性别平等悖论的局限性

by 卡珊德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd) 理学硕士 肯特大学认知神经心理学

卡桑德拉·伯德(Kassandra Burd)

完全明智的做法是,如果我们生活在一个性别平等的国家中,那么会有更多的女性从事STEM工作。

人们通常认为,如果男女平等,担任STEM领域职位的妇女人数将与男人持平。

但是,根据APS的《心理学》杂志上的一项研究,实际上并非如此。 似乎在众所周知的阻碍性别平等的国家中存在着“性别平等悖论”(Stoet&Geary,2018)。

例如,在阿尔及利亚等女性经常面临就业歧视的国家中,STEM领域中41%的大学毕业生是女性,而在美国等国家中,STEM中女性的比例要低得多(Stoet&Geary,2018) 。

在约旦,工程专业的女性占40%,而在美国,女性仅占19%(Mastroianni&McCoy,2018)。 这就意味着,如果在促进选择自由和完全自治的国家中赋予妇女权力,她们就不太可能选择STEM领域作为自己的理想职业。 这种负相关的可能原因是什么?

假设之一与性别平等国家有关,这些国家鼓励妇女从事自己喜欢的任何职业,或努力争取自己的优势所在。

在大多数国家/地区,男性往往在与数学/科学相关的领域表现出色,而女性在阅读和理解方面则更为出色(Khazan,2018年)。 据统计,有24%的女孩认为科学是他们最强的学科,而38%的男孩说科学是她们的最强学科。

在阅读和理解方面,有51%的人认为阅读是他们最好的学科,而只有20%的男孩在阅读方面表现出色(Khazan,2018)。 这一发现不仅产生了关于文化差异的问题,而且还引发了关于生物学差异的问题。

难道是女性对追求STEM不感兴趣? 这可能是可能的,但也可能是由于在此过程中女性可能受到歧视,因此她们没有动力从事STEM职业。 缺乏兴趣的原因更多可能是不受欢迎的,有毒的环境,这种环境是由占主导地位的男性文化造成的,而不仅仅是对数学和科学的兴趣。

因此,将STEM中缺乏女性归因于生物学差异可能是不准确的。 此外,年轻时常常说服女孩从事扮演传统的育儿角色的游戏,而男孩则被推向更具挑战性的科目,这些科目通常涉及与科学和工程有关的游戏。 最终,这揭示了环境在男人和女人的利益中起着重要作用的观念。

另一个假设是,性别平等程度较低的国家为没有传统性别角色但希望从事职业的妇女提供的支持较少。 由于缺乏支持和财务保障,妇女可能会倾向于STEM职业,因为她们产生了卓越的财务成果(Khazan,2018)。

这可能在某种程度上是正确的,但假设性别平等程度较低的国家/地区的女性认为STEM专业是她们的唯一选择,这可能是不准确的。 本质上,这创造了传统的刻板印象,即女性选择从事STEM事业的唯一原因是因为她们认为这是通往成功的唯一真实途径。 此外,它延续了错误的假设,即女性只是对STEM科目不感兴趣。 甚至更糟的是,他们不像男性同行那样胜任。

简而言之,重要的是要注意,这些研究可能没有考虑潜在的混杂因素和局限性; 显然,应该进行进一步的研究以更好地理解这种现象背后的原因。

但是,这是一个有趣的概念,即在倡导性别平等的国家中,妇女可能不太倾向于进入STEM领域。 性别和文化也许以一种尚未被发现的方式相互影响。 尽管如此,很显然,希望从事STEM事业的女性面临着无法克服的障碍,阻碍了她们从事这一事业。

根据研究,在数学和科学领域表现出色的女性人数要多于获得STEM学位的女性人数(Stoet&Geary,2018)。 关键不在于女性是否对STEM感兴趣,而更多地在于使她们期望的追求更加令人鼓舞并且更容易获得,以增加成功的可能性。

毫无疑问,无论是在STEM领域还是与非STEM相关的领域,妇女都可以做出很大的贡献,而且我们必须消除忽视妇女成就并阻碍其成就的障碍。 妇女应该有能力追求自己理想的职业选择,而不必担心没有晋升的空间,也没有社会压力试图影响妇女做出理所当然的决定。

Limitations of the Gender Equality Paradox

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Kassandra Burd

It’s completely sensible to think that if only we lived in a more gender-equal nation, there would be more women working in STEM.

It is often assumed that if men and women are perceived as equals, the balance of women who occupy STEM field positions would be on par with men.

However, according to a study published in APS’s Psychological Science, this is actually not the case. It would appear that there is a “gender equality paradox” that exists in nations that are known to discourage equality of the sexes (Stoet & Geary, 2018).

For instance, in countries such as Algeria where women often face employment discrimination, 41% of college graduates in STEM fields are female, whereas in countries such as the U.S., the proportion of women in STEM is much lower (Stoet & Geary, 2018).

In Jordan, engineering majors are made up of 40% of women, whereas in the U.S., they only make up 19% (Mastroianni & McCoy, 2018). The implication is that when women are empowered in countries promoting freedom of choice and total autonomy, they are less likely to choose STEM fields as their desired career. What could be the possible reasons for this negative correlation?

One of the assumptions has to do with gender-equal countries encouraging women to pursue whatever occupation they prefer, or work towards wherever their strengths lie.

In most countries, males tend to excel in math/science-related areas, whereas females excel more in reading and comprehension (Khazan, 2018). According to the statistics, 24% of girls mentioned science as being their strongest subject, whereas 38% of boys said that science was their strongest.

As for reading and comprehension, 51% considered reading to be their best subject, while only 20% of boys excelled in reading (Khazan, 2018). This finding not only generates questions about cultural differences but biological differences, as well.

Could it be that women just aren’t interested in pursuing STEM? This could be a possibility, but it could also be that women aren’t motivated to pursue STEM careers due to the discrimination they’re likely to encounter in the process. Lack of interest might stem more from the unwelcoming, toxic environment that is perpetuated by a dominant culture of men rather than a mere disinterest in the maths & sciences.

Therefore, it may be inaccurate to ascribe lack of women in STEM to biological differences. Moreover, at a young age, girls are often persuaded to engage in play that fulfills the traditional female role of nurturer, while boys are pushed towards more challenging subjects that frequently involve play related to science and engineering. Ultimately, this sheds light on the notion that environment plays a prominent role in men and women’s interests.

Another assumption is that less gender-equal countries provide less support to women who don’t undertake traditional gender roles but rather wish to pursue careers instead. Because of the lack of support and financial security, women might gravitate towards STEM professions due to the fact that they yield superior financial outcomes (Khazan, 2018).

This might partially be true, but it would be imprecise to assume that women in less gender-equal countries believe a STEM profession to be their only choice. Essentially, this creates the conventional stereotypical narrative that the only reason why women choose to pursue a career in STEM is because they believe it is the only true path to success. Further, it perpetuates the erroneous assumption that women just simply aren’t interested in STEM subjects; or worse, that they are not as competent as their male counterparts.

In short, it is important to note that there could be potential confounding factors and limitations that were not considered in these studies; it is evident that further research should be conducted to better comprehend the rationale behind this phenomenon.

However, it is an interesting concept that women might be less inclined to enter STEM fields in nations that advocate for gender equality. Perhaps gender and culture influence one another in ways yet to be discovered. Despite this, it is clear that women who do wish to pursue STEM careers face insurmountable barriers that prevent them from doing so.

According to research, there is a greater number of women who do excel in the maths and sciences than the number of women who end up with STEM degrees (Stoet & Geary, 2018). The point isn’t so much whether women are interested in STEM, but more about making their desired pursuits more encouraging and easily accessible in order to increase the likelihood of success.

It is no doubt that women have much to contribute whether it be in STEM fields or non-STEM related fields, and that we must eliminate the barriers that ignore women’s accomplishments and hinder their success. Women should be able to pursue their desired career choices without fear that there is no room for advancement, and without the societal pressures that attempt to influence women in decisions that are rightfully theirs.