敢为人先的机会:Kameela Razack

多伦多RJ Nelson

卡梅拉·拉扎克(Kameela Razack)

科学,技术,工程和数学(STEM)的学习和就业领域提供不断增长的职业机会。 但是,就性别而言,在就读和后来在STEM领域工作的大学生比例之间存在一些差异。

但是,如果存在从另一职业流向利润丰厚的技术领域过渡的方法,该怎么办? 一个为女性提供更大机会进入仍然由男性主导的部门的机会吗?

在2000年代初期,加拿大科技公司的扩张使得必须设立职位,以使那些以前被排除在外的人能够进入该行业。 除了需要科学,数学或其他STEM计划学位的职业发展道路外,相关行业也摆脱了保持STEM进步产生的商品可供越来越多的消费者使用的必要性。 在滑铁卢,Kameela Razack能够涉足这一行业。

在滑铁卢大学攻读本科学位时,Razack最初的目标是从事教学或商务工作,主修商务和专业写作。 在接受大专教育的初期,她意识到学校的课程和教职员工更适合技术和工程领域。 因此,Razack开始寻找方法,将自己的技能运用到技术行业的职业中,然后再找到Cisco Systems Inc.的技术作家职位。正如她所说的那样,“我有时会在UW学习。 由于这些蓬勃发展的公司对作家和传播者的大量需求,我几乎被迫进入了科技行业。”

适应新的职业道路并不容易。 Razack的大多数同事都拥有或正在攻读软件开发或工程学位,这在竞争激烈的工作环境中可能构成严重的劣势,但她能够利用同事的技术知识来理解思科的系统,软件和术语。 但是,她进入科技行业的旅程并没有就此结束。 Kameela称赞她在思科工作所建立的联系,使她有机会进入职业生涯的下一阶段,并在上海完成了国际商务硕士学位。

卡梅拉·拉扎克(Kameela Razack)

在重返科技行业与继续发展国际商业之间的十字路口,卡梅拉选择了一条兼具两者要素的职业道路。 现在,她担任IT项目经理,她建议更多的女性通过正式教育或个人学习的方式从事面向STEM的职业。 用她的话说,进入该领域将提供“巨大的优势,并且可以为国内外的一些奇妙机遇打开大门。”

随着向消费者提供产品的复杂性水平的提高,技术行业也在不断发展。 职业机会随着行业的发展而不断扩大,为建立和发展职业提供了指数基础。 正如Kameela Razack的旅程所表明的那样,过渡到高科技行业的决定永远不会太迟,它是女性进入这一领域的途径。 这在解决STEM相关领域中的性别不平衡方面取得了长足的进步。 就像任何支持平等事业的事业一样,生意也越多。

Opportunities For All Who Dare: Kameela Razack

By R.J. Nelson, Toronto

Kameela Razack

Science, Tech, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) fields of study and employment offer ever-increasing career opportunities. However, there exist several disparities along gender lines between the percentage of undergraduate students studying, and later working in STEM fields.

But what if there existed a way to transition into the lucrative technology sector from another career stream? One that offers greater occasion for women to make inroads into a sector still predominated by men?

In the early 2000s, the expansion of Canadian tech companies necessitated the creation of positions that granted entry into the industry for those with what would be previously excluded backgrounds. Alongside career paths that require degrees in science, mathematics, or other STEM programs, related industries rose out of a necessity to keep the commodities that STEM advancements produced, available to a growing number of consumers. In Waterloo, Kameela Razack was able to step into one such industry.

When beginning her undergraduate degree at University of Waterloo, Razack initially aimed toward a career in teaching or business, majoring in business and professional writing. Early on in her post-secondary education, she realized the school’s courses and faculty were more geared toward the technology and engineering sectors. So Razack began looking for ways to leverage her skill set into a tech industry career before finding a position as a technical writer at Cisco Systems Inc. As she puts it, “I sometimes say that by studying at UW. I was almost forced into the tech industry because of the high demand for writers and communicators at these booming companies.”

Adjusting to a new career-path wasn’t easy. The majority of Razack’s co-workers either possessed, or were working toward degrees in software development or engineering — which might pose as a severe disadvantage in a competitive work environment — but she was able to leverage her co-workers’ technical knowledge into an understanding of Cisco’s systems, software, and terminology. However, her journey into the tech industry didn’t end there. Kameela credits the connections she made working at Cisco with providing her the opportunity to move into the next stage of her career, completing a Masters of International Business in Shanghai.

Kameela Razack

At a crossroads between returning to the tech sector, and continuing in the world of international business, Kameela opted for a career path that offered elements of both. Now working as an IT project manager, she recommends that more women enter into STEM oriented careers, either by way of formal education or personal study when the occasion arises. In her words, entry into the field offers “a huge advantage and can open doors to some amazing opportunities both at home and abroad.”

The tech industry is constantly growing alongside the level of complexity of the products it offers to consumers. The career opportunities continue to expand in tandem with the industry, offering exponential bases on which to establish and grow a career. As Kameela Razack’s journey has shown, the decision to make the transition into the tech industry is never too late, and serves as an avenue for women to enter the field. This takes great strides in addressing the gender imbalance in STEM related fields. As with any venture that champions the cause of equality, the more the merrier.