2021年不可思议的女性网络晚会:30年强盛!

11年2021月30日,SCWIST和《科学世界》主办了第XNUMX届th 一年一度的Wonder Woman社交之夜-这次:虚拟!

在大流行中建立网络:可以做到吗?

虚拟网络:真正的实验……还有谁能比STEM中的一群摇滚明星女性更好地进行这样的实验?

自1991年以来,一年一度的“不可思议女性网络之夜”(WWNE)聚集了那些在STEM中被视为女性并希望了解自己的学位可以将其带到哪里的女性。 本科生和研究生,博士后研究人员和在职专业人员发现,该活动与磨练其网络技能并与所在领域的领先女性建立联系特别相关。

通常,该活动在温哥华的科学世界举行。 当然,今年发生COVID-19大流行的可能性不大:取而代之的是,我们将其在线发布。 现在我们都是Zoom专家,对不对? 我们一次又一次地被提醒,这是不确定的时期,这也不例外。 “神奇女性网络之夜”一直很受欢迎,但是它会在虚拟世界中吗?

是的,是的!

令人高兴的是! 几件事保持不变。 与往常一样,我们以神奇的神奇女神导师的参与而感到荣幸。 今年,我们受到了在各自的STEM领域领导的37名成功女性的启发,她们热衷于与下一代分享他们的专业知识和故事。

举办虚拟活动的好处是,来自加拿大乃至全世界的女性都可以加入我们的行列。 (尽管这是在东海岸的一个傍晚!)我们很高兴地接待了来自加拿大(一直到纽芬兰和拉布拉多),美国和亚洲的妇女。 我们甚至与来自阿曼,蒙古和印度尼西亚的女性建立了联系!

当晚的主持人和主持人丹妮尔·利文古德(Danniele Livengood)欢迎所有人,并介绍了小组讨论。 梅根·莱斯利(Megan Leslie),工程师和可持续发展顾问; 以及工程师和SCWIST前任总裁Anna Stukas。 丹妮尔问他们:

  • 是什么促使您进入STEM领域的职业?
  • 到目前为止,导师或人际网络在您的职业生涯中扮演了什么角色?
  • 自大流行开始以来,您发展了什么新的超级大国?
  • 您今晚对我们的与会者有什么建议?

座谈会之后(以一些可爱的幼儿为特色的客串演出),是时候进行交流了!

每个与会者都收到了一个名为“神奇女侠现场指南”的PDF程序,用于浏览网络分组讨论室。 《现场指南》包含所有《神奇女侠》的履历和联系方式,以及分组讨论室的位置。 两到三个神奇女侠的队伍静止不动,而与会者则被鼓励按他们想与之交谈的神奇女侠来散发房间。

分组讨论室温暖,活泼,嗡嗡作响! 不断流传的SCWISTies一直关注着事物,这使他们心跳加速,看到了正在建立的联系,并从中获得了乐趣。

大家都喜欢他们的讨论,很难在下午7:00将所有人召回主会议室! 但是,正如他们所说,“所有美好的事物都必须在某一天结束”,因此我们召集会议正式结束了当晚。 丹妮尔(Danniele)鼓励与会人员继续保持联系,并提醒我们,《神奇女侠》之后将开放联系,其联系方式位于“实地指南”中。

那是个包裹……

在过去的几年中,该活动将以OMNIMAX®电影放映结束,但是今年我们进行了Kiki Kirkpatrick的独家现场表演。 琪琪(Kiki)是位神奇的女人,她经营着科学世界的超级科学俱乐部,该俱乐部是针对东温哥华学校孩子们的课后动手科学计划。 琪琪(Kiki)对我们进行了一场科学的盛宴,以证明“网络造就了伟大的化学反应”(您必须在那里!),然后在音乐特斯拉线圈上演奏了“ SCWIST生日快乐”! (您知道SCWIST今年将满40岁吗?)

在基奇(Kiki)发出嘶哑,泡沫,音乐般的音乐后,丹妮尔(Danniele)感谢所有参与这次成功虚拟版WWNE:《科学世界》的人,让我们从他们的工作室制作了这次活动。 SCWIST成员兼《科学世界》 STEM学习总监Sandy Eix; SCWIST活动总监KhristineCariño; WWNE协调员Jordana Smith; 主持人/主持人NöenMalik和Nirali Rathwa; SCWIST董事会; 我们神奇的神奇女侠; 当然,所有与会者。 而且,尽管她不感谢自己,但还是非常感谢主持人丹妮尔(Danniele)的投入,计划和专家主持!

阅读在Zoom聊天中共享的感谢和热情的毛病是一种享受。 以下是一些活动后与会者的评论:

“非常感谢您参加这个令人惊叹的社交活动! 我喜欢导师的多样性,并为他们分享自己的时间和经验而感到震惊。 等不及下一个活动了!” – 2021年WWNE与会者

“成为一名神奇女神并有机会指导年轻女性,这是极大的成就。 感谢SCWIST给大家这个难得的机会!” – 2021年WWNE导师

“我真的很喜欢社交活动-能够见到奇迹女性,成功自信的专业人士以及其他参与者真是太好了。 我喜欢关于求职,网络和面试的见解。” – 2021年WWNE与会者

“这次活动真是太棒了,参加比赛的女士们真是太神奇了。 产生了什么协同作用。 我完全精力充沛。 之后,我甚至自愿参加了更多的女性指导活动,并支持我们工会的工作。 此后一切似乎都变得更加积极和可行……我希望其他人也有同样的感觉。 我们如此幸运,能够在我们省拥有如此出色的平衡,专业的女性。 我为成为其中的一员而感到自豪,并将尝试提供帮助妇女的方法,并帮助任何试图取得成功的人。” – WWNE 2021导师

我想出了一个更好的方法来总结这一点-他们都说了-因此,感谢所有的“神奇女侠”,无论是导师还是受训者,以及促成这一盛事的人。 明年我们会见:面对面的或虚拟的。 在此之前-请保持Wonderful的状态。

2021 Wonder Women Networking Evening: 30 Years Strong!

On March 11, 2021, SCWIST and Science World hosted the 30th annual Wonder Women Networking Evening—and this time: virtually!

Networking in a pandemic: can it be done?

Networking virtually: truly an experiment…  and who better to conduct such an experiment than a group of rock star women in STEM?

Since 1991, the annual Wonder Women Networking Evening (WWNE) brings together those who identify as women in STEM and want to learn where their degree can take them. Undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and working professionals find the event particularly relevant to hone their networking skills and connect with leading women in their fields.

Usually the event takes place at Science World in Vancouver. Of course, the COVID-19 pandemic made that not a possibility this year: instead, we took it online. We’re all Zoom experts now, right? We’ve been reminded again and again that these are uncertain times, and this was no exception. The Wonder Women Networking Evening has always been popular—but would it be in the virtual world?

Yes and yes!

Happily, it was! A few things remained the same. As always, we were honoured by the participation of amazing Wonder Women mentors. This year we were inspired by 37 successful women who lead in their respective STEM fields, who love to share their expertise and stories with the next generation.

A perk to having a virtual event was that women from across Canada—even the world—could join us. (Although it made for a later evening on the East coast!) We were thrilled to host women from across Canada (all the way to Newfoundland & Labrador), the USA, and Asia; we even networked with women from Oman, Mongolia, and Indonesia!

The evening’s emcee and host, Danniele Livengood, welcomed everyone and introduced the panel discussion, featuring: Melanie Vig, product manager at the intersection of business and science innovation; Megan Leslie, engineer and sustainability consultant; and Anna Stukas, engineer and past SCWIST President. Danniele asked them:

  • What led you to a career in a STEM field?
  • What role have mentors or networking played in your career path so far?
  • What new superpower have you developed since the pandemic began?
  • What advice would you give to our attendees tonight?

After the panel (featuring cameo appearances from some adorable young children), it was time to network!

Each attendee received a PDF program, dubbed the Wonder Women Field Guide, to navigate the networking breakout rooms. The Field Guide contained the bios and contact details of all the Wonder Women, and their breakout room locations. Teams of two or three Wonder Women were stationary while attendees were encouraged to circulate the rooms according to which Wonder Women they wished to talk to.

The breakout rooms were warm, lively, and abuzz! Circulating SCWISTies kept an eye on things and it warmed their hearts to see the connections being forged, and the fun being had.

It was tough to call everyone back to the main room at 7:00 PM, as everyone had enjoyed their discussions! But, as they say, “all good things must end someday,” so we reconvened to officially conclude the evening. Danniele encouraged participants to keep the networking going, reminding us that the Wonder Women were open to connecting afterwards and their contact information was in the Field Guide.

And that’s a wrap…

In previous years the event would close with an OMNIMAX® movie-screening, but this year we had an exclusive live performance by Kiki Kirkpatrick. Kiki is a wonder woman who runs the Super Science Club at Science World, an after-school hands-on science program for kids in East Vancouver schools. Kiki treated us to a science feast-for-the-eyes to prove that “networking makes great chemistry” (you had to be there!), then played “happy birthday to SCWIST” on a musical Tesla coil! (Did you know SCWIST is turning 40 this year?)

After Kiki’s fizzy, foamy, music-y send-off, Danniele thanked everyone who played a part in this unusual edition of WWNE: Sandy Eix, SCWIST Member and Director of STEM Learning at Science World; Director of Events at SCWIST, Khristine Cariño; WWNE Coordinator, Jordana Smith; co-hosts/moderators, Nöen Malik and Nirali Rathwa; the SCWIST Board of Directors; Science World, for letting us produce the event from their studio; and of course, all of the attendees and our amazing Wonder Women. … and although she didn’t thank herself, a huge thanks was given to Danniele, emcee extraordinaire, for her commitment, planning, and expert hosting!

It was a treat to read the thanks and warm fuzzies being shared in the Zoom chat. Here are some comments from some of our attendees, post-event:

“Thank you so much for this amazing networking event! I loved the diversity of mentors, and was blown away by how willing they were to share their time and experience. Can’t wait for the next event!” – WWNE 2021 Attendee

“Being a Wonder Woman and having the opportunity to mentor younger women is immensely fulfilling. Thanks SCWIST for giving everyone this wonderful opportunity!” – WWNE 2021 Mentor

“I really enjoyed the networking event – it was fantastic to meet the wonder women, successful and self-confident professionals, and the other participants. I loved the insights about the job search, networking, and interviewing.” – WWNE 2021 Attendee

“This event was terrific, and wowzer the ladies participating were amazing. What synergy developed. I was totally energized. I even volunteered for more women mentoring and support efforts of our union afterwards. Everything seemed more positive and doable afterwards…I hope others felt the same way. We are so blessed to have such wonderful well balanced, professional women in our province. I feel so proud to be a part of that and will try to offer ways to help women and help anyone trying to get ahead.”  – WWNE 2021 Mentor

I can’t think of a better way to conclude this—they said it all—so thank you to all the Wonder Women, be they mentors or mentees, and to those who made the event happen. We’ll see you next year:  in-person, or virtually. Until then—stay Wonder-ful.