أمسية 2021 Wonder Women Network: 30 سنة قوية!

في 11 مارس 2021 ، استضاف SCWIST و Science World 30th الأمسية السنوية لشبكة Wonder Women Networking - وهذه المرة: تقريبًا!

التشبيك في حالة جائحة: هل يمكن القيام بذلك؟

التشبيك افتراضيًا: تجربة حقًا ... ومن الأفضل إجراء مثل هذه التجربة من مجموعة من نجوم موسيقى الروك في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات؟

منذ عام 1991 ، تجمع أمسية شبكة Wonder Women Networking (WWNE) السنوية أولئك الذين يتعرفون على أنهم نساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) ويريدون أن يتعلموا أين يمكن أن يأخذهم درجتهم العلمية. يجد طلاب البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا وباحثو ما بعد الدكتوراه والمهنيون العاملون هذا الحدث ذا صلة خاصة بصقل مهاراتهم في التواصل والتواصل مع النساء الرائدات في مجالاتهم.

عادة ما يقام الحدث في Science World في فانكوفر. بالطبع ، جعل جائحة COVID-19 هذا غير ممكن هذا العام: بدلاً من ذلك ، أخذناه عبر الإنترنت. نحن جميعًا خبراء Zoom الآن ، أليس كذلك؟ لقد تم تذكيرنا مرارًا وتكرارًا بأن هذه أوقات غير مؤكدة ، ولم يكن هذا استثناءً. لطالما كانت أمسية Wonder Women Networking مشهورة - ولكن هل ستكون في العالم الافتراضي؟

نعم و نعم!

لحسن الحظ ، كان! بقيت بعض الأشياء على حالها. كما هو الحال دائمًا ، تم تكريمنا من خلال مشاركة مرشدات Wonder Women الرائعات. لقد استوحينا هذا العام من 37 امرأة ناجحة قادت مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات الخاصة بهن ، اللواتي يرغبن في مشاركة خبراتهن وقصصهن مع الجيل القادم.

كانت ميزة إقامة حدث افتراضي هي أن النساء من جميع أنحاء كندا - وحتى العالم - يمكن أن ينضموا إلينا. (على الرغم من أنه تم إعداده لأمسية لاحقة على الساحل الشرقي!) لقد سررنا باستضافة النساء من جميع أنحاء كندا (على طول الطريق إلى نيوفاوندلاند ولابرادور) والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وآسيا ؛ حتى أننا تواصلنا مع نساء من عمان ومنغوليا وإندونيسيا!

رحب مدير ومضيف الأمسية ، Danniele Livengood ، بالجميع وقدم حلقة نقاشية ، ضمت: Melanie Vig ، مديرة المنتج عند تقاطع الأعمال والابتكار العلمي ؛ ميجان ليزلي ، مهندس ومستشار الاستدامة ؛ وآنا ستوكاس ، مهندسة ورئيسة SCWIST السابقة. سألهم دانييل:

  • ما الذي دفعك إلى العمل في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات؟
  • ما الدور الذي لعبه المرشدون أو الشبكات في مسار حياتك المهنية حتى الآن؟
  • ما هي القوة العظمى الجديدة التي طورتها منذ أن بدأ الوباء؟
  • ما هي النصيحة التي ستعطيها للحاضرين الليلة؟

بعد اللوحة (التي تضم مظاهر حجاب من بعض الأطفال الصغار الرائعين) ، حان الوقت للتواصل!

تلقى كل من الحاضرين برنامج PDF ، أطلق عليه اسم Wonder Women Field Guide ، للتنقل في غرف الشبكات الفرعية. احتوى الدليل الميداني على السير وتفاصيل الاتصال لجميع النساء المعجبات ، ومواقع غرفهن الفرعية. كانت الفرق المكونة من اثنتين أو ثلاث من Wonder Women ثابتة بينما تم تشجيع الحضور على تعميم الغرف وفقًا لـ Wonder Women التي يرغبون في التحدث إليها.

كانت غرف الاستراحة دافئة وحيوية وضجة! أبقت SCWISTies المتداولة عينها على الأشياء وأدفأت قلوبهم لرؤية الروابط يتم تزويرها والاستمتاع بها.

كان من الصعب استدعاء الجميع إلى الغرفة الرئيسية في الساعة 7:00 مساءً ، حيث استمتع الجميع بمناقشاتهم! ولكن ، كما يقولون ، "يجب أن تنتهي كل الأشياء الجيدة يومًا ما" ، لذلك اجتمعنا مرة أخرى لنختتم المساء رسميًا. شجع Danniele المشاركين على الاستمرار في التواصل ، مذكّرًا أن Wonder Women كانت مفتوحة للتواصل بعد ذلك وأن معلومات الاتصال الخاصة بهم كانت في الدليل الميداني.

و هذا ملف…

في السنوات السابقة ، كان سيختتم الحدث بعرض فيلم OMNIMAX® ، ولكن هذا العام قدمنا ​​عرضًا مباشرًا حصريًا لكيكي كيركباتريك. كيكي هي امرأة رائعة تدير Super Science Club في Science World ، وهو برنامج علمي عملي بعد المدرسة للأطفال في مدارس East Vancouver. لقد تعاملنا كيكي مع وليمة علمية لإثبات أن "الشبكات تصنع كيمياء رائعة" (كان عليك أن تكون هناك!) ، ثم عزفت أغنية "عيد ميلاد سعيد لـ SCWIST" على ملف تسلا موسيقي! (هل تعلم أن SCWIST ستبلغ الأربعين من عمرها هذا العام؟)

بعد وداع Kiki الغامض ، الرغوي ، الموسيقي ، شكر Danniele كل من لعب دورًا في هذه النسخة الافتراضية الناجحة من WWNE: Science World ، للسماح لنا بإنتاج الحدث من الاستوديو الخاص بهم ؛ ساندي إيكس ، عضو SCWIST ومدير تعلم STEM في Science World ؛ كريستين كارينيو ، مدير فعاليات SCWIST ؛ جوردانا سميث ، منسق WWNE ؛ Nöen Malik و Nirali Rathwa ، مضيفان / مشرفان ؛ مجلس إدارة SCWIST ؛ عجب المرأة المذهلة لدينا ؛ وبالطبع جميع الحاضرين. وعلى الرغم من أنها لم تشكر نفسها ، فقد تم تقديم شكر كبير إلى Danniele ، emcee extraordinaire ، على التزامها وتخطيطها واستضافتها الخبيرة!

لقد كان من الممتع قراءة كلمات الشكر والأفكار الدافئة التي تتم مشاركتها في دردشة Zoom. فيما يلي بعض التعليقات من بعض الحاضرين بعد الحدث:

"شكراً جزيلاً لكم على هذا الحدث المذهل للتواصل! لقد أحببت تنوع المرشدين ، وقد أذهلتني مدى استعدادهم لمشاركة وقتهم وخبراتهم. لا استطيع الانتظار للحدث القادم! " - WWNE 2021 حضور

"كونك امرأة رائعة وإتاحة الفرصة لتوجيه النساء الأصغر سنًا هو أمر مُرضٍ للغاية. شكرًا SCWIST لمنح الجميع هذه الفرصة الرائعة! " - WWNE 2021 مينتور

"لقد استمتعت حقًا بحدث التواصل - لقد كان من الرائع مقابلة النساء الرائعات ، والمهنيين الناجحين والواثقين من أنفسهم ، والمشاركين الآخرين. لقد أحببت الرؤى حول البحث عن وظيفة ، والتواصل ، والمقابلات ". - WWNE 2021 حاضر

"كان هذا الحدث رائعًا ، وكانت السيدات المشاركات مذهلة. ما هو التآزر الذي تم تطويره. لقد كنت نشيطًا تمامًا. حتى أنني تطوعت من أجل المزيد من الإرشاد ودعم جهود نقابتنا بعد ذلك. بدا كل شيء أكثر إيجابية وقابلية للتنفيذ بعد ذلك ... أتمنى أن يشعر الآخرون بنفس الشعور. نحن محظوظون للغاية لوجود مثل هذه المرأة الرائعة المتوازنة والمهنية في مقاطعتنا. أشعر بالفخر لكوني جزءًا من ذلك وسأحاول تقديم طرق لمساعدة النساء ومساعدة أي شخص يحاول المضي قدمًا ". - WWNE 2021 مينتور

لا يمكنني التفكير في طريقة أفضل لإنهاء هذا - لقد قالوا كل شيء - لذا شكراً لجميع النساء المعجبات ، سواء كن مرشدات أو متدربات ، ولأولئك الذين صنعوا الحدث. سنراكم العام المقبل: شخصيًا أو افتراضيًا. حتى ذلك الحين - ابق رائعًا.

2021 Wonder Women Networking Evening: 30 Years Strong!

On March 11, 2021, SCWIST and Science World hosted the 30th annual Wonder Women Networking Evening—and this time: virtually!

Networking in a pandemic: can it be done?

Networking virtually: truly an experiment…  and who better to conduct such an experiment than a group of rock star women in STEM?

Since 1991, the annual Wonder Women Networking Evening (WWNE) brings together those who identify as women in STEM and want to learn where their degree can take them. Undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and working professionals find the event particularly relevant to hone their networking skills and connect with leading women in their fields.

Usually the event takes place at Science World in Vancouver. Of course, the COVID-19 pandemic made that not a possibility this year: instead, we took it online. We’re all Zoom experts now, right? We’ve been reminded again and again that these are uncertain times, and this was no exception. The Wonder Women Networking Evening has always been popular—but would it be in the virtual world?

Yes and yes!

Happily, it was! A few things remained the same. As always, we were honoured by the participation of amazing Wonder Women mentors. This year we were inspired by 37 successful women who lead in their respective STEM fields, who love to share their expertise and stories with the next generation.

A perk to having a virtual event was that women from across Canada—even the world—could join us. (Although it made for a later evening on the East coast!) We were thrilled to host women from across Canada (all the way to Newfoundland & Labrador), the USA, and Asia; we even networked with women from Oman, Mongolia, and Indonesia!

The evening’s emcee and host, Danniele Livengood, welcomed everyone and introduced the panel discussion, featuring: Melanie Vig, product manager at the intersection of business and science innovation; Megan Leslie, engineer and sustainability consultant; and Anna Stukas, engineer and past SCWIST President. Danniele asked them:

  • What led you to a career in a STEM field?
  • What role have mentors or networking played in your career path so far?
  • What new superpower have you developed since the pandemic began?
  • What advice would you give to our attendees tonight?

After the panel (featuring cameo appearances from some adorable young children), it was time to network!

Each attendee received a PDF program, dubbed the Wonder Women Field Guide, to navigate the networking breakout rooms. The Field Guide contained the bios and contact details of all the Wonder Women, and their breakout room locations. Teams of two or three Wonder Women were stationary while attendees were encouraged to circulate the rooms according to which Wonder Women they wished to talk to.

The breakout rooms were warm, lively, and abuzz! Circulating SCWISTies kept an eye on things and it warmed their hearts to see the connections being forged, and the fun being had.

It was tough to call everyone back to the main room at 7:00 PM, as everyone had enjoyed their discussions! But, as they say, “all good things must end someday,” so we reconvened to officially conclude the evening. Danniele encouraged participants to keep the networking going, reminding us that the Wonder Women were open to connecting afterwards and their contact information was in the Field Guide.

And that’s a wrap…

In previous years the event would close with an OMNIMAX® movie-screening, but this year we had an exclusive live performance by Kiki Kirkpatrick. Kiki is a wonder woman who runs the Super Science Club at Science World, an after-school hands-on science program for kids in East Vancouver schools. Kiki treated us to a science feast-for-the-eyes to prove that “networking makes great chemistry” (you had to be there!), then played “happy birthday to SCWIST” on a musical Tesla coil! (Did you know SCWIST is turning 40 this year?)

After Kiki’s fizzy, foamy, music-y send-off, Danniele thanked everyone who played a part in this unusual edition of WWNE: Sandy Eix, SCWIST Member and Director of STEM Learning at Science World; Director of Events at SCWIST, Khristine Cariño; WWNE Coordinator, Jordana Smith; co-hosts/moderators, Nöen Malik and Nirali Rathwa; the SCWIST Board of Directors; Science World, for letting us produce the event from their studio; and of course, all of the attendees and our amazing Wonder Women. … and although she didn’t thank herself, a huge thanks was given to Danniele, emcee extraordinaire, for her commitment, planning, and expert hosting!

It was a treat to read the thanks and warm fuzzies being shared in the Zoom chat. Here are some comments from some of our attendees, post-event:

“Thank you so much for this amazing networking event! I loved the diversity of mentors, and was blown away by how willing they were to share their time and experience. Can’t wait for the next event!” – WWNE 2021 Attendee

“Being a Wonder Woman and having the opportunity to mentor younger women is immensely fulfilling. Thanks SCWIST for giving everyone this wonderful opportunity!” – WWNE 2021 Mentor

“I really enjoyed the networking event – it was fantastic to meet the wonder women, successful and self-confident professionals, and the other participants. I loved the insights about the job search, networking, and interviewing.” – WWNE 2021 Attendee

“This event was terrific, and wowzer the ladies participating were amazing. What synergy developed. I was totally energized. I even volunteered for more women mentoring and support efforts of our union afterwards. Everything seemed more positive and doable afterwards…I hope others felt the same way. We are so blessed to have such wonderful well balanced, professional women in our province. I feel so proud to be a part of that and will try to offer ways to help women and help anyone trying to get ahead.”  – WWNE 2021 Mentor

I can’t think of a better way to conclude this—they said it all—so thank you to all the Wonder Women, be they mentors or mentees, and to those who made the event happen. We’ll see you next year:  in-person, or virtually. Until then—stay Wonder-ful.