SCWIST特别:金伯利·沃尔的访谈

金伯利·沃尔 是一名游戏开发人员,研究人员和艺术家,在温哥华科技界有着强烈而活跃的声音。 在许多其他活动中,金伯利(Kimberly)率先领导了温哥华全球游戏大战(Vancouver Global Game Jam),创纪录数量的独立开发商蜂拥而至,在48小时内开发新游戏。 在不列颠哥伦比亚大学和数字媒体中心任教之后,金伯利目前将她100%的时间用于 径向游戏。 安娜·佩斯基塔(Ana Pesquita)为SCWIST采访了金伯利·沃尔(15th 2015年XNUMX月)。

 

ATT00001

 

 

西南工业大学:您是如何进入游戏开发的?

KV:游戏从一开始就是我的DNA。 从我在Atari 2600上玩两到三岁的那一刻起,我就完全被视频游戏的叙事迷住了,迷上了它们将我们转移到其他地方不存在的能力。 在热爱游戏的同时,我也热爱电脑。 我从很小的时候就开始编程,编写自己的游戏以及与聊天机器人玩游戏。 这都是蜿蜒曲折的路线的一部分,这使我对人类的工作方式,思维方式和说话方式产生了兴趣。 最终,这种兴趣使我进入大学的方式更加丰富多彩,在那里我最终获得了认知科学学位,之后又获得了博士学位。 专注于人工智能的计算机科学专业。 在整个这段时间里,我的创造力和知识力一直在玩游戏和创作自己的游戏。 完成博士学位后我开始寻求与温哥华游戏公司的联系。 最近,我决定挑战自己发布自己的游戏。 所以我做到了; 我现在以电子游戏为生。

 

西南工业大学:您认为电子游戏在多大程度上反映了文化和社会?

KV:我认为游戏本质上是人类。 要创造出色的体验,您必须更多地了解人们。 他们如何思考,如何跌倒,如何看待自己以及如何在世界上找到自己的位置。 游戏中总是反映出人类惊人的面貌。 通过扩展,游戏也反映了我们的文化。 由于缺乏更好的表达方式,我们可以看到游戏的健康性和多样性反映了我们文化的健康性。 今天的游戏诉说着我们文化的本质。 目前,我相信我们的文化正在不断变化。 这些变化主要围绕着我们如何识别个体。 关于我们如何看待诸如性别之类的自我识别概念的过程中,正在发生一些根本性的变化。 性别作为一种二元概念已开始被性别作为一种频谱更频繁地取代。 这是一个重大的根本性转变。 通常,游戏反映了我们生活中的许多社会规范性二进制文件。 性别是最重要的因素之一。

 

西南工业大学:您的座右铭“人人享有所有人的游戏”表明在游戏界需要包容性。 在社区或行业中,您在哪里看到最大的变革需求?

KV:在社区中,越来越多的人对性别流动性的概念越来越满意。 性别作为一个概念应该不像您个人身份那样重要。 但是鉴于此,性别是什么? 我们很多人在一个告诉我们性别是决定您喜欢粉红色还是蓝色,玩这些玩具,从事这些职业,擅长这些学科的环境中长大。 看来,这一切都是由性别决定的。 性别有助于我们更快地对人做出假设,但我希望我们放慢脚步,退后一步,只是通过人们的身份来认识人们。 另一方面,从行业的角度来看,很容易看出它们处于真正的困境。 他们存在是为了赚钱。 他们本质上不是邪恶的。 他们正在努力追求一个目标,即推销产品或服务。 促使人们购买产品的一种行之有效的方法是引导人们在某种程度上认同该产品。 这些维度之一就是性别。 工业是渔获物的一部分。22以某种产品向人们推销产品的方式来增强性别二​​进制文件,然后使人们接触这些性别二进制文件,从而加强了它们。 很难做到。

 

西南工业大学:在您作为游戏开发人员的工作中,您如何处理隐性性别定型观念?

KV:当我发现自己对自己的语言,自己的举止,开玩笑的方式做出许多假设时,我感到充满挑战和不安。我试图成为一个好人,但我可能会发现自己不小心为自己做出了贡献误解的刻板印象。 因此,作为游戏开发人员,总的来说,我必须保持警惕。 我认为最重要的是创建一个可以讨论这些问题的安全地点。 例如,如果您正在开发游戏内容,那么最好是就该内容的含义进行对话。 很难做到正确,我们永远不会完美,我们可能仍然不小心踩到脚趾,或者将脚踩在嘴里。 但是,如果我们的意图是好的,并且我们可以安全地讨论这个问题,我相信我们大家都可以一起学习。 我们可以付出更多的努力来帮助人们找到进行这些艰难对话的工具和空间,从而更好。

 

西南工业大学:您是否认为游戏是社会变革的工具?

KV:游戏从根本上说是一种交互式媒体。 与电影或书本不同,在电影或书本中,您更多地是被动消费者,游戏使您处于代理商的位置,在代理商中,您可以控制并做出选择。 游戏开发人员可以邀请玩家进入其他情况,并让他们选择在日常生活中不会遇到的选择。 因此,游戏为我们提供了展示不同观点并影响人们世界观发展的工具。 例如,我最喜欢的游戏之一是 Journey 在这个世界中,您和其他人沉迷于华丽的世界中,并共同分享了这个新世界的经验。 另一个很好的例子是 Papo&Yo,探讨了拥有酗酒父母身分的挑战。 游戏可以提供一种安全的方式来体验别人的现实。 游戏可能是让自己陷入困境的安全方法。 或至少将脚趾放在鞋上,并通过这种体验可能开始以不同的方式欣赏事物。

 

西南工业大学:您能否提供一些有关如何发展游戏的技巧,尤其是有关如何从学术界过渡到该领域的技巧?

KV:您可以做的第一件事就是转变为产业。 制作自己的游戏,制作自己的互动内容,编写程序以及构建应用。 寻找机会弄脏你的手。 做一些反映您将在行业中做的事情的事情。 这将建立我们的简历,但也将建立您自己的信心,最重要的是,它将突出您自己的理解上的漏洞,以便您然后寻找方法填补这些漏洞。 如果您处在学术界,并且不以这种方式来推动自己,那么当它过渡到行业时,您可能没有公司所寻找的相关经验。 因此,对于招聘方面的人员而言,可能很难看到您将如何转化为他们公司的矩阵。 因此,构建东西,创建东西,然后过渡通常是非常无缝的。

SCWIST Special: Interview with Kimberly Voll

Kimberly Voll is a game developer, researcher and artist, and a strong and active voice in the Vancouver tech community. Among many other activities, Kimberly has spearheaded the Vancouver Global Game Jam, where a record number of independent developers flock to create new games in 48 hours. After teaching at both the University of British Columbia and the Centre for Digital Media, currently Kimberly dedicates 100% of her time to game development at Radial Games. Ana Pesquita interviewed Kimberly Voll for SCWIST (15th of September, 2015).

 

ATT00001

 

 

SCWIST: How did you get into game development?

KV: Gaming has been in my DNA from the beginning. From the time I was two or three years old playing on the Atari 2600, I was totally captivated by the narrative aspect of video games and fell in love with their ability to transfer us to places that otherwise couldn’t exist. Simultaneously with the love for games I developed a love for computers. From a very young age I started programming, writing my own games, and playing with chat-bots. This was all part of a meandering route that led me to become interested in how humans work, how they think and how they speak. Ultimately, this interest colored my approach to University where I ended up doing a Cognitive Science degree and later a Ph.D. in Computer Science focusing on Artificial Intelligence. All throughout this time my creative and intellectual outlet was playing games and creating my own games. After completing the Ph.D. I started seeking connections with companies in Vancouver that were making games. Very recently, I decided that I wanted to challenge myself to publish my own games. And so I did; I now live and bread video games.

 

SCWIST: To which extent do you consider video games to be a reflection of culture and society?

KV: I think of games as fundamentally human. To create great experiences you have to understand more about people. How they think, how they fell, how they look at themselves, and how they find their place in the world. There are always amazing facets of humanity that are reflected in games. By extension games are also a reflection of our culture. For lack of a better expression, we can see the health of our culture reflected in the health and diversity of games. Games today speak to the nature of our culture. Currently, I believe that our culture is in a state of flux. A lot of that flux is around how we identify as individuals. Some fundamental shifts are in course in regards to how we perceive self-identifying concepts such as gender. Gender as a binary concept has started to be replaced more frequently by gender as a spectrum. This is a major foundational shift. In general, games reflect a lot of the socio-normative binaries that we have in life. And gender is one of the big ones.

 

SCWIST: Your motto “games for all, by all” voices a need for inclusivity in the gaming world. Where do you see the biggest need for change, in the community or in the industry?

KV: In the community there are more people now that are becoming more comfortable with the notion of gender fluidity. Gender as a concept should be less a mandate of who you are as a person. But given that, what is gender? A lot of us grow up in an environment that tells us that gender is the thing that defines whether you like pink or blue, play with these toys, pursue these careers, are good at these academic subjects. This is all dictated magically, it would seem, by gender. Gender has served to help us make faster assumptions about people, but I would like us to slow down and back off a bit, and just get to know people by who they are. On the flip side, when looking at the industry it’s easy to see that they are in a really tough spot. They exist to make money. They are not intrinsically evil. They are trying to pursue a goal, which is to push a product or a service. One of the tried and true ways of getting people to buy a product is by leading them to identify with that product on some dimension. And one of these dimensions is gender. Industry is part of a catch 22. Products are marketed to people in such a fashion that they reinforce gender binaries, and then people are exposed to these gender binaries, which leads to their reinforcement. It is a really hard thing to break out off.

 

SCWIST: In your work as a game developer, how do you deal with implicit gender stereotypes?

KV: I found it challenging and disturbing when I discovered that I was making a lot of assumptions with my language, the way I carry myself, the jokes I make… I try to be a good person, and yet I might find myself accidentally contributing to misconceived stereotypes. So as a game developer, and in general, I have got to be vigilant. I believe that the most important thing is to create a safe spot where it is ok to talk about these issues. For example, if you are developing content for a game, the best thing is to have a conversation about what are the implications of this content. It’s going to be hard to get it right, we are never going be perfect, we might still accidentally step on a toe, or stick a foot in our mouth. But if our intentions are good and we have access to safe spots to discuss the issue, I believe we can all learn together. The more effort we can put into helping people find the tools and spaces to have these hard conversations the better.

 

SCWIST: Do you see games as a tool for societal change?

KV: Games are fundamentally an interactive media. Unlike a movie or book in which you are more of a passive consumer, games put you in a position of agency, where you have the control and the ability to make choices. Game developers can invite players into alternative situations and expose them to choices that they otherwise would not be exposed to in their daily lives. Thus games provide us with a tool to demonstrate different perspectives, and effect growth in people’s worldviews. For example, one of my favorite games is Journey in which you and other people are dropped in a gorgeous world and develop a shared experience of this new world. Another good example is Papo & Yo, which explores the challenges of having an alcoholic parental figure. Games can provide a safe way to experience someone else’s reality. Games can be a safe way to put oneself in someone else’s shoes. Or at least put a toe in their shoes, and through that experience potentially start appreciating something differently.

 

SCWIST: Can you give us some tips on how to become a game develop and in particular, on how to transition from academia to industry in this field?

KV: The number one thing you can do to transition into industry is to just make things. Make your own games, make your own interactive content, write programs, and build apps. Look for opportunities to get your hands dirty. Do things that are reflective of the things you would be doing in industry. This will build up our resume, but it will also build up your own confidence, and most importantly it will highlight holes in your own understanding, so you can then seek ways to fill those holes. If you are in academia and you don’t push yourself in those ways, when it comes the time to transition to industry you might not have the relevant experience that companies are looking for. Thus for the people on the hiring side it may be difficult to see how you would translate into the matrix of their company. So build stuff, create stuff and then the transition can often be very seamless.