SCWIST: ماض مميز والنمو نحو المستقبل

تم تجميعها من أعمال نادين ناكاجاوا (2014) وجويل إنغراو (2014) ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني المؤرشفة

أعضاء SCWIST حاضرون في الاجتماع السنوي العام ، 2019. من اليسار إلى اليمين: الصف الأمامي- كيلي مارسينيو ، الرئيسة ؛ كريستين كارينيو ، مديرة الاتصالات ؛ ديانا هيربست ، المؤسس ؛ دانييل ليفنغود ، مديرة الأحداث المنتهية ولايتها ؛ نصيرة عزيز مديرة المنح والسكرتيرة. هيلدا تشينج ، مؤسس ؛ هيرومي ماتسوي ، الرئيس السابق ؛ ضالي باتارا ، مدير المالية. الصف الثاني: ستيفاني تشو ؛ أشلي فان دير بو كران ، منسق اللانهاية ل MS ؛ ايمي هسيه عضو ، عضو ، بريانكا ميشرا ، زيلا بيرمورادي ، لويز بيتون (عضو شرف) ؛ أنجيليا زو ، باميلا كورفالان ، المخرج القادم ؛ بايتن سميث ، عضو ، ميريل إيسينور ، منسق ليلي للحانة ؛ أولغا زاموديو برييتو ، مديرة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ؛ رينا برادان ، عضو ، مارتينا وان لوكوود ، مديرة قادمة ؛ فلاديميركا بيريولا ، أكانكشا تشودغار ، منسق التواصل مع السكان الأصليين الشمالي ؛ غوردانا بيجيتش (عضو فخري) ، أنيا لانز ، (عضو فخري) ، عضو ، عضو ، تيريزا موريس ، منسقة التواصل مع السكان الأصليين في الجنوب ؛ عضوة Diamond Isinger ، مرشدات كندا ؛ عضو ، فلورينا روجرز ، شيريل كريستيانسن ، مدير مشروع Make Possible ؛ ساندي إيكس (عضو فخري ورئيس سابق) ؛ هايدي هوي (المخرج الجديد) ، ماريا عيسى (عضو فخري ورئيس سابق).

وُلدت جمعية النساء الكنديات في العلوم والتكنولوجيا (SCWIST) في عام 1981 على شرفة مغطاة بالبلدات في Maggie Benston. هنا كان "الخمسة الشجعان" - ماري فيكرز وهيلدا تشينغ وآبي شوارتز وماري جو دنكان ماجي بنستون- أول من تصور فكرة تعزيز إنجازات المرأة في مجال العلوم. تم تأسيس SCWIST في 30 يوليو 1981 مع ماري فيكرز كرئيسة مؤسِّسة لتشجيع المشاركة الكاملة للفتيات والنساء في العلوم والتكنولوجيا.

في عامه الأول ، قدم SCWIST ثمانية برامج عامة ، وبدأ أول سجل للنساء في العلوم في كولومبيا البريطانية ويوكون ، وعقد حلقات نقاش حول القضايا المتعلقة بمكانة المرأة في العلوم.

بعد المؤتمر الوطني لعام 1983 الناجح للغاية حول المرأة في العلوم ، بدأت الجمعية في استضافة ورش عمل صيفية بعنوان "فتيات في العلوم" اعتقادًا منها أن الوعد بـ "العمل الإيجابي" سيقوض بسبب عدم وجود نساء يحملن درجة الدكتوراه. تم إنشاء ورش العمل لتشجيع المزيد من الفتيات على دخول المهن العلمية. في هذا الوقت ، تمت دعوة أعضاء SCWIST أيضًا للعمل في المجلس الاستشاري الكندي التابع للحكومة الفيدرالية حول وضع المرأة.

شهدت التسعينيات تغيرًا في الأنماط الديموغرافية مما أدى إلى انخفاض في المجموعة التقليدية للخريجين من المجالات التقنية والعلمية وبالتالي زيادة في الحاجة إلى المهنيين المتعلمين. تم اعتبار النساء موردًا غير مستغل ، واستفاد برنامج SCWIST من هذا الطلب الجديد من خلال زيادة اتساع نطاق برامجهم والوصول إليها ، واستهداف كل من النساء المهنيات والفتيات في سن المدرسة.

تم تطوير مهمة SCWIST لتشجيع توظيف واستبقاء وترقية النساء في مجال العلوم.

نجحت SCWIST في تشجيع الفتيات على دراسة العلوم ، ولكن لا تزال هناك حاجة لمزيد من العمل في الهندسة والفيزياء وعلوم الحوسبة. تواجه العالمات والمهندسات الكنديات الآن افتراضات قديمة حول الأدوار القيادية للمرأة في المجالات التي يهيمن عليها الذكور تقليديًا. في الوقت نفسه ، هناك أعداد متزايدة من النساء ذوات التدريب العالي اللواتي هاجرن إلى كندا ولا يمكنهن العمل في المجالات التي اخترنها.

تنمو SCWIST مع الحقائق الجديدة: تسعى SCWIST جاهدة لدعم وتعزيز النساء في اختياراتهن التعليمية والمهنية من خلال الشبكات والأحداث ، وتواصل SCWIST تشجيع الفتيات على تخيل العلوم والهندسة والتكنولوجيا كجزء من مستقبلهن.

مؤسسو SCWIST آبي شوارتز وماري فيكرز وهيلدا تشينج (2015)

مؤسسو

ماري فيكرز كانت معلمة في علم الأحياء في كلية دوجلاس في نيو وستمنستر ، حتى تقاعدها في أوائل الثمانينيات. في عام 80 ، كانت ماري واحدة من خمسة أعضاء مؤسسين لـ SCWIST ، وكانت الرئيس المؤسس من عام 1981 إلى عام 1981. خلال فترة عملها كرئيسة ، عُقد المؤتمر الوطني الأول للمرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا في فانكوفر. ماري عضو فخري في SCWIST.

مارجريت (ماجي) بنستونكانت أستاذة في الكيمياء وعلوم الحوسبة ودراسات المرأة في جامعة سيمون فريزر في فانكوفر ، كولومبيا البريطانية ، وأحد الأعضاء المؤسسين لـ SCWIST. بالإضافة إلى تأسيس SCWIST ، ساعدت ماجي أيضًا في تأسيس فانكوفر ماي ووركس ، وتجمع فانكوفر النسائي ، وتنمية مهارات المرأة في كولومبيا البريطانية. توفيت ماجي في عام 1991. وبعد وفاتها ، تم اختيارها كأول عضو فخري في SCWIST وتم تغيير اسم منحة SCWIST BC Institute of Technology إلى منحة Maggie Benston. قامت جامعة Simon Fraser بتسمية مركز Maggie Benston على شرفها وأنشأت منحة Margaret Lowe Benston التذكارية في دراسات النوع والجنس ودراسات المرأة باسمها.

هيلدا تشينج كان رئيس SCWIST من 1984 إلى 1986 ، ومرة ​​أخرى من 1994-1995. نظمت المؤتمر الوطني الأول للمرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والذي جذب أكثر من 300 مشاركة في عام 1983. وفي عام 1990 ، أنتجت فيديو لـ SCWIST بعنوان "ماذا يفعل العلماء؟" التي تم توزيعها على المدارس الابتدائية. عملت كرئيسة روث وين وودوارد من 1990 إلى 1991 في دراسات المرأة في SFU. حصلت هيلدا على جائزة YWCA Woman of Disctinction في عام 1991. كما حصلت على جائزة مايكل سميث للترويج العلمي في عام 1996. وقد تم منحها هي وزوجها الراحل جو عضويات فخرية في SCWIST.

آبي شوارتز كانت منظمًا للاجتماعات في Science World ، وحلقات نقاش ، وقدمت وجهات نظر تاريخية حول المرأة في العلوم.

ماري جو دنكان عملت في سجل النساء في العلوم والتكنولوجيا في كولومبيا البريطانية ويوكون ، ومشروع تعليمي حول تعليم الفتيات في مجال العلوم. تعيش الآن في أيرلندا.

مؤسس SCWIST ديانا هيربست

ديانا هيربست ساهمت في إطار العمل المبكر لـ SCWIST للمساعدة في صياغة اللوائح الداخلية والحوكمة ، وتأمين التمويل الفيدرالي لأول مؤتمر Women in Science ، والتقدم بطلب للحصول على حالة خيرية للمنظمة. وهي حاصلة على بكالوريوس في علم الأحياء الدقيقة من جامعة كاليفورنيا في ريفرسايد ، وماجستير في العلوم البيولوجية من جامعة سان فرانسيسكو ، ودكتوراه في علم الوراثة من جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. شغلت منصب الرئيس من عام 1987 إلى عام 1988 ، حيث عُقد أول مؤتمر "نساء يتعلمن الرياضيات" في SFU. كرئيسة للجنة الجوائز والمنح الدراسية لعدد من السنوات ، لعبت دورًا أساسيًا في تجديد منحة مارغريت لوي بنستون في BCIT وإنشاء منح دراسية جديدة - واحدة في UNBC وأخرى في BCIT - بالإضافة إلى دعم جوائز معرض العلوم SCWIST. كما ترأست لجنة الترشيحات عدة مرات لضمان الاستمرارية في SCWIST. ديانا هي عضو فخري في SCWIST.

الرؤساء السابقين

بيتي دواير ، رئيسة 1983-1984
حصلت بيتي على درجة البكالوريوس. (مع مرتبة الشرف) في الفيزياء والإحصاء من جامعة مانيتوبا عام 1949 ، وماجستير. حصلت على الدكتوراه من ولاية أيوا في عام 1954. كانت معلمة في القياس الحيوي والإحصاء في جامعة سيمون فريزر حتى تقاعدها في عام 1991. خلال فترة عملها ، عُقد المؤتمر الوطني الأول للمرأة في العلوم والتكنولوجيا في فانكوفر وسجل النساء الماهرات ، كولومبيا البريطانية وتم إنتاج يوكون. تم إنشاء برنامج "Girls in Science" ، وأتاح نجاحه الكبير عقد البرنامج في العديد من المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء كولومبيا البريطانية للسنوات التالية. قبل مشاركتها في SCWIST ، ترأست وحدة القياسات الحيوية في مديرية الغذاء والدواء في وزارة الصحة والرعاية الاجتماعية من 1956 حتى 1959. عادت إلى كندا وانضمت إلى جامعة Simon Fraser في عام 1967. Betty عضو فخري في SCWIST.

ماريان أدير ، رئيسة 1986-1987
نمت خبرة ماريان أدير التي تبلغ 40 عامًا في إدارة البيئة والحفاظ على البيئة من جذورها التقنية كعالمة أحياء أرضية. ماريان حاصلة على بكالوريوس العلوم في علم النبات من جامعة كالجاري وهي عالمة أحياء مهنية مسجلة وعضو في كلية البيولوجيا التطبيقية.

بعد التخرج في عام 1975 ، انتقلت ماريان إلى كولومبيا البريطانية وبدأت حياتها المهنية في الاستشارات البيئية. بصرف النظر عن خمس سنوات كمدير برنامج لإدارة مصب نهر فريزر وبرنامج العمل البيئي Burrard Inlet ، عملت ماريان كمستشار متخصص في التخطيط البيئي والتقييم في جميع أنحاء غرب وشمال كندا. عملت ماريان لمدة 12 عامًا في شركة هندسية ، كنائب رئيس شركة نوريكول للاستشارات البيئية وكمستشار مستقل لإدارة المشاريع بما في ذلك الموافقات البيئية لخط الألفية للقطار المعلق. طور ماريان خبرته في الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد ، وتخطيط استخدام المياه والأراضي ، وعمليات تقييم الأثر البيئي.

انضمت ماريان إلى Nature Trust في كولومبيا البريطانية في عام 2002. بصفتها مديرة أولى في المنظمة ، فإن ماريان مسؤولة عن تحديد أولويات الحفظ لكل من عمليات الاستحواذ وإدارة الحفاظ على محفظة أراضي The Nature Trust of BC. كان أحد أكثر التحديات إلهامًا لماريان أثناء عملها مع The Nature Trust of BC هو عملها كرئيسة للتنوع البيولوجي BC. شغلته منذ إنشائها في عام 2005. التنوع البيولوجي BC عبارة عن شراكة بين المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية التي تم إنشاؤها لتحسين الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي في المقاطعة وهي مسؤولة عن تطوير أخذ نبض الطبيعة حالة التنوع البيولوجي في كولومبيا البريطانية الذي صدر في يوليو 2008 .

كانت ماريان عضوًا في SCWIST منذ عام 1984 وخلال فترة عملها كرئيسة لـ SCWIST طورت أول إرشادات للسياسة لمشاريع SCWIST. بعد دورها كرئيسة ، ظلت ماريان تشارك بنشاط في لجنة الفتيات في العلوم وقدمت العديد من العروض إلى اللجان الاستشارية لأولياء الأمور في المدرسة الابتدائية حول أهمية احتفاظ الفتيات بالاهتمام والمشاركة في العلوم والرياضيات.

جوزيفينا غونزاليس ، رئيسة 1988-1989
كانت جوزفينا رئيسة SCWIST من 1988 إلى 1989. خلال فترة عملها ، قدمت موجزًا ​​إلى اللجنة الملكية للتعليم والتوظيف بدوام جزئي ، ركزت فيه على تعليم الفتيات والعلوم في كولومبيا البريطانية. كما مولت برامج المرأة التابعة لوزيرة الخارجية كلاً من مؤتمر "تعليم الرياضيات" و "مشروع العلماء الزائرين". في عام 1989 ، تمت دعوتها للجلوس في المائدة المستديرة الوطنية حول البيئة والاقتصاد.

تسولا برجرين ، رئيس 1989-1990
كانت تسولا بيرغرين محاضرة أولى ومنسقة ورشة عمل حساب التفاضل والتكامل والجبر الخطي في جامعة سيمون فريزر ، وكانت رئيسة SCWIST من 1989 إلى 1990. خلال فترة عملها ، أسست مؤتمر "Women Do Math" (اكتشف الاحتمالات) في Simon جامعة فريزر. ثم أدارت المؤتمر حتى عام 1991 قبل الميلاد ويوكون. في عام 1994 ، حصلت على جائزة "خدمة المجتمع" من جامعة Simon Fraser وشغلت منصب القنصل الفخري لجمهورية قبرص منذ عام 1998.

بيني ليكوتور ، رئيس 1990-1992
بيني لوكوتور كانت رئيسة SCWIST من 1990 إلى 1992. حصلت على بكالوريوس العلوم. وماجستير. حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في الكيمياء من جامعة أوكلاند بنيوزيلندا عام 1963 ، وعلى درجة الدكتوراه. حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في الكيمياء من جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سانتا باربرا عام 1967. خلال فترة عملها كرئيسة لـ SCWIST ، تم إنشاء برنامج "ms infinity". لعبت بيني أيضًا دورًا أساسيًا في تطوير "مشروع الغد" الخاص بـ SCWIST ، وتم إنشاء مركز موارد SCWIST خلال فترة عملها كرئيسة. بالإضافة إلى عملها مع SCWIST ، كانت عضوًا مؤسسًا في هيئة التدريس في كلية كابيلانو في شمال فانكوفر حيث درست الكيمياء لأكثر من 30 عامًا ، وكانت عميدة الآداب والعلوم من 2003 إلى 2008. كتابها "أزرار نابليون: How Seventeen Molecules التاريخ المتغير "كان واحدًا من أربعة من المرشحين النهائيين في فئة أفضل كتاب لعام 2004 من جائزة الاتصالات الأكاديمية الوطنية الأمريكية للتميز في إيصال العلوم والهندسة والطب إلى عامة الناس. كما حصلت على جائزة Polysar لتدريس الكيمياء المتميز في الكليات الكندية ، وجائزة Eve Savory للتواصل العلمي من قبل BC Innovation Council. بيني عضو فخري في SCWIST.

جاكي جيل ، رئيس 1992-1994
شغل جاكي منصب رئيس SCWIST من 1992-1994. خلال فترة عملها كرئيسة ، افتتحت SCWIST مركز الموارد (1992) وأنشأت Project Tomorrow (1993) ، وهي سلسلة من الندوات التي تم تطويرها لتشجيع المجتمع على استمرار الاهتمام بالفتيات في مجال العلوم.

ماريا عيسى ، رئيسة 1995-1996 ، 2012 -
حصلت ماريا على بكالوريوس العلوم في علم الأحياء الدقيقة من جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية عام 1971 ، ودكتوراه الفلسفة في علم المناعة من جامعة لندن. كانت رئيسة SCWIST من 1995 إلى 1996. خلال فترة عملها ، أسست برنامج الشبكات العلمية "XX evening" و "Open Doors" في عوالم العلوم. تعمل ماريا حاليًا كأستاذ مشارك إكلينيكي في جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية ومديرة مركز تعليم علم الأمراض بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية.

هيرومي ماتسوي ، رئيس 1997-1998
حصلت هيرومي على بكالوريوس في الآداب من جامعة واترلو ، وماجستير في العلوم من النساء في العلوم والهندسة والحرف والتكنولوجيا. كانت هيرومي رئيسة SCWIST من 1997 إلى 1998. خلال فترة عملها كرئيسة ، أسست SCWIST وجودها على الإنترنت وأطلقت أول موقع لها على الإنترنت (1997). خلال هذا الوقت ، تم إنتاج القرص المضغوط "Xplore Science Careers" بهدف تعريض الشباب للمهن الممكنة في مجال العلوم. جنبا إلى جنب مع جودي مايرز ، نشرت هيرومي "أين النساء؟ دراسة معيارية للمرأة في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات في كولومبيا البريطانية "تقيم وجود المرأة في مجالات تكنولوجيا المعلومات في كولومبيا البريطانية. قبل التقاعد ، كان هيرومي مدير التنوع والتوظيف ، كلية العلوم التطبيقية ، جامعة سيمون فريزر. شغلت منصب مديرة المركز الكندي للمرأة في العلوم والهندسة والتجارة والتكنولوجيا (WinSETT) ، وهي حاصلة على عضوية فخرية في جمعية المهندسين المحترفين وعلماء الجيولوجيا في كولومبيا البريطانية ، وهي زميلة فخرية لمهندسي كندا. هيرومي عضو فخري في SCWIST.

جودي مايرز ، رئيسة 2000-2002
كانت جودي رئيسة SCWIST من 2000 إلى 2002. بدأت جودي مع هيرومي ماتسوي الدراسة "أين النساء؟ دراسة معيارية للمرأة في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات في كولومبيا البريطانية "تقيم وجود المرأة في مجالات تكنولوجيا المعلومات في كولومبيا البريطانية. جودي عضو فخري في SCWIST.

Elana Brief، President 2008-2010
حصلت إيلينا على دكتوراه الفلسفة في الفيزياء من جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية في عام 2000. كانت إيلينا رئيسة SCWIST من عام 2008 إلى عام 2010. عملت إيلانا في مجلس إدارة SCWIST منذ عام 2004 ، وكانت أمين الصندوق في عام 2005 ، والرئيسة في عام 2008. إيلينا هي تعمل حاليًا باحثة في National Core for Neuroethics بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية.

المؤلف:
نادين ناكاجاوا
نادين ناكاجاوا كاتبة إبداعية وبانية مجتمعية وداعية. وهي عضو نشط في المجتمع في نيو وستمنستر ، وقد دافعت عن قضايا مثل بنك الإيجار ، والحلول الإبداعية لأزمة الإسكان ، والحدائق المجتمعية ، والمصالحة ، والفن العام. حصلت على لقب مواطنة العام في عام 2017 وانتُخبت في مجلس المدينة في عام 2018.

جويل إنجراو
أكملت Joelle Ingrao (Laudisio) شهادة DVM في عام 2010 ، و DVSc Anatomic Pathology في عام 2014 ، ودكتوراه في علم الفيروسات / علم المناعة في عام 2017 في جامعة جويلف. تكمن اهتماماتها في تطوير اللقاح ورعاية الحيوانات المختبرية واستخدامها. وهي حاليًا عضو في قسم عمليات جودة الموقع في Sanofi Pasteur Ltd في تورنتو ، أونتاريو ، وهي مسؤولة عن اختبار مراقبة الجودة في الجسم الحي لجميع اللقاحات المصنعة في الموقع. وظيفتها الحالية هي نائبة المدير وطبيبة بيطرية حاضرة وهي مسؤولة عن التدقيق الإقليمي والوطني والدولي الذي تم إعداده

SCWIST: A Distinguished Past and Growing into the Future

Compiled from the works of Nadine Nakagawa (2014), Joelle Ingrao (2014) and archived emails

SCWIST members present at the Annual General Meeting, 2019. Left to right: front row- Kelly Marciniw, president;Khristine Cariño, director for communications; Diana Herbst, founder;Danielle Livengood, outgoing director for events; Nasira Aziz, director for grants and secretary; Hilda Ching, founder; Hiromi Matsui, past president; Dhalie Patara, director for finance. 2nd row: Stephanie Zhou; Ashley van der Pouw Kraan, ms infinity coordinator; Amy Hsieh; member, member, Priyanka Mishra, Zhila Pirmoradi, Louise Beaton (honourary member); Angelia Zhou, Pamela Corvalan, incoming director; Payten Smith, member, Merrill Isenor, pub night coordinator; Olga Zamudio-Prieto, social media manager; Rina Pradhan, member, member, Martina Wan Lockwood, incoming director; Vladimirka Pereula, Akanksha Chudgar, north indigenous outreach coordinator; Gordana Pejic (honourary member), Anja Lanz, (honourary member), member, member, Theresa Morris, south indigenous outreach coordinator; member, Diamond Isinger, Girl Guides of Canada; member, Florina Rogers, Cheryl Kristiansen, Make Possible project manager; Sandy Eix (honorary member and past president); Heidi Hui (incoming director), Maria Issa (honourary member and past president).

The Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology (SCWIST) was born in 1981on the clematis-covered porch of Maggie Benston. It was here that the “undaunted five”- Mary Vickers, Hilda Ching, Abby Schwarz, Mary Jo Duncan and Maggie Benston– first conceived the idea of promoting the achievements of women in science. SCWIST was incorporated on July 30, 1981 with Mary Vickers as the founding president to encourage the full participation of girls and women in science and technology.

Within its first year SCWIST presented eight public programs, started the first registry of women in science in B.C. and the Yukon, and held panel discussions about the issues surrounding the female position in science.

Following the extremely successful 1983 National Conference on Women in Science, the Society began to host “Girls in Science” summer workshops with the belief that the promise of ‘affirmative action’ would be undermined by the lack of women holding PhDs. The workshops were created to encourage more young women to enter professions in science. At this time, SCWIST members were also invited to serve on the federal government’s Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women.

The 1990s saw changing demographic patterns which resulted in a decrease in the traditional pool of graduates from technical and scientific fields and therefore an increase in the need for educated professionals. Women were considered an untapped resource and SCWIST capitalized on this new demand by increasing the breadth and outreach of their programs, targeting both professional women and school-age girls.

The mission of SCWIST was developed to promote the recruitment, retention and promotion of women in science.

SCWIST has been successful in encouraging young women to study science, but more work is still needed in engineering, physics and computing science. Canadian women scientists and engineers are now confronting out-dated assumptions of women’s leadership roles in traditionally male-dominated fields. At the same time, there are growing numbers of highly-trained women who have immigrated to Canada who cannot work in their chosen fields.

SCWIST grows with the new realities: SCWIST strives to support and promote women in their education and career choices through networking and events, and SCWIST continues to delight in encouraging girls to imagine science, engineering and technology as part of their future.

SCWIST Founders Abby Schwarz, Mary Vickers and Hilda Ching (2015)

Founders

Mary Vickers was an instructor in biology at Douglas College in New Westminster, until her retirement in the early 80’s. In 1981, Mary was one of five founding members of SCWIST, and was the founding president from 1981 to 1983. During her term as president, the first national conference for women in science and technology was held in Vancouver. Mary is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Margaret (Maggie) Benstonwas a professor of chemistry, computing science, and women’s studies at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, British Columbia, and one of the founding members of SCWIST. In addition to founding SCWIST, Maggie also helped found Vancouver Mayworks, the Vancouver Women’s Caucus, and Women’s Skills Development of British Columbia. Maggie passed away in 1991. Following her death, she was named SCWIST’s first honorary member and the SCWIST B.C. Institute of Technology scholarship was renamed the Maggie Benston Scholarship. Simon Fraser University named The Maggie Benston Centre in her honor and established the Margaret Lowe Benston Memorial Graduate Bursary in Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies in her name.

Hilda Ching was president of SCWIST from 1984–1986, and again from 1994–1995. She organize the first national conference for women in science and technology which attracted over 300 participants in 1983. in 1990, she produced a video for SCWIST entitled “What do Scientists Do?” which was distributed to elementary schools. She served as the Ruth Winn Woodward Chair from 1990 to 1991 in Women Studies at SFU. Hilda received a YWCA Woman of Disctinction Award in 1991. She also received a Michael Smith Science Promotion award in 1996. She and her late husband, Joe, were awarded honourary memberships in SCWIST.

Abby Schwarz was an organizer of meetings at Science World, of panel discussions, and provided historical perspectives on women in Science.

Mary Jo Duncan worked on the registry for women in science and technology in British Columbia and the Yukon, and an educational project on girls’ education in science. She now lives in Ireland.

SCWIST Founder Diana Herbst

Diana Herbst contributed to the early framework of SCWIST helping to formulate by-laws and governance, securing federal funding for the first Women in Science conference, and applying for charitable status for the organization. She holds a BA in Microbiology from UC Riverside, an MSc in Biological Sciences from SFU and a PhD in Genetics from UBC. She served as the president from 1987 to 1988, during which the first ‘Women do Math’ conference was held at SFU. As Chair of the Awards & Scholarships Committee for a number of years, she was instrumental in revamping the Margaret Lowe Benston Scholarship at BCIT and setting up new scholarships — one at UNBC and another one at BCIT — as well as championing SCWIST Science Fair Awards. She also chaired the Nominations Committee several times to ensure continuity in SCWIST. Diana is an honorary member of SCWIST.

Past Presidents

Betty Dwyer, President 1983–1984
Betty obtained her B.Sc. (Hons.) in Physics and Statistics from the University of Manitoba in 1949, and a M.Sc. from Iowa State in 1954. She was an instructor in biometry and statistics at Simon Fraser University until her retirement in 1991. During her term, the first National Conference on Women in Science and Technology was held in Vancouver and The Registry of Skilled Women, BC and Yukon was produced. The ‘Girls in Science’ program was established, and its great success allowed for the program to be held in several communities throughout BC for the following years. Prior to her involvement with SCWIST, she headed the Biometric Unit of the Food and Drug Directorate in the Department of Health and Welfare from 1956 until 1959. She returned to Canada and joined Simon Fraser University in 1967. Betty is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Marian Adair, President 1986–1987
Marian Adair’s 40 years of experience in environmental and conservation land management grew from her technical roots as a terrestrial biologist. Marian holds a Bachelor of Science in Botany from the University of Calgary and is a Registered Professional Biologist and member of the College of Applied Biology.

Following graduation in 1975, Marian moved to British Columbia and started her career with environmental consulting. Aside from five years as Program Director of the Fraser River Estuary Management Program and Burrard Inlet Environmental Action Program, Marian worked as a consultant specializing in environmental planning and assessment throughout western and northern Canada. Marian worked 12 years for an engineering firm, as Vice-President of Norecol Environmental Consultants and as an independent consultant managing projects including the environmental approvals of the skytrain millennium line. Marian developed expertise in integrated resource management, water and land use planning, and environmental impact assessment processes.

Marian Joined The Nature Trust of British Columbia in 2002. As a senior manager in the organization, Marian is responsible for defining the conservation priorities for both acquisitions and conservation management of The Nature Trust of BC’s land portfolio. One of the most inspirational challenges for Marian while with The Nature Trust of BC has been her work as Chair of Biodiversity BC; a role she held since its inception in 2005. Biodiversity BC is a partnership of government and non-government organizations created to improve biodiversity conservation in the province and responsible for the development of Taking Nature’s Pulse The Status of Biodiversity in British Columbia released in July 2008.

Marian has been a SCWIST member since 1984 and during her time as president of SCWIST she developed the first policy guidelines for SCWIST projects. Following her role as president, Marian remained actively involved on the Girls in Science Committee and made numerous presentations to Elementary School Parent Advisory Committees about the importance of girls maintaining an interest and participation in science and math.

Josefina Gonzales, President 1988–1989
Josefina was president of SCWIST from 1988 to 1989. During her term, she presented a brief to the Royal Commission on Education and Part-time Employment, emphasizing girls and science education in British Columbia. The Secretary of State Women’s Programs also funded both the ‘Women Do Math’ conference, and the ‘Visiting Scientists Project’. In 1989, she was invited to sit at the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy.

Tasoula Berggren, President 1989–1990
Tasoula Berggren was a senior lecturer and coordinator of the calculus and linear algebra workshop at Simon Fraser University, and was president of SCWIST from 1989 to 1990. During her term, she founded the “Women Do Math” (Discover the Possibilities) Conference at Simon Fraser University. She then directed the conference until 1991 in B.C. and the Yukon. In 1994, she received the ‘Service to the Community’ award from Simon Fraser University and has been an Honorary Consul of the Republic of Cyprus since 1998.

Penny LeCouteur, President 1990–1992
Penny LeCouteur was president of SCWIST from 1990 to 1992. She obtained her B.Sc. and M.Sc. in chemistry from the University of Auckland, New Zealand in 1963, and her Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of California, Santa Barbara in 1967. During her time as president of SCWIST, the ‘ms infinity’ program was established. Penny was also instrumental in developing SCWIST’s ‘Project Tomorrow’, and the SCWIST Resource Center was created during her time as presicent. In addition to her work with SCWIST, she was founding faculty member at Capilano College in North Vancouver where she taught chemistry for over 30 years, and was the Dean of Arts and Sciences from 2003 to 2008. Her book “Napoleon’s Buttons: How Seventeen Molecules Changed History” was one of four finalist in the 2004 Best Book category of the U.S. National Academies Communications Award for Excellence in communicating science, engineering, and medicine to the general public. She was also awarded the Polysar Award for outstanding chemistry teaching in Canadian colleges, and the BC Innovation Council’s Eve Savory Award for Science Communication. Penny is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Jackie Gill, President 1992–1994
Jackie served as president of SCWIST from 1992–1994. During her time as president, SCWIST opened their Resource Centre (1992) and established Project Tomorrow (1993), a series of seminars developed to encourage the community to sustain interest in girls in science.

Maria Issa, President 1995–1996, 2012 —
Maria obtained a Bachelor of Science in microbiology from the University of BC in 1971, and a Doctor of Philosophy in Immunology from the University of London. She was president of SCWIST from 1995 to 1996. During her term, she established “XX evening” and Science Worlds “Opening Doors” science networking program. Maria is currently a Clinical Associate Professor at the University of British Columbia and the Director of the UBC Pathology Education Centre.

Hiromi Matsui, President 1997–1998
Hiromi obtained a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Waterloo, and a Master of Science from the women in science, engineering, trades and technology. Hiromi was president of SCWIST from 1997 to 1998. During her time as president, SCWIST established their online presence and launched their first website (1997). During this time, the CD ROM “Xplore Science Careers” was produced, with the purpose of exposing young people to possible careers in science. Together with Judy Myers, Hiromi published “Where are the Women? A Benchmark study of Women in Information Technology in BC” assessing the presence of women in information technology fields in BC. Prior to retirement, Hiromi was the director of Diversity & Recruitment, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Simon Fraser University. She has served as director for the Canadian Centre for Women in Science, Engineering, Trades, and Technology (WinSETT), holds honorary Membership in the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC, and is an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Canada. Hiromi is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Judy Myers, President 2000–2002
Judy was president of SCWIST from 2000 to 2002. Together with Hiromi Matsui, Judy initiated the study “Where are the Women? A Benchmark study of Women in Information Technology in BC” assessing the presence of women in information technology fields in BC. Judy is an honourary member of SCWIST.

Elana Brief, President 2008–2010
Elena obtained her Doctor of Philosophy in physics from the University of British Columbia in 2000. Elena was president of SCWIST from 2008 to 2010. Elana served on the SCWIST board of directors since 2004, was treasurer in 2005, and president in 2008. Elena is currently a researcher at the National Core for Neuroethics at the University of British Columbia.

Authors:
Nadine Nakagawa
Nadine Nakagawa is a creative writer, a community-builder, and an advocate. She is an active community member in New Westminster who has championed causes such as a rent bank, creative solutions to the housing crisis, community gardens, reconciliation, and public art. She was named Citizen of the Year in 2017 and was elected to City Council in 2018.

Joelle Ingrao
Joelle Ingrao (Laudisio) completed a DVM in 2010, a DVSc Anatomic Pathology in 2014, PhD in virology/immunology in 2017 at the University of Guelph. Her interests lie in vaccine development and laboratory animal care and use. She is currently a member of the Site Quality Operations department at Sanofi Pasteur Ltd in Toronto, Ontario, which is responsible for in vivo quality control testing of all manufactured vaccines on site. Her current title is Deputy Director and Attending Veterinarian and is responsible for provincial, national, and international audit prepared