经验教训与变革:重返工作岗位

瑞秋·卢(Rachel Luu),Immunomind创始人兼负责人

我感觉就像一条孤单的鱼在上游游动,因为其他所有汽车似乎都朝相反的方向行驶。

这个特殊的工作日开始时与大多数人类似:我放下丈夫的工作(因为我们只有一辆车,尽管他经常骑车),然后继续前进。 不过,我并没有像往常一样开车去自己的工作,而是朝相反的方向走–感觉我不得不做点什么,去某个地方……所以我跑腿了。

这是我休产假的第一天,大约是我的到期日前两周。 在完成我的硕士学位后,我已经在同一家公司全职工作了5 1/2年。 我喜欢微生物学和免疫学。

尽管我确实经历了一段艰难的时期,因为睡眠不足和护理挑战,但我还是很喜欢和儿子一起回家。 (我肯定会回想一下,我对它进行了更多的浪漫化处理,看到其他人现在抚养自己的新生儿,而我的儿子则是一个精力充沛的7岁小孩子。)花点时间多些时间去探望家人,对于更长的访问时间。

在我恢复工作之前,我们过渡到了日托。 自从我怀孕以来,我们就一直在几个地点的候补名单上,并且我们提前几个月在其中一个地点收到了空位。 日托中心非常热情好客,他们有一个婴儿房。 我们从一起短暂访问开始,逐渐延长了几天的时间。 然后是时候,我要离开一两个小时,然后让他自己待一整天。 上车并第一次与一个不属于家人的人离开他真是奇怪。 我敢肯定,这对我来说比他难受,因为他有很多小朋友可以陪伴并提供各种各样的活动,尽管我想我希望他至少会想念我。 知道他睡的很好,这让我知道了,我开始在家里以一种新的方式来珍惜洗澡的时间,因为他在日托中没有时间。

我有点想重新上班,尽管我知道平衡对我们所有人来说都是棘手的,而且我知道离开一年后情况会有所不同。 对我来说,主要的变化是实验室中有一个新的流式细胞仪。 我曾经是早期流式细胞仪的“高级用户”(坎托和咏叹调),现在需要接受新的培训 福特萨。 在大型研究中,团队合作更加突出,而且是必要的,因为需要同时进行几组操作才能处理样品,分析和QC数据,以便为下一步研究做出重要决策。 一些新成员加入了团队,角色也发生了变化。 有鉴于此,重要的是要放弃我原来的工作,同时回顾自己的经验和故障排除策略,以新方式应用自己,使团队最有效地完成截止日期并在并发项目之间无缝切换。 在实验室中,使多个人熟悉相同的技术非常有用; 有时候,托儿所会打电话说我们儿子发烧,所以我需要接他起来,直到发烧为止。

在我第二次休假期间,我和丈夫决定在渥太华待了10年之后,该是应对变化和新挑战的时候了。 我们俩都在温哥华地区找到了工作,在那里我们也有家人,所以我们发现自己收拾行装,开始新的篇章。 我们提前几个月谈论了它,称其为我们的大冒险。 带着我们将近3岁的儿子和9个月大的女儿,我们乘坐小本田飞度(Honda Fit)向西行驶,抽出时间使日子变得井井有条,小睡片刻,停下来玩乐。 根据决定我们路线的天气,我们会在一路上找到便宜的酒店房间过夜。 我们驶向越来越远的南方,以避免十一月的高速公路上结冰的雨,在马戏团马戏团停留一些额外的家庭娱乐时间。 八天后到达目的地时,我们已经对不开车一会儿感到满意。

我们在接下来的几周内定居下来,直到我和丈夫热切希望在8月初的同一天开始第一天的工作。 我们两个孩子都在一个新的地方开始了日托,这是一个家庭日托,在那里他们可以和其他年龄不同的孩子一起玩。 我决心在新工作中全力以赴,通常我是在早上30:5左右放下孩子并在下午30:XNUMX左右接孩子的人。 今年一月的温哥华似乎特别阴暗多雨,因为我逐渐学会了上下班时经常换车道,而有些车子停在右边,而另一些车子拐在左边。 孩子们在一个新的地方呆了很长时间,累了,我下定决心要全力以赴地工作,我的丈夫从北温哥华去上班。 几个月后,我们再次搬到新威斯敏斯特,孩子们开始在附近的一家新的家庭日托中心工作。 他们调整得很好,我们似乎已经习惯了一周中有些疯狂的节奏,星期六在恢复模式下,家人探访或在星期日进行探索。

这持续了3年,直到由于公司重组而调动我的工作,我们仍然安定下来。 我决定花一些时间进行重新评估。 我喜欢我的工作,不介意根据需要增加时间。 我已经看到很多职位发布,并且认为它们听起来很合适。 但是,由于我们的女儿即将开始上幼儿园,而我们的儿子则致力于将精力集中在学校上,所以我现在有机会在钟声响起的早晨在学校公园里闲逛,这样我的儿子就可以做猴子栏了,我可以把我的女儿推到秋千上。

我已经建立了咨询业务, 免疫学, 为初创公司提供科学专业知识,以节省时间,集中精力并提高团队在关键的早期阶段管理资源的效率。

通过这项新的努力,我的丈夫给了我极大的支持。 我完成了一个自雇计划,并了解了经营自己的业务的各个方面,包括财务,营销和运营。 我在变化和挑战中壮成长,而且我喜欢新的篇章。

每次与潜在客户互动时,我都会学到更多有关建立和建立关系的知识,并且会接触到一系列激动人心的项目。 这次新旅程非常符合我的经验,支持实验室内外的团队高效地开展工作,并在可能的情况下努力完善流程。 我以前在任何一个职位上都渴望做的很好,但是我想要更多,以更好地了解全局,不断推动自己去做更多的事情,学习,体验和实践,从而凸显了这一点。激发他人热爱自己所做的事情,并寻求改善的方法。 这包括我的孩子,因为我对他们的持续愿望是,他们不会因为尝试新的体验而感到沮丧。 我喜欢为他们树立榜样,以冒险,应用自我和探索。

A 几乎没有多余的股份,还有幕后的致敬……我第一次回到工作是在我宫外孕的时候。 我的腹部有点奇怪的声音,后来恶心,我以为是食物中毒(也许是否认,因为我知道我怀孕了大约8个星期),并在周五下午在工作时晕倒在浴室内部出血。 值得庆幸的是,一个同事找到了我,他们给在附近工作的丈夫打电话,我们赶往医院。 几天后我想回到工作岗位,但我待了一个星期就恢复了手术,并在我重返工作岗位后受到同事的热情接待,不再怀孕。 这段经历令人心碎,并教会我依靠我周围的人,而我通常是非常独立的,并且为寻求帮助而感到自豪。 我想我从未对自己的情况感到十分尴尬,因此我从未对你表示感谢。 奥黛丽·拉沃(Audrey Lavoie),你是我的英雄。 谢谢!

Lessons & Transformation: On Returning to Work

Rachel Luu, Founder & Principal, Immunomind

I felt like a lone fish swimming upstream, as it seemed all other cars were headed in the opposite direction.

This particular weekday started similar to most: I dropped off my husband at his work (since we had the one car, though he would often bike) and proceeded on my way. I did not drive to my own work, though, as per usual, but instead went the opposite direction — feeling like I had to do something, go somewhere… so I ran errands.

This was my first day of maternity leave, about two weeks before my due date. I had been working full time at the same company for 5 1/2 years straight, after completing my M.Sc. in Microbiology & Immunology, and I loved it.

I grew to love being home with our son as a newborn, though I did have a hard time with it, through sleep deprivation and nursing challenges. (I am sure looking back I romanticize it more than a bit, seeing others coddle their own newborns now, while my son is an energetic 7- year- old.) It was valuable to have the time to visit family more often, and for longer visits.

Before I returned to work, we transitioned to daycare. We had been on the waiting list for several locations since I was pregnant, and we received a space at one of them about a few months ahead of time. The daycare center was very warm and welcoming, and they had a room just for babies. We started with a short visit there together, gradually longer over a few days; then came the time that I would leave for an hour or two, and to drop him off on his own for a full day. It was bizarre to get in the car and leave him for the first time with someone that wasn’t family. I’m pretty sure it was tougher on me than him, as he had lots of little friends for company and excellent care with an assortment of activities, though I suppose I hoped he would miss me at least a smidge. It helped to know that he was napping well, and I began to treasure bath time in a new way at home as it was not something he had at daycare.

I was somewhat eager to go back to work, though I knew the balance would be tricky for all of us, and I knew it would be a little different after having been away for a year. The main change for me was that there was a new flow cytometer in the lab; I had been a ‘power user’ of the earlier flow cytometers (Canto and Aria), and now needed training on the new Fortessa. Teamwork was more prominent and necessary with larger studies requiring several sets of hands at once to process samples, analyze and QC data to make important decisions for the next studies. A few new people had joined the team, and roles had shifted. In light of this, it was important to let go of my functions from where I had left off, while recalling my experience and troubleshooting strategies to apply myself in new ways and be most effective for the team to meet deadlines and move seamlessly between concurrent projects. It was useful that multiple people were well-versed in the same techniques in the lab; on occasion, the daycare would call to say our son had a fever, so I would need to pick him up and keep him home until the fever had passed.

During my second mat leave, my husband and I decided it was time for a change and new challenge after spending 10 years in Ottawa. We both found jobs in the Vancouver area, where we also had family, so we found ourselves packing up our home and starting a new chapter. We talked about it for months in advance, calling it our big adventure, which it was. With our nearly 3-year-old son and 9-month old daughter, we headed west in our little Honda Fit, taking our time to keep the days somewhat structured, with naps in the car and stopping for playtime. We would stay overnight in a hotel room we found for cheap along the way, based on the weather which determined our route. We drove farther and farther south to avoid freezing November rain on the highways, stopping at Circus Circus for some extra family fun time. By the time we arrived at our destination eight days later, we were quite content with the idea of not driving anywhere for awhile!

We settled in over the next few weeks, until my husband and I eagerly started our first day of work on the same day in early January. Both of our children started daycare at a new place, a home daycare where they could play with other kids of different ages. I was determined to give it my all at my new job, and I was usually the one to drop off the kids around 8:30 am and pick them up around 5:30 pm. This January in Vancouver seemed particularly dark and rainy, as I gradually learned to change lanes often on my commute while some cars were parked on the right, others turning on the left. The kids were tired from long days at a new place, I was determined to give my all to my new job, and my husband commuted from North Vancouver. We moved again a few months later to New Westminster and the kids started at a new home daycare closer by. They adjusted well and we seemed to grow accustomed to the somewhat crazy rhythm of the week, with recovery mode on Saturdays and family visits or exploring on Sundays.

This continued for 3 years, until my job moved due to company restructuring, and we remained settled. I decided to take some time to re-evaluate. I loved my work and didn’t mind putting in extra time as needed. I’ve seen so many job postings appear and thought they sound like a great fit. Yet with our daughter just about to begin kindergarten, and our son working to focus his energy at school, I now have the chance to hang out at the school park in the morning before the bell rings, so my son can do monkey bars, and I can push my daughter on the swing.

I’ve established a consulting business, Immunomind, to provide scientific expertise to start-up companies, saving time, generating focus and enhancing productivity for teams managing resources in the critical early stages of growth.

My husband has been an amazing support through this new endeavour. I completed a self-employment program and learned about aspects of running my own business including finance, marketing and operations. I thrive on variety and challenge, and I love a new chapter.

Each time I interact with a potential client, I learn more about developing and establishing relationships, and become exposed to an intricate array of exciting projects. This new journey fits well with my experience, supporting teams in and out of the lab to do their work efficiently and striving to refine processes wherever possible. This is underscored by my previous work in any one position, where I’ve been eager to do a good job, but wanting more, to have a better sense of the big picture, continuously pushing myself to do more, learn, experience, and inspire others to love what they do and find ways to improve. This includes my children, as my ongoing wish for them is that they do not feel held back from trying new experiences. I enjoy setting an example for them to venture out, apply themselves, and explore.

A little over-share plus a tribute from behind the scenes… My very first time returning to work was when I had an ectopic pregnancy. I felt a strange little pop in my abdomen, later followed by nausea which I thought be due to food poisoning (perhaps in denial, as I knew I was about 8 weeks pregnant) and fainted in the bathroom at work on a Friday afternoon as I was bleeding internally. Thankfully a co-worker found me, they called my husband who was working nearby, and we rushed to the hospital. I felt like I wanted to go back to work just a few days later, but I stayed home for a week to recover from surgery and was received warmly by co-workers as I returned to work, no longer pregnant. This experience was heartbreaking and has taught me to lean on those around me, when I am usually extremely independent and too proud to ask for help. I think I never extended a proper thank you as I was quite embarrassed about the situation. Audrey Lavoie, you are my hero. Thank you!