تعمل Athena Pathways على تطوير وظائف 250 امرأة في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي وعلوم البيانات

اتحاد مؤسسات وشركات ما بعد المرحلة الثانوية الممول من مجموعة التكنولوجيا الرقمية الكندية العملاقة في منتصف الطريق نحو هدفه المتمثل في دعم 500 امرأة في مجال التكنولوجيا

فانكوفر ، كولومبيا البريطانية - مسارات أثينا (athenapathways.org) هو كونسورتيوم مقره في كولومبيا البريطانية ، مدعوم باستثمار من مجموعة التكنولوجيا الرقمية الكندية الفائقة ، بهدف مساعدة 500 امرأة قبل الميلاد في مجالات الذكاء الاصطناعي والتعلم الآلي وعلوم البيانات. هدفهم هو جذب المزيد من المواهب إلى النظام البيئي لتكنولوجيا كولومبيا البريطانية مع معالجة الفجوة الكبيرة بين الجنسين الموجودة في هذه المجالات. في اليوم العالمي للمرأة وبعد 14 شهرًا فقط من العمل ، وصلت Athena Pathways الآن إلى مرحلة مهمة بمساعدة 250 امرأة على دخول هذه الحقول أو التقدم فيها. وقد تم تحقيق ذلك من خلال مساراتهم الثلاثة: التعليم والتوظيف والإرشاد.

من خلال التعليم ، قدمت Athena Pathways أكثر من 100 منحة دراسية بقيمة 500 دولار لكل امرأة تأخذ دورات وورش عمل مختارة في مؤسسات أكاديمية شريكة: معهد كولومبيا البريطانية للتكنولوجيا (BCIT) ، جامعة نورث إيسترن - فانكوفر ، جامعة سايمون فريزر (SFU) ، وجامعة بريطانية. كولومبيا (UBC). حصل المشاركون أيضًا على منحة كبيرة من Microsoft تسمح لهم بأخذ دورات مختارة من Microsoft Azure مجانًا.

من خلال لوحة الوظائف Athena Pathways ، أعضاء اتحاد الصناعة (Careteam Technologies ، D-Wave Systems ، KPMG ، MetaOptima ، SCWIST، و Teck Resources Ltd.) وشركاء التوظيف الإضافيين من العثور على مجموعة واسعة من النساء الماهرات مما يسمح لهن بجلب أفضل المواهب مع تنويع الفرق. نجح برنامج الإرشاد في مطابقة أكثر من 50 متدربًا مع مرشدين ذوي خبرة عالية في هذا المجال.

قالت الدكتورة ألكسندرا تي جرينهيل ، رئيسة اللجنة التوجيهية لبرنامج Athena Pathways ، "من المهم جدًا ضمان ألا نرى ما حدث في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي يحدث في مجال البرمجة. يجب دعم مشاركة النساء في هذا المجال الناشئ ، وتعد Athena Pathways مثالاً رائعًا لما يمكن أن تحققه المنظمات المتنوعة المتعاونة في هذه المهمة في فترة زمنية قصيرة ". "من خلال الشراكة مع لاعبين في الصناعة مثل Teck و KPMG ، نتفهم بشكل أفضل التحديات التي يواجهها أصحاب العمل هؤلاء في تحديد المواهب الماهرة مع استمرار الاقتصادات الكندية والعالمية في اعتماد التقنيات الرقمية. من خلال هذا المشروع ، نواصل دعم التحول الرقمي للشركات مع إنشاء مسارات للنساء لتلقي أفضل التدريب والتوجيه وفرص العمل في عالمنا الرقمي "قالت سو بايش ، الرئيس التنفيذي لمجموعة التكنولوجيا الرقمية الكندية الفائقة."

من خلال العمل مع شركائها في التوظيف ، تعلمت Athena Pathways أن العثور على قادة رقميين مؤهلين يمثل تحديًا حاسمًا للعديد من المنظمات التي تتطلع إلى اعتماد الذكاء الاصطناعي ودعم تطوير فرق القيادة المتنوعة. ترقبوا إعلانات البرامج الجديدة بينما نواصل بناء الزخم في مجال القيادة الرقمية.


لطلبات وسائل الإعلام المتعلقة بـ Athena Pathways ، يرجى الاتصال بـ Steve Lowry ، المدير التنفيذي لـ AInBC at [البريد الإلكتروني محمي] أو 778-840-2508.

لطلبات الوسائط المتعلقة بالعنقود الفائق للتكنولوجيا الرقمية في كندا ، يرجى الاتصال بـ Elysa Darling على [البريد الإلكتروني محمي] أو 587-890-9833.

Athena Pathways advances careers of 250 Women in Artificial Intelligence and Data Science

The consortium of post-secondary institutions and companies funded by Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster is halfway to its goal of supporting 500 women in technology

Vancouver, B.C. – Athena Pathways (athenapathways.org) is a B.C.-based consortium, supported by an investment from Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster, with a goal of helping 500 B.C. women in the fields of artificial intelligence, machine learning, and data science. Their aim is to draw more talent into the B.C. technology ecosystem while addressing the substantial gender gap that exists within these fields. On International Women’s Day and after just 14 months of operation, Athena Pathways has now reached the milestone of having helped 250 women enter or advance within these fields. This was accomplished through their three pathways: education, employment and mentorship.

Through education, Athena Pathways has provided over 100 scholarships of $500 each to women taking select courses and workshops at partnering academic institutions: British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), Northeastern University-Vancouver, Simon Fraser University (SFU), and University of British Columbia (UBC). The participants also received a sizable grant from Microsoft allowing them to take select Microsoft Azure courses for free.

Through the Athena Pathways job board, industry consortium members (Careteam Technologies, D-Wave Systems, KPMG, MetaOptima, SCWIST, and Teck Resources Ltd.) and additional hiring partners have been able to find a wide range of skilled women allowing them to bring in top talent while diversifying teams. The mentorship program has successfully matched over 50 mentees with highly experienced mentors in the field.

Dr. Alexandra T. Greenhill, Chair of the Athena Pathways steering committee said, “It’s so important to ensure that we don’t see happen in AI what happened with coding. The participation of women in this emerging domain needs to be supported and Athena Pathways is a great example of what diverse organisations collaborating on this mission can accomplish in a short amount of time.” “By partnering with industry players such as Teck and KPMG, we better understand the challenges these employers face in identifying skilled talent as the Canadian and global economies continue to adopt digital technologies. Through this project we continue to support the digital transformation of companies while creating pathways for women to receive top training, mentoring and job opportunities in our digital world” said Sue Paish, CEO of Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster.”

In working with its hiring partners, Athena Pathways has learned that finding qualified digital leaders is a critical challenge for many organizations looking to adopt AI and support the development of diverse leadership teams. Stay tuned for new program announcements as we continue building momentum in the area of digital leadership.


For media requests related to Athena Pathways, please contact Steve Lowry, Executive Director of AInBC at [email protected] or 778-840-2508.

For media requests related to Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster, please contact Elysa Darling at [email protected] or 587-890-9833.