endorsed the book “The Writer’s Market” as a useful resource.

Good luck to all in their #SciComm endeavours!

Written by Jane O’Hara