تصوير وظائف STEM في وسائط الأطفال

by كاساندرا بورد ، ماجستير علم النفس العصبي المعرفي ، جامعة كنت

كاساندرا بورد

أثناء تصفحي في ممرات متجر الكتب المفضل لدي ، صادفت منصة بيع لعدد كبير من كتب الأطفال. من خلال غمر نفسي في الحنين إلى قراءة هذه الكتب عندما كنت طفلاً ، لا يسعني إلا أن ألاحظ بينما أتصفحها ، الصور النمطية الصارخة المتأصلة في عدد كبير من القصص والرسوم التوضيحية.

يصور العديد من هذه الكتب الفتيات والنساء على أنهن ضعيفات وهشّات ، في حين أن تصوير الأولاد والرجال حازم وقوي. العديد من الآخرين الذين يسلطون الضوء على اختيار المهنة يسلطون الضوء على المثل الأعلى للمجتمع بأن الأولاد يكبرون ليصبحوا علماء ومهندسين ، بينما تلتزم النساء بمجالات "المساعدة" أو أن يصبحن أمهات في المنزل. في النهاية ، هذا يثير السؤال: ما هي هذه الصور النمطية الجنسانية التي تعلم الأطفال؟ هل تؤثر هذه الصور على الوظائف التي يختارونها مع تقدمهم في السن؟

ليس من غير المعقول افتراض أن هذه الصور سيكون لها تأثير سلبي على الكفاءة المتصورة للفتيات. تحفر السرد والرسوم التوضيحية النمطية المتكررة نفسها في أذهان الأطفال ويمكن أن تشكل معتقداتهم ورفاهيتهم. ماذا لو ، بسبب هذه الصور النمطية الجنسانية التي نراها في الكتب والأفلام ، تصوغ الفتيات الاعتقاد بأنهن غير قادرات على التغلب على العقبات وإكمال المهام الصعبة؟

وفقًا لدراسة ، اكتشف الباحثون أن العلماء الذكور كانوا أكثر عرضة بثلاث مرات من وجود العلماء الإناث في كتب الأطفال (ويلبراهام وكالدويل ، 2018). ذكر الباحثون في هذه الدراسة أهمية تسليط الضوء على النساء في وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، مشيرين إلى أن "الصور تنقل ما يعنيه ارتباط الرجال والنساء بهذه المهن ..." وأن "النساء بحاجة إلى التواجد في كتب علوم الأطفال لإثبات ذلك جميع المواد العلمية ترضي الفتيات ". هذا البيان ينطبق على جميع وظائف STEM. حتى الشخصيات غير البشرية تُعطى عادة ضمائر ذكورية. وفقًا لدراسة ، مع 60٪ من الشخصيات غير البشرية ، تم استخدام ضمير "هو" بنسبة 73٪ من الوقت (Ferguson، 2018).

على الرغم من أن محتوى كتب الأطفال قد يبدو وكأنه قضية تافهة ، إلا أنه مهم لتكوين توقعات الأطفال ومعتقداتهم مع تقدمهم في السن.

لا نريد أن تتساءل الفتيات والنساء عن قيمتهن المتأصلة وما إذا كانوا يرون أنفسهم قادرين على المساهمة في المجالات التي يهتمون بها. تساهم هذه المُثُل في عدم المساواة بين الجنسين التي نراها في المجتمع اليوم ، مع انخفاض عدد النساء العاملات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

السؤال الذي يجب أن نطرحه على أنفسنا هو كيف يمكن للمجتمع أن يحارب هذه المُثُل النمطية ويكسر الوضع الراهن؟

أولاً ، من الضروري نشر ممثل إعلامي للمرأة في المناصب القوية و / أو المجالات ذات الصلة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (الدراسة الدولية ، 2019). ستؤدي رؤية النساء في هذه المناصب إلى تطبيع النساء في المجالات / المناصب التي يهيمن عليها الذكور عادةً ، وقد يعزز اهتمام الفتيات بتولي هذه الأدوار بأنفسهن.

ثانيًا ، يجب أن نعلم الفتيات أنه بإمكانهن تطوير ذكاءهن من خلال تراكم المعرفة والتعلم المكثف ، بدلاً من تعليمهن أن ذكاءهن محدد مسبقًا عند الولادة ؛ يُعرف هذا باسم "عقلية النمو" (الدراسة الدولية ، 2019). إذا اعتقدت الفتيات أن ذكاءهن ثابت ، فقد يستسلمن بسهولة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمهام الصعبة. على سبيل المثال ، فإن الاعتقاد بأن الأولاد أقوى بطبيعتهم في الرياضيات سيساهم في العقلية الانهزامية عندما يتعلق الأمر بالرياضيات. بدلاً من ذلك ، فإن تشجيع الفتيات على أن التحسين يمكن أن يأتي مع الممارسة سيدعمهن ، وقد يؤدي إلى زيادة الاهتمام بالموضوع إذا اعتقدن أنهن يمكنهن بناء قدراتهن وقوتهن.

أخيرًا ، من المؤكد أن المتحدثين الضيوف من النساء سيكون لهم تأثير إيجابي في الفصل الدراسي (الدراسة الدولية ، 2019). إن معرفة أن الفتيات لديهن مرشدات يمكن أن يبحثن عنهن ويطمحون لأن يكن لهن تأثير إيجابي على مهاراتهن وقدراتهن. أظهرت إحدى الدراسات أنه عندما يكون لدى الفتيات نماذج يحتذى بها في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، فإن اهتمامهن بالمجالات المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات يزداد [41٪ مع نماذج يحتذى بها ، و 30٪ بدون قدوة] (مايكروسوفت المملكة المتحدة ، 2018).

مما لا شك فيه ، أنه كان هناك تقدم كبير في تصوير الفتيات والمهن التي ينتهي بها الأمر إلى اختيارهن. على سبيل المثال ، يحكي كتاب الأطفال "Elena's Serenade" لكامبل جيسلين قصة فتاة تحلم بأن تكون منفاخ زجاج مثل والدها ، ولكن أخبره أنها صغيرة جدًا وأن الفتيات لا يمكن أن يصبحن نافخات زجاج. في النهاية ، أثبتت أنها مخطئة للجميع من خلال كونها موهوبة جدًا في هذه التجارة ، وإظهار موهبتها الخاصة الإضافية في تحويل نفخ الزجاج إلى موسيقى. هذا مجرد مثال واحد على كيف يمكن للقصة البسيطة أن تشجع الفتيات على أن يطمحن إلى أن يكن ما يرغبن في أن يكن ، حتى عندما يكون هذا مجالًا لا نرى النساء في العادة تسعى إليه.

يجب على المجتمع أن يقود هذه المُثل إلى المقدمة وأن يقضي على الصور النمطية الجنسانية التي تعيق الفتيات والنساء عن السعي وراء شغفهن ، وبالتالي زيادة الثقة بالنفس والقضاء على أي حدود لما يمكن أن يحققوه.

STEM Career Portrayal in Children’s Media

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Kassandra Burd

Browsing through the aisles of my favourite bookstore, I come across a Sale stand for a plethora of children’s books. Immersing myself in the nostalgia of reading these books as a child, I can’t help but notice as I sift through them, the blatant gender stereotypes inherent in a good number of the stories and illustrations.

Several of these books depict girls and women as weak and fragile, while the depiction of boys and men are determined and strong. Many others that highlight career choice give prominence to the societal ideal that boys grow up to be scientists and engineers, while women stick to “helping” fields or become stay-at-home moms. Ultimately, this raises the question: What are these gender stereotypical portrayals teaching children? Do these portrayals have an effect on careers they choose as they get older?

It is not unreasonable to assume that these depictions would have a negative effect on girls’ perceived competence. Repeated stereotypical narratives and illustrations drill themselves into children’s’ minds and can shape their beliefs, and their well-being. What if, because of these gender stereotypes we see in books and movies, girls formulate the belief that they aren’t capable of overcoming obstacles and completing challenging tasks?

According to a study, researchers have discovered that male scientists were 3x more likely than female scientists to be found in children’s books (Wilbraham & Caldwell, 2018). The researchers of this study mention the importance of highlighting women in STEM careers, stating that “imagery communicates what it means for men and women to be associated with these occupations…” and that “women need to be present in children’s science books to demonstrate that all science subjects are fulfilling for girls.” This statement holds true for all STEM careers. Even non-human characters are commonly given male pronouns. According to a study, with 60% of non-human characters, the “he” pronoun was used 73% of the time (Ferguson, 2018).

Although the content of children’s books may seem like a trivial issue, it is crucial for the formation of children’s expectations and beliefs as they get older.

We do not want girls and women questioning their own inherent value and whether they perceive themselves as capable of contributing to fields they are passionate about. These ideals contribute to the lack of gender parity we see in society today, with a low number of women working in STEM fields.

The question we must ask ourselves is how could society combat these stereotypical ideals and break the status quo?

First, it is necessary to publish media representative of women in powerful positions and/or STEM-related fields (Study International, 2019). Seeing women in these positions will normalize women in typically male-dominated fields/positions, and might boost girls’ interest in occupying these roles themselves.

Second, we must teach girls that they can develop their intelligence with the accumulation of knowledge and extensive learning, as opposed to teaching them that their intelligence is predetermined at birth; this is otherwise known as the “growth mindset” (Study International, 2019). If girls believe that their intelligence is fixed, they might give up easier when it comes to challenging tasks. For instance, holding the belief that boys are inherently stronger at math will contribute to a defeatist mindset when it comes to math. Instead, encouraging girls that improvement can come with practice will support them, and may even cultivate an interest in the subject if they believe they can build their abilities and strength.

Lastly, guest speakers who are women would surely make a positive impact in the classroom (Study International, 2019). Knowing that girls have mentors they can look up to and aspire to be should have a positive effect on their own skills and aptitudes. One study has shown that when girls have role models in STEM, their interest in STEM-related fields increases [41% with role models, 30% without role models] (Microsoft UK, 2018).

Undoubtedly, there has been significant progress in the depiction of girls and the careers they end up choosing. For instance, the children’s book “Elena’s Serenade” by Campbell Geeslin tells the story of a girl who dreams of being a glass blower like her father, but is told by him that she is too small and that girls cannot become glassblowers. In the end, she proves everyone wrong by becoming very talented in this trade, and showing off her extra special talent of turning glassblowing into music. This is just one example of how a simple story can encourage girls to aspire to be whatever they wish to be, even when it’s a field we don’t typically see women pursuing.

Society must drive these ideals to the foreground and eliminate the gender stereotypes that hinder girls and women from pursuing their passions, thereby increasing self- confidence and eradicating any limits of what they can achieve.