关于该计划

STEM Streams 试点计划为已表示有兴趣从事 STEM 职业但希望培养更多就业前技能的女性*提供免费且可获得的机会,以便获得获得所需 STEM 工作的能力。 在接下来的一年中,参与者将完成 8 个就业前和技能发展研讨会。 以下是研讨会将涵盖的 8 个主题的示例。

  • 推销你的技能:简历写作,求职信
  • 提升您的在线形象:网络和社交媒体。
  • 培养你的电梯演讲和面试技巧
  • 网络技巧
  • 攀登职业阶梯
  • 不同学科之间的职业规划和过渡、建立关系的技巧以及如何寻找导师。 [自我意识和找到你的目标]
  • 数字技能和理解,即 Web3 [区块链技术]
  • 驾驭工作场所文化:自我倡导,了解您的工作场所权利和义务

STEM Streams 的参与者还将获得导师、个性化职业支持,并有机会在全年接受其他专业发展培训。 STEM Streams 还将根据参与者的需求提供全方位支持服务。

适用人群

我们正在专门寻找对 STEM 职业感兴趣的女性*,她们有兴趣在 STEM 领域从事职业,她们属于以下五个代表性不足的群体中的任何一个:种族化、土著、2SLGBTQ+、残疾和/或长期脱离劳动力。

*我们欢迎女性——顺性别者和变性者——以及在关注女性体验并受女性体验驱动的空间中感到舒适的性别酷儿。

我如何注册?

请填写一个 表达意向书 如果您有兴趣注册。 我们以滚动方式接受参与者。 如果您有任何疑问或需要填写表格的支持,请发送电子邮件至: [电子邮件保护]

常见问题

我怎么知道我是否有资格参加该计划?

如果您符合以下四个条件,您就有资格:

  1. 您有兴趣在 STEM 领域推进职业发展。
  2. 您是一名女性(或在专注于女性体验的空间中感到舒适的性别多样化的人),并且您将自我认定为 2SLGBTQIA+ 社区的成员,和/或残疾人,和/或一个种族化的人,和/或作为一个土著人,和/或一个长时间没有工作的人。
  3. 您已年满 18 岁。
  4. 您是加拿大公民或加拿大永久居民。

该计划需要什么?

该计划围绕八个基础就业前和培训研讨会构建,将帮助您在 STEM 职业中取得进步。 我们预计您将需要两个月的时间来完成该计划,但您可能需要长达十个月的时间。

研讨会将每周重复两次:美国东部时间周三上午 9 点至下午 4 点和太平洋标准时间周四上午 9 点至下午 4 点。 在整个计划中,我们将提供补充职业支持,例如社交活动和额外的专业发展研讨会。 完成 8 个就业前研讨会后,您将获得个性化的 STEM 工作和职业机会(实习、指导、招聘会、工作机会等)。

该计划将如何交付?

该计划将以混合格式提供。 所有研讨会都将以虚拟方式进行,如果愿意,参与者将有机会亲自聚集在一起作为一个团体参加研讨会(仅限某些主要城市)。 一些全方位服务和支持将完全在线提供,其他则完全面对面提供。

如果我需要托儿服务、请假一天或通勤到车间和/或其他住所怎么办?

我们提供许多全方位服务,帮助您参与我们的计划并实现您的职业目标,包括带薪托儿、交通和带薪休假。 请让我们知道 表达意向书 如果您需要任何支持。

你的资金从何而来?

STEM Streams 试点项目由加拿大政府资助。

About the Program

The STEM Streams pilot program is a free and accessible opportunity for women* who have expressed interest in pursuing a career in STEM but would like to build more pre-employment skills to feel empowered to obtain the STEM job they want. Over the course of the next year, participants will complete 8 pre-employment and skill-development workshops. Below is a sample of 8 topics the workshops will cover.

  • Market your skills: Resume writing, Cover letter
  • Elevate your online presence: Networking and social media.
  • Build your elevator pitch and interview skills
  • Networking skills
  • Climb the career ladder
  • Career planning and transitioning between different disciplines, relationship-building skills and how to find mentors. [Self awareness and finding your purpose]
  • Digital skills and understanding i.e., Web3 [Blockchain technology]
  • Navigating workplace culture: self-advocacy, know your workplace rights and obligations

Participants of STEM Streams will also gain access to mentors, personalized career support and have the opportunity to pursue other professional development training throughout the year. STEM Streams will also provide wrap-around support services depending on the needs of the participants.

Who is it for?

We are looking specifically for women* interested in a career in STEM who have an interest in pursuing careers in the STEM field who identify as any of these five underrepresented groups: racialized, Indigenous, 2SLGBTQ+, living with disabilities, and/or prolonged detachment from the labour force.

*We welcome women – cisgender and transgender – as well as genderqueer people who are comfortable in spaces that focus on and are driven by the experiences of women.

How do I sign up?

Please fill out an Expression of Interest Form if you are interested in registering. We accept participants on a rolling basis. If you have any questions or need support filling out the form, please email: [email protected]

FAQs

How do I know if I am eligible for the program?

You are eligible if you meet the following four criteria:

  1. You have an interest in advancing a career in STEM.
  2. You are a woman (or gender-diverse person who is comfortable in spaces focusing on the experiences of women), and you self-identify as a member of the 2SLGBTQIA+ community, and/or as a person with a disability, and/or as a racialized person, and/or as an Indigenous person, and/or a person who has been out of the workforce for an extended period or time.
  3. You are 18+ of age.
  4. You are a Canadian Citizen or a Permanent Resident of Canada.

What does the program entail?

The program is structured around eight foundational pre-employment & training workshops that will help you advance in a STEM career. We anticipate that it will take you two months to complete the program, though you may take up to ten months.

Workshops will repeat twice a week: Wednesdays from 9am-4pm EST and Thursdays from 9am-4pm PST. Throughout the program we will offer supplemental career support such as networking events and additional professional development workshops. Once you have completed the 8 pre-employment workshops you will gain access to personalized STEM job and and career opportunities (internships, mentorships, career fairs, job opportunities and more.)

How will the program be delivered?

The program will be delivered in hybrid format. All workshops will be delivered virtually and if preferred, participants will have opportunities to gather in-person to attend the workshops as a group (in certain major cities only). Some wrap-around services and supports will be delivered fully online, others fully in-person.

What if I need child care, take a day off work, or commute to the workshops and or other accommodations?

We offer many wrap-around services to help you access our program and achieve your career goals, including paid childcare, transportation, and a paid day off work. Please let us know in the Expression of Interest Form if you require any support.

Where does your funding come from?

The STEM Streams pilot project is funded by the Government of Canada.