Foire d'emplois

9 mai 2024 / Western University - Poste d'assistant/associé (tenure track) en génie de l'environnement

Retour aux publications

Poste d'assistant/associé (tenure track) en génie de l'environnement

Poste d'assistant/associé (tenure track) en génie de l'environnement

Détails de publication

Catégorie d'emploi

Raisons scolaires ou universitaires

Type de poste

À plein temps

Niveau de carrière

Autre

Secteur STEM

ENGINEERING

Échelle salariale

90,000 120,000 $ - XNUMX XNUMX $ (selon l'expérience)

Nombre d'ouvertures

1


Description

Les candidatures sont sollicitées pour un candidat exceptionnel dans le domaine du génie de l'environnement au Département de génie civil et environnemental de la Faculté de génie. La nomination devrait prendre effet le 1er janvier 2025 ou dès que possible par la suite. Le candidat retenu recevra une nomination probatoire (tenure track) au rang de professeur adjoint ou agrégé. Le rang sera proportionnel aux qualifications et à l'expérience du candidat retenu en matière d'enseignement et de recherche.

Nous recherchons un collègue énergique et dynamique qui contribuera positivement aux efforts d'enseignement et de recherche du Département dans le domaine du génie de l'environnement. Les candidats possédant une ou plusieurs des expertises de recherche suivantes seront pris en considération : infrastructures d'eau urbaine (eaux potables, eaux usées et eaux pluviales), contamination et assainissement des eaux souterraines, analyse des systèmes de gestion des ressources en eau, résilience aux inondations, hydrologie urbaine, adaptation et atténuation du changement climatique. Une expérience dans le développement et/ou l’application de méthodes d’intelligence artificielle pour résoudre des problèmes d’ingénierie environnementale sera un atout.

Pour une nomination probatoire, les candidats retenus auront obtenu un doctorat. diplôme dans un domaine du génie civil et environnemental, ou dans une discipline étroitement liée, et démontrer l'excellence ou une promesse claire d'excellence en recherche, y compris la preuve d'une production scientifique de haute qualité démontrant un potentiel de recherche indépendant menant à des publications évaluées par des pairs et à l'obtention d'un financement de recherche externe .

Le candidat devra enseigner des cours de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs dans le cadre du programme de génie civil et environnemental. La capacité d’enseigner des cours d’ingénierie environnementale tels que les infrastructures numériques de l’eau et l’apprentissage automatique pour les ressources en eau sera un atout. De plus, le candidat devra superviser des étudiants diplômés et participer à d'autres activités éducatives et professionnelles, y compris les activités administratives du Département, de la Faculté et de l'Université. La capacité de devenir admissible à l’inscription en tant qu’ingénieur professionnel en Ontario est requise pour cette nomination. Le candidat doit s'engager envers les principes d'équité, de diversité et d'inclusion (EDI).
Glossaire des termes – Bureau de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion – Université Western (uwo.ca)

L'Université Western offre une expérience académique sans égal. Western met au défi les professeurs, le personnel et les étudiants les plus brillants de s'engager à respecter les normes mondiales les plus élevées. Notre excellence en recherche élargit les connaissances et stimule la découverte avec des applications concrètes. L’Occident attire des individus ayant une vision du monde large, cherchant à étudier, à influencer et à diriger la communauté internationale. Depuis 1878, The Western Experience combine l’excellence académique avec des opportunités de croissance intellectuelle, sociale et culturelle tout au long de la vie afin de mieux servir nos communautés. L'Université Western compte environ 32,000 XNUMX étudiants à temps plein dans une gamme de programmes universitaires et professionnels. De plus amples informations sur Western peuvent être trouvées sur http://www.uwo.ca/, la Faculté de génie à http://www.eng.uwo.ca/, le Département de génie civil et environnemental à http://www.eng.uwo.ca/civil/. La mission, la vision et les valeurs de Western Engineering se trouvent sur https://www.eng.uwo.ca/files/departments-units/human-resources/values-mission-statement.pdf. Le bureau de recrutement et de rétention de Western est disponible pour aider à la transition des candidats retenus et de leurs familles.
Le Département de génie civil et environnemental est l'un des meilleurs programmes de génie civil au monde [classé n°1 au Canada et parmi les 20 meilleurs au monde pendant six années consécutives dans le classement académique des universités mondiales] avec une solide réputation internationale dans les deux domaines de recherche. et l'enseignement. Nous jouissons d’une réputation internationale établie dans les domaines de la géotechnique environnementale, de la structure et de l’ingénierie éolienne. Notre succès dans l’attraction des étudiants et du financement repose sur notre engagement envers l’excellence dans l’enseignement et la recherche. La force de recherche du département en génie environnemental est soutenue par des centres et des groupes de recherche de premier plan, notamment le Western Water Centre, RESTORE, le laboratoire HydroClimEX, le laboratoire d'ingénierie des biofilms et de récupération des ressources en eaux usées (BEWRR). Le département dispose également d'installations de recherche de classe mondiale, notamment la baie d'essai des infrastructures hydrauliques urbaines de Greenway, la centrifugeuse géotechnique occidentale, le laboratoire de soufflerie à couche limite et l'institut de recherche sur l'énergie et l'environnement de l'ingénierie éolienne (WindEEE).

Si vous partagez notre engagement envers l'excellence dans l'enseignement et la recherche et êtes désireux de poursuivre une carrière universitaire enrichissante, veuillez envoyer (i) une lettre de motivation, (ii) un curriculum vitae détaillé, (iii) une description de votre expérience d'enseignement et de votre philosophie, (iv) une brève description de votre programme de recherche actuel, de vos réalisations et de vos projets futurs, (v) des copies de trois publications représentatives, et (vi) les noms et coordonnées de trois arbitres. Les candidatures doivent être envoyées à :

Dr Ashraf El Damatty, président
a/s Stephanie Laurence, Agente administrative, Département de génie civil et environnemental, Faculté de génie de l'Université Western, London (Ontario), Canada N6A 5B9
Courriel : stephanie.laurence@uwo.ca

L’examen des candidatures débutera le 1er juin 2024 et se poursuivra jusqu’à ce que le poste soit pourvu. Veuillez vous assurer que le formulaire disponible à https://www.uwo.ca/facultyrelations/pdf/full-time-application-form.pdf est complété et inclus dans votre soumission de candidature.

Les postes sont soumis à l'approbation du budget. Les candidats doivent avoir de bonnes compétences en communication écrite et orale en anglais. L'Université invite les candidatures de toutes les personnes qualifiées. Western s'engage pour l'équité en matière d'emploi et la diversité en milieu de travail et accueille les candidatures de femmes, de membres de groupes racialisés / minorités visibles, d'Autochtones, de personnes handicapées, de personnes de toute orientation sexuelle et de personnes de toute identité de genre ou expression de genre.

Conformément aux exigences en matière d'immigration canadienne, la priorité sera accordée aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents.

Des aménagements sont disponibles pour les candidats handicapés tout au long du processus de recrutement. Si vous avez besoin d'aménagements pour des entrevues ou d'autres réunions, veuillez contacter le Dr El Damatty par courriel à damatty@uwo.ca ou par téléphone au 519-850-2345.

Numéro d'affichage : E-CEE-2024-026

Comment postuler

Date limite d'inscription : 09/08/2024

Veuillez envoyer (i) une lettre de motivation, (ii) un curriculum vitae détaillé, (iii) une description de votre expérience d'enseignement et de votre philosophie, (iv) une brève description de votre programme de recherche actuel, de vos réalisations et de vos projets futurs, (v) des copies de trois publications représentatives, et (vi) les noms et coordonnées de trois arbitres. Les candidatures doivent être envoyées à :

Dr Ashraf El Damatty, président
a/s Stephanie Laurence, Agente administrative, Département de génie civil et environnemental, Faculté de génie de l'Université Western, London (Ontario), Canada N6A 5B9
Courriel : stephanie.laurence@uwo.ca


En haut

Job Board

May 9, 2024 / Western University - Assistant/Associate (tenure track) position in Environmental Engineering

Back to Postings

Assistant/Associate (tenure track) position in Environmental Engineering

Assistant/Associate (tenure track) position in Environmental Engineering

Posting Details

Job Category

Academic

Position Type

Full-Time

Career Level

Other

STEM Sector

Engineering

Salary Range

$90,000 - 120,000 (commensurate with experience)

Number of Openings

1


Job Description

Applications are invited for an exceptional candidate in the area of Environmental Engineering in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Engineering. The appointment is expected to be effective January 1, 2025, or as soon as possible thereafter. The successful applicant will receive a Probationary (tenure-track) appointment at the rank of Assistant or Associate Professor. The rank will be commensurate with the successful applicant’s qualifications and experience in teaching and research.

We seek an energetic and dynamic colleague who will positively contribute to both the teaching and research efforts of the Department in the area of Environmental Engineering. Applicants with one or more of the following research expertise will be considered: urban water (drinking, wastewater, and stormwater) infrastructure, groundwater contamination and remediation, system analysis in water resources management, flood resilience, urban hydrology, climate change adaptation and mitigation. Experience in the development and/or application of artificial intelligence method to address environmental engineering problems will be an asset.

For a probationary appointment, successful candidates will have completed a Ph.D. degree in a Civil and Environmental Engineering field, or a closely related discipline, and demonstrate excellence or clear promise of excellence in research, including evidence of high quality scholarly output that demonstrates independent research potential leading to peer reviewed publications and the securing of external research funding.

The candidate will be expected to teach undergraduate and graduate courses within the Civil and Environmental Engineering program. Ability to teach environmental engineering courses such as digital water infrastructure and machine learning for water resources will be an asset. In addition, the candidate will be expected to supervise graduate students and participate in other educational and professional activities including administrative activities of the Department, Faculty and University. The ability to become eligible for registration as a Professional Engineer in Ontario is required for this appointment. The candidate is expected to be committed to the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) principles.
Glossary of Terms – Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion – Western University (uwo.ca)

Western University delivers an academic experience second to none. Western challenges the best and brightest faculty, staff, and students to commit to the highest global standards. Our research excellence expands knowledge and drives discovery with real-world application. Western attracts individuals with a broad worldview, seeking to study, influence and lead in the international community. Since 1878, The Western Experience has combined academic excellence with life- long opportunities for intellectual, social, and cultural growth in order to better serve our communities. Western University has a full-time enrollment of about 32,000 students in a range of academic and professional programs. Further information about Western can be found at http://www.uwo.ca/, the Faculty of Engineering at http://www.eng.uwo.ca/, the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at http://www.eng.uwo.ca/civil/. Western Engineering’s Mission, Vision and Values can be found at https://www.eng.uwo.ca/files/departments-units/human-resources/values-mission-statement.pdf. Western’s Recruitment & Retention Office is available to assist in the transition of successful applicants and their families.
The Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering is one of the top civil engineering programs globally [ranked # 1 in Canada and among the top 20 in the world for six consecutive years in the Academic Ranking of World Universities] with a strong international reputation in both research and teaching. We have an established international reputation in environmental geotechnical, structural and wind engineering. Our success in attracting students and funding is based on our dedication to excellence in teaching and research. The department’s research strength in environmental engineering is supported by leading research centres and groups including Western Water Centre, RESTORE, HydroClimEX Lab, Biofilm Engineering and Wastewater Resource Recovery Laboratory (BEWRR). The department also has world class research facilities including Greenway Urban Water Infrastructure Test Bay, the Western Geotechnical Centrifuge, Boundary Layer Wind Tunnel Laboratory, and the Wind Engineering Energy and Environment (WindEEE) Research Institute.

If you share our commitment to excellence in teaching and research, and are eager to pursue a rewarding academic career, please send (i) a cover letter, (ii) a detailed curriculum vitae, (iii) a description of teaching experience and philosophy, (iv) a brief description of your current research program, accomplishments, and future plans, (v) copies of three representative publications, and (vi) the names and contact information of three referees. Applications should be sent to:

Dr. Ashraf El Damatty, Chair
c/o Stephanie Laurence, Administrative Officer, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Engineering at Western University, London, Ontario, Canada N6A 5B9
Email: stephanie.laurence@uwo.ca

Consideration of applications will commence on June 1st, 2024 and will continue until the position is filled. Please ensure that the form available at https://www.uwo.ca/facultyrelations/pdf/full-time-application-form.pdf is completed and included in your application submission.

Positions are subject to budget approval. Applicants should have fluent written and oral communication skills in English. The University invites applications from all qualified individuals. Western is committed to employment equity and diversity in the workplace and welcomes applications from women, members of racialized groups/visible minorities, Aboriginal persons, person with disabilities, persons of any sexual orientation, and persons of any gender identity or gender expression.

In accordance with Canadian Immigration requirements, priority will be given to Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

Accommodations are available for applicants with disabilities throughout the recruitment process. If you require accommodations for interviews or other meetings, please contact Dr. El Damatty by email at damatty@uwo.ca or by phone at 519-850-2345

Posting number: E-CEE-2024-026

How to Apply

Application Deadline: 09/08/2024

Please send (i) a cover letter, (ii) a detailed curriculum vitae, (iii) a description of teaching experience and philosophy, (iv) a brief description of your current research program, accomplishments, and future plans, (v) copies of three representative publications, and (vi) the names and contact information of three referees. Applications should be sent to:

Dr. Ashraf El Damatty, Chair
c/o Stephanie Laurence, Administrative Officer, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Engineering at Western University, London, Ontario, Canada N6A 5B9
Email: stephanie.laurence@uwo.ca


To top