雅典娜通路(Athena Pathways)推动了250位人工智能和数据科学领域女性的职业发展

由加拿大数字技术超级集群资助的高等教育机构和公司联盟已经完成了其支持500名女性从事技术工作的目标的一半

卑诗省温哥华–雅典娜通路(athenapathways.org网站)是一个基于卑诗省的财团,得到加拿大数字技术超级集群的投资支持,目标是帮助500名卑诗省妇女在人工智能,机器学习和数据科学领域。 他们的目标是吸引更多人才进入BC技术生态系统,同时解决这些领域中存在的巨大性别差距。 在国际妇女节当天和仅运营14个月后,雅典娜通路已达到了里程碑式的成就,已帮助250名妇女进入这些领域或在其中发展。 这是通过他们的三个途径完成的:教育,就业和指导。

通过教育,Athena Pathways已向在合作的学术机构参加精选课程和讲习班的女性提供了100份奖学金,每名女性500美元,这些奖学金包括:不列颠哥伦比亚技术学院(BCIT),东北大学-温哥华,西蒙弗雷泽大学(SFU)和英国大学哥伦比亚(UBC)。 参与者还获得了Microsoft的一笔巨额赠款,使他们可以免费参加选定的Microsoft Azure课程。

通过Athena Pathways工作委员会,行业协会成员(Careteam Technologies,D-Wave Systems,KPMG,MetaOptima, 西南工业大学,泰克资源有限公司(Teck Resources Ltd.)和其他招聘合作伙伴已经找到了各种技能娴熟的女性,使她们可以在组建多元化团队的同时引进顶尖人才。 指导计划已成功地将超过50名受训者与该领域经验丰富的指导者进行了匹配。

雅典娜通路指导委员会主席亚历山德拉·T·格林希尔(Alexandra T. Greenhill)博士说:“重要的是要确保我们不会看到人工智能中发生的事情与编码有关。 妇女在这一新兴领域的参与需要得到支持,雅典娜之路就是一个很好的例子,说明在这一任务上开展合作的各种组织可以在短时间内完成这些工作。” “通过与Teck和KPMG等行业参与者合作,我们可以更好地理解这些雇主在加拿大和全球经济继续采用数字技术时在寻找熟练人才方面面临的挑战。 通过该项目,我们将继续支持公司的数字化转型,同时为女性提供在数字世界中接受高级培训,指导和工作机会的途径。”加拿大数字技术超级集群首席执行官Sue Paish说。”

通过与招聘合作伙伴的合作,Athena Pathways了解到,对于许多希望采用AI并支持多样化领导团队发展的组织而言,找到合格的数字领导者是一项严峻的挑战。 请继续关注新的计划公告,因为我们将继续在数字领导领域建立动力。


对于与雅典娜通路有关的媒体请求,请联系AInBC执行董事史蒂夫·洛瑞(Steve Lowry),网址为: [电子邮件保护] 或778-840-2508。

有关加拿大数字技术超级集群的媒体要求,请联系Elysa Darling,网址为: [电子邮件保护]lsupercluster.ca 或587-890-9833。

Athena Pathways advances careers of 250 Women in Artificial Intelligence and Data Science

The consortium of post-secondary institutions and companies funded by Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster is halfway to its goal of supporting 500 women in technology

Vancouver, B.C. – Athena Pathways (athenapathways.org) is a B.C.-based consortium, supported by an investment from Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster, with a goal of helping 500 B.C. women in the fields of artificial intelligence, machine learning, and data science. Their aim is to draw more talent into the B.C. technology ecosystem while addressing the substantial gender gap that exists within these fields. On International Women’s Day and after just 14 months of operation, Athena Pathways has now reached the milestone of having helped 250 women enter or advance within these fields. This was accomplished through their three pathways: education, employment and mentorship.

Through education, Athena Pathways has provided over 100 scholarships of $500 each to women taking select courses and workshops at partnering academic institutions: British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), Northeastern University-Vancouver, Simon Fraser University (SFU), and University of British Columbia (UBC). The participants also received a sizable grant from Microsoft allowing them to take select Microsoft Azure courses for free.

Through the Athena Pathways job board, industry consortium members (Careteam Technologies, D-Wave Systems, KPMG, MetaOptima, SCWIST, and Teck Resources Ltd.) and additional hiring partners have been able to find a wide range of skilled women allowing them to bring in top talent while diversifying teams. The mentorship program has successfully matched over 50 mentees with highly experienced mentors in the field.

Dr. Alexandra T. Greenhill, Chair of the Athena Pathways steering committee said, “It’s so important to ensure that we don’t see happen in AI what happened with coding. The participation of women in this emerging domain needs to be supported and Athena Pathways is a great example of what diverse organisations collaborating on this mission can accomplish in a short amount of time.” “By partnering with industry players such as Teck and KPMG, we better understand the challenges these employers face in identifying skilled talent as the Canadian and global economies continue to adopt digital technologies. Through this project we continue to support the digital transformation of companies while creating pathways for women to receive top training, mentoring and job opportunities in our digital world” said Sue Paish, CEO of Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster.”

In working with its hiring partners, Athena Pathways has learned that finding qualified digital leaders is a critical challenge for many organizations looking to adopt AI and support the development of diverse leadership teams. Stay tuned for new program announcements as we continue building momentum in the area of digital leadership.


For media requests related to Athena Pathways, please contact Steve Lowry, Executive Director of AInBC at [email protected] or 778-840-2508.

For media requests related to Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster, please contact Elysa Darling at [email protected] or 587-890-9833.