SCWIST:杰出的过去和未来的发展

根据中川那丁(2014),乔伊勒·英格拉(Joelle Ingrao)(2014)的作品和已归档的电子邮件进行编译

SCWIST成员出席了2019年年度股东大会。左至右:前排-总裁Kelly Marciniw;沟通总监KhristineCariño; 创始人Diana Herbst;活动离任总监Danielle Livengood; 赠款总监兼秘书Nasira Aziz; 创始人Hilda Ching; 前任董事长松井宏美; 财务总监Dhalie Patara。 第二排:周星驰; ms无限协调员Ashley van der Pouw Kraan; 谢艾美 成员,成员Priyanka Mishra,Zhila Pirmoradi,Louise Beaton(荣誉成员); 周杰伦(Angelia Zhou),新任导演帕米拉(Pamela Corvalan); 佩恩·史密斯(Payten Smith),美林艾森纳(Merrill Isenor)成员,酒吧之夜协调员; 社交媒体经理Olga Zamudio-Prieto; Rina Pradhan,成员,成员Martina Wan Lockwood,即将上任的董事; 北部土著人外展协调员阿坎莎·楚德加(Akanksha Chudgar)弗拉基米尔·佩雷拉(Vladimirka Pereula); Gordana Pejic(名誉会员),Anja Lanz(名誉会员),成员,南方土著外联协调员Theresa Morris; 加拿大女孩指南的钻石伊辛格成员; 成员,Florina Rogers,Cheryl Kristiansen,“使成为可能”项目经理; 桑迪·埃克斯(桑迪·艾克斯(Sandy Eix)) 许海迪(即将上任的董事),玛丽亚·伊萨(名誉会员和前任总裁)。

加拿大科学技术妇女协会(SCWIST)于1981年出生于盖满铁线莲的门廊Maggie Benston。 在这里,“不屈不挠的五个人”- Mary Vickers,Hilda Ching,Abby Schwarz,Mary Jo Duncan和 玛姬·本斯顿–首先提出了促进妇女在科学领域取得成就的想法。 SCWIST于30年1981月XNUMX日成立,玛丽·维克斯(Mary Vickers)担任创始主席,以鼓励女孩和妇女充分参与科学技术。

在其第一年中,SCWIST提出了八项公共计划,在不列颠哥伦比亚省和育空地区启动了第一个女性科学注册机构,并就围绕女性在科学中的地位的问题进行了小组讨论。

在1983年全国科学女性大会取得巨大成功之后,该协会开始举办“科学女孩”夏季讲习班,并认为缺乏女性持有博士学位将损害“平权行动”的承诺。 开设这些讲习班的目的是鼓励更多的年轻妇女进入科学界。 这时,SCWIST成员还应邀在联邦政府的加拿大妇女地位咨询委员会任职。

1990年代,人口结构发生了变化,导致传统上来自技术和科学领域的毕业生人数减少,因此对受过教育的专业人员的需求增加了。 妇女被认为是未开发的资源,SCWIST通过增加其计划的广度和范围来利用这一新需求,以职业妇女和适龄女童为对象。

SCWIST的使命是为了促进科学领域中女性的招募,挽留和晋升。

SCWIST在鼓励年轻女性学习科学方面取得了成功,但是在工程,物理和计算机科学领域仍然需要做更多的工作。 加拿大女性科学家和工程师现在正面临着在传统上以男性为主的领域中女性担任领导角色的过时假设。 同时,越来越多的训练有素的妇女移民到加拿大,无法在自己选定的领域工作。

SCWIST在新的现实中成长:SCWIST通过网络和活动努力支持和促进妇女的教育和职业选择,并且SCWIST继续高兴地鼓励女孩们将科学,工程学和技术想象为他们未来的一部分。

SCWIST创始人Abby Schwarz,Mary Vickers和Hilda Ching(2015)

创办人

玛丽·维克斯 她是新威斯敏斯特大学道格拉斯学院的生物学讲师,直到80年代初退休。 1981年,玛丽成为SCWIST的五位创始成员之一,并且是1981年至1983年的创始主席。在她担任总统期间,第一次全国女性科技会议在温哥华举行。 玛丽是SCWIST的名誉会员。

玛格丽特(玛姬)本斯顿是不列颠哥伦比亚省温哥华西蒙弗雷泽大学的化学,计算科学和女性研究教授,也是SCWIST的创始成员之一。 除了创立SCWIST,Maggie还帮助创立了Vancouver Mayworks,Vancouver Women's Caucus和不列颠哥伦比亚省的Women's Skills Development。 玛姬于1991年去世。她去世后,她被任命为SCWIST的第一名荣誉会员,BCWIST BC技术学院奖学金被更名为Maggie Benston奖学金。 西蒙·弗雷泽大学(Simon Fraser University)以她的名字命名了玛姬·本斯顿中心(Maggie Benston Center),并以她的名字建立了玛格丽特·洛·本斯顿纪念研究生奖学金,涉及性别,性和女性问题。

希尔达·青 1984年至1986年担任SCWIST的总裁,1994年至1995年再次担任SCWIST的总裁。 她组织了第一次全国科学技术女性会议,300年吸引了1983多名与会者。1990年,她为SCWIST制作了一个名为“科学家做什么?”的视频。 分发给了小学。 从1990年到1991年,她在SFU担任Ruth Winn Woodward的女性研究主席。 希尔达(Hilda)于1991年获得了YWCA杰出女性奖。她还于1996年获得了迈克尔史密斯科学促进奖。她和已故的丈夫乔(Joe)被授予SCWIST的荣誉会员。

艾比·施瓦兹(Abby Schwarz) 是“科学世界”会议的组织者,进行小组讨论,并提供了有关科学界女性的历史观点。

玛丽·乔·邓肯 在不列颠哥伦比亚省和育空地区为科技妇女注册机构工作,并在一个女孩科学教育方面开展了教育项目。 她现在住在爱尔兰。

SCWIST创始人Diana Herbst

戴安娜·赫斯特(Diana Herbst) 为SCWIST的早期框架做出了贡献,帮助制定了章程和治理,为第一届科学女性会议确保了联邦资金,并为该组织申请了慈善身份。 她拥有UC Riverside的微生物学学士学位,SFU的生物科学理学硕士学位和UBC的遗传学博士学位。 她于1987年至1988年担任总裁,其间在SFU举行了首届“ Women do Math”会议。 多年来,她一直担任奖项与奖学金委员会主席,在BCIT修改Margaret Lowe Benston奖学金并建立新的奖学金(在UNBC设立了一项奖学金,在BCIT设立了另一项奖学金)以及拥护SCWIST科学博览会奖方面发挥了作用。 她还多次担任提名委员会主席,以确保SCWIST的连续性。 戴安娜(Diana)是SCWIST的名誉会员。

历届总统

贝蒂·德威尔(Betty Dwyer),总统,1983年-1984年
贝蒂获得了理学学士学位。 于1949年获得曼尼托巴大学物理与统计(荣誉)学位,并获得理学硕士学位。 她于1954年从爱荷华州立大学毕业。她曾在西蒙弗雷泽大学(Simon Fraser University)担任生物统计学和统计学讲师,直到1991年退休。在她任职期间,第一届全国科学技术妇女会议在温哥华举行,卑诗省熟练妇女注册局育空被生产出来。 建立了“科学界的女孩”计划,该计划取得了巨大的成功,使该计划得以在接下来的几年中在卑诗省的多个社区中举行。 在加入SCWIST之前,她曾于1956年至1959年担任卫生和福利部食品与药物局生物计量部门的负责人。她返回加拿大并于1967年加入西蒙弗雷泽大学。贝蒂是SCWIST的荣誉会员。

玛丽安·阿黛尔(Marian Adair),总统,1986年-1987年
玛丽安·阿黛尔(Marian Adair)在环境和保护土地管理方面拥有40年的经验,源于她作为陆地生物学家的技术根源。 玛丽安(Marian)拥有卡尔加里大学(University of Calgary)植物学理学学士学位,是注册专业生物学家,也是应用生物学学院的成员。

1975年毕业后,玛丽安(Marian)搬到不列颠哥伦比亚省,开始了她的环境咨询工作。 除了担任弗雷泽河河口管理计划和Burrard入口环境行动计划的计划主任五年,玛丽安还担任顾问,专门研究加拿大西部和北部的环境规划和评估。 玛丽安(Marian)在一家工程公司工作了12年,曾担任Norecol环境顾问公司的副总裁以及担任独立顾问,负责管理项目(包括轻轨千年线的环境批准)。 玛丽安(Marian)在综合资源管理,水和土地使用规划以及环境影响评估流程方面积累了专业知识。

玛丽安(Marian)于2002年加入不列颠哥伦比亚省自然基金会(Nature Trust)。作为该组织的高级经理,玛丽安(Marian)负责为不列颠哥伦比亚省(BC)土地资产的自然基金会(Nature Trust)的收购和环境保护管理确定保护重点。 玛丽安(Marian)在卑诗省自然信托基金会(Nature Trust)工作期间,她最激动人心的挑战之一就是她担任卑诗省生物多样性主席的工作。 自2005年成立以来,她一直担任该职务。卑诗省生物多样性协会是政府和非政府组织的合作伙伴关系,旨在改善该省的生物多样性保护,并负责开发《以自然为脉搏》,《不列颠哥伦比亚省生物多样性现状》于2008年XNUMX月发布。 。

玛丽安(Marian)自1984年以来一直是SCWIST的会员,在担任SCWIST总裁期间,她为SCWIST项目制定了第一个政策指南。 玛丽安(Marian)担任总统一职后,仍积极参与科学中的女孩委员会,并向小学家长咨询委员会作了多次演讲,内容涉及女孩保持对科学和数学的兴趣和参与的重要性。

约瑟夫·冈萨雷斯(1988-1989年总统)
Josefina于1988年至1989年担任SCWIST主席。在任期内,她向皇家教育与兼职委员会作了简要介绍,着重介绍了不列颠哥伦比亚省的女孩和科学教育。 国务卿妇女计划部长还资助了“妇女做数学”会议和“访问科学家项目”。 1989年,她应邀参加了国家环境与经济圆桌会议。

Tasoula Berggren,总统(1989-1990)
Tasoula Berggren是西蒙弗雷泽大学微积分与线性代数研讨会的高级讲师和协调员,并于1989年至1990年担任SCWIST的主席。在她任职期间,她在西蒙创立了“做数学的女人”(发现可能性)会议。弗雷泽大学。 然后,她指导会议直到1991年在卑诗省和育空地区举行。 1994年,她获得西蒙·弗雷泽大学(Simon Fraser University)的“为社区服务”奖,并自1998年起担任塞浦路斯共和国名誉领事。

潘妮·勒库特(Penny LeCouteur),总统,1990年至1992年
Penny LeCouteur从1990年至1992年担任SCWIST的总裁。她获得了理学学士学位。 和硕士 1963年从新西兰奥克兰大学获得化学博士学位,并获得博士学位。 1967年从加利福尼亚大学圣塔芭芭拉分校获得化学博士学位。在她担任SCWIST总裁期间,建立了“ ms infinity”计划。 Penny还在开发SCWIST的“明日计划”中发挥了作用,在她担任主席期间创建了SCWIST资源中心。 除了与SCWIST合作外,她还在北温哥华的Capilano学院创建教授,在那儿教授化学超过30年,并且在2003年至2008年期间担任艺术和科学系主任。她的书《拿破仑的钮扣:十七种分子的方式》。 《改变的历史》是2004年“美国国家科学院传播奖”中入围最佳科学奖的四名决赛者之一,该奖旨在向公众传播科学,工程和医学。 她还因在加拿大大学中出色的化学教学而获得了Polysar奖,并获得了BC Innovation Council的Eve Savory科学传播奖。 Penny是SCWIST的荣誉会员。

杰基·吉尔(Jackie Gill),总统1992–1994
杰基在1992年至1994年期间担任SCWIST的总裁。 在担任总统期间,SCWIST开设了资源中心(1992),并成立了Project Tomorrow(1993),这是一系列旨在鼓励社区对科学中的女孩保持兴趣的研讨会。

玛丽亚·伊萨(Maria Issa),1995-1996年总统,2012年—
Maria于1971年获得卑诗大学微生物学理学学士学位,并从伦敦大学获得免疫学哲学博士学位。 她从1995年到1996年担任SCWIST的总裁。在任期内,她建立了“ XX晚会”和《科学世界》的“开门”科学网络计划。 Maria目前是不列颠哥伦比亚大学的临床副教授,也是UBC病理学教育中心主任。

松井宏美(1997-1998年)
Hiromi拥有滑铁卢大学的文学学士学位,以及来自科学,工程,贸易和技术领域的女性的理学硕士学位。 Hiromi在1997年至1998年期间担任SCWIST的总裁。在她担任总裁期间,SCWIST建立了自己的在线业务并启动了他们的第一个网站(1997年)。 在此期间,制作了CD ROM“ Xplore Science Careers”,目的是使年轻人接触可能的科学职业。 弘美与朱迪·迈尔斯(Judy Myers)一起发表了《女人在哪里? “卑诗省信息技术领域的女性基准研究”评估了卑诗省信息技术领域女性的存在。 退休前,Hiromi曾是西蒙弗雷泽大学应用科学学院多样性与招聘总监。 她曾担任加拿大科学,工程,贸易和技术女性中心(WinSETT)的主任,在卑诗省专业工程师和地球科学家协会获得荣誉会员资格,并且是加拿大工程师协会的名誉会员。 博美是SCWIST的荣誉会员。

朱迪·迈尔斯(Judy Myers),2000-2002年总统
Judy在2000年至2002年期间担任SCWIST的总裁。Judy与Hiromi Matsui一起发起了“妇女在哪里? “卑诗省信息技术领域的女性基准研究”评估了卑诗省信息技术领域女性的存在。 朱迪是SCWIST的荣誉会员。

Elana Brief,总统,2008-2010年
Elena于2000年从不列颠哥伦比亚大学获得物理学博士学位。Elena于2008年至2010年担任SCWIST的总裁。Elana自2004年以来一直担任SCWIST董事会成员,2005年担任财务主管,2008年担任总裁。目前是不列颠哥伦比亚大学神经伦理学国家核心研究人员。

作者:
中川那丁
中川纳丁(Nadine Nakagawa)是一位创意作家,社区建设者和倡导者。 她是新威斯敏斯特(New Westminster)的活跃社区成员,倡导了诸如租金银行,针对住房危机的创造性解决方案,社区花园,和解以及公共艺术等事业。 她于2017年被评为年度公民,并于2018年当选为市议会议员。

乔尔·英格拉(Joelle Ingrao)
Joelle Ingrao(Laudisio)于2010年完成了DVM,2014年完成了DVSc解剖病理学,2017年在圭尔夫大学获得了病毒学/免疫学博士学位。 她的兴趣在于疫苗开发以及实验室动物的护理和使用。 她目前是安大略省多伦多赛诺菲巴斯德有限公司现场质量运营部门的成员,该部门负责对所有现场生产的疫苗进行体内质量控制测试。 她目前的职务是副主任和兽医,并负责准备的省,国家和国际审计

SCWIST: A Distinguished Past and Growing into the Future

Compiled from the works of Nadine Nakagawa (2014), Joelle Ingrao (2014) and archived emails

SCWIST members present at the Annual General Meeting, 2019. Left to right: front row- Kelly Marciniw, president;Khristine Cariño, director for communications; Diana Herbst, founder;Danielle Livengood, outgoing director for events; Nasira Aziz, director for grants and secretary; Hilda Ching, founder; Hiromi Matsui, past president; Dhalie Patara, director for finance. 2nd row: Stephanie Zhou; Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, ms infinity coordinator; Amy Hsieh; member, member, Priyanka Mishra, Zhila Pirmoradi, Louise Beaton (honourary member); Angelia Zhou, Pamela Corvalan, incoming director; Payten Smith, member, Merrill Isenor, pub night coordinator; Olga Zamudio-Prieto, social media manager; Rina Pradhan, member, member, Martina Wan Lockwood, incoming director; Vladimirka Pereula, Akanksha Chudgar, north indigenous outreach coordinator; Gordana Pejic (honourary member), Anja Lanz, (honourary member), member, member, Theresa Morris, south indigenous outreach coordinator; member, Diamond Isinger, Girl Guides of Canada; member, Florina Rogers, Cheryl Kristiansen, Make Possible project manager; Sandy Eix (honorary member and past president); Heidi Hui (incoming director), Maria Issa (honourary member and past president).

The Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology (SCWIST) was born in 1981on the clematis-covered porch of Maggie Benston. It was here that the “undaunted five”- Mary Vickers, Hilda Ching, Abby Schwarz, Mary Jo Duncan and Maggie Benston– first conceived the idea of promoting the achievements of women in science. SCWIST was incorporated on July 30, 1981 with Mary Vickers as the founding president to encourage the full participation of girls and women in science and technology.

Within its first year SCWIST presented eight public programs, started the first registry of women in science in B.C. and the Yukon, and held panel discussions about the issues surrounding the female position in science.

Following the extremely successful 1983 National Conference on Women in Science, the Society began to host “Girls in Science” summer workshops with the belief that the promise of ‘affirmative action’ would be undermined by the lack of women holding PhDs. The workshops were created to encourage more young women to enter professions in science. At this time, SCWIST members were also invited to serve on the federal government’s Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women.

The 1990s saw changing demographic patterns which resulted in a decrease in the traditional pool of graduates from technical and scientific fields and therefore an increase in the need for educated professionals. Women were considered an untapped resource and SCWIST capitalized on this new demand by increasing the breadth and outreach of their programs, targeting both professional women and school-age girls.

The mission of SCWIST was developed to promote the recruitment, retention and promotion of women in science.

SCWIST has been successful in encouraging young women to study science, but more work is still needed in engineering, physics and computing science. Canadian women scientists and engineers are now confronting out-dated assumptions of women’s leadership roles in traditionally male-dominated fields. At the same time, there are growing numbers of highly-trained women who have immigrated to Canada who cannot work in their chosen fields.

SCWIST grows with the new realities: SCWIST strives to support and promote women in their education and career choices through networking and events, and SCWIST continues to delight in encouraging girls to imagine science, engineering and technology as part of their future.

SCWIST Founders Abby Schwarz, Mary Vickers and Hilda Ching (2015)

Founders

Mary Vickers was an instructor in biology at Douglas College in New Westminster, until her retirement in the early 80’s. In 1981, Mary was one of five founding members of SCWIST, and was the founding president from 1981 to 1983. During her term as president, the first national conference for women in science and technology was held in Vancouver. Mary is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Margaret (Maggie) Benstonwas a professor of chemistry, computing science, and women’s studies at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, British Columbia, and one of the founding members of SCWIST. In addition to founding SCWIST, Maggie also helped found Vancouver Mayworks, the Vancouver Women’s Caucus, and Women’s Skills Development of British Columbia. Maggie passed away in 1991. Following her death, she was named SCWIST’s first honorary member and the SCWIST B.C. Institute of Technology scholarship was renamed the Maggie Benston Scholarship. Simon Fraser University named The Maggie Benston Centre in her honor and established the Margaret Lowe Benston Memorial Graduate Bursary in Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies in her name.

Hilda Ching was president of SCWIST from 1984–1986, and again from 1994–1995. She organize the first national conference for women in science and technology which attracted over 300 participants in 1983. in 1990, she produced a video for SCWIST entitled “What do Scientists Do?” which was distributed to elementary schools. She served as the Ruth Winn Woodward Chair from 1990 to 1991 in Women Studies at SFU. Hilda received a YWCA Woman of Disctinction Award in 1991. She also received a Michael Smith Science Promotion award in 1996. She and her late husband, Joe, were awarded honourary memberships in SCWIST.

Abby Schwarz was an organizer of meetings at Science World, of panel discussions, and provided historical perspectives on women in Science.

Mary Jo Duncan worked on the registry for women in science and technology in British Columbia and the Yukon, and an educational project on girls’ education in science. She now lives in Ireland.

SCWIST Founder Diana Herbst

Diana Herbst contributed to the early framework of SCWIST helping to formulate by-laws and governance, securing federal funding for the first Women in Science conference, and applying for charitable status for the organization. She holds a BA in Microbiology from UC Riverside, an MSc in Biological Sciences from SFU and a PhD in Genetics from UBC. She served as the president from 1987 to 1988, during which the first ‘Women do Math’ conference was held at SFU. As Chair of the Awards & Scholarships Committee for a number of years, she was instrumental in revamping the Margaret Lowe Benston Scholarship at BCIT and setting up new scholarships — one at UNBC and another one at BCIT — as well as championing SCWIST Science Fair Awards. She also chaired the Nominations Committee several times to ensure continuity in SCWIST. Diana is an honorary member of SCWIST.

Past Presidents

Betty Dwyer, President 1983–1984
Betty obtained her B.Sc. (Hons.) in Physics and Statistics from the University of Manitoba in 1949, and a M.Sc. from Iowa State in 1954. She was an instructor in biometry and statistics at Simon Fraser University until her retirement in 1991. During her term, the first National Conference on Women in Science and Technology was held in Vancouver and The Registry of Skilled Women, BC and Yukon was produced. The ‘Girls in Science’ program was established, and its great success allowed for the program to be held in several communities throughout BC for the following years. Prior to her involvement with SCWIST, she headed the Biometric Unit of the Food and Drug Directorate in the Department of Health and Welfare from 1956 until 1959. She returned to Canada and joined Simon Fraser University in 1967. Betty is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Marian Adair, President 1986–1987
Marian Adair’s 40 years of experience in environmental and conservation land management grew from her technical roots as a terrestrial biologist. Marian holds a Bachelor of Science in Botany from the University of Calgary and is a Registered Professional Biologist and member of the College of Applied Biology.

Following graduation in 1975, Marian moved to British Columbia and started her career with environmental consulting. Aside from five years as Program Director of the Fraser River Estuary Management Program and Burrard Inlet Environmental Action Program, Marian worked as a consultant specializing in environmental planning and assessment throughout western and northern Canada. Marian worked 12 years for an engineering firm, as Vice-President of Norecol Environmental Consultants and as an independent consultant managing projects including the environmental approvals of the skytrain millennium line. Marian developed expertise in integrated resource management, water and land use planning, and environmental impact assessment processes.

Marian Joined The Nature Trust of British Columbia in 2002. As a senior manager in the organization, Marian is responsible for defining the conservation priorities for both acquisitions and conservation management of The Nature Trust of BC’s land portfolio. One of the most inspirational challenges for Marian while with The Nature Trust of BC has been her work as Chair of Biodiversity BC; a role she held since its inception in 2005. Biodiversity BC is a partnership of government and non-government organizations created to improve biodiversity conservation in the province and responsible for the development of Taking Nature’s Pulse The Status of Biodiversity in British Columbia released in July 2008.

Marian has been a SCWIST member since 1984 and during her time as president of SCWIST she developed the first policy guidelines for SCWIST projects. Following her role as president, Marian remained actively involved on the Girls in Science Committee and made numerous presentations to Elementary School Parent Advisory Committees about the importance of girls maintaining an interest and participation in science and math.

Josefina Gonzales, President 1988–1989
Josefina was president of SCWIST from 1988 to 1989. During her term, she presented a brief to the Royal Commission on Education and Part-time Employment, emphasizing girls and science education in British Columbia. The Secretary of State Women’s Programs also funded both the ‘Women Do Math’ conference, and the ‘Visiting Scientists Project’. In 1989, she was invited to sit at the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy.

Tasoula Berggren, President 1989–1990
Tasoula Berggren was a senior lecturer and coordinator of the calculus and linear algebra workshop at Simon Fraser University, and was president of SCWIST from 1989 to 1990. During her term, she founded the “Women Do Math” (Discover the Possibilities) Conference at Simon Fraser University. She then directed the conference until 1991 in B.C. and the Yukon. In 1994, she received the ‘Service to the Community’ award from Simon Fraser University and has been an Honorary Consul of the Republic of Cyprus since 1998.

Penny LeCouteur, President 1990–1992
Penny LeCouteur was president of SCWIST from 1990 to 1992. She obtained her B.Sc. and M.Sc. in chemistry from the University of Auckland, New Zealand in 1963, and her Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California, Santa Barbara in 1967. During her time as president of SCWIST, the ‘ms infinity’ program was established. Penny was also instrumental in developing SCWIST’s ‘Project Tomorrow’, and the SCWIST Resource Center was created during her time as presicent. In addition to her work with SCWIST, she was founding faculty member at Capilano College in North Vancouver where she taught chemistry for over 30 years, and was the Dean of Arts and Sciences from 2003 to 2008. Her book “Napoleon’s Buttons: How Seventeen Molecules Changed History” was one of four finalist in the 2004 Best Book category of the U.S. National Academies Communications Award for Excellence in communicating science, engineering, and medicine to the general public. She was also awarded the Polysar Award for outstanding chemistry teaching in Canadian colleges, and the BC Innovation Council’s Eve Savory Award for Science Communication. Penny is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Jackie Gill, President 1992–1994
Jackie served as president of SCWIST from 1992–1994. During her time as president, SCWIST opened their Resource Centre (1992) and established Project Tomorrow (1993), a series of seminars developed to encourage the community to sustain interest in girls in science.

Maria Issa, President 1995–1996, 2012 —
Maria obtained a Bachelor of Science in microbiology from the University of BC in 1971, and a Doctor of Philosophy in Immunology from the University of London. She was president of SCWIST from 1995 to 1996. During her term, she established “XX evening” and Science Worlds “Opening Doors” science networking program. Maria is currently a Clinical Associate Professor at the University of British Columbia and the Director of the UBC Pathology Education Centre.

Hiromi Matsui, President 1997–1998
Hiromi obtained a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Waterloo, and a Master of Science from the women in science, engineering, trades and technology. Hiromi was president of SCWIST from 1997 to 1998. During her time as president, SCWIST established their online presence and launched their first website (1997). During this time, the CD ROM “Xplore Science Careers” was produced, with the purpose of exposing young people to possible careers in science. Together with Judy Myers, Hiromi published “Where are the Women? A Benchmark study of Women in Information Technology in BC” assessing the presence of women in information technology fields in BC. Prior to retirement, Hiromi was the director of Diversity & Recruitment, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Simon Fraser University. She has served as director for the Canadian Centre for Women in Science, Engineering, Trades, and Technology (WinSETT), holds honorary Membership in the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC, and is an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Canada. Hiromi is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Judy Myers, President 2000–2002
Judy was president of SCWIST from 2000 to 2002. Together with Hiromi Matsui, Judy initiated the study “Where are the Women? A Benchmark study of Women in Information Technology in BC” assessing the presence of women in information technology fields in BC. Judy is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Elana Brief, President 2008–2010
Elena obtained her Doctor of Philosophy in physics from the University of British Columbia in 2000. Elena was president of SCWIST from 2008 to 2010. Elana served on the SCWIST board of directors since 2004, was treasurer in 2005, and president in 2008. Elena is currently a researcher at the National Core for Neuroethics at the University of British Columbia.

Authors:
Nadine Nakagawa
Nadine Nakagawa is a creative writer, a community-builder, and an advocate. She is an active community member in New Westminster who has championed causes such as a rent bank, creative solutions to the housing crisis, community gardens, reconciliation, and public art. She was named Citizen of the Year in 2017 and was elected to City Council in 2018.

Joelle Ingrao
Joelle Ingrao (Laudisio) completed a DVM in 2010, a DVSc Anatomic Pathology in 2014, PhD in virology/immunology in 2017 at the University of Guelph. Her interests lie in vaccine development and laboratory animal care and use. She is currently a member of the Site Quality Operations department at Sanofi Pasteur Ltd in Toronto, Ontario, which is responsible for in vivo quality control testing of all manufactured vaccines on site. Her current title is Deputy Director and Attending Veterinarian and is responsible for provincial, national, and international audit prepared