حدود مفارقة المساواة بين الجنسين

by كاساندرا بورد ، ماجستير علم النفس العصبي المعرفي ، جامعة كنت

كاساندرا بورد

من المنطقي تمامًا التفكير أنه إذا عشنا فقط في دولة أكثر مساواة بين الجنسين ، لكان هناك المزيد من النساء العاملات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

غالبًا ما يُفترض أنه إذا تم النظر إلى الرجال والنساء على أنهم متساوون ، فإن توازن النساء اللائي يشغلن مناصب ميدانية في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات سيكون على قدم المساواة مع الرجال.

ومع ذلك ، وفقًا لدراسة نُشرت في مجلة علم النفس APS ، فإن هذا ليس هو الحال في الواقع. يبدو أن هناك "مفارقة المساواة بين الجنسين" الموجودة في الدول المعروف عنها أنها تثبط المساواة بين الجنسين (Stoet & Geary ، 2018).

على سبيل المثال ، في بلدان مثل الجزائر حيث غالبًا ما تواجه النساء تمييزًا في العمل ، 41٪ من خريجي الجامعات في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات من الإناث ، بينما في بلدان مثل الولايات المتحدة ، تكون نسبة النساء في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أقل بكثير (Stoet & Geary ، 2018) .

في الأردن ، تخصص الهندسة 40٪ من النساء ، بينما في الولايات المتحدة ، يشكلن 19٪ فقط (Mastroianni & McCoy، 2018). المعنى الضمني هو أنه عندما يتم تمكين المرأة في البلدان التي تعزز حرية الاختيار والاستقلالية الكاملة ، فمن غير المرجح أن تختار مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات كمهنة مرغوبة. ما هي الأسباب المحتملة لهذا الارتباط السلبي؟

يتعلق أحد الافتراضات ببلدان المساواة بين الجنسين التي تشجع المرأة على ممارسة أي مهنة تفضلها ، أو العمل من أجلها أينما تكمن قوتها.

في معظم البلدان ، يميل الذكور إلى التفوق في المجالات المتعلقة بالرياضيات / العلوم ، بينما تتفوق الإناث أكثر في القراءة والفهم (خزان ، 2018). وفقًا للإحصاءات ، ذكر 24٪ من الفتيات أن العلوم هي أقوى مادة لديهم ، في حين قال 38٪ من الأولاد أن العلوم كانت أقوى مادة لديهم.

أما بالنسبة للقراءة والفهم ، فقد اعتبر 51٪ أن القراءة هي أفضل مادة لديهم ، بينما تفوق 20٪ فقط في القراءة (خزان ، 2018). هذا الاكتشاف لا يولد فقط أسئلة حول الاختلافات الثقافية ولكن الاختلافات البيولوجية أيضًا.

هل يمكن أن تكون النساء غير مهتمات بمتابعة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات؟ قد يكون هذا احتمالًا ، ولكن قد يكون أيضًا هو عدم تحفيز النساء لمتابعة مهن العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بسبب التمييز الذي من المحتمل أن يواجهوه في هذه العملية. قد ينبع عدم الاهتمام أكثر من البيئة السامة غير المرحب بها والتي تديمها ثقافة سائدة للرجال بدلاً من مجرد عدم الاهتمام بالرياضيات والعلوم.

لذلك ، قد يكون من غير الدقيق أن نعزو نقص النساء في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات إلى الاختلافات البيولوجية. علاوة على ذلك ، في سن مبكرة ، غالبًا ما يتم إقناع الفتيات بالمشاركة في اللعب الذي يؤدي الدور الأنثوي التقليدي للرعاية ، بينما يتم دفع الأولاد نحو موضوعات أكثر تحديًا تتضمن غالبًا اللعب المتعلق بالعلوم والهندسة. في نهاية المطاف ، يسلط هذا الضوء على فكرة أن البيئة تلعب دورًا بارزًا في مصالح الرجال والنساء.

افتراض آخر هو أن البلدان الأقل مساواة بين الجنسين تقدم دعمًا أقل للنساء اللواتي لا يضطلعن بأدوار تقليدية بين الجنسين ولكنهن يرغبن بدلاً من ذلك في متابعة الوظائف بدلاً من ذلك. بسبب نقص الدعم والأمن المالي ، قد تنجذب النساء نحو مهن العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات نظرًا لحقيقة أنها تحقق نتائج مالية أفضل (خزان ، 2018).

قد يكون هذا صحيحًا جزئيًا ، لكن سيكون من غير الدقيق افتراض أن النساء في البلدان الأقل مساواة بين الجنسين يعتقدن أن مهنة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات هي خيارهن الوحيد. بشكل أساسي ، يخلق هذا سردًا نمطيًا تقليديًا مفاده أن السبب الوحيد الذي يجعل النساء تختار ممارسة مهنة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات هو اعتقادهن بأنه الطريق الحقيقي الوحيد للنجاح. علاوة على ذلك ، فإنه يديم الافتراض الخاطئ بأن النساء ببساطة غير مهتمات بموضوعات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ؛ أو ما هو أسوأ ، أنهم ليسوا مؤهلين مثل نظرائهم الذكور.

باختصار ، من المهم ملاحظة أنه يمكن أن تكون هناك عوامل مربكة محتملة وقيود لم يتم أخذها في الاعتبار في هذه الدراسات ؛ من الواضح أنه ينبغي إجراء مزيد من البحث لفهم الأساس المنطقي وراء هذه الظاهرة بشكل أفضل.

ومع ذلك ، فمن المثير للاهتمام أن النساء قد يكونن أقل ميلًا لدخول مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في الدول التي تدافع عن المساواة بين الجنسين. ربما يؤثر الجنس والثقافة على بعضهما البعض بطرق لم يتم اكتشافها بعد. على الرغم من ذلك ، من الواضح أن النساء اللواتي يرغبن في متابعة وظائف في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات يواجهن حواجز لا يمكن التغلب عليها تمنعهن من القيام بذلك.

وفقًا للبحث ، هناك عدد أكبر من النساء اللائي يتفوقن في الرياضيات والعلوم أكثر من عدد النساء اللائي حصلن على درجات STEM (Stoet & Geary ، 2018). لا يقتصر الأمر على ما إذا كانت النساء مهتمات بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، ولكن الأمر يتعلق بجعل مساعيهن المرغوبة أكثر تشجيعًا ويمكن الوصول إليها بسهولة من أجل زيادة احتمالية النجاح.

مما لا شك فيه أن المرأة لديها الكثير لتساهم به سواء كان ذلك في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات أو المجالات غير المتعلقة بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، ويجب علينا إزالة الحواجز التي تتجاهل إنجازات المرأة وتعيق نجاحها. يجب أن تكون المرأة قادرة على متابعة اختياراتها المهنية المرغوبة دون خوف من عدم وجود مجال للتقدم ، وبدون الضغوط المجتمعية التي تحاول التأثير على المرأة في القرارات التي هي بحقها.

Limitations of the Gender Equality Paradox

by Kassandra Burd, M.Sc. Cognitive Neuropsychology, University of Kent

Kassandra Burd

It’s completely sensible to think that if only we lived in a more gender-equal nation, there would be more women working in STEM.

It is often assumed that if men and women are perceived as equals, the balance of women who occupy STEM field positions would be on par with men.

However, according to a study published in APS’s Psychological Science, this is actually not the case. It would appear that there is a “gender equality paradox” that exists in nations that are known to discourage equality of the sexes (Stoet & Geary, 2018).

For instance, in countries such as Algeria where women often face employment discrimination, 41% of college graduates in STEM fields are female, whereas in countries such as the U.S., the proportion of women in STEM is much lower (Stoet & Geary, 2018).

In Jordan, engineering majors are made up of 40% of women, whereas in the U.S., they only make up 19% (Mastroianni & McCoy, 2018). The implication is that when women are empowered in countries promoting freedom of choice and total autonomy, they are less likely to choose STEM fields as their desired career. What could be the possible reasons for this negative correlation?

One of the assumptions has to do with gender-equal countries encouraging women to pursue whatever occupation they prefer, or work towards wherever their strengths lie.

In most countries, males tend to excel in math/science-related areas, whereas females excel more in reading and comprehension (Khazan, 2018). According to the statistics, 24% of girls mentioned science as being their strongest subject, whereas 38% of boys said that science was their strongest.

As for reading and comprehension, 51% considered reading to be their best subject, while only 20% of boys excelled in reading (Khazan, 2018). This finding not only generates questions about cultural differences but biological differences, as well.

Could it be that women just aren’t interested in pursuing STEM? This could be a possibility, but it could also be that women aren’t motivated to pursue STEM careers due to the discrimination they’re likely to encounter in the process. Lack of interest might stem more from the unwelcoming, toxic environment that is perpetuated by a dominant culture of men rather than a mere disinterest in the maths & sciences.

Therefore, it may be inaccurate to ascribe lack of women in STEM to biological differences. Moreover, at a young age, girls are often persuaded to engage in play that fulfills the traditional female role of nurturer, while boys are pushed towards more challenging subjects that frequently involve play related to science and engineering. Ultimately, this sheds light on the notion that environment plays a prominent role in men and women’s interests.

Another assumption is that less gender-equal countries provide less support to women who don’t undertake traditional gender roles but rather wish to pursue careers instead. Because of the lack of support and financial security, women might gravitate towards STEM professions due to the fact that they yield superior financial outcomes (Khazan, 2018).

This might partially be true, but it would be imprecise to assume that women in less gender-equal countries believe a STEM profession to be their only choice. Essentially, this creates the conventional stereotypical narrative that the only reason why women choose to pursue a career in STEM is because they believe it is the only true path to success. Further, it perpetuates the erroneous assumption that women just simply aren’t interested in STEM subjects; or worse, that they are not as competent as their male counterparts.

In short, it is important to note that there could be potential confounding factors and limitations that were not considered in these studies; it is evident that further research should be conducted to better comprehend the rationale behind this phenomenon.

However, it is an interesting concept that women might be less inclined to enter STEM fields in nations that advocate for gender equality. Perhaps gender and culture influence one another in ways yet to be discovered. Despite this, it is clear that women who do wish to pursue STEM careers face insurmountable barriers that prevent them from doing so.

According to research, there is a greater number of women who do excel in the maths and sciences than the number of women who end up with STEM degrees (Stoet & Geary, 2018). The point isn’t so much whether women are interested in STEM, but more about making their desired pursuits more encouraging and easily accessible in order to increase the likelihood of success.

It is no doubt that women have much to contribute whether it be in STEM fields or non-STEM related fields, and that we must eliminate the barriers that ignore women’s accomplishments and hinder their success. Women should be able to pursue their desired career choices without fear that there is no room for advancement, and without the societal pressures that attempt to influence women in decisions that are rightfully theirs.