活动回顾:2022 年神奇女侠网络之夜

由 WWNE 活动协调员 Jordana Smith 撰写, 丹妮尔·利文古德, WWNE 主持人和 卡米拉·卡斯塔内达 SCWIST 通讯和活动协调员。

9 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,SCWIST 和科学世界举办了备受喜爱的神奇女侠网络之夜。 它几乎连续第二年发生。

30 多年来,一年一度的神奇女侠网络晚会 (WWNE) 一直是 SCWIST 的基石活动。 它经历了各种名称和迭代。 然而,它的目的仍然是一样的:在 STEM 中引入女性,就她们所选择的领域的蓬勃发展进行对话和联系。

WWNE 2022 虚拟会议室!

想确保您不会错过 2023 年神奇女侠网络之夜吗?

一定要 订阅 我们会及时通知您。

在 STEM 中与一些令人难以置信的“神奇女侠”建立联系

WWNE 为大专学生、早期职业专业人士以及可能正在考虑转行的人提供了一个机会。 每年,知名专业人士都会报名与我们的与会者分享他们的故事、专业知识和建议。

这是 COVID-19 大流行将我们带到 Zoom 分组讨论室的第二年。 我们很高兴能够利用去年活动的反馈来帮助我们规划 WWNE 2022。有两个要点指导我们:我们的与会者希望有更多的时间进行交流,以及对分组讨论室进行更多的主题组织。

您的反馈导致改进

所以,我们尝试了一些新的东西。 我们询问了与会者他们想了解哪些领域。 然后我们出去招募在这些领域表现出色的神奇女侠。 每个领域都有自己的专用分组讨论室,由一对具有相关经验和专业知识的神奇女侠主持。 会议室主题包括工程(多个专业)、医学与健康科学、科学传播、学术界职业,甚至创业。

“在 STEM 中结识令人难以置信的女性的好地方。 他们在同理心和鼓励下学习、分享和玩乐!” WWNE 2022 与会者 Sharon 说。

寻找共同点并建立联系

另一位与会者说:“这是一个很棒的活动,可以结识这么多不同、有趣、才华横溢的女性。 它组织得非常好,我们可以一直聊下去……一个好的事件的标志是渴望更多。 我们做到了。”

此外,还有三轮30分钟的交流。 其中两轮是预先分配的,但最后一轮是“外卡”。 该活动的司仪 Danniele Livengood 鼓励与会者加入与他们通常的学习或工作领域不同的房间。 网络就是寻找共同点并建立联系。 除了在同一领域工作之外,还有很多共同点。 最后,Danniele 鼓励参与者继续保持交流。 毕竟,这是一个持续的过程,我们刚刚播下了种子。

WWNE 团队! 从左上起顺时针方向:桑迪·艾克斯、克里斯汀·卡里尼奥、乔丹娜·史密斯和丹妮尔·利文古德

最后,我们以 SCWIST 主席 Khristine Cariño 的一些闭幕词结束了这一晚,她感谢了整个 WWNE 团队:

· 科学世界,让我们在他们的工作室制作活动(也就是在他们巨大的 OMNIMAX® 屏幕后面!)
· Danniele Livengood,WWNE 主持人
· Sandy Eix,Science World 的 STEM 学习总监,曾长期担任 WWNE 主持人
· Jordana Smith,WWNE 活动协调员
· 神奇女侠
· 当然还有所有的与会者

我们将以参加今年活动的人的一些想法作为结尾。

与会者:

“一次令人难以置信的启发性体验。 有时,作为 STEM 领域的女性,我往往会忘记还有其他人因为我的性别而经历与我一样的挣扎。 我很庆幸自己身处一个(虚拟)开拓者的房间,他们可以就如何与之抗争提供明智的建议,而且我并不孤单。”

– Shirin,与会者


“我在 STEM 遇到了很多优秀的女性,她们不仅成功,而且愿意与他人分享她们的经历! 每个人都非常支持和乐于助人! 我很高兴成为这个了不起的社区的一员。”

– 与会者

“这次社交活动让我认识了一些了不起的科技女性,她们慷慨地分享了她们的经历和鼓舞人心的职业道路。 结识其他对科学和技术充满热情的志同道合的人,并了解他们如何以自己独特的方式应对挑战和追求对技术的兴趣,这也令人惊叹。”

– Maryam,与会者

难怪女人:

“我非常期待 SCWIST WWNE 是一个“我知道为什么我会年复一年地以神奇女侠的身份回归。 这是一场独一无二的活动,它汇集了 STEM 领域非常多元化的女性群体。 我们不仅分享我们独特的经历,而且我们也互相庆祝和学习。 SCWIST 总是在把这个事件放在一起做如此出色的工作,尤其是现在在大流行期间。 做得非常好,我迫不及待地想年复一年地回来。”

安雅·兰兹(Anja Lanz),神奇女侠

“这是一个与行业领导者和其他学习者会面并建立联系的绝佳机会,我总是带着新知识离开。 组织者非常注意确保社交机会对内向和外向的人都有效!”

安吉拜伦,神奇女侠

“WWNE 是我第一次了解 SCWIST 的方式。 作为与会者,它为我提供了一个了解 STEM 不同职业的绝佳机会。 现在,作为一名神奇女侠,它为我提供了一个向前发展的机会,并帮助 STEM 领域的其他女性找到适合她们的职业道路。”

伊芙琳·帕斯曼,神奇女侠

说得好,女士们。 保持精彩!

Event Recap: 2022 Wonder Women Networking Evening

Written by Jordana Smith, WWNE Event Coordinator, Danniele Livengood, WWNE Emcee and Camila Castaneda SCWIST Communications and Events Coordinator.

On March 9, 2022, SCWIST and Science World hosted the much-loved Wonder Women Networking Evening. It took place virtually for the second year in a row.

For over 30 years the annual Wonder Women Networking Evening (WWNE) has been a cornerstone event for SCWIST. It’s been through various names and iterations. Yet, its purpose has remained the same: to bring in women in STEM for conversation and connection about thriving in their chosen fields.

The WWNE 2022 virtual conference room!

Want to make sure you don’t miss the Wonder Women Networking Evening 2023?

Be sure to subscribe and we’ll keep you posted.

Networking with some incredible “Wonder Women” in STEM

WWNE is an opportunity for post-secondary students, early career professionals, and those who may be considering a career change. Every year, established professionals sign up to share their stories, expertise, and advice with our attendees.

This was the second year that the COVID-19 pandemic brought us to the breakout rooms of Zoom. We were excited to use feedback from last year’s event to help us plan WWNE 2022. Two main points guided us: our attendees wanted more time for networking, and more thematic organization to the breakout rooms.

Your feedback led to improvements

So, we tried something new. We asked attendees which fields they wanted to hear about. Then we went out and recruited Wonder Women excelling in those fields. Each field had its own dedicated breakout room, hosted by a pair of Wonder Women with related experience and expertise. Room topics included Engineering (in multiple specializations), Medical & Health Sciences, Science Communication, Careers in Academia, and even Entrepreneurship.

“A lovely place to meet incredible women in STEM. They are learning, sharing and having fun with empathy and encouragement!” said Sharon, WWNE 2022 Attendee.

Finding common ground and making connections

One other attendee said, “This was a great event to meet so many diverse, interesting, brilliant women. It was so well organized that we could have gone on talking forever … The sign of a good event is leaving hungry for more. We did.”

In addition, there were three 30-minute rounds of networking. Two of the rounds were pre-assigned, but the final round was a “wild card.” The event’s emcee, Danniele Livengood, encouraged attendees to join a room different from their usual field of study or work. Networking is all about finding common ground and making connections. There is a lot of common ground to be found outside of working in the same field. At the end, Danniele encouraged participants to keep the networking going. After all, it’s an ongoing process and we had just planted the seeds.

The WWNE team! Clockwise from top left: Sandy Eix, Khristine Cariño, Jordana Smith, and Danniele Livengood

Finally, We capped off the night with some closing remarks from SCWIST President, Khristine Cariño, who thanked the entire WWNE team:

· Science World, for letting us produce the event from their studio (a.k.a. behind their huge OMNIMAX® screen!)
· Danniele Livengood, WWNE Emcee
· Sandy Eix, Director of STEM Learning at Science World and former long-time WWNE Emcee
· Jordana Smith, WWNE Event Coordinator
· the amazing Wonder Women
· and of course, all of the attendees

We’ll conclude with some thoughts from those who took part in this year’s event.

Attendees:

“An incredibly enlightening experience. Sometimes as a woman in STEM, I tend to forget that there are other people experiencing the same struggles as I am because of my gender. I am thankful to have been in a (virtual) room of trailblazers who can offer sage advice on how to combat that and that I am not alone with this struggle.”

– Shirin, Attendee


“I met so many wonderful women in STEM who were not only successful but willing to share their experiences with others! Everyone was so supportive and helpful! I am so glad to be a part of this amazing community.”

– Attendee

“This networking event introduced me to some amazing women in technology who generously shared their experiences and inspiring career paths. It was also amazing to meet other like-minded people who are passionate about science and technology and learn how they are tackling challenges and pursuing their interests in technology in their own unique ways.”

– Maryam, Attendee

Wonder Women:

“I greatly look forward to the SCWIST WWNE is one “I know why I am coming back as a Wonder Woman year after year. This is a one-of-a-kind event, and it brings together a very diverse group of women in STEM. We not only share our unique experiences, but we also celebrate and learn from each other. SCWIST is always doing such an amazing job putting this event together, and especially now during the pandemic. Exceptionally well done, and I cannot wait to come back year after year.”

Anja Lanz, Wonder Woman

“It’s an amazing opportunity to meet and connect with industry leaders and fellow learners alike, and I always come away with new knowledge. The organizers have taken great care to ensure that the networking opportunities work for introverts and extroverts alike!”

Angie Byron, Wonder Woman

“WWNE was how I first got to know about SCWIST. As an attendee, it presented a fantastic opportunity for me to learn about different careers in STEM. Now, as a Wonder Woman, it offers me a chance to pay it forward and help other women in STEM find the career path that is right for them.”

Eveline Pasman, Wonder Woman

Well said, ladies. Stay Wonder-ful!