海洋智慧:激励女孩学习海洋

对于您一生中对海洋感兴趣的年轻女孩*,仅次于Sea Smart的Girls Only 培训海洋生物学家(MBIT) 在线营地。

*训练营中的海洋生物学家仅供女孩使用,以帮助解决女孩在科学相关领域中人数不足的问题。 Sea Smart包含“妇女”和“女孩”的包容性定义,其中包括识别为妇女,女孩,跨性别者,性别同志,性别非二元,两性精神和性别质疑的人。 包容性的环境意味着所有参与者都可以感到安全并得到支持,但是他们可以确定。

在SCWIST,我们喜欢这项计划,并希望通过向Sea Smart提出一些问题来进一步强调在线营地。

MBIT的起源是什么? 它是如何开始的?

Sea Smart是一家由女性领导的STEM组织,致力于帮助女孩追求对STEM的热爱。 尽管海洋生物学具有很高的女性代表性,但是许多与海洋有关的职业,例如海洋学和工程学,女性代表性却很低。 我们创建了我们的程序,以使女孩对海洋科学感到兴奋,并在各种海洋STEM领域中接触女性榜样。

营地如何适应在线版本?

我们计划中的女孩正在从我们的日营中学习相同的整体内容,但我们已经对其进行了调整,以利用有趣的数字平台进行有趣的游戏和活动。 例如,营地的演示部分是使用Kahoot交付的,Kahoot是孩子和老师喜欢的交互式琐事游戏! 我们还将根据课程内容创建一个自学课程,以便我们继续教育加拿大乃至其他地区的女孩。

您的网站指出,女孩将“学习海洋生态学,科学研究以及如何从事海洋科学事业。” 更详细地说,培训涵盖了什么?

我们营地中的女孩了解海洋生物的多样性,包括我们可以在海滩上轻松发现和监视的无脊椎动物。 参与者将开发一个小型研究项目,以了解科学方法,并在训练营的最后一天展示他们的发现。 这些项目由学生主导,可以在室外或室内进行。

到目前为止,有很多创意研究项目! 我们的一名露营者计算了通过建筑物前的车辆数量,将类别分为车辆类型(汽车,卡车,摩托车,自行车)和颜色,并介绍了发现的趋势。 另一个营员监视着她院子里的蝴蝶,以确定它们似乎更喜欢哪种植物。 她记录到有40多只蝴蝶降落在她的院子里,其中大多数人选择降落在薰衣草上。

我们还邀请海洋STEM领域的女性专业人士在我们的会议上担任演讲嘉宾,分享他们的工作并回答问题。 这是一个对海洋科学感兴趣的年轻女孩向他们所在领域的专家学习第一手资料并受到这些出色榜样启发的机会。

如果您知道有8至12岁的女孩愿意参加此计划,请告诉他们。 注册是开放的,下一个训练营将于17月XNUMX日开始。

Sea Smart: Inspiring Girls to Learn About the Ocean

For the young girl* in your life interested in the ocean, there’s only one week left of Sea Smart’s Girls Only Marine Biologist in Training (MBIT) online camp.

*Marine Biologist in Training camps are for girls only to help address the vast underrepresentation of girls in science-related fields. Sea Smart embraces an inclusive definition of “women” and “girls” that includes people who identify as women, girls, trans, gender queer, gender non-binary, Two-Spirit, and gender questioning. An inclusive environment means all participants feel safe and supported however they may identify.

At SCWIST, we love this initiative and wanted to further highlight the online camp by asking Sea Smart a few questions.

What’s the origin story of MBIT? How did it get started?

Sea Smart is a women-led STEM organization that cares deeply about empowering girls to pursue their love for STEM. Although marine biology has high female representation, there are many marine-related careers, such as oceanography and engineering, that have low female representation. We created our program to get girls excited about marine sciences and be exposed to female role models in a diversity of marine STEM fields.

How has the camp adapted to an online version?

The girls in our program are learning the same overall content from our day camps, but we’ve adapted it to have fun games and activities that make use of engaging digital platforms. For example, the presentation portion of the camp is delivered using Kahoot, an interactive trivia game that kids and teachers love! We are also creating a self-led course from the content of our programs so we can continue to educate girls across Canada and beyond.

Your website states that girls will “learn about marine ecology, scientific research, and how to pursue a career in marine sciences.” In more detail, what does the training cover?

Girls in our camp learn about the diversity of life in the ocean, including the invertebrates that we can easily spot and monitor on beaches. Participants develop a mini-research project to learn about the scientific method and present their findings on the last day of camp. These projects are student-led and can be done outdoors or indoors.

There have been so many creative research projects so far! One of our campers counted the number of vehicles that passed in front of their building, separating the categories into vehicle type (car, truck, motorcycle, bicycle) and colour, and presented on the trends that were found. Another camper monitored the butterflies in her yard to determine which plant they seemed to prefer. She recorded over 40 butterflies landing in her yard, where most chose to land on the lavender.

We also invite female professionals in marine STEM fields as guest speakers in our sessions to share their work and answer questions. This is an opportunity for young girls interested in marine sciences to learn first-hand from an expert in their field and to be inspired by these fantastic role models.

If you know any girls aged 8 to 12 who would love this program, please let them know. Registration is open, with the next camp starting August 17th.