亚历山德拉·内斯特乔克(Alexandra Nestertchouk)和霍普基兹(HopKidz):为父母提供灵活的育儿选择,以适应他们的生活方式

亚历山德拉·内斯特乔克(Alexandra Nestertchouk)(图片来源: 马克辛·布洛克)

什么时候 亚历山德拉·内斯特乔克(Alexandra Nestertchouk) 有了儿子,她的生活发生了巨大变化,可以按计划照顾他。 在诸如约会之类的时刻,她仍然需要灵活的托儿服务,但现在还没有。

的想法 霍普·基兹,按需提供托儿服务,始于亚历山德拉(Alexandra)预约牙医的时间。 在完成牙科手术的过程中,她安排了一个保姆来照顾她的儿子,但是保姆在亚历山德拉任命开始前的两个小时就取消了。

接下来的一个半小时,她打电话给朋友和照顾孩子的机构,但没有时间立即通知她。 她甚至不能在平常的体育馆里使用照看孩子的服务,因为父母必须待在该处。 她唯一的选择是支付取消费,并等待四个月才能进行下一次约会。

从那以后,亚历山德拉决定要为父母提供一项服务,以提供按需的最后一刻育儿服务。

她对自己创办公司充满信心,因为她来自一个商业女性和领导者家庭-她82岁的祖母甚至拥有并经营着自己的商店。

“我一直怀着这样的态度:如果您对任何事情都不喜欢,而不必抱怨,那就去改变吧。 做点什么,”她说。

“我认为这可能是一个很好的机会,所以我决定为此做点事情。 HopKidz出生了。”

亚历山德拉在BDO上展示HopKidz(照片由亚历山德拉提供)

建立团队

寻找合适的员工来组建她的HopKidz团队对于Alexandra来说是一个挑战。 她的专业知识帮助她处理了业务运营,但是她需要高级人才来构建技术结构。

她说:“在温哥华,这非常困难,因为那里的人口并不多,而且温哥华还有很多科技公司和许多新兴公司,这是一个非常活跃的创业社区。”

“我们还有其他公司,大公司进来,而且这家公司离旧金山和硅谷非常近,以至于我们的技术人员都遭到了猎杀。”

亚历山德拉确实设法找到了坚强的成员加入她的行列 球队 她的首席技术官兼硅谷公司前任顾问Alex Dorandish以及Anastasia Chetvertukhina。 当需要聘用和面试潜在的新团队成员时,亚历山德拉通常会把她的伴侣和阿纳斯塔西娅带到她那里,并有多种观点。

家庭价值观

亚历山德拉(Alexandra)于2017年XNUMX月成立了HopKidz,其价值观是家庭对于她自己和她的雇员而言总是第一位。 会议将安排在家庭周围,无论是生孩子还是参加独奏会。

但是,保持这种价值会遇到挑战。 一家新公司需要花些时间才能上手,随着公司的成长,日程安排变得更加复杂。

Alexandra亲身经历了HopKidz的第一个夏天公司消耗了多少时间。 她能够与儿子共度时光的时间受到了获得工作产品的巨大压力的限制。

亚历山德拉在郁金香节上与家人和儿子共度美好时光(图片来源: 波琳娜·波诺马连科(Polina Ponomarenko))

“这是最困难的事情。 我有一个理想的愿景,即“天哪,我现在正在将所有精力投入到我的事业中,所以当我的儿子5或6岁时,我将参加他的每场独奏会,我将参加每场学校比赛,将会带他到处走走,到处走走,”,但在过去的10个月中,我一直在寻找我实际上错过了多少时间,这真是令人恐惧,”她说。

现在,她将平日的第一部分献给儿子准备日托。 对于她来说,星期日也是“无电脑”日,因此她可以专注于家庭时间。

她的公司方法改变了,以重新确立发展中“家庭至上”的价值。 团队放慢了脚步,因为亚历山德拉(Alexandra)相信创业公司是一场马拉松比赛,而不是一场比赛。

扩大视野

尽管车队放慢了脚步,但对HopKidz的需求却没有。 交易在启动后的头几个月开始处理,并且照顾者迅速申请成为服务的一部分。

HopKidz对申请人进行筛选,以确保其具有急救和CPR认证,犯罪记录检查以及当前的育儿许可证。 最终,亚历山德拉(Alexandra)希望为父母提供看护者的通道,使他们可以放心地离开孩子。

亚历山德拉对公司的最初愿景是在短时间内提供紧急急救服务。 HopKidz可以解决父母最后一刻的不幸。

她说:“我们希望让父母有机会在最后一刻预订,因为生活节奏很疯狂。”

此后,愿景已从仅紧急救助演变为灵活的托儿服务,无论是在某个地方进行的救助,还是看护者到家中。 轮班工人表示他们对灵活护理感兴趣,其中一个主要群体是医疗保健专业人员和酒店管理人员。

“他们不知道他们的日程安排,然后星期一至星期五的9到5日常规托儿服务对他们不起作用,因为他们不得不为可能甚至不使用的服务支付过多的费用,而托儿服务也不会在部分时间接受每天都有变化的时间表作为依据。”亚历山德拉说。

轮班工人可以在需要时通过HopKidz预订儿童保育。 保姆将其可用性发布到平台上,家长可以提前或提前预订他们需要的东西。

亚历山德拉(Alexandra)在电梯会议和投资者会议之间的地铁上睡得很香(照片由亚历山德拉(Alexandra)提供)

BC军方和不列颠哥伦比亚大学还与Alexandra接触,寻求为员工提供托儿服务。 目前,Alexandra和她的团队正在努力开发其平台的移动应用程序,以使其用户更易于访问其服务。

她说:“基于他们的行业反馈,父母显然要求使用移动设备,因为许多用户甚至不了解Web应用程序,因为90%以上的流量是通过移动设备到达我们的。”

回馈他人

业余时间,亚历山德拉(Alexandra)也已开始撰写自己的Instagram微博,其标签为 @chickwhobusiness。 她开设了该帐户,以便能够分享自己的经验并继续她在创业过程中所学到的知识。

一个重要的教训是学会对她目前拥有的东西感到满意。

她写道:“摆脱所有假设,摆脱所有不必要的东西,学会区分自己的优先事项,以及使自己从社会,同事,老板,朋友,家庭成员对您的期望中获得的快乐” 。

“最后,您不欠任何人任何东西。 您可以选择这样做,但是,您唯一的责任就是对自己–快乐和健康。”

Alexandra Nestertchouk & HopKidz: Giving parents flexible childcare options to fit their lifestyles

Alexandra Nestertchouk (Photo Credit: Maxine Bulloch)

When Alexandra Nestertchouk had her son, her life drastically shifted to be able to take care of him on his schedule. There were still moments, such as appointments, where she needed the flexibility of childcare and it wasn’t there.

The idea for HopKidz, an on-demand childcare service, started when Alexandra had a dentist appointment. She had a baby sitter lined up to look after her son while she had the dental procedure done, but the sitter cancelled two hours before the start of Alexandra’s appointment.

She spent the next hour and a half on the phone calling friends and childminding agencies, but there was no availability on short notice. She couldn’t even use the childminding service at her usual gym because the parents have to stay on the premises. Her only option was to pay the cancellation fee and wait four months for the next available appointment.

From there, Alexandra decided that she wanted to create a service for parents that could provide on-demand, last minute childcare.

She felt confident in starting her own company because she comes from a family of business women and leaders — her 82-year-old grandmother even own and runs her own shop.

“I’ve been raised with the attitude that if you don’t like anything about anything, instead of complaining, be the change. Do something about it,” she said.

“I looked that this may be a good opportunity so I decided to do something about it. HopKidz was born.”

Alexandra presenting HopKidz at BDO (Photo courtesy of Alexandra)

Building the Team

Finding the right employees to build up her HopKidz team was a challenge for Alexandra. Her expertise helped her handle business operations, but she needed senior talent for building the technology structures.

“It’s very tough in Vancouver because there is, well Vancouver’s population is not that large, and there’s a bunch of technology companies and a number of booming startups, a very vibrate startup community,” she said.

“We have other companies, larger companies, who are coming in and this is so close to San Francisco and Silicon Valley that our techies are getting poached.”

Alexandra did manage to find strong members to join her team such Alex Dorandish, her CTO and previous consultant for a Silicon Valley company, and Anastasia Chetvertukhina. When it’s time to hire and interview a potential new team member, Alexandra will often bring her partner and Anastasia in with her to have multiple perspectives.

Family values

Alexandra first established HopKidz in September 2017 with the value that family always comes first for herself and her employees. Meetings would be scheduled around family, whether it was for a child getting sick, or attending a recital.

Keeping that value can run into challenges, however. A new company takes time to get started and as it grows, the scheduling becomes more complex.

Alexandra experienced first hand how much time a company consumes during the first summer of HopKidz. The time she was able to spend with her son was limited with the intense pressure to get a working product.

Alexandra spending family time with her partner and son at the Tulip Festival (Photo Credit: Polina Ponomarenko)

“This was the most difficult thing. I have this ideal vision that ‘oh my god I’m putting in all of this energy into my business right now so when my son is 5 or 6 years I will attend every one of his recitals, I will attend every school play, I will take him here and there and everywhere’, but over the past 10 months I’m looking at how much time I’ve actually missed out and that is scary,” she said.

Now, she dedicates the first part of her weekdays getting her son ready for daycare. Sunday is also a ‘no computer’ day for her so that she can focus on family time.

Her company approach changed to re-establish the ‘family first’ value moving forward in development. The team has slowed their pace because Alexandra believes that a startup is a marathon and not a race.

Expanding her vision

While the team has slowed the pace, the demand for HopKidz hasn’t. Transactions started being processed in the first few months after the launch and caregivers quickly applied to be a part of the service.

HopKidz has a screening process for applicants that ensures first aid and CPR certification, a criminal record check and a current child care license. Ultimately, Alexandra wanted to provide parents access to caregivers they could feel safe leaving their children with.

Alexandra’s initial vision for the company was to provide emergency drop-in care on short notice. HopKidz would be the solution to parent’s last-minute life mishaps.

“We wanted to give parents the opportunity to book last minute because the life pace is crazy,” she said.

The vision has since evolved from emergency drop-in only to flexible childcare, whether that was drop-in at a location, or a caregiver comes to the home. One major group that expressed their interest in flexible care were shift workers, such as healthcare professionals and hotel management.

“They don’t know their schedule and then the regular 9 to 5, Monday to Friday daycare doesn’t work for them because they have to overpay for the service that they may not even use and daycares would not accept them on a part time basis with a changing schedule everyday,” said Alexandra.

Shift workers can instead book childcare through HopKidz when they need it. Caregivers post their availability on the platform and parents can book what they need either short notice, or in advance.

Alexandra getting whatever sleep she can get on a subway between the Elevate conference and an investors meetings (Photo courtesy of Alexandra)

Alexandra has also been approached by the BC Military and the University of British Columbia to explore providing childcare services for their employees. Currently, Alexandra and her team are working on producing a mobile application of their platform to make their service more accessible to their users.

“Based on their industry feedback parents are clearly demanding mobile because many did not even understand the web application because more than 90% of the traffic came through mobile to us,” she said.

Giving back to others

In her spare time, Alexandra has also started writing her own Instagram microblog under the tag @chickwhobusiness. She started the account to be able to share her experience and pass on what she’s learned in her entrepreneurial process.

One big lesson was learning to be happy with what she has in the moment.

“Get rid of all the assumptions, get rid of all the unnecessary stuff, learn to differentiate your own priorities and what makes YOU happy from what you think is expected of you by society, colleagues, boss, friends, family members,” she wrote.

“At the end, you do not owe anything to anyone. You may choose to do this and that, but the only duty you have is to yourself — that’s to be happy and healthy.”